View Full Version : Oh Us Nattering Biddies
27/02/2008, 11:58 AM
We have dinner at any time in the day
is correct. He was trying to get a definite time when my father would be available, but my answer gave him no help at all.
Maybe you had to be there:o
27/02/2008, 12:01 PM
is correct. He was trying to get a definite time when my father would be available, but my answer gave him no help at all.
Maybe you had to be there:o
No, It sounds like a very old fashioned response, thats how I would see it, and not an answer one would expect from a 7 year old, so thats why I would find it funny. However it could be seen that you were avoiding the question that he was aksing and being a cute little hoor, i remember as a child my parents would tell me not to say somethings to certain people ( im sure other ppl were told the same ) and this is also something that would make him laugh, as though you were being cute and not giving away anything. Finally, it could also be taken as a child just not having the cop on to see what the question being asked was and just giving a very innocent answer that would also make it rather funny. Anyhow there is loads of dif interpretations of it, I just think my mind sees more things sometimes than others and that other people would just see the "actual" answer as funny....:o
kingdom hoop
27/02/2008, 12:29 PM
Maybe you had to be there
When starting the thread I figured that utterance may pop up occasionally so no fault on your behalf. Just tell it a little better and the reader will feel as though they are there. ;) :)
As practice :p turn my trip to the cinema last week, where someone let out an earnest yawn at a most opportune moment, into as hilarious a moment for everyone as it was for me at the time. It really was hilarious timing, at a complete silence between two scenes.
I just think my mind sees more things sometimes than others
Wow! You sense humour from strange places too? My friends call me "Batty" because of my uncanny ability to sense humour waves that the untrained intellect never detects!
27/02/2008, 1:00 PM
Wow! You sense humour from strange places too? My friends call me "Batty" because of my uncanny ability to sense humour waves that the untrained intellect never detects!
Yes I do, I think ( one )my brother and my father are the same, hence the love for the rise and fall of reginald perrin. I also think Dumb and Dumber has far more (intelligent maybe ) subtle gags, than most people realise, especially ( women ) those who dont find it funny. The tomato sauce launch into the mouth after eating chilli for example and the one where he says "well, see you later guys", most ppl wouldn't find that line for example funny.
Another example is basically the 3 of us would laugh at a line, but for a completely different reason behind it than the majority of ppl would laugh at, plus my father and brother would laugh at something in the same line different to myself. Sometimes I think thats the genius of some comedians/writers realising this and being able to tap into it. Or maybe they are just lucky :)
Basically the example osasuran gave above would be seen by most in only one way and I'm pretty sure I didnt see that side of it as the funny side....
kingdom hoop
27/02/2008, 1:26 PM
I suppose being a joke yourself helps you get jokes.
Yeah that's right, I just make jokes. :cool:
27/02/2008, 1:44 PM
osasuran
Who??
Paul, you've just insulted me terribly in Japanese. Cut open your belly by midnight.
27/02/2008, 1:52 PM
Who??
Paul, you've just insulted me terribly in Japanese. Cut open your belly by midnight.
Osarusan ;)
I assume you are joking, my japanese is very rusty, if not apologies. :)
kingdom hoop
27/02/2008, 1:54 PM
I assume you are joking
Correct Paul.
Funny how everyone is joking but you.
27/02/2008, 4:20 PM
One for Paul:
I didn't get where I am today by not spotting a possible gag when I see one!
10/03/2008, 11:38 PM
We spent last Saturday thinking of something different to do with the weekend to the point where I went to my own place and she said
"Look, you go home, have something to eat and think of something to do."
So I went home and decided to check the cinema times.
I rang her and in my triumphant tone announced my plan without a hint of a hello.
"THERE WILL BE BLOOD!!!!!!!"
To which she replied
"Ya, I know, I took my last pill last night."
The funny part being that I told this story to my menopausal new female colleagues in work on the Monday . . . . . . . to apalled glances.
What was I thinking?
Billsthoughts
11/03/2008, 11:17 AM
One for Paul:
I didn't get where I am today by not spotting a possible gag when I see one!
Some long forgotton memory made me laugh out loud at that!:D
kingdom hoop
11/03/2008, 2:22 PM
My friend recounted a funny one after his weekend excursions. It went a little something like this: Travelling on the bus out of dodge for the weekend was a popular trend; not a seat to be had on the bus. So obviously all the decent, seat-giving people feared what might happen if someone climbed aboard at the first stop. Well sure enough, their fears manifested when someone got on. Being a generally kind sort, my friend decided to shift himself and offer up his seat to the new passenger, who just happened to be a dwarf.
But with that, the dwarf took great umbrage that he had been made an exception of, feeling he had gotten preferential treatment because of who he was, and so, he berated my friend for a good five minutes as the whole bus removed their earphones, laid down their newspapers, and intently listened, aghast at the venomous outburst. Eventually the storm abated and things got back to relative normality with my friend, somewhat taken aback, gloomily taking up residence on the floor. The bus rolled on, but now with a certain tension in the air. However the tension was soon to give way to cackles of laughter from all the passengers, well, all but one.
As the bus ground to a halt at the next stop, a little old lady collected her belongings and scuttled up towards the front of the bus. Along her way she passed the seated dwarf, and in a moment of extraordinary inspiration, crudely jibed; "I'm going to tell Snow White on you."
11/03/2008, 2:58 PM
Should have picked on someone his own size, the little bully. Life just ain't fair.