View Full Version : Euro 2008
Pages :
[
5]
Billsthoughts
10/06/2008, 12:44 PM
Not really. They have all been cagey enough affairs due to both teams not wanting to lose their first match. Anytime there has been more than one goal it has largely been down to counter attacks against the team chasing the game. Think we will see different results in the second round of matches. Expect Spain to start well tonite tho.
10/06/2008, 1:59 PM
Also interesting that in the 6 games todate, both sides have failed to score in all the games. 5 teams have scored and 7 have failed to score. First goal seems more important than ever :(
I've been worrying over this statistic too but, leaving Group C aside, only the "weaker" sides have failed to score.
It's more of a case of the stronger sides getting ahead and then being able to soak up the weaker sides' pressure afterwards.
Group C has been a bit different. France couldn't score at all so the onus was never on Romania to attack. They had settled for a draw from the kick-off. Netherlands Italy was funny because there was no clear favourite in the match so my "stronger vs. weaker" theory doesn't hold up. But it was another example of sublime counter-attacking football by the Dutch.
10/06/2008, 2:54 PM
you heard it here 1st!!!
get on the czechs not to qualify FROM the group at EVENS - this is a cert... also have a small bet on them to finish last at 3-1 which is a very good price..
oopps:rolleyes:
10/06/2008, 3:06 PM
Romanians are a proud people from a nation forged in steel and fire, that was in evidence this afternoon when they out foxed a technically superior (on paper) French team. Like a great game of chess the Romanians held their line with grit and resolve, fair play to them and I can see big problems for teams that play them. They've a good set of players and Nicolae Dorin Goian, Radoi and Dica would grace many teams.
ah man, they were boring, with a little more effort they could have sneaked a win. What the hell will they do with one point!!!!
The tournament needed last nights game. Upto then it has been poor.
I thought the italians were bad and the ref never gave them any support (which was great). What - no free kicks for italy, then how are they supposed to win (cheat) a game?
First goal was a joke
But thank god for holland and attacking football ai its best
Austria were unlucky and deserved something
Croatia were evil, cyncial to the end
10/06/2008, 3:57 PM
It's great to see such unity (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=85876) on foot.ie.
What's a Junior Forum?
jmurphyc
10/06/2008, 6:11 PM
What's a Junior Forum?
It's for the ickle babies.
Hibs4Ever
10/06/2008, 8:02 PM
the czechs are an extremely poor team at the moment. i can easily see them finishing bottom of that group and also getting no wins in the process - you heard it here 1st!!!
get on the czechs not to qualify FROM the group at EVENS - this is a cert... also have a small bet on them to finish last at 3-1 which is a very good price..
Good call, anymore of your wonderful tips for us :rolleyes:
10/06/2008, 8:15 PM
2-0 Sweden! YEEEESSSS!!!!!!!
I hate the way the Greeks play.
Closed Account 2
10/06/2008, 8:49 PM
Russia 5/2 to get out of the group looks like a decent bet.
I think Spain will beat Sweden on Saturday, and think Russia can beat Greece (just). Then in the final match Russia will have Arshavin (the best player in Europe) back from suspension and I can see them beating Sweden.
Hibs4Ever
10/06/2008, 8:54 PM
Agree. Russia will still get out of the group IMO
gilberto_eire
10/06/2008, 9:02 PM
Are ye having a laugh, off the games i caught so far Russia were the worst by far, even when they were losing they never moved the ball with purpose looking to get back into the game, played like they were the ones with the lead, Russia will be lucky to get any points if they play like that for the other two games!
10/06/2008, 9:04 PM
I'm not so confident for Russia beating Greece.
From what I saw today, Russia are the type of team that Greece can tear apart. Russia tried to play football in the first half and that's how Spain ripped them apart. Russia chased the ball and worked very hard. That's the kind of team that Greece will take advantage of.
10/06/2008, 9:23 PM
I'm not so confident for Russia beating Greece.
From what I saw today, Russia are the type of team that Greece can tear apart. Russia tried to play football in the first half and that's how Spain ripped them apart. Russia chased the ball and worked very hard. That's the kind of team that Greece will take advantage of.
So if an attacking team like Spain can tear Russia apart and also a defensive counter attacking team can take advantage of Russia, which teams, other than crap teams would not beat Russia then.
jmurphyc
10/06/2008, 10:05 PM
So if an attacking team like Spain can tear Russia apart and also a defensive counter attacking team can take advantage of Russia, which teams, other than crap teams would not beat Russia then.
England?
10/06/2008, 10:36 PM
All Spain's goals came on the counter-attack. Therefore, Russia are open to being caught that way. Greece are a team that can easily do it to them as well.
Closed Account 2
11/06/2008, 1:40 AM
Russia had a few chances, they hit the post in the first half and always looked dangerous on corners, before Fabregas's offside goal they put the Spanish under a bit of pressure (Ramos looked sloppy in the last few mins). They had lots of possesion and were a very mobile team. Looking at Greece's defenders and keeper, particularly for the Hansen goal, I don't think they will be able to cope with the speed of the players who feed off Pavluchenko... What they are really missing is a decent defensive midfielder who can break up play and redistribute the ball (a Vieira or Kinsella / Graham Kavagnah for us) Hiddink brought back Semak but it's not right. For the Sweden game they can play Arshavin as a support forward and then drop Zyrianov back to defensive midfield. For the next game (v Greece) I suspect he'll use the CSKA combination of the Berezutski twins and Ignashevitch as center backs and a sweeper or DM. I hope they go through anyway, they're a positive team and so far the only one who's scored after conceeding a goal.
Sligo Hornet
11/06/2008, 6:31 AM
England?
Neil said "other than crap teams";)
11/06/2008, 7:46 AM
I don't understand the slating of Russia, I was particularily offended by Ronnie Whelan's assertion that they should be ashamed of themselves.
I thought they played good football, had numerous chances they failed to take, but crucially were sloppy a few times and were punished for it. I was really surprised not to see Ignashevich start, I thought he is their main centre half?
They have Greece next up and I think they can win that.
Similarily I couldn't believe the rubbish written about Italy. Fair enough Donadoni's selection was perhaps a bit odd, and while they are an older team than most, they were extremely unlucky. Regardless of the first goal, they too played decent football, missed a couple of sitters and to be fair, the 3-0 scoreline could easily have been 2-1 to Italy. They've Romania up next which is the perfect game for them. An Italian win and a French Dutch draw and they're second in the group with the French having to attack them in the last game, exactly what the Italians will want. Write them off at your peril. Dunphy has really shown his ignorance over the last couple of days.
bennocelt,
The frst goal (for Holland) was actually perfectly legitimate - according to a technical, though not well understood, ruling.
Also - Cheating Italians? Evil Croatians? Nice to see you're embracing a sense of European brotherhood and togetherness....
lionelhutz
11/06/2008, 2:02 PM
Predictions for this evenings games lads?
I'll go for;
Czech 1 - 2 Portugal
Switzerland 2 - 0 Turkey
joe_barry80
11/06/2008, 2:24 PM
Portugal 1-0 Czech Rep
Switzerland 1-1 Turkey
11/06/2008, 2:43 PM
bennocelt,
The frst goal (for Holland) was actually perfectly legitimate - according to a technical, though not well understood, ruling.
Also - Cheating Italians? Evil Croatians? Nice to see you're embracing a sense of European brotherhood and togetherness....
no it wasnt:rolleyes: ---common sense should apply, thats just refs covering their arse
Well i do actually think that when italy play you need a strong ref
Did you not see the last world cup?
as for tonight
reckon Ronaldo might hit a few tonight 4-1 to Portugal (wishful thinking?)
And i think Turkey are a good price at 2/1 to beat a Swiss team with no forwards
Not to mention greasy Spaniards, ruthles Germans, surrender monkey French, mad Turks, dour Russians, boring Swiss......absent English.
old git
11/06/2008, 3:14 PM
Predictions for this evenings games lads?
I'll go for;
Czech 1 - 2 Portugal
Switzerland 2 - 0 Turkey
czech 0 - 1 portugal
switz 1- 1 turkey could be a fiery game bit of history between teams remember they kicked lumps out of each other after match in a world cup qualifier not so long ago :D
11/06/2008, 3:30 PM
switz 1- 1 turkey could be a fiery game bit of history between teams remember they kicked lumps out of each other after match in a world cup qualifier not so long ago :D
Not to mention Hakan Yakin...
Well i do actually think that when italy play you need a strong ref
Did you not see the last world cup?
Did you see the 2002 WC? Italy had plenty to complain about.
12/06/2008, 6:59 AM
First time in the championship a team has come back from behind to win. Not sure (open to correction) that the win made much difference for Turkey since they still have to beat the Czech Republic to be sure to qualify in the last game or will a draw do as they have a better goal difference than the Czechs? Swiss only did well when it was water polo. Turks deserved their win and are more passionate about football. "Turk-EE-Ev"...
lionelhutz
12/06/2008, 9:01 AM
Thought Ronaldo was pretty average for Portugal yesterday, although he is an excellent finisher and it was good play to set up Quaresma for the third. And Simao has played terrible in the two games so far, don't see how anyone rates that player.
Deco put in a quality performance, the way he received the ball under pressure and skipped away from his marker time and time again was a joy to watch.
Great win for the Turks - the Swiss are extremely limited and it still hurts to think a team like that could've knocked us out of two qualifying campaigns. Now Turkey and the Czechs have the same goal difference and goals scored, I think it comes down to yellow cards if they draw - is that right?
12/06/2008, 9:25 AM
First time in the championship a team has come back from behind to win. Not sure (open to correction) that the win made much difference for Turkey since they still have to beat the Czech Republic to be sure to qualify in the last game or will a draw do as they have a better goal difference than the Czechs? Swiss only did well when it was water polo. Turks deserved their win and are more passionate about football. "Turk-EE-Ev"...
It will go to a penalty shoot out if its a draw. THey are equal on every other criteria.
12/06/2008, 9:32 AM
Regulations
Article 7.08 reads: "If two teams which have the same number of points, the same number of goals scored and conceded play their last group match against each other and are still equal at the end of that match, the ranking of the two teams in question will be determined by kicks from the penalty mark, provided no other teams within the group have the same number of points on completion of all group matches."
Yep, peno kicks.
Does anyone have a link to a vid of Yakan's amazing miss last night from point-blank range? Felt sorry for the guy, because I like him - but it was pretty incredible.
joe_barry80
12/06/2008, 10:48 AM
http://goalday.blogspot.com/2008/06/switzerland-vs-turkey-highlights.html
try this you might get the replay
12/06/2008, 10:49 AM
Portugal Czech Republic was probably the best game yet. The Czechs were a lot better than their first match. I feel like a **** for writing off the Portuguese earlier on.
Ronaldo had a very effective game. He drifted in and out but he had one very good finish and then did well to set up Quaresma. Sionko and Matejovsky both stood out in the Czech side. Plasil did well also.
The Turkey Swiss game was a funny one. The weather destroyed it in the first half and if it had kept on like that the Swiss would've one. But Turkey did very well to get back into it. I do feel sorry for Patrick Muller though. If he hadn't tried to heel the ball, Arda wouldn't have scored.
the Swiss are extremely limited and it still hurts to think a team like that could've knocked us out of two qualifying campaigns.
I also approve of sides that play to their strengths and for a long time, that's what Switzerland have done. If Ireland are better, they should've finished above them.
I must say, I've taken a shine to Kobi Kuhn over the years. Maybe it's because he's the spitting image of Jack Lemmon.
12/06/2008, 11:26 AM
I must say, I've taken a shine to Kobi Kuhn over the years. Maybe it's because he's the spitting image of Jack Lemmon.
You're right :D
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=961593#post961593
12/06/2008, 11:42 AM
no it wasnt:rolleyes: ---common sense should apply, thats just refs covering their arseNo, the refs can't apply 'common sense'. They apply the rules, the players should have the common sense to know them and stick to them.
Closed Account 2
12/06/2008, 11:56 AM
Regulations
Article 7.08 reads: "If two teams which have the same number of points, the same number of goals scored and conceded play their last group match against each other and are still equal at the end of that match, the ranking of the two teams in question will be determined by kicks from the penalty mark, provided no other teams within the group have the same number of points on completion of all group matches."
Yep, peno kicks.
Oh I would love that, I don't support either team but penos after 90 mins would be such drama.
What's everyones call on todays games ? I say Croatia 2 - Germany 1; Austria 1 - Poland 1.
12/06/2008, 11:56 AM
Have you not seen a penalty shoot out before or do you not get out much then :)
lionelhutz
12/06/2008, 1:37 PM
If Croatia play as they did against Austria they will be well beaten. However, I think they will raise their game as they have the ability to put it up to Ze Germans.
I think it could be a very open and exciting game - I'll go with a 3-2 win for Croatia.
And Poland to beat Austria 3-0.
joe_barry80
12/06/2008, 2:07 PM
I'd say Croatia will loose 3-1 to Germany and Austria 1-1 with Poland. The Austrian team that finished against Croatia will start today, instead of Vastic. who'll I say will get on for the last half hour or so.
12/06/2008, 2:10 PM
I really thought the Swiss would get out of the group stages. That has probably cost me the work competition I entered at work :(
This afternoons game should have plenty of goals. Croatia will improve (and they'll need to to match the Germans) and should earn a decent draw in what I hope is an exciting game.
cartman
12/06/2008, 2:22 PM
oopps:rolleyes:
yep, my CERT that the czechs wouldn't get out of their group is still going ok..id actually fancy the turks to just about nick that game - but if its a draw they still have penos to knock the czechs out...
bennocelt, if you want any more tips off me, let me kbow :D
in today matches,
germany to win against croatia is 5/6 - great price.. im predicting 3-0 to germany...
austria-poland is a tricky one.. poland to nick it 2-1... poland then to squeeze through with a draw against croatia in their last game!!!
there's a handy few bets for you bennocelt ;)
12/06/2008, 3:06 PM
Not to mention Hakan Yakin...
Did you see the 2002 WC? Italy had plenty to complain about.
what? strikers still falling down easy? or strikers missing sitters to win games?
or defenders going AWOL?
I still think there is far too much messing in football, still too much diving and cheating. Turkey were at it last night big time, bloody fairies
Anyway after having them at 2/1 i was happy for them:)
Ronaldo still have to prove himself. Against the big teams he goes missing.
Portugal wont win this comp, thats a definite.
germany to win easy,
Poland to win tonight, and i would put a bit of dosh on the brazilian/pole to score:)
12/06/2008, 3:07 PM
No, the refs can't apply 'common sense'. They apply the rules, the players should have the common sense to know them and stick to them.
yeah but its funny how those rules tend to change very often
12/06/2008, 3:08 PM
yep, my CERT that the czechs wouldn't get out of their group is still going ok..id actually fancy the turks to just about nick that game - but if its a draw they still have penos to knock the czechs out...
bennocelt, if you want any more tips off me, let me kbow :D
in today matches,
germany to win against croatia is 5/6 - great price.. im predicting 3-0 to germany...
austria-poland is a tricky one.. poland to nick it 2-1... poland then to squeeze through with a draw against croatia in their last game!!!
there's a handy few bets for you bennocelt ;)
yeah well i didnt do too badly last night myself:)
but i do agree with you on tonights games -
germany to win 3-1
and poland to hammer austria
gaiscíoch
12/06/2008, 3:13 PM
what? strikers still falling down easy? or strikers missing sitters to win games?
or defenders going AWOL?
I still think there is far too much messing in football, still too much diving and cheating. Turkey were at it last night big time, bloody fairies
Anyway after having them at 2/1 i was happy for them:)
Ronaldo still have to prove himself. Against the big teams he goes missing.
Portugal wont win this comp, thats a definite.
germany to win easy,
Poland to win tonight, and i would put a bit of dosh on the brazilian/pole to score:)
Good players play well against the big teams as it's easy to get yourself up for them games. It's against the small teams where all the real hard work is done great players do this. I think he has had a great tournament so far I hope it continues.
One thing is for sure he won't be the reason if Portugal win it. It will be all about Carvalho and Pepe. These two hold the key. Best players at the tournament so far for me.
12/06/2008, 5:51 PM
Well done Croatia. Magnificent performance from them. Germany can't really complain.
Great day in the Championship today. Always good to see the host in with a chance of going through, only kicker is RTE are showing Croatia - Poland :mad:
Can't wait for tomorrows round of matches now! :)
stojkovic
12/06/2008, 9:19 PM
What's everyones call on todays games ? I say Croatia 2 - Germany 1; Austria 1 - Poland 1.
Spot on Edmundo. Hope ya had a few bucks on it.
kingdom hoop
12/06/2008, 9:33 PM
only kicker is RTE are showing Croatia - Poland :mad:
Damn Poles dictating our TV schedule now too? :mad:
shaneker
12/06/2008, 9:35 PM
Spot on Edmundo. Hope ya had a few bucks on it.
Bloody right, fair play to ya.
Looks like a Portugal-Germany quarter final though, and that will be the German's exit - they're not good enough up front to win this competition and Portugal will score past them.
At least I hope so, stuck £15 on Portugal to win the thing over a year ago at 12/1, I've had no problem finding my team to support!