View Full Version : Euro 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10

cartman
16/06/2008, 9:39 PM
oopps:rolleyes:

LOL...
I told ye boyos.. the czechs were evens not to qualify from their group..i said it was a CERT.. that will get me a nice holiday away.. they always faulter - not strong enough mentally..
i will let ye know when theres more free money available!!!
romania tomorrow at 11/10 is oustanding value..
get on it lads ;)

Coltron
16/06/2008, 9:41 PM
Turkey - Croatia will be one to watch. Originally I would have picked the Croats to win. However, now I can see the Turks going through. In every tournament there are around two teams who develop with the tournament. I think Turkey are doing this and will progress because of this.

jmurphyc
17/06/2008, 3:13 AM
Turkey - Croatia will be one to watch. Originally I would have picked the Croats to win. However, now I can see the Turks going through. In every tournament there are around two teams who develop with the tournament. I think Turkey are doing this and will progress because of this.

I personally think Croatia will win but it will be a very interesting match. One factor which obviously favours Croatia is the sending off of Volkan in the last minute. He's a pretty decent goalkeeper and even though they have experienced back up in Rustu, is he past it by this stage? This could be a decisive factor in the outcome.

lionelhutz
17/06/2008, 1:35 PM
I just heard on the radio that if Italy get a score draw with France and Romania lose, then Italy go through. I don't think thats right. Is the following not correct;

Romania win, they go through
Romania draw, France or Italy win - then France/Italy go through
Romania draw, France/Italy draw - Romania go through
Romania lose, France or Italy win - France/Italy go through
Romania lose by less than three, France/Italy draw - Romania go through
Romania lose by three or more, France/Italy draw - Italy go through on goals scored

17/06/2008, 1:39 PM
I just heard on the radio that if Italy get a score draw with France and Romania lose, then Italy go through. I don't think thats right. Is the following not correct;

Romania win, they go through
Romania draw, France or Italy win - then France/Italy go through
Romania draw, France/Italy draw - Romania go through
Romania lose, France or Italy win - France/Italy go through
Romania lose by less than three, France/Italy draw - Romania go through
Romania lose by three or more, France/Italy draw - France/Italy go through
From BBC site:

If France and Italy share a score draw (1-1, 2-2, 3-3 etc), Italy will go through if Romania lose (by any score). In this scenario, Italy, Romania and France will be level on two points each but Italy would have scored more goals in games between the 3 teams.

Here's a link for all the possible scenarios.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/euro_2008/italy/7457863.stm

17/06/2008, 1:45 PM
How so you lunatic? Italy have one goal. France have one goal??? If they draw, they would have same goals. But Italy will have conceded one less than France.... Hence Italy progress.....

All the one, Romania are going to win.
How am I a lunatic for copying and pasting something?

And maybe you should read the whole post...

lionelhutz
17/06/2008, 2:15 PM
From BBC site:

If France and Italy share a score draw (1-1, 2-2, 3-3 etc), Italy will go through if Romania lose (by any score). In this scenario, Italy, Romania and France will be level on two points each but Italy would have scored more goals in games between the 3 teams.

Here's a link for all the possible scenarios.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/euro_2008/italy/7457863.stm

Thanks for that DDD. Here's hoping for a 0-0 in the French game. I've a feeling Holland will beat Romania even with their second string and Italy and France will draw 1-1 meaning Italy scrape through

Coltron
17/06/2008, 5:11 PM
jmurphyc: Rustu, as you say, has the experience. And being a goalkeeper age doesn't diminish ability at the same steep rate that it does to an outfield player so there is reason for faith. Plus, it's one game. He has enough in him, I think, to at least put in a credible 90 minutes. You can also be sure that he will be ready to take this opportunity with (ahem)both hands.

17/06/2008, 5:12 PM
Rustu has been past it for three years. His reflexes have gone.

17/06/2008, 7:15 PM
We've just had confirmation that Domenech is an idiot.

France go down to ten man in a match they have to win. So he takes off his most creative player for Jean-Alain Boumsong.

Closed Account 2
17/06/2008, 9:34 PM
He blew it by not having Flamini and Mexes in the squad. Abidal looked up the loire without a paddle in the center of defence, Mexes could have done a job there. And anyone with two working legs (maybe even Domenech himself) would have been better then Makalele who looks about as mobile as the Exxon Valdez.

Even if he had taken along young players (Mexes, Flamini, Clichy, Ben Afra) or played the fringe players (Gomis, Diarra) at least he could have built something for WC2010, as it is the French will be going into the qualifiers blind, not knowing who to play in the starting eleven.

Closed Account 2
17/06/2008, 9:50 PM
Rustu has been past it for three years. His reflexes have gone.

Rustu was kept out of the Besiktas team by Hakan Arikan, who has the following record in the Champions League this season

Marseille Away let in 2
Porto Home let in 1
Liverpool Home let in 1
Liverpool Away let in 8 (yes that's eight)
He was then dropped

Rustu played in one CL game
Marseille Home let in 1
Porto Away let in 2

I think Rustu is ok for one game, Volkan is better (a very good keeper) but the Turks have no options, apart from the Galatasaray keeper Orkun Usjak, Trabzonspor (the best non Istanbul team) have a Brazilian keeper "Jefferson".

Closed Account 2
17/06/2008, 9:54 PM
By the way I think the Dutch have dropped a clanger here. I know it would have been unpopular, but had they lost today and let the Romanians through they would be looking at an easier path to the final. I think the Italians might well take care of them in the semis now.

17/06/2008, 10:27 PM
I don't think the Italians will beat Spain in the QFs. Pirlo and Gattuso out is a big blow and Toni is really off-form. I can see Aquilani and Del Piero coming in but I don't think they'll do enough.

Whereas Spain will have their strong midfield intact and they have a striker who can't stop scoring in Villa.

Closed Account 2
17/06/2008, 11:25 PM
I think it will be Perotta, De Rossi and Aquilani. Is Puyol out for the Spanish ? I think they are suspect and I would like to see what they could do if they went behind. To be honest they don't have that much form coming into the game the Russia match aside they've edged wins vs Peru, the USA and Sweden and Italy (1-0 3 months ago) but these have all been at home bar Sweden - I think this will be like the USA 94 match and the Italians will edge it (but no need for the Tassotti Enrique incident).

Morbo
18/06/2008, 9:18 AM
I think Germany will make the final but Italy won't, with Pirlo and Gattuso out it swings it in Spains favour for me and also the fact that Toni is putrid muck

18/06/2008, 9:24 AM
Italy are another like Germany, for whom this situation brings the best out of them. I can now see a Germany-Italy final.
After all, the only teams standing in their way are the great under-achievers of Netherlands, Spain and Portugal. And the inexperienced Turks, Swedes/Russians and Croats.

Lets hope so, coz I've got a tenner on that at 18/1.:)

18/06/2008, 10:57 AM
I had Pirlo to score first and Italy to win 2-1 @ 75-1. Useless French tossers.

18/06/2008, 11:25 AM
Does Henry just spend all his time moaning? Captain material? The French needed somebody to grab the game and his team mates by the scruff of the neck and drag them through (kicking and screaming if necessary).

It says a lot about your defence when Boumsong actually improves it. Domenech has to go. When you leave out Mexes, Flaimini, Clichy and Sagna at home you know something must be wrong.

jmurphyc
18/06/2008, 11:39 AM
Yeah, the French were pretty poor. I knew it before the tournament, but it just confirms that Domenech is out of his depth. I rate Abidal very highly but he was extremely poor against the Romanians and should never have been played in the centre for the Italy game. Domenech's squad selection really damaged their hopes as did the realisation that Thuram's legs had gone (which came too late).

I'm delighted though, as I put money on Italy to win the tournament at 18-1 before the game. Now their odds have dropped to 7-2 in some places so I can ensure I get my money back by laying on them!

Armando
18/06/2008, 11:41 AM
@Shakermaker

Mexes and Sagna were injured...but I get your point.

In World Cup 2002 the French brought an unfit Zidane to the tournament hoping he'd be ready for the knock out stages and subsequently didn't make it out of the group. You could sort of understand that decision because it was Zidane after all. Fast forward 6years and no lessons learned, they bring an unfit Vieira who's past it anyway and send a fully fit Flamini home. A decision like that makes me feel no sympathy for them at being knocked out.

18/06/2008, 12:25 PM
Does Henry just spend all his time moaning? Captain material? The French needed somebody to grab the game and his team mates by the scruff of the neck and drag them through (kicking and screaming if necessary).

It says a lot about your defence when Boumsong actually improves it. Domenech has to go. When you leave out Mexes, Flaimini, Clichy and Sagna at home you know something must be wrong.

Henry is simply not captain material, as an Arsenal fan I was very disappointed when he was given the armband - he just spends too much time sulking and moaning. A truly fantastic player but not captain material IMO.

As for Domenech, I don't like to criticise people who have success to back them up (and he has had some success) but this guy is a moron of the highest order. He may see himself as a disciplinarian or something but his squad selection and player fallouts have been shameful in my opinion.

18/06/2008, 12:52 PM
As for Domenech, I don't like to criticise people who have success to back them up (and he has had some success) but this guy is a moron of the highest order.
The only trophy he has won as a manager is a French Second Divsion title with Lyon in 1989. He was manager of the French U-21 side for years and his record was unremarkable for a country as strong as France.

18/06/2008, 12:57 PM
And he's an idiot, you forgot, he's an idiot...
Already taken care of. (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=964424&postcount=356)

Closed Account 2
18/06/2008, 2:00 PM
I hear the first thing he did was to propose to his wife, fair play to him.

18/06/2008, 2:19 PM
The only trophy he has won as a manager is a French Second Divsion title with Lyon in 1989. He was manager of the French U-21 side for years and his record was unremarkable for a country as strong as France.

World Cup finalist as well... although I agree, he couldn't be compared to the likes of Ferguson etc or O'Neill etc or probably even the next bracket of Allardyce etc.

``Try: 'truly fantastic premier league player' ``.. did pretty well in the Champions league as well, and his international record is pretty good (close to a goal every 2 games), however I agree that while he could, and shoud, be considered a legend of the english premier league, he is not a legend of European football.

And good luck to Domenech and his fiancé.

18/06/2008, 2:21 PM
I agree with you that Carvalho and Pepe are key for Portugal but I think Deco is their most important player. His ability to hold the ball under pressure and control midfield is the reason they have a chance of winning it

ha ha ha ha, funny:)
thats if he can actually manage to hold onto the ball
Germany to beat portugal

18/06/2008, 2:25 PM
Damn, I forgot to put the bet on... :(

I went for a few drinks and then was going to nip to the bookies to put the money on it but stayed in the pub to watch Germany Croatia... I completely forgot about the bet and had one of those "Oh god noooo" moments as Vastic lined up to take the penalty.

I think I'll put a £5 acc. on Italy, Russia and Germany to qualify from the group stages. I think Russia will beat Sweden (an old side who will struggle to contain Arshavin) in their last game, the worry is the Greece game tomorrow if Pavyluchenko is fit I'd say they will win otherwise it could be a draw. Spain should beat Sweden and probably Greece too in the final game, so it's a battle for 2nd. I think Italy will edge past Romania today and France Holland will probably be a draw or Dutch win, leaving Italy with the upper hand on the last fixture v France. I'd say Germany will pip the Poles to the 2nd place in group B, Germany only need a draw with Austria. The Russia prediction is the most risky, the Germany and Italy ones are pretty likely. Anyone any thoughts on the Czech - Turkey match ? I really can't call this one, the Czechs have a great passing game and are a strong physical side and with Chech in goal have a decent chance; I think Turkey's pace and drive down the flanks could cause a tired Czech team problems. I think Ujfalushi and Rozenhal will have the beating of Nihat and Tuncay (or even Semih if he comes on) I either see this as a draw and the Turks winning on pens (Volkan is a specialist) or a Czech win in the 90 mins, anyone else have thoughts on this match ?

jeez man thats good tipping:)

18/06/2008, 2:31 PM
LOL...
I told ye boyos.. the czechs were evens not to qualify from their group..i said it was a CERT.. that will get me a nice holiday away.. they always faulter - not strong enough mentally..
i will let ye know when theres more free money available!!!
romania tomorrow at 11/10 is oustanding value..
get on it lads ;)

well done, at evens, top tipster there:rolleyes:

man i had Portugal first and then czech second in group at 4/1......damn

but in the end the better team won, Turkey were ace , and they deserved. The czechs withy Koller were cheating all the time. I hate the way Koller does that. I can never forget when he played with kaiserlautern V Bohs, was constantly on the ground

anyway shocking decisions by the ref - again - the refs in the tournament have been brutal

18/06/2008, 2:35 PM
World Cup finalist as well...
My impression of the '06 WC run was that Zizou wanted it more than anything and his drive superseded the instructions of Domenech. France were appaling in the group stages and only qualified by beating Togo, iirc. They picked up after that, but it was thanks to Zidane and some other players. I don't rate Domenech at all.

18/06/2008, 2:36 PM
Yeah, the French were pretty poor. I knew it before the tournament, but it just confirms that Domenech is out of his depth. I rate Abidal very highly but he was extremely poor against the Romanians and should never have been played in the centre for the Italy game. Domenech's squad selection really damaged their hopes as did the realisation that Thuram's legs had gone (which came too late).

I'm delighted though, as I put money on Italy to win the tournament at 18-1 before the game. Now their odds have dropped to 7-2 in some places so I can ensure I get my money back by laying on them!

jeez h chris, man just hope you were not listening to Hansen on BBC then

and Lawro was funny " Luca toni, more like swiss tony":)

18/06/2008, 2:37 PM
I hate the way Koller does that. I can never forget when he played with kaiserlautern V Bohs, was constantly on the ground
You have terrible memory then. Koller never played for Kaiserslautern.

18/06/2008, 2:50 PM
It was Lokvenc who played for Kaiserslautern. They're basically interchangeable.

18/06/2008, 4:52 PM
anyway shocking decisions by the ref - again - the refs in the tournament have been brutal

If all referees are brutal, then there's something wrong with the system, not the referees.

In any event, I think they've by and large done well. I'd love to see anyone else do better with players cheating and diving and your every decision played back in slow motion 3 or four times. An impossible job.

18/06/2008, 5:51 PM
If all referees are brutal, then there's something wrong with the system, not the referees.

In any event, I think they've by and large done well. I'd love to see anyone else do better with players cheating and diving and your every decision played back in slow motion 3 or four times. An impossible job.

all they have to do is be brave, or fair
I cant believe its good enough, football is like basketball now
player falls on gorund = automatic free kick, its ruining the game

18/06/2008, 5:54 PM
You have terrible memory then. Koller never played for Kaiserslautern.

sorry my mistake then, but same sentiment - sorry:D

Closed Account 2
19/06/2008, 12:33 AM
Lets hear it for the Russians!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLcc19mt4eA&feature=related

That Arshavin is some player!

Sligo Hornet
19/06/2008, 6:49 AM
Lets hear it for the Russians!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLcc19mt4eA&feature=related

That Arshavin is some player!

Agreed, I thought they were fantastic going forward last night.....passing and movement off the ball gave you the impression they had two or three extra players. However, the goalie is very suspect.

19/06/2008, 6:55 AM
Russia are a different side with Arshavin in the team. He totally ran the show last night and made Sweden look like a very poor and ordinary side. I thought Sweden's organisation and positional strengths would be enough to get they draw they needed but credit to Hiddink here - his players were successful in drawing Sweden out of position and getting in behind them.

19/06/2008, 7:21 AM
I love watching midfield players like Arshavin. Russia were brilliant. They looked OK at the back too (as opposed to v Spain) but will be tested a lot more by Holland.

4 great quarter final pairings.

Closed Account 2
19/06/2008, 8:44 AM
The thing is they are doing all of this with a weaker keeper. Igor Akinfeev is a good young goalie but a bit erratic, Vach Malafeev (at Zenit) is in the squad and is a more reliable keeper. I guess Hiddink is trying to give Akinfeev more experience ahead of the world cup qualifiers but Malafeev is only 29, so personally I'd start with him.

Also they are missing their key striker, Pavel Pogrebnyak. This guy is a great striker, he's got a huge frame and giant physical presence, but he has superb control and deadly finishing. He actually takes free kicks for Russia and Zenit sometimes (which would be like Niall Quinn taking free kicks for us back in the 1990s). Him, Zyrianov, Arshavin, Anyukov all play for Zenit and all link up really well. Arshavin will basically make runs all over the oppositions half, down either flank, or running diagonally from the flank into the box, or just running down the center. Zyrianov usually runs from the center into the middle and Anyukov only down the flank. All these players link really well with Pogrebnyak and with Pavluchenko the link up isn't quite as good.

Russia play Germany in Dortmund on 11th October (I think) and that match will go a long way to deciding which team wins the world cup qual. group.

Morbo
19/06/2008, 9:44 AM
all they have to do is be brave, or fair
I cant believe its good enough, football is like basketball now
player falls on gorund = automatic free kick, its ruining the game

In fairness to basketball there is far more diving in football

19/06/2008, 10:21 AM
Have been impressed by the singing of the national anthems by the players, with the exception of the Russians last night. One player winked at the camera while most stood mute even though it is by far the best anthem imho. Fair dues to the one player who ended up with tears in his eyes:

Russia - our sacred stronghold,
Russia - our beloved country.
A mighty will, a great glory
Are your heritage for all times!
Chorus:
Be glorious, our free Fatherland,
Ancient union of brotherly nations,
Ancestor given wisdom of the people!
Be glorious, country! We take pride in you!
From the southern seas to the polar region
Spread our forests and our fields.
You are one in the world! You are one of a kind,
Native land protected by God!
Chorus
A broad expanse for dreams and for lives
Is opened to us by the coming years.
Our faith in our Motherland gives us strength.
So it was, so it is, and so it will always be!
Chorus

According to Wikipedia Putin chastised the national football team in the summer of 2004 about the team's behavior during the playing of the anthem. Before the start of tournament matches in the 2004 European Football Championship, the team was caught on camera chewing gum during the playing of the Russian anthem. Putin, using Leonid Tyagachyov, the head of the Russian Olympic Committee as his messenger, told the team to stop chewing gum and sing the anthem.

Now, if our players, other than Robbie Keane and Shay Given, could learn the words of our anthem and sing it would be great.

lionelhutz
19/06/2008, 11:47 AM
How do ye think tonights game will go??

Frings is a major doubt while Podolski also has a slight injury. If Germany lose Frings, that would be a massive blow to their chances cause their midfield of himself and Ballack is the strongest in the tournament IMO.

I think Portugal have played very well so far but it'll be a mighty test for them tonight. I hope they both come out and attack each other cause there's weaknesses in both backlines with the German centre halves extremely slow and Carvalho is carrying the Portuguese defence as I don't rate the other 3 (although Bosingwa looks good going forward).

I'll go for a 1-1 draw with Germany winning it in extra time

ken foree
19/06/2008, 11:49 AM
According to Wikipedia Putin chastised the national football team in the summer of 2004 about the team's behavior during the playing of the anthem. Before the start of tournament matches in the 2004 European Football Championship, the team was caught on camera chewing gum during the playing of the Russian anthem. Putin, using Leonid Tyagachyov, the head of the Russian Olympic Committee as his messenger, told the team to stop chewing gum and sing the anthem.

funny during the anthem before the greek game one fella winks and there's one fella in the line-up tugging the hair of his teammate next to him. watch 23-25 seconds in here if you can view it:

http://www.d1g.com/video/show/?id=2049918

p.s. awful news for boulharouz the dutch defender (lost his premature daughter), very sorry for him.

19/06/2008, 11:49 AM
I'll go for a 1-1 draw with Germany winning it in extra time

i'd agree with that, 2-1 germany aet, ballack scoring at least 1

Coltron
19/06/2008, 12:04 PM
Portugal are every bit as good as Germany. If there is going to be a difference between them in normal time I expect it to come named "Ronaldo". For that reason Portugal are favourites in my mind. Plus 'Big Phil' is an expert in these games. I don't know much of Lowe. He's banned for this one. That could also be important.

19/06/2008, 12:17 PM
I bet you a kilo of my finest produce from Bogota, Ronaldo doesn't kick a ball. He'll be invisible. The Germans will smother the life out of him.
Wanna bet??That Ronaldo won't kick the ball in the whole game? I'll take that bet! :D

Morbo
19/06/2008, 12:31 PM
Germany will win it, looking forward to seeing Ronaldo cry again when they lose, that always makes me smile

19/06/2008, 12:51 PM
funny during the anthem before the greek game one fella winks and there's one fella in the line-up tugging the hair of his teammate next to him. watch 23-25 seconds in here if you can view it:

http://www.d1g.com/video/show/?id=2049918

Well spotted (the hair being tugged). Same guy (forward) winked last night as well. Disrespectful of the anthem.