View Full Version : Potential takeover
sorbothegreek
12/03/2008, 9:38 AM
Can i call on someone from the club to comment on the LTFC.ie site in relation to the article in today's independent before all sort of conclusions are jumped to please.
town73
12/03/2008, 10:00 AM
LTFC would like to confirm that a meeting was held last night with potential investors. Contrary to reports in today's papers no agreement has been reached. Any formal proposal received will be brought before the club executive and club members for a decision.
www.ltfc.ie
12/03/2008, 10:13 AM
is there a link anywhere to this. I normally avoid this paper so i'll like to see the actual text.
Macy is Roddy the main person behind it ??
daithi
12/03/2008, 10:18 AM
FFS Say it ain't so............ I hate that cnut.......
daithi
12/03/2008, 10:26 AM
From eleven a side
Also in The Star
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/first/news.asp?n=31372
town73
12/03/2008, 10:31 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/longford-takeover-to-see-collins-return-as-manager-1314040.html
Their dream is to bring us back to the premier division, back to winning trophies and europe.......
Its always been Roddy's dream, he is **** at making it happen though!! I have a bad feeling about this
12/03/2008, 10:55 AM
its now that being a member of the club is important. If you are not a member get it done now. If Roddy has anything to do with this we need to fight it.
THIS IS OUR CLUB
Mullogher
12/03/2008, 11:03 AM
I'm not gone on roddy either but i think people need to sit back and look @ the overall benefits that this will bring.The idea of the cash injection and a financial backer WHO HAS A PLAN is what de town has been crying out for.Remember its his own money so its in his interests for it to work.
If de town have plans of return to the top flight a full time set up is a necessity.The part-time set up has its merits but it has been to our detriment with all the registration/financial issues over the years.The reality is that Longford has been been a selling club for the last 8 years.If a team of the best ex town players was assembled it would surely challenge for the league!
The people of longford have failed to get up out of their armchairs and support the only thing that has put longford on the map in a positive sense in recent years.So the money is not going to come from them.
Yea,the generosity of the hard core fans who part with their cash regularly @ matches and @ fundraisers is admirable.This will keep the club afloat but given the ever competitive environment of the eloi and the poor attendances in flancare this will not be enough if the town really have goals of winning trophies again.
12/03/2008, 11:07 AM
I'm not gone on roddy either but i think people need to sit back and look @ the overall benefits that this will bring.The idea of the cash injection and a financial backer WHO HAS A PLAN is what de town has been crying out for.Remember its his own money so its in his interests for it to work.
If de town have plans of return to the top flight a full time set up is a necessity.The people of longford have failed to get up out of their armchairs and support the only thing that has put longford on the map in a positive sense in recent years.So the money is not going to come from them.
Yea,the generosity of the hard core fans who part with their cash regularly @ matches and @ fundraisers is admirable.This will keep the club afloat but given the ever competitive environment of the eloi and the poor attendances in flancare this will not be enough if the town really have goals of winning trophies again.
yeah but the main thing for me is to pay a fair price for the the assets the club OWN, the ground and the development area are worth a bit
Rocky77
12/03/2008, 11:10 AM
If de town have plans of return to the top flight a full time set up is a necessity.The people of longford have failed to get up out of their armchairs and support the only thing that has put longford on the map in a positive sense in recent years.So the money is not going to come from them.
I doubt anybody is against the idea of a wealthy backer, but Roddy must have no part to play.
We had good days while behind the scenes the club was in decay. Now we're building from the inside out and Aaron and Vinny have a brought a great buzz to the place. The club needs links to the community and is Roddy comes in he'll bring in guys from all over the place and go back to the old ways of ignoring the Under 21 prospects. He may unearth another Pat McCourt, but do we really want another Carlton Palmer flying in on match days?
Get the money men on board but for the sake of the club, Aaron and Vinny must be the men to lead any revolution.
12/03/2008, 11:13 AM
Not happy with Roddy being anywhere near us. Sure the money would be welcome, but at what cost? I also feel it would be hugely unfair on Aaron and Vinny who are just getting started. Anybody know any non Roddy backing millionaires?!
Mullologher, you've very naive views as to why a property developer would be investing in the club. If it's all about the football team, not the land, any potential buyer would have no problem with the land being separate and signed over to the supporters trust, and then they could throw what they like at the football side. When it all goes belly up, we can start again with a new club in the same ground...
Imo the only way for the club to go is the path it's already following. Sustainable spending on the team, with the club back into the community. This type of deal is only more of the same short termism that got us in the financial crap in the first place, only this time it'd be at the whims of a few individuals and with no assets of our own to fall back on.
Mullogher
12/03/2008, 11:34 AM
I doubt anybody is against the idea of a wealthy backer, but Roddy must have no part to play.
We had good days while behind the scenes the club was in decay. Now we're building from the inside out and Aaron and Vinny have a brought a great buzz to the place. The club needs links to the community and is Roddy comes in he'll bring in guys from all over the place and go back to the old ways of ignoring the Under 21 prospects. He may unearth another Pat McCourt, but do we really want another Carlton Palmer flying in on match days?
Get the money men on board but for the sake of the club, Aaron and Vinny must be the men to lead any revolution.
As Longfordian said a non roddy backed consortium would b just the ticket!Gillet is looking to get out :)so u never no.
To disrupt the apple cart at this stage of the season would unfair alrite.Why is the consortium so set on roddy?there must be a history there.
Dillo
12/03/2008, 11:45 AM
Well said Rocky. Aaron and Vinny MUST remain at the helm. Aaron is only one of a few in the country with a pro licence. He has a great knoweldge of the game and wants his teams to play total football. I was greatly encouraged by what I saw last Saturday albeit against the whipping boys of the league.
Mullogher
12/03/2008, 11:52 AM
Mullologher, you've very naive views as to why a property developer would be investing in the club. If it's all about the football team, not the land, any potential buyer would have no problem with the land being separate and signed over to the supporters trust, and then they could throw what they like at the football side. When it all goes belly up, we can start again with a new club in the same ground...
Imo the only way for the club to go is the path it's already following. Sustainable spending on the team, with the club back into the community. This type of deal is only more of the same short termism that got us in the financial crap in the first place, only this time it'd be at the whims of a few individuals and with no assets of our own to fall back on.
With regrads "my very naive views" football is a business nowadays everyone knows that fair enough but just look @ current economic climate no developer with any sort of business acumen would solely touch flancare wit a barge pole @ the mo with the aim of makin a quick buck on the land.It too far out the town and the local housing and development market is already saturated.All ya have to do is look @ the developmnents round the town.Wouldn't fancy sitting on all those units and houses which are idle and still for sale?Why doesn't he invest in those if thats all hes in for?
bringing the club back to the community is a great idea but the community have spoken by not going to matches....Ye there is a town community,the die hard fans but this is not enough @ the mo.u def need to tap into the longford and surrounding counties to make the club viable.There is a def a hugh catchment area which can be tapped into and it is great to c the local and u21 lads getting thru but any financial injection(minus roddy) wud have to have strings attached so that these lads could be nurtured and given the chance to shine and these demands can't b met they shud call the deal off.
roddy is an arrogant man who is vilified by all town fans including myself so i hope he doesn't get the job.Hopefully the board can organize a deal which keeps vinny and aaron @ the helm and roddy up in cabra where he belongs.
By the way the age old irish trait of cynism is alive and well macy with regard to your views on property developers(one who is a former player and comes from a family steeped in the game.!:)
Salmon Coloured
12/03/2008, 11:54 AM
The day Roddy Collins has anything to do with our club twill be the day i stop heading to Flancare. Section O will wrench & grind to the sound of people puking, crying & shaking with fear. This stinks my friends & we must now let our feelings be known that this man is not wanted at our Club. He is only self serving & you know that as he looks for a way back into soccer. I couldnt give a fiddlers about who takesover as long as that particular gent has nothing to do with it. Unfurl those banners folks cos the sky is getting grey.
I say onto thee NEIN NEIN NEIN NEIN NEIN NEIN Roddy Collins NEIN NEIN NEIN NEIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! For the pity of men & angels let our doors not be darkened. There is an ill wind blowing & please may it pass. Is today to be our last morning of waking & being able to remember our club as how it once was? DONT LIE DOWN & LET THAT MAN BACK INTO SOCCER AT OUR EXPENSE.
12/03/2008, 11:57 AM
It's amazing for people who are supposed millionaires that they're swallowing Roddy's guff. Think how much easier their path would be if they hadn't him involved.
Tallanted
12/03/2008, 12:07 PM
As max power said this is the time to become a member.. If not then you can post what you like on here and it wont matter a sh1t.. Stand up and be counted or else sit down and shut up
daithi
12/03/2008, 12:37 PM
not all fans can afford to become members of the club. But a lot of us support the club by going to games, buying season tickets and supporting various functions and draws. These people should be able to voice they're concerns without been told to shut up! It's my club too, has been for a long time and hopefully will be for years.
deecay
12/03/2008, 12:43 PM
Dosent sound bad,''We want to take Longford back to the Premier Division, back to winning trophies and back into Europe.''
The Longford!
12/03/2008, 12:52 PM
Why exactly does everyone hate Roddy Collins? Sensible answers please.
A takeover would be the best thing ever to happen this club, no matter who was in charge. We need to go fulltime if anything positive is ever going to happen
12/03/2008, 12:55 PM
Dosent sound bad,''We want to take Longford back to the Premier Division, back to winning trophies and back into Europe.''
ah pi$$ off back to your own forum, Roddy = trouble
12/03/2008, 12:55 PM
Look at his track record. Everywhere he goes he ends up hated.
Sonic
12/03/2008, 12:56 PM
Millionaire backers are great fantastic brilliant...but what happens if in a year or two time the thing "they tried to create" doesnt work out what then!!?? Thats right they fuk off in the wind and leave the club in financial ruin thats what!! Every deal done by this football club be it sponsorship takeover etc needs to be done with the best interests to the club this one for me stinks! The fact that this man is even entertaining the idea of Roddy taking out speaks volumes for the type of clown he is so for me the club better reject out of hand any such advances made. As Mullogher said financial clout is what we want and NEED but Im not prepared to put the clubs future at stake for it!!!!! There is something really rotten with this latest development:(:( We have just started to get our house i order and the club to be even entertaining this venture is scary and its time to voice concerns now not in a weeks time when the deal is completed!!!
Why hate Roddy I hear you ask!!!!????
Simple the man is trouble. His track record speaks for itself. Nothing filled me with more hatred when I stuck on teletext one cold dark evening to see he had ditched his club at the time Dublin City for their nerest rivals Shamrock Rovers. At the time I remember saying thank god our club would never be as foolish as to take on a chancer and a spoofer like Collins and then low and behold I wake up to this most devastating of stories!!! Seriously people finacial backing if needs be but dont have Roddy Collins in charge PLEASE!!!!!!
The Longford!
12/03/2008, 1:02 PM
But we're not going anywhere. Look at us over the last few years since we last won anything. We've been slipping into decline, ultimately relegation. Maybe this guy is just what we need to make this club great again.
12/03/2008, 1:04 PM
I agree with you Sonic. Not in favour of it. Short termism got us where we are now, or rather what we're beginning to show signs of coming out of.
Maybe this guy is just what we need to make this club great again.
Maybe so but if it means Roddy in charge Id tell him where to stick it!!!!
The Longford!
12/03/2008, 1:23 PM
If we dont take this opportunity, what future has the club got? We've needed to go fulltime for years. We need the money. Whatever about the manager. Roddy will want this project to succeed. And if he jumps ship on us, we'll still have callaghan and vinny.
What shape will we be in when they feck off and ship off players to the English club he "hopes" to get. C'mon lads dont let the euro signs get in the way here.
12/03/2008, 1:44 PM
If we dont take this opportunity, what future has the club got? We've needed to go fulltime for years. We need the money. Whatever about the manager. Roddy will want this project to succeed. And if he jumps ship on us, we'll still have callaghan and vinny.
what a stupid thing to say, we won't have a club FFS. Oh Vinny and Aaron will just sit there waiting for it all to go belly up and then just run back:rolleyes:
The Longford!
12/03/2008, 1:49 PM
According to one of today's papers, Callaghan is set to stay on in an undefined role.
12/03/2008, 1:53 PM
According to one of today's papers, Callaghan is set to stay on in an undefined role.
Pure crap........it ain't gonna go through was Roddy is invloved.
I for 1 vote NO !!
The Longford!
12/03/2008, 1:53 PM
What shape will we be in when they feck off and ship off players to the English club he "hopes" to get. C'mon lads dont let the euro signs get in the way here.
A feeder system would be in the best interests of both clubs. If our players leave, we'll get paid. And as well, we'll get some of their young players on loan.
The Longford!
12/03/2008, 1:54 PM
Pure crap........it ain't gonna go through was Roddy is invloved.
I for 1 vote NO !!
A manager wouldn't have a say in club employees
12/03/2008, 1:54 PM
A feeder system would be in the best interests of both clubs. If our players leave, we'll get paid. And as well, we'll get some of their young players on loan.
Did you come down in the last shower ???
Go home now, the tooth fairy and santa claus are waiting to play twister with you:D
The Longford!
12/03/2008, 1:59 PM
Did you come down in the last shower ???
Go home now, the tooth fairy and santa claus are waiting to play twister with you:D
Max power what is your problem?
deecay
12/03/2008, 2:01 PM
Max power you have some anger problems:o
The Longford!
12/03/2008, 2:03 PM
Everyone's entitled to their opinion. Do you expect everyone to agree with you?
Get a life you slow witted yak herder.
12/03/2008, 2:05 PM
Max power you have some anger problems:o
Roddy is involved in a take over for our club, am i meant to be happy:D
The Longford!
12/03/2008, 2:06 PM
Roddy is involved in a take over for our club, am i meant to be happy:D
Well, take it out on your keyboard, and stop posting crap
sorbothegreek
12/03/2008, 2:09 PM
The use of words such as opportunity and Roddy in the one sentance is surely enough to drive any eircom league fan a bit dolally. Throw in feeder club and the shafting of your new managerial set-up and i can see where he's coming from..
RockofGibraltar
12/03/2008, 2:09 PM
lads as far as i know the leader of the consortium anthony mcmullen is being interviewed on rte1 radio at 5pm this evenin so listen to what he says before jumping to conclusions...
The Longford!
12/03/2008, 2:11 PM
lads as far as i know the leader of the consortium anthony mcmullen is being interviewed on rte1 radio at 5pm this evenin so listen to what he says before jumping to conclusions...
Thanks for the heads up
Keen2win
12/03/2008, 2:53 PM
Money yes. Roddy NO
LTFCfan
12/03/2008, 3:01 PM
OMG, NO NO NO, Collins OUT. I just cant believe this, its my worst nightmare. Please god it will never happen, i donno how i could stand in Flancare, with him there....:( Whoever let his name be connected to town should be shot, above all people... i'm still in shock.
Keen2win
12/03/2008, 3:02 PM
How exactly do you become a member. Can it be done over the internet?
ltfc_2004
12/03/2008, 3:06 PM
Is it my imagination or has there been a load of new LTFC posters since this morning !!!
LTFCfan
12/03/2008, 3:07 PM
OH yeah, thats just what we need, management more interested in feeding their new club than improving Longford Town....