View Full Version : Do you acknowledge other EL fans?

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

soccerc
26/03/2008, 6:45 PM
Talked to a few Rovers fans in Wexford last July, i was wearing my Derry top in the Stores bar.

With beer, you'd talk the hind legs off a donkey, rovers fans or not :cool:

kdjaC
26/03/2008, 6:55 PM
on the OP never really thought about fans from non dub teams as i see other EL fans all the time, in my job there is 8 or 9 EL fans who go to games. 2 pats 2 bohs 1 dundalk and the others rovers.

We have a branch up north and they Cliftonville and Linfield fans ( linfield fans sent me flowers when we drew them in SSC :D )lads in Kilkenny dont count anymore :o

The 2 Pool and Utd fans feel left out, on friday afternoons from about 1ish onwards the place becomes a ghost town.

Must suck being a non dub team fan and only having websites to interact with other EL fans :(

kdjac

dortie
26/03/2008, 7:22 PM
With beer, you'd talk the hind legs off a donkey, rovers fans or not :cool:

You must have grown new legs back again lad, its been a long time since i bent your ear ;)

Im back on the road this season though, you might get the chance again. If you dont mind losing your legs that is !!

soccerc
26/03/2008, 7:27 PM
You must have grown new legs back again lad, its been a long time since i bent your ear ;)

Im back on the road this season though, you might get the chance again. If you dont mind losing your legs that is !!

Au contraire, I wasn't the legless one the last occasion, a game I'd rather forget, though my ears are still sore from listening to you :D

I can assume you'll make McDowell's Friday week so. Mines a large bottle of Bulmers

dortie
26/03/2008, 7:30 PM
I can assume you'll make McDowell's Friday week so. Mines a large bottle of Bulmers

Sure will, 2nd away game for new supporters club.

See you there.

27/03/2008, 11:13 AM
Thought I was going to have one of those warm fuzzy moments this thread is dedicated to this morning. As I was putting up posters for UCD v Sligo on the campus a guy comes up to me with a confused look. He said "Are you an Eircom League man?", expecting to strike up a nice conversation I replied "Yes". His reponse wasn't quite what I expected. "Don't waste our notice boards with that sh1te" and began roaring "Loser!" as he walked off. Very pleasant.:p

Salmon Coloured
27/03/2008, 12:08 PM
Been in Asia and Oz for 2 months now. Only saw on lad wearing a Cork Jersey in Sydney. I said "go on Galway United" as i passed. He Just smiled( Full of conversation them cork Lads :confused::D)
On a sad note a Bar in Melbourne Showed a premier**** game last nite and it was packed with lads wearing liverpool and United Jerseys. At least 3/4 of them where Irish( Plonkers) An Aussie lad asked this Irish Guy where he was from and the Irish guy pointed at this liverpool crest!!!!! Sad or What :mad:

That is the saddest thing about some soccer fans in this country. Those without ears cannot ever listen. I feel your pain at that.

27/03/2008, 12:14 PM
Was in a pub with my Italian housemate and a few others recently enough, he's not really into football, but he did catch the United/Liverpool fans out at our table with his innocent question 'Why do you support a team that come from a place that you don't?', after a few of them started laughing at my support of Limerick 37, and the LoI in general. I actually felt embarassed for them during their silence (I presume they weren't drunk enough to launch into their 'Irish heritage' monologue) :D

LeixlipRed
27/03/2008, 5:17 PM
My dream is to someday be walking on an exotic beach somewhere in my Shels jersey and to come across the most beautiful girl in the world wearing a Shels top. Then we'd make love in the sand.....

Oh sorry I drifted off there :D

27/03/2008, 7:32 PM
My dream is to someday be walking on an exotic beach somewhere in my Shels jersey and to come across the most beautiful girl in the world wearing a Shels top. Then we'd make love in the sand.....

Oh sorry I drifted off there :D

Like this?

http://www.centurynovelty.com/catImages/209-620_large.jpg

LeixlipRed
28/03/2008, 12:32 AM
She's hardly attractive. Though saying that neither is the average shels fan :D though there is the odd hotty ;)

28/03/2008, 12:54 AM
He said "Are you an Eircom League man?", ...
He made it sound like he was talking about some form of life that wasn't human...

30/03/2008, 4:29 AM
Always.

I stopped at a bus stop in Salthill to pick up a bunch of Derry City fans [one is BrendyEire, who posts here] and gave them a lift to match.

Cheers for that, Paddy.
Would always give a wee nod to any passing eL fan. Would do the same about Belfast for most IL fans also (bar Linfield, who always give me the stare of death).

Great passing eL fans wearing their tops abroad, even in random places like the Sligo fan Utrecht or the Pats fan in Lodz in Poland.

30/03/2008, 4:10 PM
Was in Jervis Shopping Centre on Friday and my 2 boys and myself were all wearing our Monaghan United coats. The boys were going down the escalator in front of me and a guy on the escalator going the opposite direction kept looking back tryin to read the crest on the jacket. He must not have been an eL fan or he would have recognised the Mons straight off!

30/03/2008, 4:12 PM
Was in Jervis Shopping Centre on Friday and my 2 boys and myself were all wearing our Monaghan United coats. The boys were going down the escalator in front of me and a guy on the escalator going the opposite direction kept looking back tryin to read the crest on the jacket. He must not have been an eL fan or he would have recognised the Mons straight off!

On a similar note, does anyone else try to scan the badges on people's coats as they walk past, looking for an EL one? :p Or attempt to check if that scarf the guy in front is wearing is for example, a Liverpool or a St. Pats scarf?

30/03/2008, 4:45 PM

You can just say he was staying at your tits you know, crest? - yeah right.

30/03/2008, 6:21 PM
Bus driver started talking to me today, asking about the Rovers result last night. Was confused when he was unhappy Rovers had won (obviously was expecting my own reaction), but then he said he was a Pat's fan, at which stage I remembered I had my UCD jersey on. Always enjoy incidents like that.

KevB76
30/03/2008, 6:34 PM
On a similar note, does anyone else try to scan the badges on people's coats as they walk past, looking for an EL one? :p Or attempt to check if that scarf the guy in front is wearing is for example, a Liverpool or a St. Pats scarf?

Yeah, me too :)

Dont see many of them around here though, but always nice to see the occasional Limerick jersey, coat, hat etc...

30/03/2008, 9:21 PM
Always enjoy incidents like that.

Not when it's a taxi driver.......

30/03/2008, 9:24 PM
A Pat's fan taxi driver? No such thing exists, sure. :confused:

30/03/2008, 10:01 PM
Yes thischarmingman I do. No Raheny Red as it was my son he was staring at. And finally Yes Pineapple Stu it happens a lot.

Paraic
31/03/2008, 12:34 PM
was walking out of the showgrounds after the bohs match a couple of weeks ago (in admittedly no colours and with laptop for the web updates) and caught the eyes of a couple of bohs fans waiting for the bus.

"howaye lads, good result tonight", to which they responded,

'fookin' journo's..!:eek:

31/03/2008, 12:43 PM
this is going back a few years - but I was finishing up some stuff in Worcester City Centre here in England.

Couldn't be arsed to walk home - so I hopped on a bus, wearing a Bohs jersey and jacket.

Minding my own business when, at the next stop, a lass gets on wearing - of all things - a Pats jersey (the red one with the hoops on the sleeves and the Autoglass sponsorship).

Had a brief chat about the eL and the season and such as we travelled up through town - reached my stop about 15 minutes later.

(Apparently - her whole family were St Pats fans living in Worcester - although to this day I've not seen another eL jersey about the City)

31/03/2008, 6:12 PM
I passed a guy wearing a St. Pats coat jacket just a couple if hours ago, close to the Guinness brewery. With this thread in mind was just about to accost him about Friday night when some local kids, looking to him to adjudicate in an argument, asked him "Who won Wrestlemania last night?"

I decided to leave it.

KianD
01/04/2008, 5:43 PM
Passed a Longford jacket wearer on Sth. Great Georges Street today but as I was for once entirely colourless (would usually have a Harps jacket on but was going for an interview), would have been ever so slightly weird to 'acknowledge' him...

exiled_gufc_fan
01/04/2008, 10:03 PM
I've seen the occasional jersey in various parts of London, and even in more smaller places such Bournemouth and Colchester!

And yes, nods are usually exchanged.

Erstwhile Bóz
02/04/2008, 12:37 PM
Amongst these people that keep getting nodded at there's one bloke with a little Legion of Mary badge on his jersey. It gives him heart that the Faith is still so strong amongst the young people that they salute him on the street.

02/04/2008, 12:42 PM
Or attempt to check if that scarf the guy in front is wearing is for example, a Liverpool or a St. Pats scarf?

I think every Arsenal jersey/scarf/car minikit (particularly minikits) is a Pats one before I'm usually disappointed.

02/04/2008, 12:43 PM
I think every Arsenal jersey/scarf/car minikit (particularly minikits) is a Pats one before I'm usually disappointed.

With at least 54,000 Pat's jerseys floating around Dublin your odds must be fairly good though ;)

02/04/2008, 12:45 PM
As previously advised, a lot of them were Overseas sales

03/04/2008, 10:15 AM
With at least 54,000 Pat's jerseys floating around Dublin your odds must be fairly good though ;)
But I thought Anto Murphy's extended family had moved on with him.

deecay
13/04/2008, 10:02 PM
We were driving through Ballyboefy on the way home from Derry and we let a few Pats fans cross the road,they had a good stare and then we nodded

kdjaC
13/04/2008, 10:23 PM
We were driving through Ballyboefy on the way home from Derry and we let a few Pats fans cross the road,they had a good stare and then we nodded

3 of them pished? :D

kdjac

13/04/2008, 10:59 PM
We were driving through Ballyboefy on the way home from Derry and we let a few Pats fans cross the road,they had a good stare and then we noddedWe also stopped at Finn Park to find out the score in the Pat's match, 'Pat's won 3-0' replied some Harps fans...oh how I smiled inside:).

deecay
13/04/2008, 11:20 PM
3 of them pished?
They were gentlemen of age,45+

13/04/2008, 11:21 PM
They were gentlemen

Oh were they? Did they say please and thank you so yeah? :p

deecay
13/04/2008, 11:25 PM
Oh were they? Did they say please and thank you so yeah? :p
I refered to them as gentlemen because they were as old as Christmas

13/04/2008, 11:27 PM
I refered to them as gentlemen because they were as old as Christmas
2008 years?:eek:

Flawless
14/04/2008, 12:05 AM
Thinking about it whenever im abroad i always seem to meet fellow el fans, and always end up having the craic with them. Cant say it happens that much at home though!

hedderman
14/04/2008, 3:51 PM
Thinking about it whenever im abroad i always seem to meet fellow el fans, and always end up having the craic with them. Cant say it happens that much at home though!

I was in Quinns in Drumcondra there on Thursday night, the 'county colours' night, and saw a guy wearing a Shelbourne top. I would have acknowledged him if I was wearing my Derry top but I forgot to wear it. Better to acknowlegde a Shels fan than someone wearing a Liverpool/Man U top etc. Mind you, the vast majority in Quinns were wearing GAA tops.

14/04/2008, 6:15 PM
In light of the death of Sonic I think that we should all make more of an effort to acknowledge each other. The love of this struggling sport binds us all together in a unique way and I know I will make every effort to say hello to any el fans I see from now on.

15/04/2008, 12:16 AM
I agree. There are too few of us on this planet to ignore one another. Forza LOI!

15/04/2008, 12:26 AM
Yes thischarmingman I do. No Raheny Red as it was my son he was staring at. And finally Yes Pineapple Stu it happens a lot.

He was a Paedophile....! :eek:

15/04/2008, 4:38 AM
jaysus dcfcsteve! I dont think so. U could see him straining to check the crest on the jacket!

15/04/2008, 5:33 PM
I was in Quinns in Drumcondra there on Thursday night, the 'county colours' night, and saw a guy wearing a Shelbourne top. I would have acknowledged him if I was wearing my Derry top but I forgot to wear it. Better to acknowlegde a Shels fan than someone wearing a Liverpool/Man U top etc. Mind you, the vast majority in Quinns were wearing GAA tops.

Was there myself on Thurs, ha small world............I wasn't wearing a Shels top though. ****ing hate those County Colours' nights.

17/04/2008, 9:24 AM
As previously advised, a lot of them were Overseas sales

Ah the ex-pat(s) community

:o :p

22/04/2008, 3:11 PM
There was a coupla Harps fans floating around Mary I back in my undergrad days (I appreciate that somebody will get a kick out of the potential to quote 'coupla Harps fans floating around Mary', I've just done it, let it go.) One of them was a girl that I vaguely remember being cute but it could just have been the shirt that did it for me too.

I've seen a few Cork City shirts there too. There is usually a nod alright. Had a chat with a Cork fan on the bus one day but that's going back a few years now too.

And there was this guy who used to come into the shop I work in wearing a Dublin City baseball cap. I asked him was he a fan one day. "Oh yeah for years and years," he assured me with a cheesy grin. "Back in the Home Farm days and all so?" I enquired. He looked blankly at me. When I told him that Dublin City were a pretty new proposition in that form he blushed and decided that it was mostly the Gah he was into. He spun more Walter Mitty style yarns at other times but that first one remains my favourite. :)

pól-dcfc
22/04/2008, 3:14 PM
There was a coupla Harps fans floating around Mary I back in my undergrad days (I appreciate that somebody will get a kick out of the potential to quote 'coupla Harps fans floating around Mary', I've just done it, let it go.) One of them was a girl that I vaguely remember being cute but it could just have been the shirt that did it for me too.

That or her lovely soft wool and her wee black face.

22/04/2008, 3:16 PM
her wee black face.

Related to that boy of the Asokuhs then perhaps? Did I go too far?

22/04/2008, 3:21 PM
Being acknoledged by other el fans is not always a good thing. When we did our last exam in Maynooth the faculty all came out to have a drink with us, and I was talking to the professor of experimental physics when a passing Bohs fan shouted 'Go on you Finn Harps Bast**d!' (or something to that effect) for no apparent reason, especially given the fact that I wasn't wearing any colours. I had no idea what to say next, but the prof just looked amused and asked whether that happened to me often.