View Full Version : First Division

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

Monkfish
30/04/2008, 1:31 PM
First i've heard of it? Whats the yank going to change your name to "The Limerick Stabbers"

How original :rolleyes: did you make that up yourself?

30/04/2008, 1:32 PM
sorry lim till i die I have to disagree. We have sold more season tickets than last year, we are in good finanial health(when we told collins to f**k off),the crowds are still the same as last year.

I was under the impression you were up $hit creek

My humblest apologies

30/04/2008, 1:36 PM
catching the imagination of the public in general which we fully intend to do this year.

The point, or rather the debate, was about whether a team featuring more locals would be of benefit in catching the imagination of said public.

That is all.

Also Wexford kids, it's nice to see none of you have a retort to the post I put up with regards to quality of players.

monutdfc
30/04/2008, 1:36 PM
Realistically, for a team to be sustainable you cant expect to have a team full of locals.
Agree. There just aren't enough quality players around. And there are a lot of league clubs in the wider area north and south of the border competing for those players.

In our First team squad the local players are: David Crawley, Shane Grimes, Tiernan Mulvenna, and Stefan Mckevitt. Take in yths who have featured in Squads this season you have Shane Greene, Donal Greene, and Billy Smyth. If you include the greater Louth/Monaghan area then you can include Paul Shiels, Paul Smyth, John Flanagan even Aaron Shanahan who is from Navan. The rest of the squad then is either form Dublin or outside of the "Local" area.
We would generally have a similar mix, but we have less locals this year than in previous years.
Is John Flanagan not from Dundalk? He teaches there, yes?

30/04/2008, 1:39 PM
Agree. There just aren't enough quality players around. And there are a lot of league clubs in the wider area north and south of the border competing for those players.

No one, anywhere, is advocating an all local team.

Outside Dublin (and possibly Limerick) it's just not feasible.

D'uh everyone.

Flawless
30/04/2008, 1:44 PM
Yes Flanagan teaches in Dundalk, but i was pulled on this before!,he's originally from Drogheda!!

30/04/2008, 3:00 PM
Yes Flanagan teaches in Dundalk, but i was pulled on this before!,he's originally from Drogheda!!

He also has the accent to prove it. :eek:

KevB76
30/04/2008, 5:10 PM
I remember hearing some yank businessman on newstalk recently talking about investing in your lot, personally i wouldnt be bothered going to see my local team if it wasnt just that and instead just bankrolled by some outsider bringing in outsiders.

:confused: Most of our squad IS local

30/04/2008, 5:12 PM
I remember hearing some yank businessman on newstalk recently talking about investing in your lot, personally i wouldnt be bothered going to see my local team if it wasnt just that and instead just bankrolled by some outsider bringing in outsiders.

This hostility to outsiders begs one obvious question.

Do you own a banjo?

passerrby
30/04/2008, 5:24 PM

Do you own a banjo?

does who do not like outsiders likes to keep it in the family

Splurge
30/04/2008, 7:45 PM
Do you own a banjo?

I exagerated a bit but i like Wallaces policy of giving young local players a chance, seeing as were competing with the hurling a lot it would be the first stick they would beat us with.

With local players i can accept mediocre results as long as the football is as good as it has been, if we were to start buying this would change.

oldyouth
30/04/2008, 7:56 PM
If there is much more of this stupid verbal insult tennis, the thread will be moved to the rubbish bin. This would be a pity 'cos it is a very serious discussion. Monaghan, Kildare & Wexford are currently LOI teams and, as such, should have the respect and support of the wider footballing community.

It appears that only Limerick fans, within this community, want them out of business. It looks like it is not enough for these 'fans' to want their team to succeed above the other teams but, God forbid, we should seek their permission to be on the same pitch. Celebrate a victory, bemoan a defeat and acknowledge when a better team beats you

Cop yourselves on, respect others or go find a sport that deserves you.

30/04/2008, 8:24 PM
If there is much more of this stupid verbal insult tennis, the thread will be moved to the rubbish bin. This would be a pity 'cos it is a very serious discussion. Monaghan, Kildare & Wexford are currently LOI teams and, as such, should have the respect and support of the wider footballing community.

It appears that only Limerick fans, within this community, want them out of business. It looks like it is not enough for these 'fans' to want their team to succeed above the other teams but, God forbid, we should seek their permission to be on the same pitch. Celebrate a victory, bemoan a defeat and acknowledge when a better team beats you

Where have we said we want you to go out of buisness? Cop yourself on in fairness and stop acting so precious. And since when has putting out 11 players guaranteed anyone the 'respect and support' of the footballing community? Look back through previous Dublin City threads for evidence of that

oldyouth
30/04/2008, 9:50 PM
Right, I'll say this slowly. Limerick fans, not all, I'll admit, seem to constantly put down clubs who are not currently successful in terms of league position or trophies. The attitude they present is that success should always be immediate and probably identifies the generation of their fan base. Many posters here have seen the promise in individual clubs and have not been slow to acknowledge it.

I am telling you that any club that presents a team to compete in this league deserves our respect, no matter what the result.

No other posters on this forum belittles their opposite numbers like you lot and reflects what you are as individuals

pól-dcfc
30/04/2008, 9:57 PM
Look back through previous Dublin City threads for evidence of that

Ahh... the glory days of this forum!

Bile spouting from every orifice at Seery and Co. :D

Monkfish
01/05/2008, 7:02 AM
It appears that only Limerick fans, within this community, want them out of business.

Who? name them.

01/05/2008, 9:34 AM
I am telling you that any club that presents a team to compete in this league deserves our respect, no matter what the result.

Nice backtrack on your original statement of how we wish death and destruction on LoI clubs. Anyway your new statement is still nonsense, ever hear that you don't get respect, you have to earn it, and causing permanent damage to my neck doesn't get it I'm afraid

01/05/2008, 9:54 AM
The point, or rather the debate, was about whether a team featuring more locals would be of benefit in catching the imagination of said public.

That is all.

Also Wexford kids, it's nice to see none of you have a retort to the post I put up with regards to quality of players.

I actually should have deleted this post because well, it's empty rubbish. :ball:

Hadn't the time nor the inclination to put it together properly (exams and what not)

Besides what's sustainable and what isn't etc etc are all probably for another thread.

01/05/2008, 9:56 AM

Rubbish.

Right, I'll say this slowly. Limerick fans, not all, I'll admit, seem to constantly put down clubs who are not currently successful in terms of league position or trophies. The attitude they present is that success should always be immediate and probably identifies the generation of their fan base. Many posters here have seen the promise in individual clubs and have not been slow to acknowledge it.

No other posters on this forum belittles their opposite numbers like you lot and reflects what you are as individuals

More rubbish.

01/05/2008, 10:33 AM
I have to say Oldyouth is being a bit harsh on the Limerick lads. I certainly don't think they're wishing any club out of business. It's fairly logical to at least question the sustainability of clubs with attendances of less than 200, especially in light of the Dublin City and Kilkenny city situations.

The Limerick lads happen to think Wexford Youths play a poor brand of football, last season this was the widely accepted view. Add to this the fact that we have had 8 attempts to beat them and never succeeded and shipped our heaviest defeat to them too and it's not crazy for them to jump to the conclusion that we play a crap brand of football and have crap players.

Most fans of other teams have seen decent displays from the Youths and have acknowledged the potential there. I think the Limerick lads might even do this if we manage to beat them with a bit of style in the next few attempts.

The first division is unlikely to ever be full of quality teams, playing quality football, the island is just not big enough to sustain that many teams. Criticism is generally justifiable so let's no take it too much to heart.

01/05/2008, 10:37 AM
I have to say Oldyouth is being a bit harsh on the Limerick lads. I certainly don't think they're wishing any club out of business. It's fairly logical to at least question the sustainability of clubs with attendances of less than 200, especially in light of the Dublin City and Kilkenny city situations.

The Limerick lads happen to think Wexford Youths play a poor brand of football, last season this was the widely accepted view. Add to this the fact that we have had 8 attempts to beat them and never succeeded and shipped our heaviest defeat to them too and it's not crazy for them to jump to the conclusion that we play a crap brand of football and have crap players.

Most fans of other teams have seen decent displays from the Youths and have acknowledged the potential there. I think the Limerick lads might even do this if we manage to beat them with a bit of style in the next few attempts.

The first division is unlikely to ever be full of quality teams, playing quality football, the island is just not big enough to sustain that many teams. Criticism is generally justifiable so let's no take it too much to heart.

Bravo, a Wexford fan speaking sense, hats off to you good sir :)

01/05/2008, 10:46 AM
Bravo, a Wexford fan speaking sense, hats off to you good sir :)

Ah I've been around long enough to know ye're a harmless lot really!

Actually the Limerick forum was the first thing I ever read on foot and, I'm pretty sure, the first place I posted. I suppose I feel I have a better understanding of the troubled mindset of the Limerick fans than the average Wexford poster. :D

KUFCMan
02/05/2008, 12:11 PM
I was just wondering about Limericks team tonite v Shels.Could our Limerick friends update me on whether ,Pat Purcell,Jimmy Fyffe,Derk McCarthy,Tommy Barrett,Shane Treacy and Wayne Colbert will play tonite please?Or are there any other main players missing?

02/05/2008, 12:12 PM
I was just wondering about Limericks team tonite v Shels.Could our Limerick friends update me on whether ,Pat Purcell,Jimmy Fyffe,Derk McCarthy,Tommy Barrett,Shane Treacy and Wayne Colbert will play tonite please?Or are there any other main players missing?

Wayne and Purcell are out, Derek, Treacy and Tommy are okay as far as I know, I'm unsure about Fyffe however

KUFCMan
02/05/2008, 12:16 PM
Jaysus that was quick Jebus.Do u fancy your chances tonite?

02/05/2008, 12:31 PM
Jaysus that was quick Jebus.Do u fancy your chances tonite?

Flashbacks of my altar boy training.......:D

I reckon we'll win 2-1 to be honest, that's based on blind hope more than anything else. RTE reporting that Tracey is out as well :(

LeixlipRed
02/05/2008, 11:44 PM
Set up nicely now with us and Waterford dolling out hammerings to Limerick and Monaghan respectively. Still think a loss for us in Dundalk Thursday would make it a gap too big but we shall see.

eamoss
03/05/2008, 12:52 PM
Still think a loss for us in Dundalk Thursday would make it a gap too big but we shall see.
I dont think, just look at last year Dundalk where well on top for most of the season and best Athlone 6-2 around the same time. Then for the last 10 games or so it all fell apart.

LeixlipRed
03/05/2008, 1:00 PM
Well Thursday should be a cracker. You expecting a big crowd? I'd say a few hundred shels fans will make the trip.

KevB76
03/05/2008, 1:01 PM
Now that we've played them all, I would rate the top three as Shels 1st, then Waterford, then Dundalk.

That said, Limerick have been very inconsistent so far, so its difficult to gauge the opposition relative to how we did against them. Shels and Waterford were just much better than us start to finish, pure and simple. Likewise Dundalk in the first half, but somehow we were able to make a game of it in the second half.

higgins
03/05/2008, 1:32 PM
The good thing about Shels at the moment is that we're getting better with each game. Considering we got 0-0 with Dundalk in the opening game I don't think it would be unthinkable for us to win next Thursday night.

Shels problem is that we have two or three players who I believe are the key to our season and if they get injured we will certainly lose points to the lower clubs.

03/05/2008, 3:05 PM
Well Thursday should be a cracker. You expecting a big crowd? I'd say a few hundred shels fans will make the trip.

There was 1,800 at the Waterford match, so with the added away fans there should be at least 2,000 at it.

03/05/2008, 3:06 PM
The good thing about Shels at the moment is that we're getting better with each game. Considering we got 0-0 with Dundalk in the opening game I don't think it would be unthinkable for us to win next Thursday night.

Shels problem is that we have two or three players who I believe are the key to our season and if they get injured we will certainly lose points to the lower clubs.

Anto Flood being the most obvious one. An injury to him would do some damage to your compaign.

sfc red
03/05/2008, 4:04 PM
Anto Flood being the most obvious one. An injury to him would do some damage to your compaign.

So you've never heard of Max Cream then?

03/05/2008, 4:18 PM
So you've never heard of Max Cream then?

I've heard that he is up there with Ibrahima Thiam Iyane for the signing of the season award. :D

LeixlipRed
03/05/2008, 5:57 PM
Oh he's better than that donkey. Plus he has a cooler name. QED, case closed, point proven :D

2000 crowd would be nice. Pity there's no fecking late train home from Dundalk. Train up and bus back it'll have to be.

03/05/2008, 6:09 PM
Stories today of a Shels fan bouncing a full plastic bottle off a ten year old's face last night when you lot were leaving, any chance of Shels sorting this out among yourselves? Odd that this genius didn't say boo to anyone I know (i.e. not a child) who walked past the Shels support throughout the night.

LeixlipRed
03/05/2008, 6:12 PM
Jesus, that's serious. Maybe we should ban all shels fans from Casa Di Limerick for the next two years??

bholg
03/05/2008, 8:21 PM
Oh he's better than that donkey. Plus he has a cooler name. QED, case closed, point proven :D

2000 crowd would be nice. Pity there's no fecking late train home from Dundalk. Train up and bus back it'll have to be.

Yer better off getting the matthews bus both ways.. stops near tolka both ways an is just as quick.. cheap cheap.. the train is sh1t anyways.

03/05/2008, 11:27 PM
Jesus, that's serious. Maybe we should ban all shels fans from Casa Di Limerick for the next two years??

Maybe you should either ban your teenagers from drinking on the way down, or tell them to grow a pair of balls and not hit a child

skitz3
03/05/2008, 11:44 PM
Stories today of a Shels fan bouncing a full plastic bottle off a ten year old's face last night when you lot were leaving, any chance of Shels sorting this out among yourselves? Odd that this genius didn't say boo to anyone I know (i.e. not a child) who walked past the Shels support throughout the night.

I didn't see anything of the sort happen.

What about the little toe-rag who tried to set me on fire during the second half and if it wasn't for your stewards he may have succeed as he was behind me and i was oblivious to what was happening. I was extremely thankful to the steward.

Any chance of Limerick sorting this out among yourselves? No, thats right, this doesn't happen in Limerick it's all just negitive stereotypes brought on by a few people called Keane/Ryan :rolleyes:

04/05/2008, 10:53 AM
I didn't see anything of the sort happen.

What about the little toe-rag who tried to set me on fire during the second half and if it wasn't for your stewards he may have succeed as he was behind me and i was oblivious to what was happening. I was extremely thankful to the steward.

Any chance of Limerick sorting this out among yourselves? No, thats right, this doesn't happen in Limerick it's all just negitive stereotypes brought on by a few people called Keane/Ryan :rolleyes:

It happened when the Shels fans were leaving after the game. As for your incident well since our steward stopped him I'm sure he took note of who he is and will be banned, what more do you want? How was he trying to set you on fire anyway? If he were trying to murder you as you say then I'm sure the Gardai were called in as well, that's all we can do. Any Shels fan want to step up and say that what happened wasn't on? Or even offer a solution on how to solve it? Instead of just putting the collective heads in the sand again, which reminds me, did the Shels fan arrested in Limerick last year after getting drunk and punching an elderly Limerick fan in the back of the head get banned for life? (Yes a man so cowardly he not only attacks an old man, but actually punches him from behind)or at least from away trips?

skitz3
04/05/2008, 11:20 AM
It happened when the Shels fans were leaving after the game. As for your incident well since our steward stopped him I'm sure he took note of who he is and will be banned, what more do you want? How was he trying to set you on fire anyway? If he were trying to murder you as you say then I'm sure the Gardai were called in as well, that's all we can do. Any Shels fan want to step up and say that what happened wasn't on? Or even offer a solution on how to solve it? Instead of just putting the collective heads in the sand again, which reminds me, did the Shels fan arrested in Limerick last year after getting drunk and punching an elderly Limerick fan in the back of the head get banned for life? (Yes a man so cowardly he not only attacks an old man, but actually punches him from behind)or at least from away trips?

He put a lighter to the back of my coat, the burn marks are there for all to see. I didn't see anything as i was leaving and i left with most of the Shels fans after the game. I'm not saying it didn't happen but if it did, of course it's out of order. There reason why there hasn't or won't be anything done about it was that your post is the first any Shels fan has heard of the incident. I'll take the accusation with a pinch of salt because the other incident you speak of is news to me also. Have any of these incidents been reported to the club?

04/05/2008, 11:32 AM
He put a lighter to the back of my coat, the burn marks are there for all to see. I didn't see anything as i was leaving and i left with most of the Shels fans after the game. I'm not saying it didn't happen but if it did, of course it's out of order. There reason why there hasn't or won't be anything done about it was that your post is the first any Shels fan has heard of the incident. I'll take the accusation with a pinch of salt because the other incident you speak of is news to me also. Have any of these incidents been reported to the club?

I'll take it you weren't in Limerick for the last Shels visit so, because our stewards had to hold down one of your fans while the gardai came to arrest this guy. He was then led away in handcuffs, all this happened where the main group of Shels fans were standing, and while it was going on another Dublin genius started threatening our mascot. I assume since a Shels fan was arrested that a report was filed with the club.

As for the incident this time, I'm not sure if the father of the child is going to report it to the gardai or the club, two of the other Limerick fans on here know him though so they might be able to shed some light on it. Have to say that if our SC heard that one of the younger Limerick fans (or older as well) had done similiar at Tolka we would find out which one did it ourselves and ban him from travelling with us again, do ye not do likewise?

LeixlipRed
04/05/2008, 11:40 AM
No one's condoning a child being hit with a plastic bottle but talk about blowing things out of proportion. As for stopping people drinking on the way down, they just get the train instead! Shels fans were up tho far worse shenanigans a few seasons back so I don't see what the huge issue is.

04/05/2008, 11:44 AM
No one's condoning a child being hit with a plastic bottle but talk about blowing things out of proportion. As for stopping people drinking on the way down, they just get the train instead! Shels fans were up tho far worse shenanigans a few seasons back so I don't see what the huge issue is.

I'm on about stopping the schooligan element among you travelling on official SC buses, after that we can't ask more from you, but you lot don't seem to be bothered about even doing that

LeixlipRed
04/05/2008, 11:50 AM
Yes, because the only way to get to games is on the official bus? It's been tried before and they still turn up.

04/05/2008, 11:55 AM
Yes, because the only way to get to games is on the official bus? It's been tried before and they still turn up.

Good God, do you even read other people's posts? I realise there are other ways of travelling, but you can at least try and stop them from coming with your SC no? Or you can try and stop your teenagers from drinking on the SC bus if they can't handle it. If they make their own way down then it's our problem to deal with.

LeixlipRed
04/05/2008, 11:58 AM
Eh, how exactly does it make any difference? If they're drunk don't let them in. The fans who travel on the SC bus don't just float in through the gate. You're making no sense. So if I travel down by train you wont let me in if im drunk but if I come on the SC bus you will let me in????

04/05/2008, 12:00 PM
Eh, how exactly does it make any difference? If they're drunk don't let them in. The fans who travel on the SC bus don't just float in through the gate. You're making no sense. So if I travel down by train you wont let me in if im drunk but if I come on the SC bus you will let me in????

What?