View Full Version : Do you acknowledge other EL fans?

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

22/04/2008, 3:33 PM
That or her lovely soft wool and her wee black face.
Mary had a little lamb... :p

Anyway, I was talking briefly to a Shels fan yesterday in Temple Bar but, regarding this site, just didn't quite have the nerve or the geekiness to ask him, "Are you from the internet?"

22/04/2008, 3:51 PM
There was a coupla Harps fans floating around Mary I back in my undergrad days (I appreciate that somebody will get a kick out of the potential to quote 'coupla Harps fans floating around Mary', I've just done it, let it go.) One of them was a girl that I vaguely remember being cute but it could just have been the shirt that did it for me too.

A yung wan in a Harps jersey?! No thanks :eek:

23/04/2008, 11:03 AM
Mary had a little lamb... :p

Anyway, I was talking briefly to a Shels fan yesterday in Temple Bar but, regarding this site, just didn't quite have the nerve or the geekiness to ask him, "Are you from the internet?"

Or not enough pints in you maybe? ;)

23/04/2008, 11:30 AM
Being acknoledged by other el fans is not always a good thing. When we did our last exam in Maynooth the faculty all came out to have a drink with us, and I was talking to the professor of experimental physics when a passing Bohs fan shouted 'Go on you Finn Harps Bast**d!' (or something to that effect) for no apparent reason, especially given the fact that I wasn't wearing any colours. I had no idea what to say next, but the prof just looked amused and asked whether that happened to me often.
Did you hang out in the SU in Maynooth wearing the fluorescent Harps away jersey circa 2000-2002 , If so I noticed it on many nights out there :eek:

23/04/2008, 11:41 AM
Did you hang out in the SU in Maynooth wearing the fluorescent Harps away jersey circa 2000-2002 , If so I noticed it on many nights out there :eek:

No, that was an electrician.

23/04/2008, 1:30 PM
Or not enough pints in you maybe? ;)
That'll be it. :o

25/04/2008, 12:46 PM

Yip, that would have been me. :)

25/04/2008, 1:51 PM
Someone wearing a Cork City Scarf but a red and white striped jersey (it was under a jumper) which looked like a Derry jersey just walked past me in the library in Trinity. Very confusing to be honest!

25/04/2008, 2:05 PM
Could have be a SundOireland fan who went to the Cork friendly...

hedderman
25/04/2008, 3:15 PM
Someone wearing a Cork City Scarf but a red and white striped jersey (it was under a jumper) which looked like a Derry jersey just walked past me in the library in Trinity. Very confusing to be honest!

:D That was me!!!!

I am wearing a Derry top and a Cork scarf.

I don't support Cork at all but I got the scarf when Derry lost 2-0 down in Cork a few seasons ago and Cork won the title. A guy came up to me and asked to swap Cork scarf for Derry scarf. I readily obliged then quickly realised that it was the only thing I was wearing that identified me as a Derry fan.:o Suffice to say, I got some very strange looks from Derry fans that Day when I got Peter Hutton so sign my programme while holding a Cork scarf.

I lost a scarf a few days ago so it's the only scarf I have left. I have to go get 1 before the Bohs match otherwise I'll get some strange looks again. :D

25/04/2008, 3:17 PM
A scarf? It's not that cold out :D

26/04/2008, 12:51 PM
Yes I would always try to acknowledge a fellow el fan

Chap came in to my place of work in derry jacket and i was chatting to him bout the previous nights match. Derry and bray.

Demoshield
26/04/2008, 3:19 PM
A scarf? It's not that cold out :D
Dear chap, you have to wear a scarf to get into "Trinners"
Weather has nothing to do with it:D

27/04/2008, 12:56 AM

This is true.

27/04/2008, 1:01 AM
:D That was me!!!!

I am wearing a Derry top and a Cork scarf.

I don't support Cork at all but I got the scarf when Derry lost 2-0 down in Cork a few seasons ago and Cork won the title. A guy came up to me and asked to swap Cork scarf for Derry scarf. I readily obliged then quickly realised that it was the only thing I was wearing that identified me as a Derry fan.:o Suffice to say, I got some very strange looks from Derry fans that Day when I got Peter Hutton so sign my programme while holding a Cork scarf.

I lost a scarf a few days ago so it's the only scarf I have left. I have to go get 1 before the Bohs match otherwise I'll get some strange looks again.

You didn't get one before the Bohs match! :p

27/04/2008, 12:06 PM
Like the tracksuit bottoms ban?

26/06/2008, 11:57 PM
Was at a Slavia Prague friendly match in Prague yesterday and a fella came up to us and looking at the jersey said 'I thought I seen it alright'...he was wearing a St. Pat's t-shirt:D, he saw me with the Rovers jersey on from his seat in the goal end and came over to chat to us.

27/06/2008, 9:20 AM
My son came rushing in to tell me last night that he saw an old Monaghan United Jersey in the crowd at the Russia -v-Spain game. Sad thing is I am almost 100% sure who the wearer is as I pretty much know everyone who ever bought a Mons jersey!

Hibs4Ever
27/06/2008, 9:38 AM
Was at a Slavia Prague friendly match in Prague yesterday and a fella came up to us and looking at the jersey said 'I thought I seen it alright'...he was wearing a St. Pat's t-shirt:D, he saw me with the Rovers jersey on from his seat in the goal end and came over to chat to us.

That was me :D Did you's guys get back into the city ok? That was some rain. I wear my St Pats jersey/t shirt to all Slavia games, usually with a Slavia scarf, but as you saw from your few days here it was no weather to be wearing a scarf. Was delighted when I saw Eircom League fans in the other part of the ground, was definitely gonna say hello. Am still waiting to meet some that live here permanently though :(

monutdfc
27/06/2008, 9:49 AM
My son came rushing in to tell me last night that he saw an old Monaghan United Jersey in the crowd at the Russia -v-Spain game. Sad thing is I am almost 100% sure who the wearer is as I pretty much know everyone who ever bought a Mons jersey!
Barry ?

27/06/2008, 10:02 AM
Pretty sure it was Aidrian. Dylan would recognise Barry.

monutdfc
27/06/2008, 10:06 AM
Barry was at the game too.

monutdfc
27/06/2008, 10:07 AM
On the wider topic, I never acknowledge other eL fans - who wants to start a conversation with a nerd? ;)

27/06/2008, 10:11 AM
Barry was at the game too.

Lucky duck. Adrian & his twin Orla are both living in Switzerland and are getting to most if not all of the games. Some people have all the luck!

Straightstory
27/06/2008, 12:11 PM
What are your reactions/emotions when you come across people wearing non LOI jersies and shirts from other ‘codes’? (I’m not talking here about seeing these punters outside sporting events - more like when you see them in the street).

Here are mine:

Drogs Jersey: Joy. Feeling of comradeship and solidarity.

Other LOI Jersey: Feeling of comradeship and solidarity.

Rugby shirt: Ireland/Munster/Leinster etc - Neutral

Premiership (Non Big Four - except for Sunderland): Milld bemusement.

Premiership (Big 4): Disdain, disapproval, feeling of superiority towards wearer.

Celtic: Disdain, disapproval, feeling of superiority towards wearer, pity, mild horror.

Sunderland: Extreme horror, feeling of superiority towards wearer, pity, hatred.

GAA Jersey: Disdain, disapproval, fear, horror.

GAA Jersey (featuring adverts for hotels, meat packers): Disdain, disapproval, fear, horror, disgust, abhorrence.

Dublin GAA Jersey: Disdain, disapproval, fear, horror, disgust, abhorrence, shame, terror, suspicion, rage, sense of alienation and strong desire to leave country.

27/06/2008, 1:15 PM
What are your reactions/emotions when you come across people wearing non LOI jersies and shirts from other ‘codes’? (I’m not talking here about seeing these punters outside sporting events - more like when you see them in the street).

Here are mine:

Premiership (Big 4): Disdain, disapproval, feeling of superiority towards wearer.

Celtic: Disdain, disapproval, feeling of superiority towards wearer, pity, mild horror.

Sunderland: Extreme horror, feeling of superiority towards wearer, pity, hatred.

GAA Jersey (featuring adverts for hotels, meat packers): Disdain, disapproval, fear, horror, disgust, abhorrence.

Dublin GAA Jersey: Disdain, disapproval, fear, horror, disgust, abhorrence, shame, terror, suspicion, rage, sense of alienation and strong desire to leave country.

That's more or less it , yeah. Oh, except the Rugby shirt wearers, I hate them too. (And swap Drogs for Pats,,obviously)

27/06/2008, 1:17 PM
Seen a Dundalk shirt in the Algarve there during the week :)

27/06/2008, 1:48 PM
That was me :D Did you's guys get back into the city ok? That was some rain.Haha, yeah we got the tram back in. Rain died down after a few minutes. Freakiest weather though, perfect day and then dark clowds quickly came over the sky and it lashed down. The ref didn't even finish the game, there was 30 seconds left of normal time when he blew the whistle:D. What the players did at the end was class, sitting in the rain applauding the fans...you wouldn't get that over here!

Hibs4Ever
27/06/2008, 2:31 PM
Haha, yeah we got the tram back in. Rain died down after a few minutes. Freakiest weather though, perfect day and then dark clowds quickly came over the sky and it lashed down. The ref didn't even finish the game, there was 30 seconds left of normal time when he blew the whistle:D. What the players did at the end was class, sitting in the rain applauding the fans...you wouldn't get that over here!

They do that at the end of every game, win lose or draw. The Slavia Ultra's are class. Some of the displays they do for league games are amazing. FAir play to the players too for staying out and sitting on pitch in that rain to acknowledge the fans. CLASS

aidz1
27/06/2008, 3:20 PM

Here are mine:

LOI, Irish or GAA jersey: Solidarity in the fact that the person chooses to wear a jersey that is relevant to where the wearer is from.

Foreign Shirt: Pity

deecay
27/06/2008, 5:04 PM
That was me :D Did you's guys get back into the city ok? That was some rain. I wear my St Pats jersey/t shirt to all Slavia games, usually with a Slavia scarf, but as you saw from your few days here it was no weather to be wearing a scarf. Was delighted when I saw Eircom League fans in the other part of the ground, was definitely gonna say hello. Am still waiting to meet some that live here permanently though :(
Luckily you were wearing the Pats t-shirt or I wouldnt have had a clue what was going on.Its a place id love to live

27/06/2008, 7:32 PM
Am still waiting to meet some that live here permanently though :(If I could just learn some Czech it's a real possibility. Mad to go somewhere for a year or so.

27/06/2008, 8:16 PM

Bray Jersey: Delighted, proud

Other LOI Jersey: Meh.

Rugby shirt: Anger, I hate rugby.

English/foreign: Meh.

Celtic: Annoyed, they believe the "Irish" hype.

Wicklow GAA Jersey: Delight.

Dublin GAA Jersey (in Wicklow): Anger, why can't they support Wicklow?

Other GAA jerseys: Meh.

Youths4Ever
27/06/2008, 8:30 PM
when in college in waterford a few years ago used to see the occasional el jersey but never really chatted to any only got into el until wexford got a team used to attend a good few waterford games when then had a few wexford lads on team.

have to say I am a little bit disappointed for the disdain shown for fans of other sports in some of the comments in this thread. I get the premiership jerseys but why GAA jerseys and rugby jerseys surely if still supporting local team does not make a difference what sport. Then make not like soccer it not for all. personally I am season ticket holder of the youths make about 90% of away games and actively involved in supporters club.

probably get slaughtered for this but I am also a Leinster rugby season ticket holder seasons and regularly go to support wexford gaa as well i know many people who support a combination of local teams.

rambling now main point if you support a local team should not matter what sport it is.

27/06/2008, 8:40 PM
Rovers Jersey: Happy. Feeling of comradeship and solidarity.

Other LOI Jersey: Feel good that they're supportying the league.

Rugby shirt: No feeling, couldn't care about it really.

Premiership (Non Big Four - except for Sunderland): I wonder if they're English

Premiership (Big 4): If they're Irish, feeling of superiority towards wearer.

Celtic: If they're Irish and don't support LOI then I just laugh at their ignorance.

Sunderland: I assume Elverys/Lifestyle are having a sale, again.

Sligo GAA Jersey: Assume they're an idiot. Hatred

GAA Jersey: Hatred

Hibs4Ever
28/06/2008, 9:34 AM
If I could just learn some Czech it's a real possibility. Mad to go somewhere for a year or so.

Plenty of jobs here. And you don't need to speak Czech. I've only start learning Czech. LOADS of American companys here, they just want fluent english speakers

Soper
28/06/2008, 11:45 AM
I saw a nice girl wearing a Bohs jacket in dublin airport on the 18th of june...I obviously was intimidated, as all Bohs fans are hoolies of the highest order.

aidz1
28/06/2008, 2:43 PM
I saw a nice girl wearing a Bohs jacket in dublin airport on the 18th of june...I obviously was intimidated, as all Bohs fans are hoolies of the highest order.

i know her :D

28/06/2008, 2:47 PM
I seen some poor chap in a Wexford Youths jacket being dragged around Penny's on O'Connell Street by his woman last Sunday.

spongebob
10/07/2008, 12:05 PM
met some L.O.I. people here

spongebob
10/07/2008, 12:05 PM
http://www.derrycitychat.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=18755&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

deecay
10/07/2008, 1:04 PM
http://www.derrycitychat.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=18755&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0
You have to be a member

spongebob
10/07/2008, 1:19 PM
stuff like this
http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n274/roddyyddor/GizaPyramids01.jpg

http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n274/roddyyddor/mooon.jpg

http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n274/roddyyddor/group2.jpg

(Stephen Kenny)
http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n274/roddyyddor/mountrushmore.jpg
http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n274/roddyyddor/terraarmyMS0809_468x342.jpg
http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n274/roddyyddor/tank_china.jpg

lofty9
10/07/2008, 2:03 PM
Plenty of jobs here. And you don't need to speak Czech. I've only start learning Czech. LOADS of American companys here, they just want fluent english speakers

Just put a big wet blanket over Sligoman's hopes and aspirations then.

10/07/2008, 4:00 PM
I will be proudly wearing one of my Monaghan United rain jackets at Oxegen this weekend so please please say hello if you see me!

DRDoc
10/07/2008, 4:23 PM
Guy in a Longford home jersey spotted at petrol station beside the Foxhunter last Saturday 3pm ish

10/07/2008, 4:50 PM
Is this going to turn into an EL version of Glenavon's Fan spotting thread or what?

DolansWaistcoat
11/07/2008, 11:36 AM
I would if I saw another EL fan somewhere outside of Cork.If I had on my own jersey that is,it is a bit stalkerish to just walk up to them otherwise I think.

I was on the lash in scariff Co.Clare about five years ago and had my cork city jersey on(the first green one since they changed back from red)and ended up in Macs nightcub.A bohs fan came up to me at the bar and said it was great meeting another EL fan and he loved coming to the cross.We had a bit of a chat,it was cool.

oldyouth
11/07/2008, 12:23 PM
Has anyone been spotted in 'The Pink' outside of Wexford??

11/07/2008, 12:38 PM
Seen a lad in a Galway United jacket in Dundalk town centre, I was wearing my Dundalk jersey and he looked at me and nodded at me.