View Full Version : Leon Best

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11

Murfinator
20/09/2011, 11:00 PM
He has now scored more EPL goals than a Mr.A.Carroll now, I believe?

Both are mediocre players to be fair. Jurys out if either are better than championship quality.

ArdeeBhoy
21/09/2011, 1:13 AM
Really? Don't you mean, say, D.Connolly?

They're not the sort 'The Big 3' in the PL would sign but any other EPL club would be happy to have them.

Fixer82
21/09/2011, 1:32 PM
Really? Don't you mean, say, D.Connolly?

They're not the sort 'The Big 3' in the PL would sign but any other EPL club would be happy to have them.

Are you slighting the great Connolly? Take it back!

zero
04/10/2011, 9:28 AM
seems trap would like leon to run about a bit more:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/1004/trapattonig_ireland.html

to be honest, i'm a newcastle fan and i don't really rate best. not sure this is the ideal way to communicate this to the player though...

04/10/2011, 10:03 AM
Nothing really wrong with what Trapattoni is saying there, that he us keeping an eye on Best, which we all hoped he was, but right now he has better options up front. It's a coin toss for me between Walters and Best at the moment, Walters offers a little bit more workrate, Best us probably a better finisher

TrapAPony
04/10/2011, 12:12 PM
Nothing really wrong with what Trapattoni is saying there, that he us keeping an eye on Best, which we all hoped he was, but right now he has better options up front. It's a coin toss for me between Walters and Best at the moment, Walters offers a little bit more workrate, Best us probably a better finisher

Who is Andy Keogh getting picked instead of?

Dunners
04/10/2011, 1:51 PM
Who is Andy Keogh getting picked instead of?

Exactly even the Leeds support were glad to see him get subbed at last Sat game v Portsmouth

Supreme feet
05/10/2011, 9:38 AM
I don't think it matters in the grand scheme, nor will it unless there's a disastrous injury list, but I still can't get my head around Keogh still being in the squad, or what exactly he brings to it. I can think of semi-valid reasons for the likes of Andy Reid, Hoolahan and Best not being called up, but when you say 'Trap picks Keogh ahead of them', it renders any point null and void.

Maybe Trap sees him as a good luck charm after scoring in his first game. Maybe, like McShane, he's 'great craic around the place' and good for team morale. But with Jon Walters also being able to play out wide (much more ably than Keogh), he can't stay in on the 'versatility' card. As for Best, I'm not too bothered about him being out of the squad, as we have four better strikers in Keane, Long, Doyle and Walters (who I rate quite highly) - but I'm sure Best would be next in line if there are any injuries.

Irwin3
31/10/2011, 9:36 PM
Involved in all 3 of Ba's hatrick for Newcastle tonight. 2 and a half assists if you like. Very effective partnership so far this season. Why is he not in the squad again?

Colbert Report
31/10/2011, 10:36 PM
He doesn't work hard enough.

MeathDrog
31/10/2011, 11:05 PM
He was excellent tonight.

31/10/2011, 11:14 PM
He doesn't work hard enough.

Worked like a dog tonight, very good performance from him and all of newcastle in fairness

French Toasht
01/11/2011, 12:06 AM
I expect he'll be in the squad after the inevitable occurs and Long is withdrawn.

TrapAPony
01/11/2011, 12:30 AM
I expect he'll be in the squad after the inevitable occurs and Long is withdrawn.

Really should have been in it instead of Keogh anyway

01/11/2011, 7:56 AM
Worked like a dog tonight, very good performance from him and all of newcastle in fairnessBest team without the ball I've seen in England all season.

01/11/2011, 8:57 AM
He assaulted Upson with his elbow early in the 2nd half, looked a straight red card offense.

01/11/2011, 9:13 AM
He assaulted Upson with his elbow early in the 2nd half, looked a straight red card offense.

really? he couldnt have known where upson was as he had his back to him looking at the ball. also, there was no elbowing action, just raised arms.

01/11/2011, 9:26 AM
just raised arms.

Like Van (Von) Persie ? ;)

Trap has played Best before so he doesn't have an issue with him. With Keane, Walters, Cox and Doyle (back for 2nd game), there might not be room for him.

01/11/2011, 11:04 AM
Best, Doyle & Walters are competing for one spot. Keane, Cox and Long the other. All in an ideal world. Keane has partnered both Long & Cox at times this year, but I think with all being fit that's how it'll work. Walters deservedly ahead of Best at the moment. Doyle should be looking over his shoulder IMHO.

Wolfie
01/11/2011, 12:22 PM
Best Baffled

http://http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/best-baffled-and-confused-by-snub-2921298.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/best-baffled-and-confused-by-snub-2921298.html)

theworm2345
01/11/2011, 1:21 PM
As I watched Best warm up in Dublin in the playoff all I could think was no no no and when he was brought on I groaned. He was still at Coventry then and had been inconsistent the previous season but I thought Trap must see something in him. Now the shoe is on the other foot and I can't see why he isn't getting picked.

01/11/2011, 1:31 PM
really? he couldnt have known where upson was as he had his back to him looking at the ball. also, there was no elbowing action, just raised arms.
He had his eyes on the ball but it looked to me that he had a fair spatial recognition of what was in the way when he led with his elbow, which made direct contact. I'd file under reckless, bordering just below deliberate.
In international football I'd hazard a guess that such a challenge would be penalised with a card and could be penalised harshly, as we have observed.

Paddy Garcia
05/11/2011, 7:16 PM
Viewed as the star Newcastle player this season (& one of the most impressive in the premiership). Also the most improved. This according to the 5 Live guys (Jason Roberts) this evening. Viewed as fundamental to Newcastle's success so far.

Good news.

swinfordfc
05/11/2011, 10:46 PM
and now he injured .....

05/11/2011, 11:25 PM
Best called into Ireland squad!!!! :D
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2057167/Leon-Best-Ireland-squad-play-Estonia.html
Best Injured!!! :mad:
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2058018/Injury-force-Newcastle-striker-Leon-Best-withdraw-Ireland-squad.html

05/11/2011, 11:42 PM
I thought they had stopped doing his actim index but in the latest one he is the top rated Irish player (unless I missed one).
He is at #46 Also in there are
Long #59
Dunne #69
Ward #70 (a big surprise for some on here, I think)
Walters #72
Pilkington #78

05/11/2011, 11:52 PM
Also noticed this
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/1027/stokesa_ireland.html
Stokes looking for Republic recall

09/11/2011, 2:54 AM
I thought they had stopped doing his actim index but in the latest one he is the top rated Irish player (unless I missed one).
He is at #46 Also in there are
Long #59
Dunne #69
Ward #70 (a big surprise for some on here, I think)
Walters #72
Pilkington #78

Just an update to this, I checked the latest rating and noticed Given is at #87
I am pretty sure I didn't miss him so that's a 'new entry'.

Doyle #82
walters #80
long #79
dunne #71
best #50
ward #45

So Doyle is another new entry.

Nothing from the midfield there, duff and hunt maybe hovering just outside the top 100 though.
But a pretty good showing considering the strength of the PL and the fact were have Robbie and Aiden outside it.

brine3
15/01/2012, 1:12 PM
Leon Best has just scored a fantastic goal. He received the ball, turned the defender and flashed it low into the corner of the net, and the whole move took him about a second and a half. Reminded me of a typical Thierry Henry goal (in his pre handball days).

DannyInvincible
15/01/2012, 1:13 PM
Best starts today and puts Newcastle 1-0 against QPR.

From BBC's live updates:

Newcastle goal: Er, who needs Demba Ba? Newcastle won't miss him with finishing like this. After great worky by Danny Guthrie, who touches on a pass from the edge of the area, Leon Best turns inside Luke Young and curls a precise low shot past Paddy Kenny. Great skill and a composed finish.

15/01/2012, 1:28 PM
Just saw it. Quality goal alright. He's got what it takes this fella, just needs to perform at his best more consistently.

Irish_Praha
15/01/2012, 1:34 PM
Best starts today and puts Newcastle 1-0 against QPR.

From BBC's live updates:

I'm not saying he's world class or anything but the fact that Best is probably not going to be on the plane to Polkraine really shows that we have the most strength in depth in our strike force ever.
Doyle, Cox, Keane, Walters, Best, Long and Stokes all getting regular playing time at a decent level, some scoring regularly and Keane being the only one over 30.
I recon if Best was at his current age and level he would have gotten into any of the squads of the previous 4 tournaments we qualified for but now he is at best 5th choice striker.

HgRx
15/01/2012, 1:41 PM
Fair play to Leon Best. Stepping up during Ba's absence.

15/01/2012, 1:47 PM
I agree - not necessarily our best front two ever, but very definitely the best set of 7 forwards we've ever had.

Quite a weekend all round for the Irish in the EPL.

Without checking the papers for line-ups, it's apparent that Given, Dunne, Clark, Gibson, Duffy, Foley, Ward, Whelan, Walters, Wilson (did they all play for Stoke?), Long, Duff, Best and Hoolahan all had something to shout about.

McClean, O'Shea, Kelly, Cox played in losing sides. Robbie got a cameo. McCarthy will play on Monday presumably. Only Hunt & Doyle didn't figure much from what I saw on TV.

Connolly & Stokes scored again at the weekend. I haven't included Pilkington and Tierney, or bald shortarse nutcase, but about as positive a weekend that I can recall from an Irish angle for sometime.

We don't have any Irish at a top 6 side but we pretty much have a full squad at respectable teams in the EPL now. A good mix of established and promising too.

Philly
15/01/2012, 2:23 PM
Here is the goal:

http://www.101greatgoals.com/gvideos/leon-best-v-qpr/

Pretty nice goal. I hope he can keep fit and find form between now and June.

Olé Olé
15/01/2012, 2:37 PM
This finish and assist reminded me of an article I read on F365 during the week:

Newcastle: Maybe that should read 'Leon Best and Danny Guthrie' or 'whoever replaces Demba Ba and Chieck Tiote.' For Sunday will be the first league game when Newcastle will be without arguably their two most important players, what with them nicking off to Africa and all that.

Fair play to Best, quick feet and a tidy finish beneath the legs of the oncoming defender. A good run still might not find him on the plane to Poland due to the aforementioned options and the fact that Trap thinks he needs to work harder.

The age profile of these options is a huge positive. It's surprising to think that Best is still only 25, the same age as Shane Long. There aren't many striking options in the under 21's though, with mostly championship players (Mason, Sheppard, Scannell) being the best bets for senior call-ups in the future. But then again, Long and Best weren't regular goalscorers at 21 either.

DannyInvincible
15/01/2012, 2:48 PM
Just saw it. Quality goal alright. He's got what it takes this fella, just needs to perform at his best more consistently.

Please don't start this here as well, Stutts. The puns in James McClean thread were bad enough! :p

swinfordfc
15/01/2012, 2:52 PM
Only 4 league goals this season .... and he should be on the plane in june ......

DannyInvincible
15/01/2012, 3:21 PM
Who's saying he should be on the plane in June?

MeathDrog
15/01/2012, 4:14 PM
Only 4 league goals this season .... and he should be on the plane in june ......

How many has Doyle scored?

15/01/2012, 4:35 PM
Lovely goal.

Irwin3
15/01/2012, 4:37 PM
10th EPL goal for Newcastle in 22 starts and 4 sub appearances over the last two seasons. Hopefully he can get his head down and play well more consistently. Prolific stats though, just need more of them.

15/01/2012, 5:16 PM
We don't have any Irish at a top 6 side
Actually Best's goal means that we do.

People are forgetting that every side that goes to a major championships has some injuries to contend with. Trap has confirmed we'll be taking 5 strikers so Best is still well in with a chance to get in the squad, either by merit or because of an injury.

Murfinator
15/01/2012, 5:27 PM
Important time for him to score with Ba out, I feel like Best is drinking at the last chance saloon for Newcastle as they're excepted to sign a striker to partner Ba in the summer. With Ben Arfa usually replacing a striker in a 4-5-1 and Ameobi being a long standing favourite he's very, very close to being jostled out of the club. Needs to use this period to lay down a marker.

15/01/2012, 6:00 PM
I was one at the start of the season saying wait to see how he fares at the end of the season and then judge him, people were getting carried away with his start, a bit like andy carroll the year before. He did well and then we didnt really see him for 2-3 months until today. You can argue he was unlucky with the rich vein of form of ba, but originally best was being picked.

Today he played, well, more than anything he showed he has very good footwork and held up the ball and brought players into play often, and his goal was very well taken. He might have been shagged when he was taken off but he was doing far better than ameobi so there could be some truth in the preference to shola. He needs to consistenly do it though to be honest. On an aside i dont know why he was playing so far left, obviously thats what pardew wanted of him but to be it made no sense as he was doing a far better job than ameobi and i reckon had he been in his position could have scored a couple more goals. Interesting point made my wilkins after (one incident)he went down in the penatly area, he said that he is a great player but needs to get about and get up and basically work harder, which i felt he meant as a whole rather than the one incident(like arfa). Something Trap has also said about him.

I'm not getting carried away with either best or long this season to be honest, both have looked decent when ive seen them ,but i think like we have seen with doyle over the last year and half, this form can be very temporary.

15/01/2012, 6:28 PM
Bad form from Kenny to dive the wrong way.

the bear
15/01/2012, 6:33 PM
very tidy footballer, hopefully he excells with ba gone, shola is a donkey

swinfordfc
15/01/2012, 8:16 PM
How many has Doyle scored?

Its a fair point but which one works so hard for the team. Doyle is try and tested, Best is not. Best needs to keep his head down and work for the team

The Fly
16/01/2012, 10:21 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yymo4fLZms8

Serb
16/01/2012, 11:12 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yymo4fLZms8

That is the freakiest thing I've ever seen.