View Full Version : Euro 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10

19/06/2008, 1:48 PM
Disrespectful of the anthem.Its only a song.

19/06/2008, 1:54 PM
It's too close for me to call in tonight's match.

One thing I've noticed is that the Portuguese are getting an awful lot of attention in the media because of Ronaldo and Scolari's club affairs. This reminded me of all the attention Italy got following calciopoli. And that seemed to unite them greatly.

19/06/2008, 2:28 PM
Even though the Portuguese are technically better footballers, i would imagine the Germans will crowd out the midfield, and Frings is the star man there.
Watch tonight how many times Deco loses the ball

Germany for me in Extra time or Penos

19/06/2008, 3:14 PM
Just FYI, nice good quality video highlight site for Euro 2008 and other sports.

Here (http://www.sportizo.com/)

19/06/2008, 3:22 PM
It's looking like Frings and Podolski might not be fully fit tonight, whereas Portugal have a full team to choose from.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/euro_2008/7363493.stm

jmurphyc
19/06/2008, 5:04 PM
I'm tipping Portugal for tonight, but it should be close and could go either way. Germany's potential loss of Podolski and Frings and Loew's ban for the game make me think Portugal just have the edge. I assume Borowski will take Frings's place and he'll have a very important role to play due to the creativity of Deco and Moutinho and with Ronaldo and Simao probably cutting in a bit. If Jansen plays left back and Ronaldo plays on the right that could also be an interesting battle.

gaiscíoch
19/06/2008, 6:05 PM
The pitch is a disgrace... Did anyone see it yet Lehman lifting up a piece and all..

Rovers fan
19/06/2008, 6:42 PM
2-1 portugal after extra time. Ronaldo to do very little but to pop up with a goal. Deco to be motm.

19/06/2008, 6:59 PM
The pitch is a disgrace... Did anyone see it yet Lehman lifting up a piece and all..

Sure it's only newly laid. It had to be taken up after the Turkey vs Switzerland game becae of the heavy rain.

Coltron
19/06/2008, 8:03 PM
I bet you a kilo of my finest produce from Bogota, Ronaldo doesn't kick a ball. He'll be invisible. The Germans will smother the life out of him.
Wanna bet??

Ruben I don't see how you feel so strongly on this. Had I been online earlier I would gladly have put my money on the line. I actually had a small bet on him scoring the first tonight. Although that didn't win he has influenced the game and is playing well. If Portugal get through maybe we can set up a bet for the semis.

I think you're ****ing against the wind. What does he have to do to get respect from you?

19/06/2008, 8:45 PM
Portugal wasted possession too many times. They had so many long shots go well wide or over. They also just wasted passes and crosses. Simao was especially guilty of it. I don't see how he is rated so well.

Germany played very well. Their first goal was brilliant play by the midfield. If they meet Croatia in the semis, it'll be a very interesting game.

19/06/2008, 8:54 PM
True football stereotypes. Germany written off by many before the game, but they were big, their football was efficient, direct and highly effective. Portugal were better technically, but had a good old fashioned dodgy continental keeper. Good game; would have been a great game if anything had happened between Germany's third and Portugal's second.

Very good tournament overall though. One of the best I can remember.

19/06/2008, 8:56 PM
Entertaining game. Both team were dodgy at the back but going forward they were a joy to watch. Deco still has it just a pity some of his team mates wanted to take pot shots from 30 yards every time.

Highlight of the match was that German lady supporter in injury time!!!!

old git
19/06/2008, 9:54 PM
Entertaining game. Both team were dodgy at the back but going forward they were a joy to watch. Deco still has it just a pity some of his team mates wanted to take pot shots from 30 yards every time.

Highlight of the match was that German lady supporter in injury time!!!!

thought the portugese darkhaired lady on the phone at end of match was a better highlight :D:D

19/06/2008, 10:00 PM
Very good tournament overall though. One of the best I can remember.

Agree. Really enjoying almost every game I watch.

Morbo
20/06/2008, 9:06 AM
Germany will win it, looking forward to seeing Ronaldo cry again when they lose, that always makes me smile

Ha told ye so, I got 6/5 on Germany before the game too which makes it even sweeter

lionelhutz
20/06/2008, 9:17 AM
Ha told ye so, I got 6/5 on Germany before the game too which makes it even sweeter

Germany were 9/4 in Paddys before the game. Great price.....in hindsight

Agree with Ruben Sosa's assessment of great vs very good players. Although I think some players do deserve the title "great" if they perform far and above the rest of the world for 2 to 3 years such as Ronaldinho. He was definitely one the greats in his performances between 2004 and 2007

20/06/2008, 9:18 AM
win plaudits from team mates, press, fans and fellow players.
Well you cant say Ronaldo hasn't got praise off his team mates, the press, fans and his fellow players.

He must win his fair share of trophies and have a hand in the winning of them.
He's won his fair share of trophies for a man who's still only 23, and has had a hand in winning them all.

He must perform on the biggest stage of all ie :The World Cup European Championships and to a lesser extent, The Champions League or Copa America.
I thought Ronaldo had a good World Cup in 06.

And while he didnt shine individually in the Euro's this year, I was still impressed with him, he looked like he was playing more for the team, summed up with Portugal's 3rd goal against Czech Rep.

He also performed quite well in the Champions League this year, top scorer anyone?

Morbo
20/06/2008, 9:20 AM
Can I be serious for a minute (well probably not), but I'm going to try anyway.
Ronaldo is on a list of what I call 'very good players'.
Here's my list:
The Good:
Steve Mc Manaman, Paul Ince, Nolberto Solano, Andrei Kanchelskis etc etc etc..
The Very Good:
Chritiano Ronaldo, Thierry Henry, Rivaldo, Ronaldinhio, Figo, etc etc etc..
The Great:
Zinedine Zidane, Michel Platini, Diego Maradona, Franz Beckenbauer, Pele..

To be truly great in my book, a player must have a long career, almost completly at the top of his game, and win plaudits from team mates, press, fans and fellow players.
He must win his fair share of trophies and have a hand in the winning of them.
And most importantly of all, and I hope your listening Coltron!!
He must perform on the biggest stage of all ie :The World Cup, European Championships and to a lesser extent, The Champions League or Copa America.
That's how I decide in my little football World, The Good The Bad and The Ugly....
Amen....

Agree with most of that although I'd put him a notch below Figo and Henry at their prime

Roadend
20/06/2008, 9:25 AM

I don't remember seeing Ronaldo cry..............unfortunately.

Morbo
20/06/2008, 9:26 AM
Germany were 9/4 in Paddys before the game. Great price.....in hindsight
I just bet on them to go through which was 6/5, but 9/4 to win in 90mins was great value too

20/06/2008, 2:24 PM
I shocked that so many people were tipping Portugal, over 60 percent i think on the uefa.com site
Portugal for me didnt do anything special in the tournament to deserve such high praise, esp against a team like germany. And we all know (at least some of us do) how good the Germans are at getting to finals

Croatia 3-1 turkey, should be a cracker

Holland to beat the russians - a game im really looking forward too, two great attacking forces

Spain - italy, all fingers crossed for Spain 2-1

20/06/2008, 3:27 PM
My club ran a forecast and my semi-finalists are Germany, Croatia, Holland and Italy. So that's what I'm hoping. I went for a Croatia - Holland final with the Dutch coming out on top. I doubt too many others would have that so all going well I might be €1500 better off. I have a feeling Spain will beat Italy and it'll end up as a Germany - Spain final. I doubt I could be lucky enough for my forecasting to be that good! I got two of the groups spot on and 7 of the 8 quarter finalists. If it wasn't for that Turkey comeback I'd have had 3 of the groups exactly right.

20/06/2008, 7:05 PM
Agree. Really enjoying almost every game I watch.
Only 20 minutes gone in Croatia v Turkey, and it's more of the same.

Here's hoping Sligo v UCD tomorrow is as good! :)

Rovers fan
20/06/2008, 9:29 PM
What a finish! I just knew turkey would win. You could tell by the look of rakitis and modric that they were gonna miss.

Greenforever
20/06/2008, 9:53 PM
As much as i hate the Turks fair play to them tonight, never say die, lets hope we learn from their attitude. The Croats may as well not have taken the penalties, they had the stuffing knocked out of them by the Turkey (excuse the pun):D:D:D

20/06/2008, 9:53 PM
What an end to the game. It wasn't really up to the others in standard but it finished with great excitement.

Croatia looked defeated after the equaliser and I thought it would be Turkey's.

Turkey Germany will be a fierce battle. Knowing the Turks with their poor discipline and the huge Turkish population in Germany. There are a few German-born Turks in the side and there's plenty of them who play in Germany. It'll be very interesting.

20/06/2008, 9:55 PM
If it wasn't for that Turkey comeback I'd have had 3 of the groups exactly right.
You must really hate Turkey!

Can see Holland beating Germany in the final.

20/06/2008, 10:30 PM
You must really hate Turkey!

Can see Holland beating Germany in the final.

Sweet mother of God. I was out at the Rovers game, I just saw the result there, can't believe it. :mad:

21/06/2008, 12:29 AM
Sweet mother of God. I was out at the Rovers game, I just saw the result there, can't believe it. :mad:

I put a tenner on Turkey @ 66/1 before the tournament started! Come on Turkey!!!

21/06/2008, 6:17 AM
They've half their team out for the Germany game; think that'll be too much for them.

21/06/2008, 10:08 AM
The thing is they are doing all of this with a weaker keeper. Igor Akinfeev is a good young goalie but a bit erratic, Vach Malafeev (at Zenit) is in the squad and is a more reliable keeper. I guess Hiddink is trying to give Akinfeev more experience ahead of the world cup qualifiers but Malafeev is only 29, so personally I'd start with him.

Also they are missing their key striker, Pavel Pogrebnyak. This guy is a great striker, he's got a huge frame and giant physical presence, but he has superb control and deadly finishing. He actually takes free kicks for Russia and Zenit sometimes (which would be like Niall Quinn taking free kicks for us back in the 1990s). Him, Zyrianov, Arshavin, Anyukov all play for Zenit and all link up really well. Arshavin will basically make runs all over the oppositions half, down either flank, or running diagonally from the flank into the box, or just running down the center. Zyrianov usually runs from the center into the middle and Anyukov only down the flank. All these players link really well with Pogrebnyak and with Pavluchenko the link up isn't quite as good.

Russia play Germany in Dortmund on 11th October (I think) and that match will go a long way to deciding which team wins the world cup qual. group.

Edmundo, I'm not convinced you know enough about Russian football, I think you need to watch a bit more :D
Fair play your analysis has been brilliant.

21/06/2008, 2:48 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/euro2008/2008/06/its_a_shame_england_arent_here.html

A rather biased article on the BBC.

Don't get me wrong, I'm sure England's qualifying failure provided a rich amount of schadenfreude for plenty of people across all corners of Europe.

And I have a definite hunch that, although they would never admit it publicly, some of the authorities who had in organising the tournament were relieved when England lost to Croatia on that sodden Wembley night.

But what has really struck me out here is the genuine affection and regard in which people from all across Europe hold the English and their national team.

stojkovic
21/06/2008, 5:40 PM
I put a tenner on Turkey @ 66/1 before the tournament started! Come on Turkey!!!
Put a tenner on Turkey to win on penos last night, 9/1.

21/06/2008, 5:51 PM
Funny we hear all these people with bets that succeed and yet not too many bookies go out of business :D

Well done to Turkey. Would hate to be waking up a Croatian supporter this am unless beside that one with the tight hot pants in totty watch, even then I am not sure if it would kill the pain.

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg229/May261999/U2755P6T12D3737561F44DT200806210254.jpg

21/06/2008, 9:08 PM
Fantastic performence by the Russians. I had Holland down to win it but christ the Russians are good.

Yer man Arshavin is the best player i've seen in a long time. I hope Alex Ferguson was watching the match because he would be a superstar!

21/06/2008, 9:17 PM
If Fergie has any sense he'll sell Ronaldo for 80 million and buy Arshavin for a quarter of the price!!! Outstanding performance. Van Persie was muck.

Great football by the Russians. That number 10 Arshavin, is some player. Another really enjoyable game. Great tournament so far.

Closed Account 2
OH YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE EES!!! What a game!! What a team, what a player!!!

They play such great football!! Beautiful!!!!

Большое спасибо!!!

21/06/2008, 9:23 PM
This guy Arshavin is top quality and after tonights performence he's the hottest property in World Football. A genius on the ball and he runs the show on his own. I would love to see him at Man Utd sooner rather than later.

If I was Sir Alex i'd be on the phone to Zenit immediatley asking how much!

In the words of Chris Kamara.........ARSHAVIN............Unbelievable Jeff!:D:D

Marked Man
21/06/2008, 9:29 PM
Haven't actually been too impressed with the tournament so far, but today's game was a cracker. Great performance by Arshavin.

Closed Account 2
21/06/2008, 9:48 PM
Edmundo, I'm not convinced you know enough about Russian football, I think you need to watch a bit more :D
Fair play your analysis has been brilliant.

Thanks, if anyone needs a sports journalist / researcher on Eastern European or Latin American football let me know! :D

Noelys Guitar
21/06/2008, 10:17 PM
I fancy Russia to win. A Russia v Italy final.

I made this prediction before the tourny started. I have Russia at 12/1 and Italy at 7/1. OK so I got the group thing mixed up but I fancy the Italian's to beat the Spanish tomorrow whch would leave me with a team in the final guaranteed.

21/06/2008, 10:19 PM
After miracles with South Korea and Australia, Hiddink does it again with Russia. Russia just didn't play good football, they played attractive, attacking, controlled football. Truly, one of the great coaches of our time.

21/06/2008, 10:29 PM
After miracles with South Korea and Australia, Hiddink does it again with Russia. Russia just didn't play good football, they played attractive, attacking, controlled football. Truly, one of the great coaches of our time.

Scolari was condemned/jeered by the creature for being unable to coach a team how to defend at set pieces. This flaw was of course ignored in Hiddink's Russia by it, the same person who jeered the Russians after their first game and called them a "team with no spirit". Leopards and spots as usual.

As ever, the teams that start off well in groups and rest players in the 3rd game, find it hard to come back to the boil. Seen it happen so often but time and time again it happens but managers continue to rest players.

Can Spain be the exception?

sligofan4ever
21/06/2008, 10:44 PM
I remember at the Sligo Rovers game tonight they said the update was 1-1 at full time (normal time) but when i got home and turned on the TV I couldnt beleive my eyes when i seen Russia beating Holland 3-1 I was full sure Hollland were going to go on win the whole thing.

Noelys Guitar
21/06/2008, 11:01 PM
The 3 best "footballing" tournaments for me have been the 1970 world Cup. 1984 euro's and this current one. Its great watching teams like Turkey, Russia and Croatia playing fast, slow, one touch, two touch football.

jmurphyc
21/06/2008, 11:07 PM
I'm not sure whether it's true but it's rumoured that Arshavin has a minimum release fee of somewhere between 10 and 15 million (pounds). For that amount of money he looks like he'll be a great signing for someone should he leave Zenit.

stojkovic
22/06/2008, 12:45 PM
The 3 best "footballing" tournaments for me have been the 1970 world Cup. 1984 euro's and this current one. Its great watching teams like Turkey, Russia and Croatia playing fast, slow, one touch, two touch football.

Totally agree but would be tempted to add WC86 and Euro2000.

22/06/2008, 1:07 PM
Scolari was condemned/jeered by the creature for being unable to coach a team how to defend at set pieces. This flaw was of course ignored in Hiddink's Russia by it, the same person who jeered the Russians after their first game and called them a "team with no spirit". Leopards and spots as usual.

As ever, the teams that start off well in groups and rest players in the 3rd game, find it hard to come back to the boil. Seen it happen so often but time and time again it happens but managers continue to rest players.

Can Spain be the exception?

I just posted this same point on the RTE thread. Agree absolutely. BTW the same "It":D wrote in his column in the star that the only 3 contenders were Holland, Croatia and Spain. Two down so far.

Nevertheless, despite that, I hope Spain do it. I'd love to see them win the tournament.