View Full Version : Leon Best

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11

AlaskaFox
05/03/2011, 6:22 PM
is Best worth 35 Million now?

72 million surely?

05/03/2011, 10:17 PM
From what i have seen about best is he is a very good finisher in the air and on the ground, and he has got chances with newcastle.

However I don't really see us as the team that create the chances for the out and out striker like leon. So i dont really think he fits our system as is, which is a shame.

6 goals in his first proper season in the premiership so far without really featuring before christmas is a great achievement I dunno. He's the kind of guy that likes a scrap rather than having chances set up for him on a plate, and he's happy for the ball to be in the air. I think he could do OK for us given the lack of finesse in our build up play.

Crosby87
06/03/2011, 12:11 AM
6 goals in his first proper season in the premiership so far without really featuring before christmas is a great achievement

Exactly. It's something positive anyway.

06/03/2011, 12:22 PM
This was a terrible first ten / fifteen weeks of the season, but almost by stealth there's been good news with Long, Best, Coleman and Clark starting to show, Duff getting back to form and so on.

19/03/2011, 1:06 AM
I can't find anything online but tomorrow's Mail suggests that Best is injured and will miss the Macedonia game.

rebelmusic
19/03/2011, 9:20 AM
He's in the squad for newcastle today and not mentioned as an injury concern

Newcastle (from): Harper, Krul, Simpson, Perch, Ferguson, Enrique, Coloccini, Williamson, Campbell, S. Taylor, Tiote, Barton, Nolan, Gutierrez, Guthrie, Vuckic, Richardson, Lovenkrands, Best, Ameobi, Ranger, Kuqi.

19/03/2011, 1:41 PM
Not in the matchday lineup

19/03/2011, 1:45 PM
I can't find anything online but tomorrow's Mail suggests that Best is injured and will miss the Macedonia game.

Pardew said: "It is very unfair to try to put Leon under this massive pressure - it has been growing day by day.

"He needs to have time and space to make the right decision as to who he wants to play for at international level.

"I don't expect a final decision unless Leon is ready for it.

"When he is ready to decide where to play his international football we will be supportive and happy for him.

"The nation that is going to get Leon Best is going to be a very fortunate one."

not liking the sound of this lads... Trappatoni, get your finger out and meet with the lad.

Philly
21/03/2011, 9:30 AM
Seems the Irish Newcastle trio of Ireland, Best and Folan have hit a sore spot with the fans after being pictured in a bar the evening before the Stoke game. Pardew is apparently unhappy. Hopefully Best doesn't see less action over this.

http://www.sundaysun.co.uk/news/north-east-news/2011/03/20/fans-slam-injured-toon-stars-snapped-in-club-79310-28369889/

boovidge
21/03/2011, 9:47 AM
stop fraternising with the enemy Leon!

Drumcondra 69er
21/03/2011, 11:37 AM
Seems the Irish Newcastle trio of Ireland, Best and Folan have hit a sore spot with the fans after being pictured in a bar the evening before the Stoke game. Pardew is apparently unhappy. Hopefully Best doesn't see less action over this.

http://www.sundaysun.co.uk/news/north-east-news/2011/03/20/fans-slam-injured-toon-stars-snapped-in-club-79310-28369889/

Seems a bit of a fuss over nothing given that none of them were going to be involved in the game.....

21/03/2011, 11:44 AM
They do look like a pair of gimps though!!

21/03/2011, 12:28 PM
not liking the sound of this lads... Trappatoni, get your finger out and meet with the lad.

Do martinez and pardew have the same PR guru working for them?

cornflakes
21/03/2011, 12:57 PM
Seems a bit of a fuss over nothing given that none of them were going to be involved in the game.....

Your right
http://www.football365.com/mediawatch/0,17033,8749_6828157,00.html
(scroll to near the bottom)

DannyInvincible
21/03/2011, 1:15 PM
They do look like a pair of gimps though!!

Stephen Ireland's alloy-matching boxers are lovely though.

21/03/2011, 8:16 PM
joint apology released by Best and Ireland: http://www.nufc.co.uk/articles/20110321/best-and-ireland-were-sorry_2281670_2321494

Drumcondra 69er
21/03/2011, 9:13 PM
joint apology released by Best and Ireland: http://www.nufc.co.uk/articles/20110321/best-and-ireland-were-sorry_2281670_2321494

I have to say I really don't see the issue here, they weren't with the squad so why not go out? I'd say Pardew's delighted this has taken the focus off an abysmal performance against Stoke......

tweetering
22/03/2011, 12:54 PM
Bloody tabloids. This is such a non story.

1. None of them were playing the next day.
2. They went home early.
3. All 3 of them drank non-alcoholic drinks.

Tabloid just gets a photo, and some irate quotes from fans oblivious to the facts, and create a scandal out of it.

If you want to know more about how tabloids invent stories and scandals to sell papers, then read Richard Peppiatt's resignation letter to the Daily Star, where he reveals how they literally make stuff up on tight deadlines under immense pressure to have popular stories.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2011/mar/04/daily-star-reporter-letter-full

06/04/2011, 11:17 AM
Out for the rest of the season with ankle injury. Here (http://www.teamtalk.com/newcastle-united/6855583/Toon-striker-Best-out-for-season)

06/04/2011, 11:25 AM
That's a pity. Good job the earliest Jon Walters' bird can be expecting next is in January.

06/04/2011, 1:03 PM
Not necessarily Stutts....tut tut.

28/08/2011, 1:09 PM
Leon off the mark for the season, a tap in but they all count

SwanVsDalton
28/08/2011, 1:18 PM
Just scored a second, very good finish from what I'm reading. Couple in the eye for Pardew and Trap, possibly.

28/08/2011, 1:42 PM
Why for Trapattoni? Best was out injured for the end of last season and only just got back into the Newcastle side. There was no reason to call him up ahead of any of the strikers in the squad.
It's great that he has scored and will now be back in contention for a spot.

SwanVsDalton
28/08/2011, 1:59 PM
Why for Trapattoni? Best was out injured for the end of last season and only just got back into the Newcastle side. There was no reason to call him up ahead of any of the strikers in the squad.
It's great that he has scored and will now be back in contention for a spot.

I know, I wouldn't have him in the squad either - just generally Best might feel aggrieved, possibly at both managers, and is responding on the pitch. Good for him.

28/08/2011, 2:22 PM

Is that Ireland's wife?

TrapAPony
28/08/2011, 3:03 PM
Leon off the mark for the season, a tap in but they all count

Goals here :

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xkrcvd_newcastle-fulham-2-1_sport?start=50#from=embediframe

28/08/2011, 3:10 PM
Did Duff finish the game?

Best is an absolute brute of a player. Leon Beast more like.

28/08/2011, 4:49 PM
Did Duff finish the game?

Best is an absolute brute of a player. Leon Beast more like.

Duff played the full match according to the BBC.
Best was subbed on 78mins then oddly the sub Vuckic was himself subbed on 85.
I presume he was injured (or really crap lol) [edit - injured immediately]

Nice to see Best get a couple, should increase his chances of starting in future.

rebelmusic
28/08/2011, 10:41 PM
Duff played the whole game to a chorus of boos anytime he touched the ball. He didn't play badly but was double-marked for the whole game.
Best scored one tap in and a bit of a cracker. He was subbed because of a slight injury to his foot (Was icing it after being subbed off)

Vuckic replaced due to a hand injury he got 5 minutes after coming on.

28/08/2011, 10:43 PM
Just seen Best's goals on match of the day 2. First was a tap in from a rebound, but it showed good reactions to finish the opportunity. For the second, he received the ball with his back to goal, controlled it and spun, Cryuff turn style, to finish from close range.

29/08/2011, 8:36 AM
Have we ever have so many good/in form striking options?!!?

I think Best offers something slightly different to the likes of Keane/Long and Doyle - something similar to the role Folan played against Italy in Bari.

29/08/2011, 12:06 PM
Yep, agree.

Let's not get carried away though. Pardew called it right yestetrsday when he said that Best has got to prove himself consistently, not just in fits and starts. He's got to show that he's the main man and Pardew has said that now is his chance.

Both he & Walters are a handful and more deserving of a squad place than Keogh, likeable enough as Keogh is.

29/08/2011, 3:27 PM
I like Best but it's not Keogh who's keeping him out of the squad. Keogh is in the squad as a wide midfielder because none of our wingers are capable of getting into the box and getting on the end of crosses.

29/08/2011, 6:21 PM
Charlie, you have found a meaning in Trap's use of Keogh out wide, that had eluded me.
Keogh is so fast he could get on the end of his own cross.

the bear
30/08/2011, 10:57 AM
Charlie, you have found a meaning in Trap's use of Keogh out wide, that had eluded me.
Keogh is so fast he could get on the end of his own cross.

he would have to make it up to row z fairly quickly

Murfinator
30/08/2011, 11:44 AM
Pardew isn't keen on him at all from what I gather, the fact that he's behind Ameobi who has a mere 15 goals in his last 88 Premiership starts speaks volume for his standing there. Hopefully Best can convince him otherwise.

30/08/2011, 12:52 PM
This is what Pardew has said publicly. More like the jury is out rather than "not keen at all".

http://www.journallive.co.uk/nufc/newcastle-united-news/2011/08/29/leon-best-still-has-lots-more-to-offer-says-alan-pardew-61634-29319900/

I think it's a fair assessment.

30/08/2011, 12:54 PM
I think Best is the kind of player, like Folan and Heskey, prone to tripping over a blade of grass and out for a month, career interreptus.

zero
30/08/2011, 12:58 PM
i'm a newcastle fan so i've seen a fair bit of leon. a frustrating player it must be said - yes he scored twice against fulham, but he also played against scunthorpe on thursday and was very poor.

if he does get a decent run of games for newcastle, then a fairer assessment can be made - but as pardew says (and i don't often agree with him) - he still has quite a bit to prove.

Noelys Guitar
17/09/2011, 3:22 PM
Playing well today. Just scored for Newcastle against Villa. Dunne ball watching allowed Best sneak in behiind him and have a clear headed chance at goal. Great save from Given from the first header but Best followed up and thumped the ball into the net.

17/09/2011, 3:23 PM
Is that 3 in prem this season?

Noelys Guitar
17/09/2011, 3:29 PM
Is that 3 in prem this season?

It is indeed Paul. Looks sharp and worth considering for the upcoming games considering the form of Doyle in recent games. Kiss of death. Pardew just subbed him for some reason. Strange one that.

theworm2345
17/09/2011, 3:45 PM
What a save by Shay on that volley from Cabaye

17/09/2011, 6:16 PM
Just seen the goal, seems Leon got booked, presumably something to do with his celebration although I could not see
why on the youtube clip.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B8boZOhwBck

Actually looking at it again he does go over to the crowd but it's all harmless stuff.

17/09/2011, 10:56 PM

Just seen that, that was some save, top class.

Sullivinho
18/09/2011, 9:38 PM

Top quality. Yer man thought it was in all the way. Reminded me of that save he made from Philips years ago.

19/09/2011, 9:36 AM
On watching the replay, Leon's finish wasn't as emphatic as it looked in real time. He actually whacked the ball into Given's feet or shin. He got away with it a bit.

19/09/2011, 10:47 AM
I think it was more that Given moved his foot to block the goal bound shot.

ArdeeBhoy
20/09/2011, 8:33 AM
i'm a newcastle fan so i've seen a fair bit of leon. a frustrating player it must be said - yes he scored twice against fulham, but he also played against scunthorpe on thursday and was very poor.
if he does get a decent run of games for newcastle, then a fairer assessment can be made - but as pardew says (and i don't often agree with him) - he still has quite a bit to prove.
He has now scored more EPL goals than a Mr.A.Carroll now, I believe?