View Full Version : Weekend's latest (13 March)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

15/03/2008, 9:43 AM
But surely if the ball went over the line for the goal, he should have just let it stand, or did he blow the whistle before he knew it had crossed the line? Sad reffing in any case! What was the refs name, just wondering?

To be honest I didn't get his name, LtiD will probably have it though. The Limerick fans standing behind the goals say it crossed the line, and the net rippled alright because it set us off in the stand. It looked to me like it crossed the line but he was raising the whistle while it happened and so just gave the penalty, I assume he just messed up in not giving the red

oldyouth
15/03/2008, 9:58 AM
But surely if the ball went over the line for the goal, he should have just let it stand, or did he blow the whistle before he knew it had crossed the line? Sad reffing in any case! What was the refs name, just wondering?

Graeme Kelly (Cork) according to extratime.ie

15/03/2008, 10:44 AM
Alan Kelly's brother isn't it?.

15/03/2008, 11:01 AM
Alan Kelly's brother isn't it?.

Oh sweet jesus, your having a laugh surely !

15/03/2008, 11:03 AM
No, I'm 90% sure that's him. His younger brother.

The Lilywhites
15/03/2008, 11:17 AM
Graeme Kelly (Cork) according to extratime.ie

Awful ref.

He reffed one if not both of our games down in Limerick last year.

15/03/2008, 11:22 AM
No, I'm 90% sure that's him. His younger brother.

Correct

My appointments email from the League Office has Graham Kelly down as the appointed referee

15/03/2008, 11:22 AM
On refs: Limerick's first goal against Wexford came from a corner that we scored directly from, but the ref took it back for a penalty, judging that a Wexford defender had handballed it on the line in a failed attempt to keep it out.
Pats had a similar situation in Cork before, but ref sent off Declan Daly. Unfortunately we missed the penalty and drew the game 0-0

We deserved to beat Bohs, despite the terrible refereeing

15/03/2008, 12:17 PM
What a crowd there tonight........ most standing together in thr tve side and not one dispute apart from the banter that comes with a N.W. derby.

We could go a long time before the league tops that attendance tonight.

Great attendance alright and all good banter with the fans all mixed in together.

btw, we still hate ye too ya thieving *%%$£%^^&$"£&*

15/03/2008, 7:25 PM
any word on scores from tonight lads?

15/03/2008, 7:25 PM
Scoreless in both per Aertel anyway. Approaching half time in the Cobh-Galway game.

15/03/2008, 8:18 PM
Cobh 1-0 up on Galway.

Not sure it that's an :eek: or a :D

Still scoreless in Sligo

15/03/2008, 8:24 PM
It's very much a :D:D:D

Franchise FC being taken out by a club that can't even afford a DVD player!

cobh 1-1 galway

derek o'brien

cobh 1-1 galway

derek o'brien

well that lasted a good 5 seconds anyway

15/03/2008, 8:25 PM
1-1's even better. Two relegation candidates dropping two points each. Suits me.

15/03/2008, 8:43 PM
Cobh 1-1 Galway FT

The Lilywhites
15/03/2008, 8:54 PM
Drogs draw 0-0 in Sligo.

LeixlipRed
15/03/2008, 9:01 PM
Drogs draw 0-0 in Sligo.

Doolin been found out yet?

Boo_Boy
15/03/2008, 9:06 PM
Drogs draw 0-0 in Sligo.

good result for rovers,before the start of the season we would've accepted a point in this game,but drogs didnt show up,we really should have taken all 3.

another though game next week:cool:

don ramo
15/03/2008, 10:47 PM
ref was useless as usual, thought we went up a division, obviously the ref didnt, same old first div c**p, ref was flagging everthing that was played through the middle, he just saw a ball being played and the flag went up, done to both sides, we had stone wall peno turned down, all you could see was a white galway sleve up punching the ball away, took our goal well, galway got theres from a deflection from a very good shot, the keeper had it till the defection, good goal though,

also linesman gave an off-side when we had a throw in, just useless they dont even know basic rules

15/03/2008, 11:38 PM
Devine was lucky but on the balance not a penalty.

Having looked at the highlights again, if I build a stone wall from here to Beijing tomorrow it's not as definite as that penalty. I don't even think it was a corner.

16/03/2008, 1:18 PM
Doolin been found out yet?A few fans shouting at him calling him clueless and to cop on etc. last night. Good to hear:)

LeixlipRed
16/03/2008, 2:00 PM
A few fans shouting at him calling him clueless and to cop on etc. last night. Good to hear:)

Good to hear indeed. You can make a case now that all the managers at the top clubs in the Premier are undeserved of being in that position. Still think Fenlon is a winner even if he's doubted by most. But Doolin and McDonnell are spoofers

16/03/2008, 2:02 PM
Still think Fenlon is a winner even if he's doubted by most. But Doolin and McDonnell are spoofers .
Matthews as well.

16/03/2008, 2:08 PM
Matthews as well.

Matthews never claimed to be anything though. City fans were surprised at his appointment but he's there now see we'll give him time.

16/03/2008, 2:16 PM
I know the Cork fans haven't been praising him but I find the Longford fans who claimed him as great laughable. He won the cups a few times but loads of managers win cups.

Most of the time Longford were a mid-table side that failed to sparkle and flopped in Europe. They were relegated for off the pitch reasons last season and they would only have finished 8th, iirc, with the extra points. Matthews isn't a bad manager but he's not a good one either. If Longford had stayed up last season, yes, he would've done a good job but nearly doing it is not good.

I can't for the life of me understand why Longford fans rate him so highly. Obviously Cork fans need time to judge him.

LeixlipRed
16/03/2008, 2:21 PM
He won the cups a few times but loads of managers win cups.

Do they :confused:

Sporting Fingal v Athlone is live on Near FM. 1 nil to Sporting. Hynes

LeixlipRed
16/03/2008, 2:25 PM
2-0. Conan Byrne. Knew last week was a blip. Barely a noise over the radio when they scored though

16/03/2008, 2:27 PM
Sporting Fingal v Athlone is live on Near FM. 1 nil to Sporting. Hynes"This Sunday nearfm sports team bring you full live coverage from the first ever Sporting Fingal game"

Are they like Aertel when it comes to mistakes?

LeixlipRed
16/03/2008, 2:31 PM
Three words, low production values :D

16/03/2008, 2:35 PM
Your man commentating is hilarious:D

16/03/2008, 3:48 PM
He won the cups a few times but loads of managers win cups.

Do they :confused:

I don't think so :(

Bray fans can't be trusted on this - Devlin's cup wins have made them underestimate the level of coaching ability required to win one. They also have no respect for Tardelli or Brady, based on the previous backroom staff of the international team.

Doolin's always had his critics but it shows you the pressure these guys are under when he's getting stick from his own fans less than two games into the season, despite being in charge for every trophy the club has ever won.

So who's not a rubbish manager then?

Kenny still has his reputation - a lot of people feel he was hard done by at Dunfermline and, unlike Roddy, he thrived after being fired by Bohs.

Scully has been highly praised for bringing Shamrock Rovers from the First Division to being the best of the mid-table Premier teams. Only problem is, he's a bit, eh... "highly-strung". Good coach but the jury's still out on how he might cope with the pressure if things start going wrong.

Most of the others (Pete Mahon apart) are relatively inexperienced and still learning, you feel (Gormley, Henderson, Hegarty etc.)

16/03/2008, 3:55 PM
Full time.

Fingal 2-0 Athlone

16/03/2008, 4:10 PM
I'm not saying they're rubbish managers, just over-rated.

I'd consider managing a full-time side the best measure of success in this league. Better fitness but more importantly more time to work with the players and develop tactics.

Doolin - He hardly set the world alight at UCD. He wouldn't have had as much success at Drogs if he didn't have the money. It appears Drogs have been somewhat found out in the league this year. 2 games, 1 point, 0 goals.

Kenny - He did well at Longford. Did well at Bohs, wobbled and was sacked prematurely. Did well at Derry too but I feel he failed in 2006 when they could've done a lot better. He was a complete failure at Dunfermline. Time will tell how he gets on back in Derry. His European glory is what's made him. In fairness the cup in 2006 was such a bizarre game, either side could've won it.

Matthews - Went from Shels assistant to Longford. Brought them from a mid-table team to relegation candidates. A few cup wins kept the fans sweet though but his European credentials are crap. So far for Cork two draws with weaker sides.

Fenlon - Worked wonders at Shels when he had massive finances. I feel they should've won the league in 2005. Did well to win it in 2006 but I wonder how confident he is in his ability when he left Shels, knowing they'd be in the First with no money and no stars. Failed at Derry. Time will tell at Bohs.

McDonnell - He hasn't won anything yet. I honestly believe he's in control of a team too big for him. Without knowing how much influence Kerr has, I can't really comment on his signings for this season but he has made some strange ones in the past, Rutherford springs to mind.

I would rate Scully as the top manager in the league. He can do it with small clubs and little money.

And yes, Devlin winning the cup for us proves that cup-winning is hardly proof of a good manager.

16/03/2008, 4:22 PM
Matthews - Brought them from a mid-table team to relegation candidates.

Since Mathews joined them

2002/2003-5th
2003-4th
2004-6th
2005-5th
2006-8th
2007-8th(points wise)

plus 2 cups....... Even ignoring the financial difficulties of recent years which led to losing players etc 8th is still mid-table.

Before he came they finished 9th. The year before 8th. Before that the first division So I struggle to see where you got the above statement from.

Mathews was far from my first choice, but theres a reason Longford supporters loved him. He gave them more success in league and cups while he was there than they ever had.

16/03/2008, 4:28 PM
2002/2003-5th
2003-4th
2004-6th
2005-5th
2006-8th
2007-8th(points wise)

Before he came they finished 9th. The year before 8th. Before that the first division So I struggle to see where you got the above statement from.
You just proved it with that post.

They are clearly going backwards. 5th up to 4th back to 6th up to 5th (mid-table) then down to 8th (relegation battle).

16/03/2008, 4:28 PM
While I don't really rate Doolin either, saying he's been found out because of two poor results at the start of a season is ridiculous.

16/03/2008, 4:29 PM
While I don't really rate Doolin either, saying he's been found out because of two poor results at the start of a season is ridiculous.

It appears Drogs have been somewhat found out in the league this year. 2 games, 1 point, 0 goals.

Aaron
16/03/2008, 4:33 PM
I'm not saying they're rubbish managers, just over-rated.

I'd consider managing a full-time side the best measure of success in this league. Better fitness but more importantly more time to work with the players and develop tactics.

Doolin - He hardly set the world alight at UCD. He wouldn't have had as much success at Drogs if he didn't have the money. It appears Drogs have been somewhat found out in the league this year. 2 games, 1 point, 0 goals.

Kenny - He did well at Longford. Did well at Bohs, wobbled and was sacked prematurely. Did well at Derry too but I feel he failed in 2006 when they could've done a lot better. He was a complete failure at Dunfermline. Time will tell how he gets on back in Derry. His European glory is what's made him. In fairness the cup in 2006 was such a bizarre game, either side could've won it.

Matthews - Went from Shels assistant to Longford. Brought them from a mid-table team to relegation candidates. A few cup wins kept the fans sweet though but his European credentials are crap. So far for Cork two draws with weaker sides.

Fenlon - Worked wonders at Shels when he had massive finances. I feel they should've won the league in 2005. Did well to win it in 2006 but I wonder how confident he is in his ability when he left Shels, knowing they'd be in the First with no money and no stars. Failed at Derry. Time will tell at Bohs.

McDonnell - He hasn't won anything yet. I honestly believe he's in control of a team too big for him. Without knowing how much influence Kerr has, I can't really comment on his signings for this season but he has made some strange ones in the past, Rutherford springs to mind.

I would rate Scully as the top manager in the league. He can do it with small clubs and little money.

And yes, Devlin winning the cup for us proves that cup-winning is hardly proof of a good manager.

Sweet Jesus!!!:rolleyes: We lose the league on goal difference, a few goals away from a treble, yet you say we failed. Went on a magnificent run in Europe, and you say we failed. Oh dear, just stick to talking about relegation battles, you haven't a notion on Kenny's achievments up here.

16/03/2008, 4:34 PM
You just proved it with that post.

They are clearly going backwards. 5th up to 4th back to 6th up to 5th (mid-table) then down to 8th (relegation battle).

Ah come off it/ Your post clearly implied he went there from Shels and brought them down to the relegation zone. He's the one who brought them out of it in the first place.

Also looking at positions ignoring differing finances in different seasons doesn't give a complete picture. Fact remains he is their most successful manager ever managing a 4th, 2 5ths and 2 cups with a poor team.

16/03/2008, 4:39 PM
Ah come off it/ Your post clearly implied he went there from Shels and brought them down to the relegation zone. He's the one who brought them out of it in the first place.
That's what the stats say, they moved down the league as his reign continued. Every manager has to deal with finances so you can't bring that in.

16/03/2008, 4:40 PM
That's what the stats say, they moved down the league as his reign continued. Every manager has to deal with finances so you can't bring that in.

What? So finances have no bearing on how good a manager is :confused: If thats the case it negates your points about Doolin.......

And the stats say he brought them out of the relegation zone and did very well for a few years before they dropped back down to their normal state...

16/03/2008, 4:42 PM
Sweet Jesus!!!:rolleyes: We lose the league on goal difference, a few goals away from a treble, yet you say we failed. Went on a magnificent run in Europe, and you say we failed. Oh dear, just stick to talking about relegation battles, you haven't a notion on Kenny's achievments up here.
I said he failed in not winning the league. He has a great record in Europe, I never said he didn't.

16/03/2008, 4:46 PM
What? So finances have no bearing on how good a manager is :confused: If thats the case it negates your points about Doolin.......
You work with what you're given, no matter how large or little. He can't work without the money.

EDIT: Just re-read my posts, sorry I assumed you were talking about the points deduction last year.

16/03/2008, 4:46 PM
2-0. Conan Byrne. Knew last week was a blip. Barely a noise over the radio when they scored though
Attendance was 1,234 and pretty partisan.

Aaron
16/03/2008, 5:26 PM
I said he failed in not winning the league. He has a great record in Europe, I never said he didn't.

Well I dont think he did. The expectancy wasnt to win the league, just to maybe win a cup. He and DCFC surpassed expectations that year. The only time we expected to win the league was last season

16/03/2008, 5:30 PM
6pts against two of the league's weaker teams, and 3 goals conceeded in 2 games. Not brilliant in fairness....

a win is a win

16/03/2008, 5:31 PM
Attendance was 1,2,3,4 and pretty partisan.

Fair play, 4 people is impressive for their first ever home game. SF already off to a better start than Dublin City.

16/03/2008, 5:44 PM
Is there a limit on subs in the First Div.?

Extratime (http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/10295/1/) give 2 for Sporting and 3 for Athlone. Is the limit three or are these clubs just low on numbers?