Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Oh Us Nattering Biddies

Oh Us Nattering Biddies

I was just thinking it might be amusing to have a general thread on little oddities, funny occurrences, the weather, random daydreams, that sort of thing, which we come across in our daily lives but perhaps might be reluctant to start a new thread about. Basically an anything and everything goes kind of thread, a coffee-shop level of discourse, with a general emphasis on amusement and casting a smiling eye on things life throws at us. Some people might think it's rubbish but I'd say the more light-hearted amongst us might get something out of it.

Ok so, I'll get the ball rolling with a few little snippets from my life over the past week or so. First, last Saturday was my friend's birthday so ten of us, between male and female, went to his house for dinner. All was going swimmingly, the succulent roast lamb was graciously devoured; we now awaited the dessert with anticipation.

But then something funny happened. Two of our party mysteriously disappeared. Not much heed was paid for a while as we rejoiced at a little lamb sacrificing themselves for our pleasure. But as the minutes ticked by we began to wonder where Jack and Jill had got to. A search party was sent out. However, they didn't have far to travel. Two steps outside the kitchen door and it became apparent, through audio rather than visual senses, what the rogues were up to. Yes, you've guessed it, in the middle of our cultured dinner party two guests failed to contain their desires, and indulged in a spot of fornication in the bathroom! While of course frightfully indecent, I think a very funny story at the same time.

-------

Elsewhere, I laughed out loud last night when I was told a story that culminated in the question; "What kind of person steals board game pieces?" Yeah, apparently someone slyly pocketed a few Trivial Pursuit wedges from a friend's house so as to make up for pieces they'd lost over the years!

-------

Finally, I think some silly question that might be appropriate here might be something like; as a term of address do you more often use; bud; dude; man; mate; buddy; sir; I don't address people.

Ok you probably have a rough idea of what I'm getting at now, feel free to hijack and contribute with your own inane ramblings.

I say mate far too much for a non-Englishman.

Anyway your board game query reminded me of an amusing episode from when I lived with two guys in Cork. Basically one of them (let's call John, mainly because that's his name) had a competitive streak like no-one I;ve ever met before, really gets upset at losing at anything. Anyway one night myself, John, Scott (our other housemate) and two others were playing monopoly for a few hours. The game was a good one, but gradually the two non-housemates went bankrupt so that all was left was myself and John in very commanding positions, and Scott with quite a bit of property to his name. After another bit of play Scott decided to drop out and handed all his holdings over to me (which pretty much meant I had won the game as I had taken a slight lead in properties over John at this point). John started in on us saying that that is against the rules, that all his property gets put back into the bank, and that we can't do that. I said that it was well within the rules, it was his property and money and could do what he liked with it. So that went back and forth until John decided to get the rule card and see what that said. So he looked for it, and looked for it, and looked for it, all the while muttering about how he hadn't lost the game. Little did he know that Scott had realised as soon as the argument had broke out that John would resort to this, so had swiped the rule card, made an excuse of going to the bathroom and put the card into his wall safe in his bedroom. John spent the rest of that night, and the subsequent days following trying to find the card, all the while muttering about it being against the rules to himself

I had fun anyway

John was right.
    The real question is why Scott gave you all that cash and property? My guess is that he wanted the space in the middle of the board re-zoned, and that you held some political clout.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Quote Originally Posted by noby View Post
    John was right.
    Oh we all knew that.

Your other question reminded me of a t-shirt I saw on sale in a shop window in Templebar during the weekend. It reads:

Ireland
    Been There
    Bought The Taoiseach

I never read the full instructions for Monopoly.

Does it say "The game is complete when one player tips the board over and storms off in a huff"? Because that's how it always ended in our house.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Great story! You have to love taking advantage of competitive people's competitiveness like that. Well done Scott.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    I say mate far too much for a non-Englishman.
    I'm predominantly a 'man' man myself. Probably too much so at times. Anyone else cringe a little when women use 'man'? Doesn't sit easily with me anyway.

There was no need to delete calling me a cheat sligoman I know I am, I once even cheated at an eye test when I was kid. I was brought in when my brother was doing his, so I just memorised the sequence and read it off as I was asked. Sadly I normally had pretty bad eyesight and wouldn't even be able to come close to that without cheating, so I guess the optician realised that either I was cheating or I had met Jesus on my travels and changed the chart and got me to do the test again

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post

I'm predominantly a 'man' man myself. Probably too much so at times. Anyone else cringe a little when women use 'man'? Doesn't sit easily with me anyway.
    I used to use man quite a bit too, but one of the lads I lived with down in Cork used it a bit too much and it just sounded like I was copying him when we were out. I still use it a bit though, not as much as mate however

There was no need to delete calling me a cheat sligoman I know I am
    Noby pointed out John was right so I said that was enough and you didn't need me pointing it out too.

Just on tests and such, At home we gave my Dad some stick as the only test he's ever passed was the hearing test for the Army deafness claims a few year's ago. The funny thing is if you're looking for something off him he's deaf as a fuppin' post.
    Last edited by Block G Raptor; 21/02/2008 at 2:30 PM.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    Just on tests and such, At home we gave my Dad some stick as the only test he's ever passed was the hearing test for the Army deafness claims a few year's ago. The funny thing is if you're looking for something off him he's deaf as a fuppin' post.
    Same as that with my Dad. He didnt want people to think he was deaf so he
    kept clicking the clickler continously during the hearing test. Got top marks and
    when the assesssor gave him the results his response was "What? Sorry couldnt
    hear" They all though he was joking!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Same as that with my Dad. He didnt want people to think he was deaf so he
    kept clicking the clickler continously during the hearing test. Got top marks and
    when the assesssor gave him the results his response was "What? Sorry couldnt
    hear" They all though he was joking!!!!

60 Posts
    I tend to use two forms of address - "Bloke" in the third person (Who's that bloke I saw you with you perfidious whooooooorrrre!) or in cases of direct address, I join Jebus on the "Mate" front (I'd get the flock out of dodge right now, if I were you, mate)

Jebus - were you not liable for Capital Acquisition Tax (or whatever it is called)? In that case, John was wrong as you don't re-deposit all of Scotts property and earnings in the central bank - but they take it off you anyway, having teased you with it for a few weeks first.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    Jebus - were you not liable for Capital Acquisition Tax (or whatever it is called)? In that case, John was wrong as you don't re-deposit all of Scotts property and earnings in the central bank - but they take it off you anyway, having teased you with it for a few weeks first.
    They enquired about my assets alright, but I used the age old, get out of jail excuse that my brother gave some of it to me, my mother another piece and the rest, ah I can't be remembering every one who gives me 5k and upwards, be it in property, money, beauty products or whatever

60 Posts
    They enquired about my assets alright, but I used the age old, get out of jail excuse that my brother gave some of it to me, my mother another piece and the rest, ah I can't be remembering every one who gives me 5k and upwards, be it in property, money, beauty products or whatever
    Hmm. If it wasn't for the fact that you appear to be articulate and not nearly an utter muppet, with financial management like that I'd recommend you for Taoiseach.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    Hmm. If it wasn't for the fact that you appear to be articulate and not nearly an utter muppet, with financial management like that I'd recommend you for Taoiseach.
    I also dislike Bass, and so clearly would not be able to compete with our head of state for the votes of people, who presumably, decide which box to tick on that basis (I can only imagine that's a large slice of electoral pie, I can't think of any other reason these people would cast their vote for the Taoiseach, I really can't)

112 Posts
    I also dislike Bass, and so clearly would not be able to compete with our head of state for the votes of people, who presumably, decide which box to tick on that basis (I can only imagine that's a large slice of electoral pie, I can't think of any other reason these people would cast their vote for the Taoiseach, I really can't)
    Is Bertie's local the only pub in the country that serves Bass? Ive never ever seen in any other bar....
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    Is Bertie's local the only pub in the country that serves Bass? Ive never ever seen in any other bar....
    They get it in specially for him don't you know, that PROVES that he is the living embodiment of everyman Ireland, Viva Il Bertie!

I think Bass used to be popular in years gone by? My dad often exhales "ah, that's Bass" after taking a drink in honour of some ad with that catchphrase.

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    I think Bass used to be popular in years gone by? My dad often exhales "ah, that's Bass" after taking a drink in honour of some ad with that catchphrase.
    Dont pretend you are too young to know that ad!

Must just have a bad memory so!

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast