View Full Version : John Rooney

Pages : 1 [2] 3

28/03/2008, 9:19 AM
Not to mention someone else, who I've seen in a photo with Robbie playing Gaelic Football ;)

That certain individual who connections with Ireland are dodgy enough, has always given his all for us, more than can be said of a few of the Irish born lads. Also scored a few important goals on the way, hope Trap brings him back into the squad in the coming months, still has something to offer imo.

28/03/2008, 9:28 AM
That certain individual who connections with Ireland are dodgy enough, has always given his all for us, more than can be said of a few of the Irish born lads. Also scored a few important goals on the way, hope Trap brings him back into the squad in the coming months, still has something to offer imo.

I'm not sure but given theworms track record I thought he was on about connolly. HOwever I heard that clint was supposed to be quite good at it. Reminds me of a GF club over here actually, called dulwich harps, they have a youth setup, where there are quite a few Irish 2gs, however all these black lads are way better than them at the game with no Irish background at all.....more than half the team to be precise! :D

Denis The Red
28/03/2008, 10:14 AM
One Grandmother from Derry is enough.
Alex Bruce has a Grandmother born in the North.

Yeah, and his dad has an england 'B' cap. Back then it was enough to tie you to that country if you get capped at 'B'. I'm not sure what the criteria is now.

28/03/2008, 11:30 AM
Yeah, and his dad has an england 'B' cap. Back then it was enough to tie you to that country if you get capped at 'B'. I'm not sure what the criteria is now.
We are experts on the criteria now after having had to teach it to our OWC brethren in a 100 page thread.

Once a player has an "A" level cap, (friendly or competitive) then there is no switching.
A player capped at youth level and B level for England
can switch allegiance to Ireland as long as he make the switch before the age of 21 years.

Wolfie
28/03/2008, 11:34 AM
We are experts on the criteria now after having had to teach it to our OWC brethren in a 100 page thread.

We've not heard from that lot for a while. When they re-surface I'm sure their friendly win over Georgia will get repeated reference within the coming months - possibly within a new 100 page thread. :rolleyes:

28/03/2008, 11:47 AM
Sh1t, remember that now, am I imagining it of did he have an England jersey on as well that night? The red one? Or am I thinking of that sap Ray Shah who wore one for half the summer on Big Brother and got rightly slated for it?

That "sap" Ray Shah is a close friend of mine so, unless you know him, less of the "sap" please. In any case Ray was born in Tilbury in Essex and lived there until he was 11 so he's every right to regard himself as English.

:ball: PP

RiffRaff
28/03/2008, 12:15 PM
That "sap" Ray Shah is a close friend of mine so, unless you know him, less of the "sap" please. In any case Ray was born in Tilbury in Essex and lived there until he was 11 so he's every right to regard himself as English.

Well thats him out of the reckoning for our problem left back position then!! :D

theworm2345
28/03/2008, 12:19 PM
Adam Rooney was born in Dublin
Yes...don't forget about him, we could have two Rooneys up front someday (though I heard John prefers midfield)

Dickson Etuhu plays for Nigeria and his brother Kelvin plays for England U21. I think the Kalou brothers are the same. One plays for Holland and the other plays for the Ivory Coast. Open to correction on that one. You're right not to get excited about Rooney's brother. Maccelsfield is about his level according to the Silkmen's fans. It kind of stinks of "I'm not good enough to play for England so I'll opt for Ireland instead".
They both play for Côte d'Ivoire but Salomon wanted to play for Holland. He got rejected by FIFA and played in the last Cup of Nations

stiofain
28/03/2008, 1:24 PM
One Grandmother from Derry is enough.
Alex Bruce has a Grandmother born in the North.
It is on the outer edge of the qualification criteria but I get a kick out of it when they turn down the OWC.

Yeah, im aware of that but i assume that by the article saying her people were from Derry, that herself would have been born elsewhere.

bawn79
28/03/2008, 3:13 PM
Yeah, im aware of that but i assume that by the article saying her people were from Derry, that herself would have been born elsewhere.

I dont want to take this two far off topic but say John Rooneys grannie is eligible for an Irish passport and she applies and gets one. Does that then mean that John Rooney is eligible for an Irish passport coz his grandmother has one? If you get what I mean?

Chicago AOH
28/03/2008, 3:59 PM
I'm pretty sure that at the very least, to 'claim' Irish citizenship through ancestry, you need one grandparent to be born in the 26 counties, or before partition in the North.

If John Rooney's great-grandmother/grandfather was born in Derry, his mother would have to have claimed Irish citizenship through Foreign Birth Registry in Liverpool. If she didn't do that, prior to John Rooney's birth, then he is ineligible.

I think that was how Michael Robinson played for Ireland, although I can't confirm that... I thought I read that in Jack Charlton's autobiography... :)

Haven't we been here many times before - players stating their intention to play for Ireland. Is it so hard for them to apply for a passport themselves, and then approach the FAI? That way, we'll know that their intention is legitimate, based in fact and that they can actually play for us...

Razors left peg
28/03/2008, 4:01 PM
Haven't we been here many times before - players stating their intention to play for Ireland. Is it so hard for them to apply for a passport themselves, and then approach the FAI? That way, we'll know that their intention is legitimate, based in fact and that they can actually play for us...

thats a very good point

kennedmc
28/03/2008, 4:12 PM
any links to this story :confused:

anto1208
28/03/2008, 4:17 PM
I'm convinced I read an article on tribalfootball.com ages ago that the FAI had approached Everton for documents on his parentage, but found out he wasn't eligible because he had already played competitive underage football for England

He was on the bench for everton by 15 he played for england around then but even at that you can swap up untill i think you get a full call up ala Ryan Giggs

Drumcondra 69er
28/03/2008, 5:06 PM

No offence meant mate, only a turn of phrase. I just found it galling to see him bigging up the whole Dublin / Ireland thing, wearing Dubs colours one day and then swanning around in the flag of St George the next. If he does 'regard himself as English' then he was taking the **** playing the Irish card so heavilly on television. I appreciate he may well be sound away from the whole reality TV / Heat magazine bull**** but by the very act of going onto Big Brother, cracking a sly one off under a quilt on live tv and proving himself to be hopeless at handling his beer and turning into an agressive fool after a couple of shandies (he must be English actually) he was leading people to my original conclusion! Difference between a public and private persona I guess.....

irishfan86
28/03/2008, 5:17 PM
He was on the bench for everton by 15 he played for england around then but even at that you can swap up untill i think you get a full call up ala Ryan Giggs

As far as I know Ryan Giggs never played underage football for England...he captained the England Schoolboys, but schoolboy teams are determined by where you live, not where you're from....if he was good enough to play for Wales at 16, he could play for the Welsh senior international side and England schoolboys simultaneously for example.

FarBeag
28/03/2008, 5:37 PM
No offence meant mate, only a turn of phrase. I just found it galling to see him bigging up the whole Dublin / Ireland thing, wearing Dubs colours one day and then swanning around in the flag of St George the next. If he does 'regard himself as English' then he was taking the **** playing the Irish card so heavilly on television. I appreciate he may well be sound away from the whole reality TV / Heat magazine bull**** but by the very act of going onto Big Brother, cracking a sly one off under a quilt on live tv and proving himself to be hopeless at handling his beer and turning into an agressive fool after a couple of shandies (he must be English actually) he was leading people to my original conclusion! Difference between a public and private persona I guess.....

Well put, my Sentiments exactly.

FarBeag
28/03/2008, 5:48 PM
I would not mind him. If he wants to declare let him and wanting to do this at this stage when he is a teenager is a good thing. A bit off topic but I have never seen Wayne Rooney sing Good save the Queen when his team mates are busting a gut. He always looks towards the ground.Maybe he is just a republican or he doesn't know the words:D.

28/03/2008, 7:11 PM
Well put, my sediments exactly.

dont swallow them whatever you do!

28/03/2008, 7:11 PM
He was on the bench for everton by 15 he played for england around then but even at that you can swap up untill i think you get a full call up ala Ryan GiggsThis was even before he played for Everton. Can't find the link, although seeing as how it was around 2002-2003 it's probably been deleted

lopez
28/03/2008, 7:14 PM
Kevin Gallen wrote a letter to Brian Kerr when he took charge asking to be considered for Ireland saying he was coerced into choosing England when he was younger. I think it was around the time when there was some sort of amnesty about playing underage and then declaring for someone else. Kerr didnt pick him so he is not eligible now that the rules have changed.He wasn't the only one at QPR. I met the mother of another one, one night in September 1994 and she was p*ssed off her son was forced into opting for England or having his youth terms terminated under Francis. Forgotten his name but I know Plastic Paddy knows him. He ended up in the non leagues quite shortly.

Dunno about Rooney Jr being Irish, but Rooney Senior looks less than confortable standing to the German Lady. Anyway I thought he had just one Irish grandparent, so you'd immediately think it's a career move...if he was any good in the first place.

Razors left peg
28/03/2008, 8:17 PM
Even if it was just a career move would we all really care if he turns out to be a quality player. We dont exactly have 10000 players to choose from so personally as long as any player gives his all while in the green shirt I would welcome him no matter how Irish he felt while growing up.Andy Townsend, Matty Holland and Clinton Morisson to name a few grew up very english and no one could doubt their passion for the jersey when they played for us.

28/03/2008, 8:52 PM
I'm pretty sure that at the very least, to 'claim' Irish citizenship through ancestry, you need one grandparent to be born in the 26 counties, or before partition in the North.
"Minor" correction, one grandparent born in the 32 counties.

When it comes to citizenship it is a 32 county Ireland.

28/03/2008, 11:40 PM
If John Rooney's great-grandmother/grandfather was born in Derry, his mother would have to have claimed Irish citizenship through Foreign Birth Registry in Liverpool. If she didn't do that, prior to John Rooney's birth, then he is ineligible.

I'm not sure that's true. As far as I'm aware, he would be eligible to get a passport as soon as his grandmother got one. He would only be considered Irish from the date her citizenship was granted though, not from his date of birth. And he doesn't automatically become a citizen, he has to apply to become one.

28/03/2008, 11:57 PM
Looks a bit like his brother too: http://www.mtfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/Youth/0,,10393~1223250,00.html

FarBeag
29/03/2008, 10:30 AM
dont swallow them whatever you do!

You are too funny Einstein.Edited now chief so hope your happy.:eek:

boovidge
29/03/2008, 12:28 PM

I was sorting out my passport the other day and reading the notes i got the impression that a 20g would be elegible for citizenship as long as every generation before had applied for citizenship before the next was born, if that makes sense.

lopez
29/03/2008, 3:39 PM
I'm not sure that's true. As far as I'm aware, he would be eligible to get a passport as soon as his grandmother got one. He would only be considered Irish from the date her citizenship was granted though, not from his date of birth. And he doesn't automatically become a citizen, he has to apply to become one.If it's his great grandmother that was born in Ireland, I believe he'll only get Irish citizenship if his mother had herself a FBC when he was born. Maybe wrong though. The alternative is to move to Ireland (Liverpool despite it's history doesn't count).

Boovidge, your right about the 20th generation, providing the link is not broken.

Chicago AOH
30/03/2008, 4:54 PM
Well if he's eligible he can find his granny's Irish birth certificate, fill out the forms and become a citizen.

Annoys me though, these almost press-releases to alert national associations to player's eligibility. Everyone remember Zat Knight and Marlon King declaring for Ireland? I remember King playing against us in the Unity Cup for Jamaica! Few months after Knight, 'declared' he was playing for England here in Chicago, against the USA. And Franck Quedrue? He wasn't even close to being eligible...

30/03/2008, 5:04 PM
Annoys me though, these almost press-releases to alert national associations to player's eligibility. Everyone remember Zat Knight and Marlon King declaring for Ireland? I remember King playing against us in the Unity Cup for Jamaica!King claimed his maternal grandmother was Irish, and did put some effort into declaring for Ireland.
From http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/harte-refuses-to-throw-in-towel-336798.html

MARLON KING, Gillingham's highly-rated striker, could be the latest Irish recruit. King is in the process of applying for a passport
From http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/mccarthy-keen-to-agree--new-deal-331942.html

Meanwhile, McCarthy continues to track Gillingham striker Marlon King, who has Irish qualifications. "Marlon is a strong centre-forward who scores goals and I'll be watching him in the coming weeks," he said.
From http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/fai-join-search-for-grannys-birth-cert-319258.html

The 21-year-old has been trying for almost a year to prove he qualifies through his grandmother but has so far failed to locate her birth certificate.

Few months after Knight, 'declared' he was playing for England here in Chicago, against the USA.Knight didn't think he'd get into the England team, and looked into declaring for Ireland - http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11681_2313729,00.html
Sven capped him soon after to stop that happening.

And Franck Quedrue? He wasn't even close to being eligible...AFAIR he claimed he had a grandparent from Cork, can't remember if it turned out to be a great-grandparent or a great-great-grandparent. Last I heard he was looking to declare for England through residency.

Serb
01/04/2008, 1:11 PM
AFAIR he claimed he had a grandparent from Cork, can't remember if it turned out to be a great-grandparent or a great-great-grandparent. Last I heard he was looking to declare for England through residency.

Yeah, he had an Irish Great Grandparent, rather than Grandparent, so he didn't qualify. Would have been the first person to play for Ireland whose first language was not English (though Stan is making claims for that record himself). I think he needs to give up the ghost at this stage, he's not a bad player, but would Capello really pick Quedrue ahead of Bridge and A. Cole? There are probably a bunch of other English left-backs better than him too.

01/04/2008, 1:23 PM
nickey shorey?!

Guidedbyvoices
01/04/2008, 10:28 PM
nickey shorey?!

Who is This bloke? Its Nicky Shorey Yes!;)

Wangball
07/04/2008, 8:42 AM
Saw in the Star this morning that Wayne Rooney's cousin, Tommy Amos - on the books at Wigan, has made himself available for selection also...as well as QPR's winger Hogan Ephraim....it seems Trappatoni taking over has caused a bit of a surge in declarations!

Deckydee
07/04/2008, 9:40 AM
Hogan Ephraim?????????

No way!! Cool!

This is the link about Hogan - http://qprreport.blogspot.com/2008/04/hogan-ephraims-international-ambitions.html

This is the link on Tommy Amos - http://www.irishpost.co.uk/news/story/?trs=qlcwqlql&cat=sport

07/04/2008, 10:24 AM
When you read about Tommy's granny you would less inclined to make a joke about the Irish Granny connection :)

“My mum (the granny) has said since he was a baby that one day when he is a big lad he will play for Ireland.”
“My maiden name is Geraghty,” she told me. “I have lived in Liverpool for a long time but I am from Carnlough Road, Cabra west in Dublin. I would love to see Thomas play for Ireland, that would make me so proud".
I would love to go back and watch him play for Ireland. I would be a very proud grandmother.”

Paulie
07/04/2008, 10:40 AM
Hogan Ephraim?????????

[/URL]

This guy was quoted in the Star this morning as saying that his dream was to play for England but that he would keep his options open. I don't want him next or near our team. Before anyone brings up players that have played for us in the past who would have had similar allegiances to your man, before eventually deciding to play for us, I would have said the exact same thing about any of them before they opted to play for us. Once they played for us and were unable to play for any other team I supported them the same as I would anybody else on the team. So as much as I don't want this guy to play for us, if he chooses to play for us I will support him, as if people were to pick out people like him to give abuse to, it would just be detrimental to the squad as a whole.

boovidge
07/04/2008, 2:49 PM
Great to hear about that lad Amos :)

Hogan on the other hand can get on his bike. If you can't sound even mildly enthusiastic about playing for Ireland in an interview then don't bother.

theworm2345
07/04/2008, 2:53 PM
Hogan Ephraim is a decent player, used to be at West Ham and is now at QPR I believe. Made a few gaffes though if I recall correctly

Razors left peg
07/04/2008, 4:55 PM
This guy was quoted in the Star this morning as saying that his dream was to play for England but that he would keep his options open. I don't want him next or near our team. Before anyone brings up players that have played for us in the past who would have had similar allegiances to your man, before eventually deciding to play for us, I would have said the exact same thing about any of them before they opted to play for us. Once they played for us and were unable to play for any other team I supported them the same as I would anybody else on the team. So as much as I don't want this guy to play for us, if he chooses to play for us I will support him, as if people were to pick out people like him to give abuse to, it would just be detrimental to the squad as a whole.

As long as he is committed once he has the jersey on him it doesnt make a difference who he wanted to play for growing up.Cant blame the kid for wanting to play for the country he was born in but if hes a good player and we manage to grab him then great

Paulie
07/04/2008, 5:03 PM
Call me old fashioned but I just prefer those who play for us to want to play for us above any other team. We should not diminish the importance of the jersey by letting someone who openly states that they would prefer to play for someone else, just opt for us out of their own necessity.

Razors left peg
07/04/2008, 5:42 PM
Call me old fashioned but I just prefer those who play for us to want to play for us above any other team. We should not diminish the importance of the jersey by letting someone who openly states that they would prefer to play for someone else, just opt for us out of their own necessity.

In an ideal world yeah it would be great if we were everyones first and only choice but we are a small nation and even countries like Holland and France have no problem in choosing players born in other countries. I suppose its the closest thing in international football to the transfer system for clubs

Wangball
08/04/2008, 8:13 AM
I don't like his comments about wanting to play for England either but one would suspect that if he were to play fr us and he ended up scoring the winner against Italy those comments would be soon forgotten, football is fickle like that

Paulie
08/04/2008, 9:07 AM
I have no problem with 2nd or 3rd generation Irish people playing for us once we are their first choice as opposed to it being a career move.

15/04/2008, 12:07 PM
Sky News, little behind the times on this one: http://news.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30200-1312932,00.html

Wolfie
15/04/2008, 12:17 PM
Provided the commitment was there and it's a genuine interest in playing as opposed to a cynical move in raising the profile (Never!!!) - I'd have no major issue with John Rooney declaring.

Not sure about Tori Amos though - I thought her cover version of "Smells like Teen Spirit" was very annoying.

17/04/2008, 5:19 PM
Apologies if already mentioned on this thread, been away and have only glanced at the previous 5 pages.

Pat Walker's kids in Sweden are another example. One has captained Swden's U21s I think, the other wants to play for us.

17/04/2008, 6:18 PM
Never noticed you were away Stutts until somebody got a bit fed up with youngirish in another thread and mourned your departure:D

Shall we starting a thread in Other Sports about your exploits?:cool:

stiofain
18/04/2008, 4:38 PM
Wayne would most likely have played for Ireland if the FAI had taken the inititive early on and called him up. Once again though, typical FAI imcompetance. Not sure about John, but I'm pretty excited about the Amos kid. Hopefully he will get the call-up sooner rather than later!
Posted by Cormac from Dublin

Jesus, i find these sort of comments so embarrassing. Wayne Rooney has a huge St George's flag tattooed on his arm, with the wording 'English and Proud', ffs.

18/04/2008, 8:57 PM

No offence taken D69. I suppose the nearest I can come to explaining Ray's Dublin-English dichotomy is that I am a proud London-Irishman. Same but different, see? :confused: For what it's worth, my nickname for him is the Union Jackeen. He just calls me a plastic paddy b*****d. :eek:

He wasn't the only one at QPR. I met the mother of another one, one night in September 1994 and she was p*ssed off her son was forced into opting for England or having his youth terms terminated under Francis. Forgotten his name but I know Plastic Paddy knows him. He ended up in the non leagues quite shortly.

That would be Trevor Challis and I claim my £5.