View Full Version : Potential takeover
LTFCfan
12/03/2008, 3:09 PM
Is it my imagination or has there been a load of new LTFC posters since this morning !!!
Yeah, I'm ragin now my first post was on feckin Collins...:mad:
12/03/2008, 3:09 PM
How exactly do you become a member. Can it be done over the internet?
join the trust, 25 a month the form is available on the website.
Keen2win
12/03/2008, 3:12 PM
join the trust, 25 a month the form is available on the website.
I would but I don't have that sort of money:(
Salmon Coloured
12/03/2008, 3:54 PM
Anyone listening to the radio??
Nipper
12/03/2008, 4:10 PM
What station? Im listening to Radio 1, nothing on it...
12/03/2008, 4:34 PM
I would say it will be on drive time sport at 6:30 perhaps.
12/03/2008, 5:46 PM
Coming on now will record and upload it.
12/03/2008, 6:00 PM
The shower of *****s, announced it would be on and then nothing?!
12/03/2008, 6:01 PM
The shower of *****s, announced it would be on and then nothing?!
The area of Roddy begins as normal:D
Mullogher
12/03/2008, 7:56 PM
Did you come down in the last shower ???
Go home now, the tooth fairy and santa claus are waiting to play twister with you:D
I second that deccay Max power definitely needs a wk away to comes to terms with the fact that people younger than himself support the town and have joined foot.
Longford!your fully entitled to your opinion and keep posting ....
The youth is the future of the club and their views are as important as others including oldtimers and should be respected whether you agree or disagree.
Foot is a forum for football related discussion not for condescending put downs aimed @ youngsters.
Lose the superiority complex max power and stick to the football chat!
12/03/2008, 8:28 PM
not sure what to make of it lads.. the interview with the property developer is for twenty mins on radio one on friday at seven pm
!
roddy has such a bad track record...one side of the coin is it will wipe out our debts but at what price to our club? the other side is we may potentially lose a very good mgt and staff with this! i initially was very excited about the idea but now I have my doubts about the whole deal...
i dont want to see aaron and vinny go at all! the club will be unstable even with roddy as gen manager you saw what he did with dublin city... it is a very serious offer and quite rightly should be voted by the members.. you know what you have to do if you are so against it become a member of the trust this weekend the forms are on the website and dont make this happen...
i would be concerned if the deal goes wrong could they sell flancare park aka shamrock rovers? think the risks are too serious tbh...
Nipper
12/03/2008, 8:48 PM
I really hope last Saturday's game wasn't my last at Flancare.
I couldn't support anything that bollicks is involved with.
Mate of mine txt me yesterday to say Hot Rod was strolling around Longford yesterday.
At least Roddys plastering skills might patch up Flancare Park ;)
Putting my moderator hat on... I suspect "The Longford" is a troll, however, can everyone calm down with the put down's on each other. And less of the "if you don't become a member you've no right to comment too" as you have no idea of the personal circumstances of other posters to be making judgements on whether they can afford it or not.
This will have to go to the members - being a members club it'll have to. The only way this should be even considered is if the lands, or perhaps more particularly the pitches, are signed over to the trust. If it really is for altruistic motives, Shoddy and his band of merry men won't have a problem with that will they?
Hopefully the members see sense - at a time when clubs all around Europe are moving too, or trying to move to, a members owned structure, why would be buck the trend to the bad old ways?
13/03/2008, 4:54 PM
believe lads that theres a meeting in flancare at nine o clock tonight. it says in one of the papers that it is a meeting of committee and members. will venture out to it. believe a written offer will be given out tonight.
anyone care to venture out?
13/03/2008, 5:14 PM
believe lads that theres a meeting in flancare at nine o clock tonight. it says in one of the papers that it is a meeting of committee and members. will venture out to it. believe a written offer will be given out tonight.
Marty, can you put up some details tonight if you go to the meeting
The Longford!
13/03/2008, 5:19 PM
Putting my moderator hat on... I suspect "The Longford" is a troll, however, can everyone calm down with the put down's on each other.
No, I'm not a troll, Mr Macy, or an orc or a goblin, I was just stating my opinion.
13/03/2008, 6:16 PM
Papers are misleading apparently. It's just an executive meeting. No written proposal has been received as of this evening. I believe the executive are to vote on whether to have any further discussions with the relevant people. From what I'm hearing, nobody is in any way impressed with what they have to offer and are likely to tell them no thanks. They're offering to put in f*ck all and their plans are all ones that the club was pursuing anyway.
13/03/2008, 6:46 PM
Marty, can you put up some details tonight if you go to the meeting
will do so tommorrow if Im allowed in max power!
13/03/2008, 6:47 PM
Papers are misleading apparently. It's just an executive meeting. No written proposal has been received as of this evening. I believe the executive are to vote on whether to have any further discussions with the relevant people. From what I'm hearing, nobody is in any way impressed with what they have to offer and are likely to tell them no thanks. They're offering to put in f*ck all and their plans are all ones that the club was pursuing anyway.
thats a bit of good news.. looks like common sense finally setting in...this could be a potential excellent mgt team of aaron and vinny dont want us to f%%k up their plans...
13/03/2008, 7:11 PM
thats a bit of good news.. looks like common sense finally setting in...this could be a potential excellent mgt team of aaron and vinny dont want us to f%%k up their plans...
Bit harsh to say common sense 'finally' settling in, as far as I can see it's the other side driving the media agenda. We'll know more later on. I'd expect something to be on the website after the meeting. Hopefully good news.
Show Roddy the red card.
RiffRaff
13/03/2008, 7:15 PM
I hope common sense will prevail on this. There is no way Longford could sustain a full time team and the fact that plenty of other teams are living way beyond their means doesnt mean the town should follow suit. I'm not sure how Roddy has managed to get so any financial backers over the years - whatever his management skills, he has shown himself to have no idea of financial structures at various clubs. Everyone wants to see the town back in the top flight and in Europe, but if we spend a few years building up local support and goodwill and spirit, we have a chance to sustain it. Bringing in lots of full time pros overnight will only be good news until the novelty wears off, and after that we'd be running at a huge loss until the inevitable happens.
13/03/2008, 7:21 PM
Sensible post riffraff, progress at a sustainable rate is what's needed and I'm confident the club is moving that way.
The Longford!
13/03/2008, 9:06 PM
I admit, I didn't know an awful lot about Roddy when I posted, but have since researched a bit. Bear in mind, I never said anything in favour of him I just thought a takeover would be good for the club. No need to pounce . . .
13/03/2008, 9:15 PM
right lads this is the news!
frank murtagh(secretary) came out to me at flancare just before the meeting started and told me that the club have received no proposal yet... if the club do get a proposal in writing the executive committee will discuss it and decide whether to bring it forward to members stage... the club are releasing a statement at half eleven tonight...so at this moment in time nothings happenin but they have nothin in writin..
heard that the developer was in meetings with the committee in a well known establishment, there was no sign of roddy and then who pops in his head into the meeting it is the rodster himself!
impressions I got from speakin to a few board members is that a lot of them are against it esp with roddy collins on board! Jim Hanley also said that the club is in better finanical shape to turn it down than this time last year!
Roddy was on newstalk tonight... same old crap coming out of him... mentioned that he was aware of the newspaper reports today saying that he was unpopular he said that he spoke to few people in longford and reckoned in his opinion that hes highly thought of here! he mentioned that he would be very excited about the town having regular traiining camps in jamaica where his mate has holiday interests out there....daniel mcdonnell indo journalist was also it as well..
very good interview in longford weekender tonite about the situation !
13/03/2008, 9:16 PM
From what I've heard this evening they're not willing to put in any substantial money. They've just got some vague idea that if they take over they'll find ways of making money. Innovative ideas that the present set-up have already thought of and intend pursuing if left alone. Little money invested + Roddy = a very firm no thanks.
13/03/2008, 9:19 PM
he mentioned that he would be very excited about the town having regular traiining camps in jamaica where his mate has holiday interests out thereThis is the best one yet:D...he's come out with some good quotes in his time. For LTFC's sake, I do hope ye turn them down.
deecay
13/03/2008, 9:41 PM
Id go for it,a bit of money,crazy manager and general excitement
13/03/2008, 9:48 PM
Marty, I'll go to Jamaica for pre-season friendlies with ya if yer up for it!:p
13/03/2008, 9:51 PM
Ye wouldn't be laughing if it was Sligo lads. The Rod is not someone we want around.
13/03/2008, 10:07 PM
Club statement up on www.ltfc.ie
Bit of a pointed snub to Roddy in the last paragraph.
14/03/2008, 6:52 AM
he mentioned that he would be very excited about the town having regular traiining camps in jamaica where his mate has holiday interests out there....
That's a great line of bullsh!t from Shoddy. That's excellent. Is that meant to be a sweetener? I really hope the board tells him where to shove his offer. No to Roddy!
Remember lessons from the past - Roddy tried to take over both Rovers and Pats with Brooks Mileson. He was the person who bankrolled Gretna. Gretna might not make it through the weekend, after Mileson became ill and the money dried up. That could've been Rovers or Pats, and we'd be leaving ourselves in a similarly vunerable position.
The dreaded vote of confidence ...
The club would also like to state clearly that our Manager, Aaron Callaghan has a 2 year contract,
Expect Aaron out and Roddy in by Easter :p ;)
14/03/2008, 9:47 AM
Remember lessons from the past - Roddy tried to take over both Rovers and Pats with Brooks Mileson. He was the person who bankrolled Gretna. Gretna might not make it through the weekend, after Mileson became ill and the money dried up. That could've been Rovers or Pats, and we'd be leaving ourselves in a similarly vunerable position.
Spot on. Then there's the actual amount of money they were talking about putting up. By all accounts they might be able to come up with 80-100k to put in! The rest of the money for their grand schemes would be raised by their ground breaking new ideas. I know I'm going on about this but it's pi$$ing me off no end. Anyhow, I don't think it'll happen. Even if the committee voted in favour of it which I very much doubt, I can't see it getting through an AGM/EGM.
Salmon Coloured
14/03/2008, 10:01 AM
Im glad everyones really not into this idea. Cowboys with a Ron Atkinson stunt double with a cirque de Surreal of smoke & mirrors. Its like the ad to get kids not to take drugs years ago "Just say no".
Look at the media hoopla our boy with the coat Collins has going round. Send these boys a thanks but no thanks letter & be done with them.
Looking forward to the RSC tonight, you headin down Longfordian?
ltfc_2004
14/03/2008, 10:01 AM
Actually why is it taking so long to get a bar licence for the ground ? It seems for the last few seasons it was only a matter of time before we got one.
14/03/2008, 10:11 AM
Im glad everyones really not into this idea. Cowboys with a Ron Atkinson stunt double with a cirque de Surreal of smoke & mirrors. Its like the ad to get kids not to take drugs years ago "Just say no".
Look at the media hoopla our boy with the coat Collins has going round. Send these boys a thanks but no thanks letter & be done with them.
Looking forward to the RSC tonight, you headin down Longfordian?
Nope can't make it tonight unfortunately. Hopefully they'll put in a performance and all the brouhaha this week won't have affected them too much.
ltfc-I forget exactly the reasons for no bar licence, I think there was extra building work to be done plus barrister's fees tp gather together and the licensing court is only on infrequently too. Must check out exactly what the story is
Its like the ad to get kids not to take drugs years ago "Just say no".
Was watching a programme about a Grange Hill reunion of the kids who sang
the "Just Say No" song and went to America to meet Nancy Regan as she
was a big anti-drugs campaigner.
Apparently there were a few of them off their heads when they were singing
it live on US TV
14/03/2008, 10:31 AM
Marty, I'll go to Jamaica for pre-season friendlies with ya if yer up for it!:p
I'll hold you to that sligoman!:)
sparkey
14/03/2008, 1:13 PM
I see Dolan is stirring the **** in the star today saying that the league and LTFC need "big personalities" like Roddy involved with them. Also basicly saying we should be grateful to the McMullens for wanting to invest in us. The Fcuking Pr1ck.:mad:
VOTE NO TO RODDY!
14/03/2008, 1:20 PM
By all accounts they might be able to come up with 80-100k to put in! The rest of the money for their grand schemes would be raised by their ground breaking new ideas.Typical Roddy bull****. I hope Longford steer well clear.
Their "offer" to Pats was about 1/10th of what we were worth, and when told that Richmond park couldn't be part of deal, Mileson walked away...
14/03/2008, 1:35 PM
Their "offer" to Pats was about 1/10th of what we were worth, and when told that Richmond park couldn't be part of deal, Mileson walked away...
As i have said before, asset stripping disguised.
14/03/2008, 2:05 PM
I see Dolan is stirring the **** in the star today saying that the league and LTFC need "big personalities" like Roddy involved with them. Also basicly saying we should be grateful to the McMullens for wanting to invest in us. The Fcuking Pr1ck.:mad:
VOTE NO TO RODDY!
I can imagine the guff that clown was coming out with.
"Hey.. I tell ya.. a club like Longford...they need people like Roddy Collins involved..the Champions League..that's where they want to be..that's what their fans demand..".
Salmon Coloured
14/03/2008, 2:23 PM
Exactly. These urbane type people still seem to think that we go round the place throwing pigs to one another. Anyway will somebody ask Pat Dolan if he wouldnt mind giving a drink to the horses the Collins Cowboy consortium left tied outside Flancare Park when they visited us.
Well said Max Power, asset stripping in disguise. NO.
14/03/2008, 2:27 PM
Exactly. These urbane type people still seem to think that we go round the place throwing pigs to one another. Anyway will somebody ask Pat Dolan if he wouldnt mind giving a drink to the horses the Collins Cowboy consortium left tied outside Flancare Park when they visited us.
Well said Max Power, asset stripping in disguise. NO.
They put in 80K, yet how much is the land itself worth. Macy was right when he said all lands should be signed over to the trust.
LTFCfan
14/03/2008, 7:50 PM
Prayers answered!! Shoddy says he's not coming!!! (at half time on rte2) Obviously He got the message he wasnt wanted, himself and mcmullen are off to gretna, god help dem!:D
14/03/2008, 7:59 PM
Great news. I've said it a few times but they were offering nothing anyhow. Liked the way he mentioned the Supporters Trust not wanting him. Join the trust if you can at all, keep the likes of Roddy out.
15/03/2008, 6:56 PM
http://www.ltfc.ie/downloads/LTFC_Supporters_Trust_Form.pdf
guys this is where you sign for the supporters trust. I know there was reservations in the past about the trust but this is only six euros a wk and for that you are a member of the club and get invited to vote at potential supporters trust meetings and agms of the club.. ronnie b can vouch for that... he only joined the other day...
imo this is definitely worth joining it was thanks to the trust that this move didnt happen.. you may be surprised...