View Full Version : First Division

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

04/05/2008, 12:19 PM
maybe the Shelbourne v Limerick flame war posts could be put into a different thread in one of the club's forums. It looks like taking over and killing a thread which involves every club in the first division.

04/05/2008, 12:22 PM
2000 crowd would be nice. Pity there's no fecking late train home from Dundalk. Train up and bus back it'll have to be.

Yer better off getting the matthews bus both ways.. stops near tolka both ways an is just as quick.. cheap cheap.. the train is sh1t anyways.

The last Matthews bus is at 9.30. There is no later train or Bus Éireann bus so you can't do the trip by public transport unfortunately.

LeixlipRed
04/05/2008, 12:23 PM
What?

You said that if the schooligans travel separately to the SC bus it was your problem not ours. How exactly does that even make a shred of sense???? Seeing as you have no idea who came on the SC bus.

skitz3
04/05/2008, 12:36 PM
There was officially no drink allowed on the Shels supporters bus on Friday, whether some people managed to drink on it or not, i don't know but the fact is that the bus got to Limerick with an hour an a half to spare and most people seemed to pile straight into the pub. Maybe all Limerick pubs should close when Shels come to town, just in case.

04/05/2008, 1:11 PM
You said that if the schooligans travel separately to the SC bus it was your problem not ours. How exactly does that even make a shred of sense???? Seeing as you have no idea who came on the SC bus.

Yes but ye do, jesus all I'm asking is for Shels to be vigilant on their own buses, that's all ye can do. If some Shels fans travel down in cars or whatever then we will have to deal with them, but the Shels SC should be the first line of defence in dealing with Shels troublemakers no? Same with the drinking, if the kids get their drink in Limerick then there is nothing Shels SC can do about that, but what Shels SC could do is follow the Limerick SC rule of if a fan travels down, gets drunk and causes hassle he should be left behind. Still though lads, your only half the scumbags ye were a few years back, what more could we ask for eh? :rolleyes:

04/05/2008, 2:07 PM
So you've never heard of Max Cream then?Is this your new treatment for injuries?

skitz3
04/05/2008, 7:24 PM
Still though lads, your only half the scumbags ye were a few years back, what more could we ask for eh? :rolleyes:

And your still the same scumbags you were years ago. Except for you don't have Rovers to make false allegations against so you do it with Shels instead.

L37Ultra
05/05/2008, 10:34 AM
And your still the same scumbags you were years ago. Except for you don't have Rovers to make false allegations against so you do it with Shels instead.

Oh ya because the only two times that I was at a Limerick game in Hogan Park that there was an ounce of trouble was against Rovers yet Limerick made it up and it was our fault :rolleyes:

And Jebus is not making False allegations, I saw that young lad get a bottle thrown of his head and then the young Shels fan ran away like the coward he is. There were two garda at the end of the road but the father just wanted to get his son home.

Splurge
16/05/2008, 10:09 PM
Whats to get confused about? Monaghan get criticised for being a team of Dublin rejects, and Wexford get criticised for being the most God awful football team to ever grace a semi-professional league, simple really.

Monaghon on equal points with the great Limerick 37.
Wexford Youths a point above them after about our easiest home game of the season.

LeixlipRed
16/05/2008, 10:57 PM
Top of the league :D

16/05/2008, 11:07 PM
Monaghon on equal points with the great Limerick 37.
Wexford Youths a point above them after about our easiest home game of the season.

Wow, you lot finally beat just about the worst Limerick team of all time, and by one solitary goal, I see now why Juventus are so keen to form a link up with the Hoofs :D

Splurge
16/05/2008, 11:11 PM
Wow, you lot finally beat just about the worst Limerick team of all time, and by one solitary goal, I see now why Juventus are so keen to form a link up with the Hoofs :D

Beat youse off the park mate, weve never looked so comfortable all season.
Maybe you could become our feeder club in a few yrs? You could send some of your best players over for trials?

16/05/2008, 11:25 PM
Beat youse off the park mate, weve never looked so comfortable all season.
Maybe you could become our feeder club in a few yrs? You could send some of your best players over for trials?

Refresh my memory on our clubs head to head record again

LeixlipRed
16/05/2008, 11:25 PM

Arrogance like that from a fan of a club 18 months in existance :eek: Fighting relegation to the A league is what you should be concentrating on.

The Lilywhites
16/05/2008, 11:44 PM
Top of the league :D

Joint top ;)

Splurge
17/05/2008, 7:30 AM
Refresh my memory on our clubs head to head record again

Look at the league table sonny Jim. BTw i wouldnt take any of your players on trial yet. The big centre back looked half decent, the rest wouldnt have a hope.

Splurge
17/05/2008, 7:30 AM
Arrogance like that from a fan of a club 18 months in existance :eek: Fighting relegation to the A league is what you should be concentrating on.

Just getting my own back after the constant downputting of L37 fans on us and other teams above them:D

oldyouth
17/05/2008, 10:28 AM
Splurge, we were very comfortable last night as you say and let's enjoy the victory. However, we do lack consistency, so lets put this one in the bank and move on to the next game
Personally, I'd be disappointed if many Youths fans came on here posting the same crap that Limerick fans direct at us, following the win.
Let's face it, we are both bottom half teams hoping that our own team finishes higher than the other. The only difference between the two is that the Youths are making steady progress, from humble beginnings, as time goes by.

skitz3
17/05/2008, 10:32 AM
The only difference between the two is that the Youths are making steady progress, from humble beginnings, as time goes by.

Great point, whereas the other lot can't even settle on a name.

LeixlipRed
17/05/2008, 10:33 PM
Joint top ;)

Fast forward 6 months to Dundalk fans shouting about how they finished joint top and were screwed over by Delaney. Goal difference my man. Look it up :D

18/05/2008, 9:41 AM
Joint top ;)

No, you're second - we're top.

The Man Himself
18/05/2008, 10:05 AM
watch out dundalk and shels, waterford are coming to get you:D

Higgo
18/05/2008, 10:16 AM
No, you're second - we're top.

Exactly. For the first time in a long time I feel we have a realistic chance of goin' up. The goals are startin to flow and Freeman is coming into his own. It's good to see we're not totally dependent on Bisto!

The Man Himself
18/05/2008, 11:54 AM
It's good to see we're not totally dependent on Bisto!

and flood ;)

LeixlipRed
18/05/2008, 1:02 PM
watch out dundalk and shels, waterford are coming to get you:D

Judging by the performance you put in in Tolka you'll be miles off the top come November. Your home form is your only saving grace.

The Man Himself
18/05/2008, 2:47 PM
Judging by the performance you put in in Tolka you'll be miles off the top come November. Your home form is your only saving grace.

that was just a bad day, we are much better then that,
waterford will rip dundalk and shels apart in the 2 upcoming games at the rsc,
just wait and see.

higgins
18/05/2008, 2:57 PM
I would think Waterford could go second soon enough with both Shels and Dundalk at home in this round of fixtures,,

but!!

Taking in 2k a week and spending 10k like you claimed last week would lead me to believe you are not going to get to the end of the season with the current squad.

The FAI and the 65% are gonna get you :)

Shels are top of the league and getting stronger each week.

Aaron
18/05/2008, 3:48 PM
Fast forward 6 months to Dundalk fans shouting about how they finished joint top and were screwed over by Delaney. Goal difference my man. Look it up :D

Or alternatively just ask us:(:mad:

LeixlipRed
18/05/2008, 3:59 PM
that was just a bad day, we are much better then that,
waterford will rip dundalk and shels apart in the 2 upcoming games at the rsc,
just wait and see.

Rubbish. You were appalling at Tolka.

blue til i die
18/05/2008, 4:25 PM
Taking in 2k a week and spending 10k like you claimed last week would lead me to believe you are not going to get to the end of the season with the current squad.

Shels are top of the league and getting stronger each week.

whoever quoted those was way out!

18/05/2008, 4:25 PM

Lets not get carried away, they are only a point behind us afterall.

JC_GUFC
18/05/2008, 6:22 PM
Waterford look to be in the strongest position having played away at Dundalk and Shels this season. They lost both those games so have obviously picked up more points against the dead wood of Division 1. It looks like it will be a pretty tight race all the way, it's a pity only 1 goes up...

The Man Himself
18/05/2008, 6:54 PM

i know we were, i just said that it was a bad day and waterford are a lot better then that and are much stronger now then they were all season,
i will tip them to win the league by current form,
you have to remember we lost to shels and dundalk away this season and not at our best and still only 1 point behind both.

LeixlipRed
18/05/2008, 8:01 PM
Your away form will let you down. I don't care how bad you were against us. You aren't as good as us or Dundalk.

19/05/2008, 8:20 AM
Waterford were rubbish, Longford were rubbish.... two bad teams in a terrible game.First goal had a huge hint of offside to it and the second was gifted with atrocious defending.

LeixlipRed
19/05/2008, 9:09 AM
How's Mick McCarthy doing for you Ronnie? Used to play with him.

19/05/2008, 9:13 AM
he has had a mixed time, a lot of people dont seem to rate him. I think he has a good first touch (vanishes at times though!) and has a good shot on him. He has only played a few games for us. I would say if he got his fitness levels up and managed to time his jumps better he could be a handy player to have. My view is in the minority however...

The Man Himself
19/05/2008, 9:21 AM
How's Mick McCarthy doing for you Ronnie? Used to play with him.

alright

The Man Himself
19/05/2008, 9:22 AM
Waterford were rubbish, Longford were rubbish.... two bad teams in a terrible game.First goal had a huge hint of offside to it and the second was gifted with atrocious defending.

sour grapes :rolleyes:

19/05/2008, 9:28 AM
It isn't sour grapes in the least, we were terrible and ye weren't much better. One of the poorest standards of game I have seen in a while. Shels are twice the team ye are imho.

LeixlipRed
19/05/2008, 10:57 AM
alright

Cheers Ronnie. He's a giant of a chap and always scored a load of goals at schoolboy level. Be interesting to see how he does.

19/05/2008, 9:16 PM
It isn't sour grapes in the least, we were terrible and ye weren't much better. One of the poorest standards of game I have seen in a while. Shels are twice the team ye are imho.

would support ronnie in his observation.. the first goal was def offside.. the second goal even though it was a good finish from sullivan we gave him too much room...:mad:

Major Tom
20/05/2008, 2:38 PM
[QUOTE=Martinho II;945603]would support ronnie in his observation.. the first goal was def offsideQUOTE]

Not even close.

20/05/2008, 2:40 PM
our club pro even said in his review of the match of sat nite that the officials should have bein reprimanded for the fatal error they made for yer first goal.. blame the linesmen for not stickin his flag up..:(

stann
21/05/2008, 11:43 AM
our club pro even said in his review of the match of sat nite that the officials should have bein reprimanded for the fatal error they made for yer first goal.. blame the linesmen for not stickin his flag up..:(

Am not going to cast any aspersions on your club PRO's neutrality ;) , but he was wrong if he said that.
Foley timed the ball forward, and Kiely timed his run, perfectly and the striker was onside. Easy to see how the nature of the build up might have made him look well offside when he got away, but he wasn't.

Salmon Coloured
21/05/2008, 12:03 PM
Am not going to cast any aspersions on your club PRO's neutrality ;) , but he was wrong if he said that.
Foley timed the ball forward, and Kiely timed his run, perfectly and the striker was onside. Easy to see how the nature of the build up might have made him look well offside when he got away, but he wasn't.

Even I could see it was offside for ye. And I wasnt even at the match. Either was our club PRO.

Rocky77
21/05/2008, 12:12 PM
Even I could see it was offside for ye. And I wasnt even at the match. Either was our club PRO.

Quality post!

LTFCfan
21/05/2008, 4:58 PM

I was there, right along side watching the line, he was off side.

LeixlipRed
21/05/2008, 6:02 PM
I reckon he was neither on side or off side, but in a state of flux. Between dimensions if you will. The referee consulted his rule book to see what it said about such inter-dimensional matters and finding nothing just made something up so as not to look bad. Simple really.

21/05/2008, 7:17 PM
Knew we should have called ghostbusters.