View Full Version : Owen Garvan
FFS this seems to becoming the yapster.ie forum. every thread seems to be taken over with his crap.the forum is all about opinions but all I see is a guy that thinks the Irish team is rubbish with not much potential to improve as we have no good young players... makes me wonder why someone like that needs to spend so much time talkin about the Irish team
agreed. There has been an influx of posters over the last couple of months that are loud, negative and obnoxious and that are, frankly, making this forum a chore to read or contribute to.
Im all for objectivity and am quite a pessimistic person (when it comes to footie) myself but some of the crap ive read over the last few weeks is deranged.
yapster
05/01/2010, 5:42 PM
FFS this seems to becoming the yapster.ie forum. every thread seems to be taken over with his crap.the forum is all about opinions but all I see is a guy that thinks the Irish team is rubbish with not much potential to improve as we have no good young players... makes me wonder why someone like that needs to spend so much time talkin about the Irish team
the forum is all about opinions
isn't that what I have been expressing all along... For the record I do happen to think this current squad is one of the worst for years with only 3 good players Given,Dunne & Keane, Duff is half the player he was,the rest barely get a game a their clubs. I think St Ledger is a find as is Lawrence but they are hardly top drawer. McGeady is ****e. Yes we had a good campaign but that was because of Trap and the fact that Bulgaria were crap.Very good performance against France in Paris but failed to take the chances offered to us,after Keanes miss we went back to being a very ordinary side again and France were getting on top by exploiting our mistakes and tirdness for that matter. McShane makes a schoolboy error which unfortunatly led to Henrys cheating. Ireland rode their luck throughout the campaign it must be said and when we played at our best against a bad French team it must be said we failed to put them away.
EastTerracer
05/01/2010, 7:08 PM
And you go by ****-eyed assumption son...
I do have hope for Stokes and he is playing well at the moment.FACT
I have hope for Seamus at Everton and has played well so far in his starts.FACT
McGeady has been ****e overall for Ireland.FACT
McCarthy is a sub at a ****e club.FACT
At 27 S.Hunt is a headless chicken.FACT
Keane missed a sitter and we are not in the WC.FACT.
Kevin Doyle has no pace but has potential.FACT
You need to buy a dictionary and look up the word fact. You're starting to sound like Rafa Benitez.
The only facts in your post above are that Seamus Coleman plays for Everton, James McCarthy is a Sub and we are not in the world cup. The rest is all opinion (which are correct in some cases but I'd argue over some of the others) but none of them are factual in the accepted meaning of the word.
yapster
05/01/2010, 8:00 PM
You need to buy a dictionary and look up the word fact. You're starting to sound like Rafa Benitez.
The only facts in your post above are that Seamus Coleman plays for Everton, James McCarthy is a Sub and we are not in the world cup. The rest is all opinion (which are correct in some cases but I'd argue over some of the others) but none of them are factual in the accepted meaning of the word.
And your begining to sound like Sepp Blatter..
So Mcgeady had a good campaign then?
S.Hunt does not play like a headless chicken?
EastTerracer
05/01/2010, 8:15 PM
And your begining to sound like Sepp Blatter..
So Mcgeady had a good campaign then?
S.Hunt does not play like a headless chicken?
I happen to agree with your opinion of Hunt and McGeady but that doesn't make them facts - they are still opinions. Others may not share the same opinions but I am willing to respect their views without necessarily agreeing with them.
yapster
05/01/2010, 8:27 PM
I happen to agree with your opinion of Hunt and McGeady but that doesn't make them facts - they are still opinions. Others may not share the same opinions but I am willing to respect their views without necessarily agreeing with them.
You sound like Bertie Ahern now :eek:
05/01/2010, 9:16 PM
Don't you know that, in some parts of Dublin, an opinion is fact.
It is transformed into a fact by the insertion of 'fact' or 'FACT' at the end of each opinion expressed.
Strongbow10
06/01/2010, 1:14 AM
You sound like Bertie Ahern now :eek:
My advice would be to keep reading the papers and listening to Dunphy and Dolan and the like. Form your opinion on the basis of what they say or a variation thereof. And spout it off as gospel as your own.
God forbid you'll have any actual knowledge or genuine opinion of your own. Son
yapster
06/01/2010, 4:44 PM
My advice would be to keep reading the papers and listening to Dunphy and Dolan and the like. Form your opinion on the basis of what they say or a variation thereof. And spout it off as gospel as your own.
God forbid you'll have any actual knowledge or genuine opinion of your own. Son
If you don't like them then don't read them... simple as
06/01/2010, 4:50 PM
If you don't like them then don't read them... simple as
your living up to your name anyway how many posts have you made today??:confused: you seem to be a very opinionated young man :) i think garvan will be playing in the premier devision within the next 2 seasons and theres every chace it could be with ipswich.. theyve been going pretty well lately
yapster
06/01/2010, 6:28 PM
your living up to your name anyway how many posts have yo made today??:confused: you seem to be a very opionated yound man :) i think garvan will be playing in the premier devision within the next 2 seasons and theres every chance it could be with ipswich.. theyve been going pretty well lately
I'm not working these times so I fill to fill in my time and amuse myself as well;)
I do hope Garvan makes it, he is skillful & creative and is a great prospect for Ireland. However it is up to himself to improve his game & attitude. I thought he was fecked when him and the mentalist Keane fell out but fair play to Keane he has given him a run of games and given him a chance.Crazy as Keane is he can't ignore the talent & potential in Garvan. Sadly not a lot of Irish players fair well under Keane. As I mentioned earlier if Garvan is still struggling in the Championship for another 2 years no Premiership club will touch him.
macdermesser
17/03/2010, 7:27 AM
"Ipswich were made to pay for a dreadful first half display, which saw angry manager Roy Keane haul off midfielder Owen Garvan after just 23 minutes with his side 1-0 down. "
First thoughts - Keane is being very unfair on the lad. Apart from wasting a substitution like that after 23 minutes - it strikes as being a big bully. Would be interested in reading whether it was somehow justified though. Wonder will he play again after that.
17/03/2010, 9:35 AM
"Ipswich were made to pay for a dreadful first half display, which saw angry manager Roy Keane haul off midfielder Owen Garvan after just 23 minutes with his side 1-0 down. "
First thoughts - Keane is being very unfair on the lad. Apart from wasting a substitution like that after 23 minutes - it strikes as being a big bully. Would be interested in reading whether it was somehow justified though. Wonder will he play again after that.
Its obvious Keane hates Garvan. He has treated him very poorly since he arrived there. He never rated him. He wanted he to go to Colchester on loan at the start of the season, Garvan refused. Garvan is an inteligent young man, something which obviously bothers Keane. Hope he gets the sack, he is an embarrassment to the whole nation with his antics.
Junior
17/03/2010, 9:45 AM
Playing devils advocate here.....
Postmatch interview (available on BBC) says words along the line of Owen can consider himself unlucky, there were three or four players I could have substituted at that point
Could be argued the substitution worked, in that Ipswich did get themselves back in the game, though ultimately lost to a late goal.
Mourhino was often paraised for making early first half changes when things werent going to plan, so making a 23rd minute sub cant simply be called a waste because its early in the 1st half can it?
However, it could be that Keane was just being a cnut.......Ive no idea if Garvan was any worse than the other 2 or 3 players mentioned.
third policeman
17/03/2010, 9:59 AM
Ive no idea if Garvan was any worse than the other 2 or 3 players mentioned.
If he was that bad, it begs the question - how has one of the Championship's most talented and promising players deteriorated so badly to the point where he is struggling to get a game with a team struggling against relegtaion? Answer - Roy Keane
Junior
17/03/2010, 10:07 AM
Perhaps.
Im not close enough to the facts to really comment, though other posts have suggested Owens own attitude/commitment have not been up to scratch either (comments from Ipswich fans I believe). Its a bit easy to blame Roy for everything - One thing is for sure, Keane doesnt want to get Ipswich relegated and if Owen can help him achieve that aim then he'll be playing (he did start, afterall).
If its a personality clash then hopefully Garvan gets a move in the summer - he cant afford to be on the fringes for any length of time.......
third policeman
17/03/2010, 4:22 PM
I have not seen that much of Ipswich either, but his performances for thr U21's still indicate that he is a player with exceptional touch and vision. This is total speculation but Keane is a classic "British" player who made the best use of his technical abilities through application, aggression and extraordinary athleticism. Garvan is the absolute antithesis, even when he is trying he has a casual elegance that can easily be mistaken for laziness. I would imagine (admittedly with very little evidence) that he is the kind of player who would infuriate Keane. Time and again talented players of the Garvan ilk have failed to realise their potential playing in England. If Givens, Trapp et al wanted to do something radical to develop our international team they would be encouraging anf facilitating more of our players to go to Europe. Garvan could be the next Xabi Alonso but will probably end up becoming the next Stephen McPhail.
yapster
17/03/2010, 8:47 PM
Garvan has great potential but he needs to assert himself more in games, maybe Keane is trying to bring out in him by making him fight for his place. It's up to Garvan himself if he wants to be a top player or not and another few seasons in the Championship will only make his case worse.
Junior
01/07/2010, 3:11 PM
Looks like he could be on his way out of Ipswich (along with Bruce, Quinn, Healy) this summer.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1290824/Eight-sale-ruthless-Roy-Keane-start-Ipswich-summer-clearout.html
PS: Im not a dailymail reader, just googled it after reading it elsewhere on the interweb! - hopefully I may retain the little bit of credibility I have here.....
Would love to see this guy make a proper breakthrough somewhere this season and get some games under his belt (regularly).
A bit like McCarthy at Wigan, looking forward to him showing his stuff after his experiences of last year with Wigan (reserves and first team) and a good pre-season under him.
06/07/2010, 9:20 AM
Would love to see this guy make a proper breakthrough somewhere this season and get some games under his belt (regularly).
If he is good enough, why is he being let go? He had a good run at one stage in the Ipswich side ("proper breakthrough"?) but alas appears to have gone backwards. He'll be playing for the likes of Wednesday in the 1st Division soon and then.....Hopefully, I am wrong but once the slide down the slippery slope begins, it is very hard to arrest.
06/07/2010, 10:24 AM
That's true, but I find it hard to believe that a guy who was winning MoTM awards and other accolades all over the place 2 years ago & still shines for our U21s now isn't good enough. Maybe he's got off-field or attitude issues but if not it's very strange. All the focus on England's "results now" environment versus Germany's willingness to nurture young players seems very relevant in Garvan's case.
06/07/2010, 10:30 AM
I know a Premiership club's vice-chairman quite well. If anyone here is minded to collate some press reports and video footage I'll send them to my contact and we'll see where it goes. Anyone up for it?
06/07/2010, 10:58 AM
Owen, do yourself a favour. Move abroad, away from the UK. You won't regret it.
06/07/2010, 10:59 AM
I know you're a big fan so you'll be interested to read this review of Garvan:
http://ipswichtown.myfootballwriter.com/2010/07/01/keane-happy-for-settled-squad-amid-reports-eight-players-are-on-the-transfer-list/
Owen Garvan. The enigma of IP1. Arguably the most gifted player at the club and the best passer. Yet you still feel he has failed to unlock all that potential in his Irish blood. Can often be a calming influence in the heart of the action, but is one-paced and can lack confidence – not helped when your tempestuous manager berates you for giving away a throw-in from kick off.
VERDICT: Many fans will hope a buyer is not found with Garvan offering something more cultured than Grant Leadbitter and David Norris. But the player himself may look to instigate a move rather than play second fiddle to the first choice duo.
Junior
06/07/2010, 8:10 PM
If he is good enough, why is he being let go? He had a good run at one stage in the Ipswich side ("proper breakthrough"?) but alas appears to have gone backwards. He'll be playing for the likes of Wednesday in the 1st Division soon and then.....Hopefully, I am wrong but once the slide down the slippery slope begins, it is very hard to arrest.
Perhaps you're right but hopefully ,as you say, you are wrong. Garvan wouldnt be the first player to have been misjudged by a manager (nor the first player to have been misjudged by me!) or even just to need a fresh start at a new club. Look at what its done for Diego Forlan afterall;)
I've not seen much of Garvan at club level but I have seen perhaps half a dozen games at U21 and I think he looks like a good player. He has many of the key attributes to make it in the modern game and whilst lack of pace wont help it shouldn't be the be all and end all.
macdermesser
15/07/2010, 10:10 AM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1293393/Ipswich-reject-Crystal-Palace-bid-Owen-Garvan-George-Burley-hopeful-landing-man.html
Ipswich-reject-Crystal-Palace-bid-Owen-Garvan-George-Burley-hopeful-landing-man (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1293393/Ipswich-reject-Crystal-Palace-bid-Owen-Garvan-George-Burley-hopeful-landing-man.html)
Could be a good move for him - back with his old manager who rates him. Palace might even have a better shot of the playoffs than Ipswich.
SaucyJack
15/07/2010, 12:55 PM
Far cry from when he was the subject of a one million pound offer from West ham a coule of years ago.
Sullivinho
15/07/2010, 4:16 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1293393/Ipswich-reject-Crystal-Palace-bid-Owen-Garvan-George-Burley-hopeful-landing-man.html
Ipswich-reject-Crystal-Palace-bid-Owen-Garvan-George-Burley-hopeful-landing-man (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1293393/Ipswich-reject-Crystal-Palace-bid-Owen-Garvan-George-Burley-hopeful-landing-man.html)
Could be a good move for him - back with his old manager who rates him. Palace might even have a better shot of the playoffs than Ipswich.
I reckon any move at all would be good for him. He's like a car stuck between gears right now.
yapster
17/07/2010, 3:20 AM
This is Garvans make or break year, it's up to him and him only now to fulfill his potential.
EastTerracer
30/07/2010, 2:08 AM
According to Sky Sports News this evening Ipswich have accepted bids for both Alex Bruce and Owen Garvan. Bruce is discussing terms with Leeds and Crystal Palace are believed to be the club who have made the bid for Garvan. I really think Garvan could do better than signing for Palace given they have just been bought out of administration.
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11688_6285258,00.html
irishfan86
30/07/2010, 5:09 AM
Well, the important thing is that Garvan gets playing again. If he goes to Palace and plays well, they'll sell him off a few months down the line if his stock rises.
Alex Bruce will never be anything more than a squad player for us, if that.
Sullivinho
03/08/2010, 4:56 PM
Signed for Crystal Palace.
http://www.yourlocalguardian.co.uk/sport/headlinesport/8309446.Burley_hails_Palace_capture_of_Garvan/
Good to see him get a fresh start.
ArdeeBhoy
04/08/2010, 12:20 AM
Allegedly OG's brother, via YBIG, said his kid and RMK were not exactly bosom buddies, so a move was always on the cards....
As a Palace fan I am delighted with this signing. I have been telling people about Garvan for ages, and having seen him play for the under 21's I cannot believe that Keane wanted to get rid of him. I thought a Premier League club would come in for him, and considering some of the rubbish that plays in that league I cannot believe the likes of Bolton or Blackpool would not spend £225k on him.
However, while this is good news for one Irish player at Palace, I heard this morning that Sean Scannell is out for 5 to 6 months with a knee problem. Gutted to hear this news as I was looking forward to see how Sean would do in a footballing side under Burley. Hopefully he will come back from this in the New Year, and as he's recently become a father at least he will get time to see his baby grow up, and work on building up his upper body strength (he still gets pushed off the ball a bit too easy). Ireland need some centre forwards to come through and I think this is Sean's best position, but he was being held back by Colin playing him out of position in a hoofball side
04/08/2010, 10:19 AM
Was George Burley, once upon a time, his manager at Ipswich?
youngirish
04/08/2010, 10:38 AM
Any move away from Keane without having to drop down a division was a good move for him IMO. Keane the poisoned chalice of young Irish footballers.
04/08/2010, 11:32 AM
Was George Burley, once upon a time, his manager at Ipswich?
According to wikipedia - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Burley - Burley was in charge of Ipswich from 1994 - 2002
and Garvan joined the tractor boys in 2004 - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Owen_Garvan#Ipswich_Town
04/08/2010, 11:35 AM
Allegedly OG's brother, via YBIG, said his kid and RMK were not exactly bosom buddies, so a move was always on the cards....Is there any truth in the rumour that Keane had a go at Garvan and Garvan responded by asking why Keane faked injury to avoid playing for Ireland? :)
Junior
08/08/2010, 8:14 AM
He got 90 minutes for Palace yesterday in their first game of the season, a 3-2 win against Leicester.
Owen Garvan: You could see why Burley wanted him so much, he can pass and tackle. His reading of the game was pretty good too. 8
http://www.yourlocalguardian.co.uk/sport/football/crystalpalace/eaglesnews/8319154.Player_ratings__Crystal_Palace_v_Leicester _City/
I see Alan Lee bagged one and got an assist.
Also, Paddy McCarthy at CB appeared to aquit himself quite well.
Paddy McCarthy: Captain Paddy made some fantastic blocks and was very vocal in his leading of the team. Has the making of a great skipper. 8
ArdeeBhoy
08/08/2010, 11:27 AM
Is there any truth in the rumour that Keane had a go at Garvan and Garvan responded by asking why Keane faked injury to avoid playing for Ireland? :)
That's one you'd have to ask OG's brother.....but hardly a surprise if he did. RMK will be sick of that one before he retires/eventually leaves us!
10/11/2010, 7:58 AM
Garvan scored 2 cracking goals last night against Watford, in a 3-2 win. Still think this guy will go on to play in the Premiership and the full Irish team on a regular basis.
Junior
10/11/2010, 11:06 AM
Some ratings from that game. http://www.yourlocalguardian.co.uk/sport/headlinesport/8627550.Palace_player_ratings_v_Watford/
Paddy McCarthy: Some poor defending at times was mixed with some truly brilliant stuff. His block on Graham stopped the big man from scoring the simplest of tap-ins and set up the move leading to the first goal. He also made two last-ditch headers to keep Palace ahead and let out a roar of delight at the final whistle. 7
Owen Garvan: Anonymous in the first half, apart from the run to set up Ambrose, but then exploded into life with his two super strikes in the second that clinched victory. With a left foot like that Palace should be getting him into those positions to shoot more often. Star Man. 7
youngirish
10/11/2010, 12:24 PM
Garvan scored 2 cracking goals last night against Watford, in a 3-2 win. Still think this guy will go on to play in the Premiership and the full Irish team on a regular basis.
I wouldn't be getting too carried away Garvan's so slow he makes Gareth Barry look like Ben Johnson on steroids.
10/11/2010, 2:09 PM
I wouldn't be getting too carried away Garvan's so slow he makes Gareth Barry look like Ben Johnson on steroids.
I'm not getting carried away. I've watched him playing since he was a schoolboy. While he is not the fastest player around, he is certainly quicker than Whelan, he is a better passer than Green, and scores a lot more goals than Andrews ever will. What he does probably lack is a physical presence considering his height.
11/03/2011, 10:43 AM
Garvan hasn't really featured much for Crystal Palace since the new manager took over. Disappointing to see this. I think this play still has something to offer.
11/03/2011, 11:18 AM
Friend of mine is a Palace fan, and said when he has played, he's been a bit of a passenger in games. Scored a few cracking goals, mind.
cestlavie
11/03/2011, 2:20 PM
Cant ever see that happen, he has little chance ever being an regular with Ireland or a premiership team, he has no pace. Plenty of players ahead of him in the que. I do wish him the best but its not going to happen.
scored a penno for Crystal Palace.
13/08/2011, 3:52 PM
scored a penno for Crystal Palace.
Scannell won it too.
tommy_c12000
13/08/2011, 3:56 PM
Scannell supposed to be having a cracker of a game judging by the Palace forums I was in. If he stays injury free, he is one man that I still think can make the step up to the Prem