View Full Version : Weekend's latest (13 March)
13/03/2008, 6:59 PM
Dundalk 1-0 Monaghan
Martin '13
13/03/2008, 7:14 PM
Actually that was what I meant, 13 was the time when I checked the score.
Gareth
13/03/2008, 7:14 PM
:) hehe
Con-Con
13/03/2008, 7:39 PM
2-0
Cassidy 44
tallaghtfornia
13/03/2008, 9:29 PM
2-0
Cassidy 44
sorry to see casso leave us, good signin for dundaaaaalk
paulie_walnuts
13/03/2008, 9:52 PM
Cassidy is a class act. Doesn't stop running. Robbie Martin did well tonight, 2 goals on his home debut. Shame Robbie Farrell ain't near as good...
paulie_walnuts
13/03/2008, 9:53 PM
Finished 3-0 btw, Martin got the 3rd in the second half.
oriel
14/03/2008, 11:33 AM
sorry to see casso leave us, good signin for dundaaaaalk
Yep - i was well impressed with cassidy last night - he had a super game and scored a cracker from just outside the box with his side foot.
Buile Shuibhne
14/03/2008, 5:19 PM
Shels team against Kildare named - with just five subs as normal
Delaney
Murphy, Keely, Brennan, Hedderman
Chambers, McGill, O'Halloran, Keddy
Flood, Freeman.
Subs
Byrne, Mulcahy, Rutherford, Hughes, McGuinness
Buile Shuibhne
14/03/2008, 7:04 PM
5 subs for Pats
http://www.extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/10101/1/
Gareth
14/03/2008, 7:30 PM
What a goal by Fahey. What a goal
Bohoofians not coming out to play at all, they have Turner(class player) and the guy has a sore neck from watching the ball sail over his head to Mansaram/crowe who are being owned by Partridge and Harris ...haha mofos we gots some bigger defenders
We trying to play but not allowed to as bohs fairly decent at defending, not a great tv game but tbh i dont really care, we need a win and we need a clean sheet.
Hopefully they come out 2nd half and try play some ball, that would suit us nicely
Ryan is awful for us on the right wing, o carroll not having a great game at right back either, new lads at the back havent realised everyone is bigger than us up front and need to start playing to to lynch and faheys feet for them to play in the front 2.
oh and WHAT A ****ING GOAL!!!!!!
kdjac
14/03/2008, 7:39 PM
Derry 1-0 Harps
Farren
14/03/2008, 8:14 PM
Balls
Shels 3-1 up, Waterford 1 up too.
14/03/2008, 8:16 PM
Carnage at Dalyer
corkharps
14/03/2008, 8:18 PM
Balls
Why ?
Gareth
14/03/2008, 8:20 PM
Kildare lose a man, Bohs game is NUTS :)
Gareth
14/03/2008, 8:20 PM
It all kicked off in the second half in the league...after a very quiet first
ForzaWexford
14/03/2008, 8:32 PM
Limerick 1 up against us. Peno in 87th. F**k.
14/03/2008, 8:34 PM
1-1 in Waterford. Full Time. Class.
ForzaWexford
14/03/2008, 8:34 PM
2-0.......
Another peno.
Gte the **** in
Bohoofians offered nothing 2nd half even with Jason Arkins, ffs hoof the ball is not a gameplan. We dealt with what little they had to offer fairly easily.
The sendings off were joke, the replays show Brennan nailing harris off the ball and Ryan dragging him away. Byrnes red card expected really he doesnt finish many matches.
Bohoofians offered feck all going forward and take off their main threat for Arkins lol.
We didnt play great but our centrebacks were awesome and our strikers worked their balls off with feck all passes to feet.
1-0 with 9 men GET IN!
kdjac
forza rovers
14/03/2008, 8:44 PM
bohs0-1pats(fahey)full time
brennan,bary ryan,byrne sent off
ccfcgirl
14/03/2008, 8:49 PM
Still Rovers 1-1 Cork City
14/03/2008, 9:15 PM
What is it with Febnlon and not being able to beat 9 men...?
Is it too early to point out that he's actually a very average manager...?
14/03/2008, 9:27 PM
What is it with Febnlon and not being able to beat 9 men...?
Is it too early to point out that he's actually a very average manager...?
they had nine men for only 5 mins and a bit to be fair.
bohs were terrible, crowe wouldnt even be in the top 5/6 strikers in the league anymore IMO. one great effort in fairness in the first half but after that he was poor.
i reckon fahey is the best central midfielder in the league, has a bit of class about him.
very good result for pats, big away win
lofty9
14/03/2008, 9:33 PM
Not surprised to hear that Fenlon has resorted to hoofball. I had a sore neck watching Derry last year fail to perform under him.
ANywhere I can watch the Pat's match online, is there a watch again function on RTE.ie
Great crowd at the Brandywell tonight, around 6,000
14/03/2008, 9:47 PM
Disgusted with tonight's result. Bray were atrocious. UCD were by far the better side and I can't argue with the result, in fact it could have been more. I'm just disgusted with Bray's performance.
14/03/2008, 9:47 PM
many harps fans up?
there must be a buzz in derry again with kenny back and a few good singings, 6 points from the first two games is brilliant aswell.
14/03/2008, 10:23 PM
Rubbish performance by Bohs and the most disgusting thing was bringing on a centre half to play the last 10 mins against 9 men and hoofing it up to him. Whatever happened to stretching the play when you have the extra man and making the pitch as big as possible.
harpstilidie
14/03/2008, 10:43 PM
We were robbed tonight. Deserved at least a point. Really enjoyed tonight even though we did lose. Great crowd as well. If we play like we did tonight in the 2nd half we will have no trouble staying up.
Rovers 1 City 1
First competitive City game I have seen this year. Dan Murray & Horgan missing so make shift defence which had probably never played together before. Complete domination in midfield where Rovers had almost no possession.
Good opening goal worked down the left with Behan cutting the ball back to O'Callaghan around the penalty spot & while he did not chance fully just over the line. Rovers equalised a minute later after City defence left Rico run through unmarked - not sure they playing off side or waiting for the whistle. First look at Mooney too who looks sharp & will get a lot of goals. Rovers are a hard working side & always a threat from set pieces but we would have won by more if took lead into halftime.
Just seen Fahy goal on TV3 & very impressive.
14/03/2008, 10:53 PM
Rubbish performance by Bohs and the most disgusting thing was bringing on a centre half to play the last 10 mins against 9 men and hoofing it up to him. Whatever happened to stretching the play when you have the extra man and making the pitch as big as possible.
Yeah get used to that 'tactic' :confused:
Dazzy
14/03/2008, 11:06 PM
We were robbed tonight. Deserved at least a point. Really enjoyed tonight even though we did lose. Great crowd as well. If we play like we did tonight in the 2nd half we will have no trouble staying up.
Thankfully Football is cruel and we got 3 points:D
14/03/2008, 11:09 PM
many harps fans up?
there must be a buzz in derry again with kenny back and a few good singings, 6 points from the first two games is brilliant aswell.
6pts against two of the league's weaker teams, and 3 goals conceeded in 2 games. Not brilliant in fairness....
Buller
14/03/2008, 11:10 PM
Rovers 1 City 1
First competitive City game I have seen this year. Dan Murray & Horgan missing so make shift defence which had probably never played together before. Complete domination in midfield where Rovers had almost no possession.
Good opening goal worked down the left with Behan cutting the ball back to O'Callaghan around the penalty spot & while he did not chance fully just over the line. Rovers equalised a minute later after City defence left Rico run through unmarked - not sure they playing off side or waiting for the whistle. First look at Mooney too who looks sharp & will get a lot of goals. Rovers are a hard working side & always a threat from set pieces but we would have won by more if took lead into halftime.
Just seen Fahy goal on TV3 & very impressive.
Slightly biased? You got away with a draw... Baker had a chance at the end to win it for us, we had what looked like a penalty turned down and your goal looked like it mightn't have crossed the line! But yeah, your midfield is excellent, all quality players.
Juanace
14/03/2008, 11:11 PM
UCD played great tonite..timmy purcell is already proving a better player than Sammon who we sold to Derry (suckers!).
Pete Mahon is doing a great job, just keeps finding new players to step up when the rest of the league buys our squad each season!!
BRAY WERE HORRIFIC mind you..it was the worst performance iv ever seen from a Eircom League club..id like to hear a Bray supporter defend them on that display.
14/03/2008, 11:17 PM
Baker had a chance at the end to win it for us.
I honestly thought Baker had scored, just started to celebrate, when the ref pointed for a corner rather than the centre circle. :( Somehow, the ball stayed out. Dessie was distraught.
Still 4 points against full-timers, sees us into third. :)
Slightly biased? You got away with a draw... Baker had a chance at the end to win it for us, we had what looked like a penalty turned down and your goal looked like it mightn't have crossed the line! But yeah, your midfield is excellent, all quality players.
I saw the ref raise the whistle to his lips & I thought he was going to give a penalty but I think he chickened out. Devine was lucky but on the balance not a penalty. Dan Murray is a massive loss to us & while ye might have had a few good chances but possibly all create from our mistakes.
Don't know what the crowd was but maybe 150 City fans.
I saw the ref raise the whistle to his lips & I thought he was going to give a penalty but I think he chickened out.
Indeed. It was the worst officiating I've ever seen from all officials including the unpenalised thug football in the First Division.
The linesman at the Ballybough end was so bad, it was funny. Couldn't take the game seriously after the first half showing from the officials.
Candystripe
15/03/2008, 4:31 AM
To be fair, on the Harps display tonight they will be hard to beat!!!!
That is as good a Harps team I've ever seen since '85 but if they play like that they could remain unbeaten at home all season (apart from the 3 points Derry usually get).
But seriously Harps really do look good and we were lucky enough to get all 3 points.
What a crowd there tonight........ most standing together in thr tve side and not one dispute apart from the banter that comes with a N.W. derby.
We could go a long time before the league tops that attendance tonight.
Well done Harps...........
BTW We still hate ye's lol
15/03/2008, 8:50 AM
Indeed. It was the worst officiating I've ever seen from all officials including the unpenalised thug football in the First Division.
The linesman at the Ballybough end was so bad, it was funny. Couldn't take the game seriously after the first half showing from the officials.
Ref was incredibly bad. Absolute stone wall penalty for Rovers in the first half, looked like ref played advantage as Baker tried to play on, even at that he should have gone back and at least booked Devine and probably sent him off.
I though Mooney and Behan were awful up front for Cork, Rovers centre halves totally dominated, could have been there a month and not scored. Rovers had little going forward until Eoin Doyle came on, he made a massive difference, it was no coincidence that the Cork defence started to look shaky when he came on and Baker started to find acres of space.
Most of the match was scrapped out in the centre of the park. Rice was very good again for Rovers, he needs someone more mobile beside him though. Cork had the better of it overall, without doing a whole lot. Kearney was fairly rubbish as was McGill for Rovers (actually he was probably the worst player on the pitch).
Decent match, really needed the goals just before half time, gave some bite to the second half.
Horrid result for Wexford Youths. So disappointed.
On refs: Limerick's first goal against Wexford came from a corner that we scored directly from, but the ref took it back for a penalty, judging that a Wexford defender had handballed it on the line in a failed attempt to keep it out. My query is that he didn't even give the Wexford player a yellow card, nevermind the straight red that the rulebook says he should have. It's just as well we converted that penalty, because all hell could have kicked off otherwise
But surely if the ball went over the line for the goal, he should have just let it stand, or did he blow the whistle before he knew it had crossed the line? Sad reffing in any case! What was the refs name, just wondering?
oldyouth
15/03/2008, 9:35 AM
Wasn't at the game and still trying to piece reports together. General opinion is that it had crossed the line. He would have to give a goal if he thought it had crossed the line, regardless of a subsequent handball, so he must have thought it hadn't. After he awards a penalty, the rules then say that the defender has to go, straight red.
If the situation had been reversed and we missed the penalty, I would be very pi**ed of. The standard of refereeing in the league is very poor and I'm sure we will get this fella again