View Full Version : Eduardo

Pages : 1 [2] 3

23/02/2008, 10:59 PM
why did gallas start crying? was he annoyed at clcihy or the referee?

Dun Laoire
23/02/2008, 11:22 PM
Birmingham should pay his wages until he's back playing. Shocking challenge.

Closed Account 2
23/02/2008, 11:31 PM
It was a shocker of a tackle from a player who is too imcompetent to be professional. He should have a 10 match ban at least - imagine if this was done to Robbie Keane or Damien Duff ahead of WC2002 we'd all be after this Taylor guy. I don't see Eduardo recovering, medically it looks like a lot of pins and plates will have to be put in to reconstruct his leg. Even if physically he recovered would he ever be the same player mentally again?

It's a shame because he was a great talent and super player to watch, I think he was 2nd top scorer behind Healy in the qualifiers.

The worst tackle I ever saw was from Gerrard Taggart on Damiano Tomassi in a Stoke v Roma friendly. That fat brute ruined Tomassi's career, he played again but was never the same level.

23/02/2008, 11:34 PM
think it was Ben Thatcher.

Yep I sit corrected. Vicious, disgusting and intentional.

23/02/2008, 11:36 PM
Wenger says Taylor should never play football again.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/7260564.stm
Wenger an arsehole, he sees what he chooses to see, if he had the balls to comment on every decision like mark hughes and harry redknapp id resoect the man but sick **** of his dramatic ****e, what a muppet.

why did gallas start crying? was he annoyed at clcihy or the referee?

Also a muppet.

Birmingham should pay his wages until he's back playing. Shocking challenge.

Shut up ffs, yet another muppet. Its footballbuild a bridge. This **** happens.

I really like eduardo top clas player, possibly the best finisher in prem as goals per chance ratio, this is a crime, but get over it, no different to larrsson or alan smith, as previously posted ben thatchers was the worst and we got over that, get on with it, and wenger better learn that if eboue was any lower last week he would have done alot alot more damage, also vieira has done it many times, so to gerrard and roy keane, so build a bridge lads.

23/02/2008, 11:40 PM
It was a shocker of a tackle from a player who is too imcompetent to be professional. He should have a 10 match ban at least - imagine if this was done to Robbie Keane or Damien Duff ahead of WC2002 we'd all be after this Taylor guy. I don't see Eduardo recovering, medically it looks like a lot of pins and plates will have to be put in to reconstruct his leg. Even if physically he recovered would he ever be the same player mentally again?

It's a shame because he was a great talent and super player to watch, I think he was 2nd top scorer behind Healy in the qualifiers.

The worst tackle I ever saw was from Gerrard Taggart on Damiano Tomassi in a Stoke v Roma friendly. That fat brute ruined Tomassi's career, he played again but was never the same level.

If it was robbie keane or duff I would say the same, the victims name should have nothing to do with it.

Closed Account 2
23/02/2008, 11:51 PM
I really like eduardo top clas player, possibly the best finisher in prem as goals per chance ratio, this is a crime, but get over it, no different to larrsson or alan smith, as previously posted ben thatchers was the worst and we got over that, get on with it, and wenger better learn that if eboue was any lower last week he would have done alot alot more damage, also vieira has done it many times, so to gerrard and roy keane, so build a bridge lads.

Alan Smith was hit by a ball, so there was no player making a foul / tackle on him. So it's totally different as there is noone to punish.

Closed Account 2
23/02/2008, 11:53 PM
If it was robbie keane or duff I would say the same, the victims name should have nothing to do with it.

Ok, you probably don't follow Ireland, my mistake. Put it this way, if it was Nani or Rooney you'd be after him. You support Man Utd don't you (semi-educated guess)?

And this picture seems to show intent:-

http://i201.photobucket.com/albums/aa237/stearmaster/Taylorsenasmijesio.jpg

soccerc
24/02/2008, 12:24 AM
It was a shocker of a tackle from a player who is too imcompetent to be professional.

How is he an incompetent footballer?

He should have a 10 match ban at least

Why? Nothing malicious and the laws allow for a three game ban.

if this was done to Robbie Keane or Damien Duff ahead of WC2002 we'd all be after this Taylor guy.

Absolutely nothing to do with it, trying to be overly emotive?

I don't see Eduardo recovering, medically it looks like a lot of pins and plates will have to be put in to reconstruct his leg.

Are you an orthopaedic specialist?

Even if physically he recovered would he ever be the same player mentally again?

Again, what are your medical qualifications? A psychologist this time?

People are over reacting. The same or similar challenge can be seen in every game, some warrant yellows, some reds while others are totally innocent tackles.

24/02/2008, 2:21 AM
Sickening tackle and the player should be banned from playing until Eduardo has recovered, if he does. He will get a 3-match ban and maybe a fine. What's that in comparison to shattering someone's leg in 2 pieces?? His foot may even have to be amputated.

Despite the game being a contact sport, these injuries only seem to happen in English football. Whether the defender meant it or not, if he and others who cause similiar injuries were banned from playing until his opponent plays again, you'd see far fewer such challenges/injuries in the future. If Eduardo was an Ireland player, we'd all be up in arms, screaming for revenge.

The Lilywhites
24/02/2008, 5:07 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wedSyN8fpZ8&feature=related

24/02/2008, 8:16 AM
Terrible business altogether. It's going to take some skill to put Eduardos ankle back together after that.

I have a degree of sympathy for Taylor as well. You don't make it all the way to the prem as a player with any club by going out to do that kind of thing to fellow players. It was a lousy tackle with horrific consequences but zero intent. He'll be punished to the extent the rules allow.

It's also understandable that Wenger would say that about Taylor in the heat of the moment ...if he's taken it back then it's commendable of him too.

Now - out of a modicum of respect for a talented footballer who may already have been told it's all over him or may be staring at that possibility soon - can someone delete irrelevant bullsh1t such as...

Did ya see Gallas acting like a baby at the end. The 4th official had to stop him from storming off all because Birmingham got a penalty. Then when the whistle went he collapses to the ground and starts balling crying. And he's supposed to be captain?...........grow up ya clown

24/02/2008, 8:38 AM
I have seen it a few times and listened to a few people who know about the game an I am still convinced that it is not a red card. I think people who know very little about tackling would think its a straight red. Respected people in football have come out and defended Taylor and Wenger has retracted his OTT statement about Taylor on this issue.

I know a fair bit about football also, and a fair bit about tackling, and I think it was a red card. I said in a previous post -

It was late, forceful, with studs showing. It made full contact with the opponent. That should be a red card.

I think it's worth pointing out that the referee sent off Taylor before he realised the extent of the injury. He just saw a tackle he considered bad enough for a red card, and sent the player off.

the still images that have been linked to on this site show that it was high and studs were showing. It was obviously late. And the extent of the injury shows it was a forceful tackle.

The defense from respected football people is more along the lines of, "it wasn't malicious, and he's not that kind of player" - both things I agree with. Wenger only said his initial criticism (that Taylor should never be allowed to play football again) was excessive, not that it wasn't a red card offence.

noddy102
24/02/2008, 9:02 AM
Supposedly Eduardo could be back after a 5 month layoff.

If that is true, then he can consider himself a very lucky man.

MickNolan
24/02/2008, 9:28 AM
http://www.footytube.com/2008/02/23/arsenal-v-birmingham-eduardo-injury/

They slow it down and its at a better angle

24/02/2008, 9:37 AM
..... build a bridge ..... build a bridge lads.
Is there some wonderful new cliché im missing out on?

blobbyblob
24/02/2008, 11:23 AM
If Eduardo ever does play football again, God bless modern medicine.

His foot basically came off his leg. I'm a bit of a sicko when it comes to watching bad injuries but this one made me wretch. You have to feel for Taylor this morning too.

I hope I'm wrong but no way will he be back in 5 months.

shanman2
24/02/2008, 11:57 AM
If Eduardo ever does play football again, God bless modern medicine.

His foot basically came off his leg. I'm a bit of a sicko when it comes to watching bad injuries but this one made me wretch. You have to feel for Taylor this morning too.

I hope I'm wrong but no way will he be back in 5 months.

Correct me if I'm wrong but didn't Larsson, Cisse and many more also recover from this injury.... Larrson came back better than ever Cisse was never really there anyway....
Wenger should be ashamed of himself surely a man of his intelligence would have taken time to gather his thoughts before talking. His players wouldn't exactly be angel either.
Whether he takes it back or not is still isn't right. Certain players you know would make that sort of tackle intentionally I don't think taylor is one of those players.
He hadn't even been booked this year....

24/02/2008, 11:58 AM
Ok, you probably don't follow Ireland, my mistake. Put it this way, if it was Nani or Rooney you'd be after him. You support Man Utd don't you (semi-educated guess)?

I support Ireland and Bohs and have a soft spot for Spurs in England but dont lose any sleep if the lose. Not sure where you got the Man Utd thing. My point was that no matter how much I love the Irish football team I have no time for bias in a situation like this. If it happened to Keane or Duff I would be sick over it but that does not mean my opinion of the tackle would be any difference. I think soccerc was dead right on this. Bringing that into it only distracts from the argument. One thing that bugs me in football is when people let their allegiance cloud their opinion on a matter.

Are you honestly suggesting that a still photo of a guy who is moving and his facial expressions are moving and changing ever nano second is proof that he i was smiling there after breaking Eduardo's leg. You are having a laugh surely

chuckie
24/02/2008, 12:43 PM
Is there some wonderful new cliché im missing out on?
I think its build a bridge.. and get over it

cartman
24/02/2008, 12:46 PM
seriously, how is there an argument about whether that was a red card or not.. absolutely blatant straight red.. even if taylor had been quicker to the ball, his foot is so high it would have went over the top of the ball and through eduardo anyways..
neil mcd you are spouting some unbelievable cr*p on here.. you have about as much knowledge about football as andy capp..bohs fan are you? not surprising really:p

24/02/2008, 12:58 PM
Ahhh the personal insults always a way to win a debate. Fair play. I think its possible to have a difference of opinion and not resort to saying the other person knows nothing about football. If you really need to resort to personal insults it does not say much about your argument. Now these links don't provide conclusive evidence that I am correct on this issue as I don't believe it is that cut and dry and it is largely down to interpretation however what they do show is that some people who do play and manage the game at the highest level, think it was a harsh sending off also. So for you to be so cocky that you know about football and these people don't is mind boggling.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_3190031,00.html

But Wigan boss Steve Bruce, who signed Taylor from Blackburn when he was Blues boss in February 2004, said his former player would never intentionally hurt anyone.

"Martin Taylor is the biggest, gentlest man," said Bruce. "There will be nobody more upset and sickened than him, there is not a bad bone in his body.

"He would never, ever do anything malicious. He has mis-timed the tackle, and I've seen it. Some would say it is not even a yellow card."

shanman2
24/02/2008, 1:21 PM
I think its build a bridge.. and get over it

build a bridge and cross it....
Build a ladder and get over it....

24/02/2008, 1:30 PM
I think its possible to have a difference of opinion and not resort to saying the other person knows nothing about football.

I fully agree Neil. But aren't you doing pretty much the same thing here -

I think people who know very little about tackling would think its a straight red.

24/02/2008, 1:44 PM
There is a subtle but important difference in what I said and what cartman is saying.

Greenforever
24/02/2008, 2:24 PM

I don't know how you can say the photo shows intent, I'd more say shock, and judgine by the inital reaction of the players on a previous utube clip, it looks like they were in shock but noone seems to have had a go at Taylor. If any of the Aresenal palyers close to the tackle taught there was intent id imaginge they would have had a go at Taylor.

Bad tackle - yes, malicious no, yellow card yes, red card a bit harsh.

And i dont support any premiership side so not biased, and wouldnt have a different view if it happened to an Irish player. **** happens in football, at least Eduardo will not suffer financially.

deecay
24/02/2008, 3:10 PM
I absolutely love a tackle and love to see hard tackles,but that was an absolute disgrace.Intent or not ban that goofball **** for a few games. NeilMcD,you are talking awful ****e

24/02/2008, 3:40 PM
Well I think you are talking ****e but sure what are we going to do.

deecay
24/02/2008, 5:03 PM
Thinking that tackle is not a red?Thats not even logical,you seem to have no grasp on reality

24/02/2008, 5:13 PM
I have a perfect grasp of reality and Steve Bruce and Stephen Kelly think the same, Greenforever and Soccerc who know their football also think the same. Its a terrible injury and I really hope that he recovers and becomes a top player.

Greenforever
24/02/2008, 6:19 PM
I absolutely love a tackle and love to see hard tackles,but that was an absolute disgrace.Intent or not ban that goofball **** for a few games. NeilMcD,you are talking awful ****e

So it's a bad tackle with no intent = a few games ban

therefore

Missing a sitter = 2 game ban:D

goalkeeper lets it through his legs = 3 match ban:D

think that makes a mockery of your coment

Closed Account 2
24/02/2008, 6:42 PM
I don't know how you can say the photo shows intent, I'd more say shock, and judgine by the inital reaction of the players on a previous utube clip, it looks like they were in shock but noone seems to have had a go at Taylor. If any of the Aresenal palyers close to the tackle taught there was intent id imaginge they would have had a go at Taylor.

Bad tackle - yes, malicious no, yellow card yes, red card a bit harsh.

And i dont support any premiership side so not biased, and wouldnt have a different view if it happened to an Irish player. **** happens in football, at least Eduardo will not suffer financially.

He seems to have a huge grin on his face, as though he's happy with his days work at the abattoir. I think he's a brute and will get booed for the next year of his career, and rightly so - and I don't support any team in the premier league before someone goes down the "you're biased" line.

Greenforever
24/02/2008, 6:51 PM
He seems to have a huge grin on his face, as though he's happy with his days work at the abattoir. I think he's a brute and will get booed for the next year of his career, and rightly so - and I don't support any team in the premier league before someone goes down the "you're biased" line.

And they say photos dont lie... I dont think thats a big grin on his face... I'd say i's more like shock

I dont know the man but listening to respected people who do he would appear to be a real gent.

The only football person who called for blood was Wenger and he's retracted his initial stance and rightly so.

chuckie
24/02/2008, 7:30 PM
I think he's a brute

A brute whos been sent off only twice in his career the last of which was nine years ago. I dont think so.

24/02/2008, 7:45 PM

Huge grin on his face.

Abattoir

Brute,.

Jesus get a grip talk about OTT remarks. I think you should work for the Sun with talent like that.

cheifo
24/02/2008, 7:45 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong but didn't Larsson, Cisse and many more also recover from this injury.... Larrson came back better than ever Cisse was never really there anyway....
Wenger should be ashamed of himself surely a man of his intelligence would have taken time to gather his thoughts before talking. His players wouldn't exactly be angel either.
Whether he takes it back or not is still isn't right. Certain players you know would make that sort of tackle intentionally I don't think taylor is one of those players.
He hadn't even been booked this year....

I am trying to imagine what Fergies reaction would have been had it been a UTD player.Wenger retracted his comments which were understandable at the time.

24/02/2008, 7:50 PM
What has Fergie got to do with it. You are now blaming Ferguson for an imagined crime in your head. Wengers comments were bang out of order and he rightly took them back but in a half arsed way in my view. He should have apoligised to Taylor also.

Morbo
24/02/2008, 8:48 PM
In fairness I can fully understand Wengers anger, he has just lost a class player for the rest of the season(and who possibly will never be the same player again) and it wouldn't be the first time the opposition went out with the intention of kicking them off the pitch instead of playing, not that I'm saying Taylors tackle was intentional, I think its impossible to know for sure what his intent was. People shouldn't be complaining about a red though, he will miss 3 games while Eduardo will miss at least 6 months and will probably never quite reach his full potential beacause of it, intentional or not, the punishment for a clumsy challenge should be suspension for the same lenght of time that that player will miss though injury

24/02/2008, 9:05 PM
People shouldn't be complaining about a red though, he will miss 3 games while Eduardo will miss at least 6 months and will probably never quite reach his full potential beacause of it, intentional or not, the punishment for a clumsy challenge should be suspension for the same lenght of time that that player will miss though injury
The problem with that is that challenges as bad as that and worse happen regularly in the Premiership. Taylor's challenge shouldn't be treated any different to those just because it caused a serious injury.

24/02/2008, 9:05 PM
This thing about the ban being the same time as the injury is madness. We have all seen terrible terrible tackles that did not do any injury. You only have to look at Stephen Hunts this year, and Carsley on Hunt and Alan Shearer on Neil Lennon. There are many many more when we have had terrible tackles.

David Busst was injured from a collision with Denis Irwin. Should Irwin have had to retire along with Busst. Terrible tackles do not always result in terrible injuries and terrible injuries are no always the result of terrible tackles.

Morbo
24/02/2008, 9:39 PM
Taylor's challenge shouldn't be treated any different to those just because it caused a serious injury.

I disagree, I think the resulting injury should be taken into account when deciding a punishment. Does someone who was drink driving and killed someone get the same punishment as someone who was equally over the limit but got lucky and didn't kill anyone? Just like murder gets a harsher sentance than attempted murder. Maybe I was a bit OTT saying they should be banned for the same lenght as the injury but a clumsy tackle that results in a bad injury deserves a harsher penalty than an equally clumbsy one that doesn't result in one IMO.

24/02/2008, 9:43 PM
Football decisions do not work the same way as a court of law and rightly so. This goes back to what I was saying before about tackling. Anybody that has played football will know that you can get seriouis injuries from total freak accidents and other times get away with not getting injury when a player goes out to do you. Therefore your idea of punishing the player who causes the injury for the length of time of the injury is madness.

By that logic players in the lower leagues would have to retire more as the smaller clubs could not afford top level medical care and if it was brought to the Leinster Senior League then players would be banned for life as a player would not return from Eduardos injury if he was just an amateur. Your idea is madness and unworkable and has not been though out in full and seems to me like a knee jerk reaction to a terrible injury.

Morbo
24/02/2008, 10:20 PM
Therefore your idea of punishing the player who causes the injury for the length of time of the injury is madness.

I never claimed that all players who cause injuries should receive the same lenght of punishment, just the clumsy ones where its only a matter of time before they cause a serious injury, which I admitted was a bit over the top(I once had my ankle broke by a bad tackle which probably influenced me) but I do think a clumsy tackle that results in a bad injury deserves a harsher punishment, of course I accept there are freak accidents which result from legitimate tackles and no I don't think they deserve punishment but I see no harm in punishing badly timed tackles that result in very bad injuries with longer bans

24/02/2008, 10:25 PM
I never claimed that all players who cause injuries should receive the same lenght of punishment, just the clumsy ones where its only a matter of time before they cause a serious injury, which I admitted was a bit over the top(I once had my ankle broke by a bad tackle which probably influenced me) but I do think a clumsy tackle that results in a bad injury deserves a harsher punishment, of course I accept there are freak accidents which result from legitimate tackles and no I don't think they deserve punishment but I see no harm in punishing badly timed tackles that result in very bad injuries with longer bans

You edit happened after my post so I think its unfair for you to try and pull me up on something and to point out that you admitted it was over the top, when you did that edit after my post.

Morbo
24/02/2008, 10:34 PM
What? Not trying to pull you up on anything, yes I edited my post but not to but in the OTT bit, I had actually made a few spelling mistakes

Greenforever
24/02/2008, 11:12 PM

So did you never mistime a tackle?

I think it is fair to say that in every game (no matter what level) you are going to get a few mistimed tackles, either the attacker is too fast, or changes direction or the tackler hesitates or whatever, if all were to be banned for misitimed tackles where would we be??

If Eduardo was nor injured this thread would never have got as many replies.

cartman
25/02/2008, 12:18 AM
I have a perfect grasp of reality and Steve Bruce and Stephen Kelly think the same, Greenforever and Soccerc who know their football also think the same. Its a terrible injury and I really hope that he recovers and becomes a top player.

id say you have a perfect grasp of reality alright - in your own little world..some of your statements are just plain ridiculous and borderline spa...

to say that steve bruce says its not a red card to prove your point is comical really...heres one for you - when was the last time you heard a manager admit after a game that his player deserved a red card???
well alex mcleish said "i don't think there was any intent or malice but it was a red card..taylor isnt a malicious type of player"
the whole thing here is that a player can be sent off for intent alone - but whether there was intent or not in this case is almost irrelevant in regard to the red card.. the tackle was wreckless,late and high with studs showing...
the only argument about intent coming into it will be when the FA decide the length of his ban - 3 games if judged no intent, maybe 4/5 if they think there was intent...
do us all a favour neil mcd and spend a long time reading about the rules of football again will you????

Donegalred
25/02/2008, 9:14 AM

I think it is fair to say that in every game (no matter what level) you are going to get a few mistimed tackles, either the attacker is too fast, or changes direction or the tackler hesitates or whatever, if all were to be banned for misitimed tackles where would we be??

Exactly. Taylor didn't set out to break his leg. Fact is eduardo was just too quick and suffered as a result. Eduardo was also standing on one leg at the time and therefore his entire bodyweight was being supported on that leg, so when contact was made, his leg would have broken much easier than had he been standing on both legs?

Morbo
25/02/2008, 9:55 AM

I'm not claiming every mistimed tackle should result in a long ban, I'm just saying the FA should take into account the damage it caused along with the fact that the tackle was reckless, mistimed and high with studs showing when deciding what length of ban to dish out as a 3 match ban hardly seems appropriate to me

Greenforever
25/02/2008, 10:31 AM
I'm not claiming every mistimed tackle should result in a long ban, I'm just saying the FA should take into account the damage it caused along with the fact that the tackle was reckless, mistimed and high with studs showing when deciding what length of ban to dish out as a 3 match ban hardly seems appropriate to me

And my point is that all similar tackles should be punished equally. I mean if Eduardo jumped the tackle and wasnt hurt there would be no clamour for blood.

You can not take into account damage caused as the opposite is well no damage so it's ok?