View Full Version : Mayo League Division 2 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7

walshek
15/07/2008, 7:32 AM
lads did yee send in a complaint to mayo league about the ballyglass game ?

NoelM
15/07/2008, 7:42 AM
lads did yee send in a complaint to mayo league about the ballyglass game ?

I don't think so, how does that work ?

Cloggs
15/07/2008, 12:18 PM
Cloggs, i urge you to take another look at the 2b table, Cross look favourites but there i a lot of football to be played. We ( The Town ) are in joint fourth with 7 games left to play and a game in hand, thats 21 points left. If Cross sneak the league there are five other teams going for second place, it is a very competitve league and any of the teams that go on a long winning run will be there or there abouts. Now predict the first and second place if you dare!:mad:

go on then so i will!!1st place cross celtic and my old team glenisland utd finishing in 2nd place qualifying for the playoff place!hope my comments have made yee want to up it a gear but judging by the result against hollister (3-2) at the weekend it doesn't look like it.fair enough a win is a win but they're one of the worst teams in the entire mayo league.i'd can't see yee finishing any higher up than yee already are:p

Tube Station
16/07/2008, 7:52 AM
does anyone know whos the top goal scores in division 2 A and B or are the stats on any web site?

footie2008
16/07/2008, 7:40 PM
Sure enough Footie ye're in with a chance but the results would want to improve. Ye can't afford to drop too many more points from now on in and getting good results against the teams above ye will be tough. Still hopefully with a bit of luck ye can make it into that play off place!
How're things on the injury front?
Anyway good luck with the run in, hope ye do it!
The injurys are not as bad as they were, we just need to take it one game at a time. I think the top six will take points off each other and the team to on a winning run will be up there. We need to do our talking on the pitch.

footie2008
16/07/2008, 7:43 PM
think who ever finished 2nd in Div 2A will beat whoever finishes 2nd in Div 2B
A play off is impossible to call, all league form goes out the window. Its like a cup final.

Wingman
18/07/2008, 10:44 AM
17 July
Swinford B 1 : Kiltimagh Knock 1
Swinford should have hammered them off the pitch with the amount of chances.

footie2008
18/07/2008, 8:22 PM
Any predictions on this weekends games in 2B, with four of the top six playing each other they will have a bearing on title and playoff place.

minivan man
19/07/2008, 8:58 PM
claremorris b 1-1 glenisland. good result for cmorris a lot of lads missing. glen missed a peno with 2 mins left, it was justice though cronically bad decision. any news on mullranny-cross game.

footie2008
20/07/2008, 3:04 PM
Manulla C 0 Castlebar Town 4, comfortable win. The league table looks very interesting now at the top with a lot of head to head games i cant call it.:D

Tube Station
20/07/2008, 6:10 PM
Clew Bay beat Celtic C 4-1, poor enough perfrmance from Clew Bay but we got the result. Celtic might be disappointed they didnt get something out of the game, it was 1-1 with 20 mins to go

irishyop
20/07/2008, 6:59 PM
Clew Bay beat Celtic C 4-1, poor enough perfrmance from Clew Bay but we got the result. Celtic might be disappointed they didnt get something out of the game, it was 1-1 with 20 mins to go
Disappoined would be an understatement as we should have been 3 or 4-0 up by 1/2 time, still think that goal was over the line ;)

Still u need the luck to win league, good luck against Westport next weekend.

Tube Station
20/07/2008, 7:57 PM
ha ha no way i got to that ball right on the line! true enough ye should have being winning at half time, cant understand ye're league position with that kind of performance

irishyop
20/07/2008, 8:03 PM
ha ha no way i got to that ball right on the line! true enough ye should have being winning at half time, cant understand ye're league position with that kind of performance

Go on tell the truth....:D it was a mile over.

Different team really than the start of the season, lads can play football, just needed more clinical finishing. Defence is decent, just need to work on fitness.

walshek
21/07/2008, 7:10 AM
lads have ballyglass be pulled out

Go on tell the truth....:D it was a mile over.

Different team really than the start of the season, lads can play football, just needed more clinical finishing. Defence is decent, just need to work on fitness.

gunner1
21/07/2008, 8:13 PM
claremorris b 1-1 glenisland. good result for cmorris a lot of lads missing. glen missed a peno with 2 mins left, it was justice though cronically bad decision. any news on mullranny-cross game.

i takr it you were at the game ?

minivan man
22/07/2008, 3:58 PM
i takr it you were at the game ? yeah i was gunner1 glen could have been 5-1 up at half time, so cmorris did well to hang on. sorry still think peno decision was harsh. probly not as cronic as i thought it was on sat night now i have calmed down from the tension of hanging on for the draw.:)

swinfordfc
27/07/2008, 7:34 PM
They should be thrown out of the league - cant field a team and thus all the previous results should be void! :mad:

its a disgrace

hardcore
29/07/2008, 5:39 PM
They should be thrown out of the league - cant field a team and thus all the previous results should be void! :mad:

its a disgrace

Totally agree. unfair to every other club in the division.
Did they not pull something similar last year?

sprah1
29/07/2008, 10:59 PM
go on then so i will!!1st place cross celtic and my old team glenisland utd finishing in 2nd place qualifying for the playoff place!hope my comments have made yee want to up it a gear but judging by the result against hollister (3-2) at the weekend it doesn't look like it.fair enough a win is a win but they're one of the worst teams in the entire mayo league.i'd can't see yee finishing any higher up than yee already are:p

Predicted Final Positions Div 2b

Mulranny 41
Cross 40
Glen 37
Clare B 34
Ctown 31
Swin 29

swinfordfc
30/07/2008, 8:58 AM
Totally agree. unfair to every other club in the division.
Did they not pull something similar last year?

i think that ballyglass are being pull out of league ( not official yet) so they 2 options,

1. all points gained played playing ballyglass will come void and thus be taken off all teams.

2. or every team will get 6pts ( 2 3-0 wins) from playing against Ballyglass

This makes a small difference to the league and makes it interesting for the season finale

couchpotato
30/07/2008, 9:50 AM
If all Ballyglass b games go down as a 3-0 loss the revised table would look like this:
Played Points
1. Mulranny 14 31
2. Cross 13 29
3. Glen 14 29
4. Town 15 28
5. Swinford 14 25
6. Cmorris 14 23
7. K+k 14 14
8. Man C 15 12
9. hollister 14 10
10. Bally 18 0

With Cross and Glenisland still to meet, the title could rest in Mulranny, having games left aginst Hollister(twice) and manulla!!

swinfordfc
30/07/2008, 11:08 AM
[QUOTE=couchpotato;991563]If all Ballyglass b games go down as a 3-0 loss the revised table would look like this:
Played Points
1. Mulranny 14 31
2. Cross 13 29
3. Glen 14 29
4. Town 15 28
5. Swinford 14 25
6. Cmorris 13 23
7. K+k 14 14
8. Man C 15 13
9. hollister 14 10
10. Bally 18 0

manulla c would be on 13 pts but spot on the rest! .....
Mulranny still have to play Claremorris, Hollister (2) and Manulla C

walshek
30/07/2008, 1:10 PM
hi lads

ballyglass are gone. 6 points will be added to all. only clubs really affected are claremorris +3 and Swinford + 3. next round of games will tell the story

sprah1
30/07/2008, 1:11 PM
If all Ballyglass b games go down as a 3-0 loss the revised table would look like this:
Played Points
1. Mulranny 14 31
2. Cross 13 29
3. Glen 14 29
4. Town 15 28
5. Swinford 14 25
6. Cmorris 14 23
7. K+k 14 14
8. Man C 15 12
9. hollister 14 10
10. Bally 18 0

With Cross and Glenisland still to meet, the title could rest in Mulranny, having games left aginst Hollister(twice) and manulla!!

Should read :
Claremorris 13 23

walshek
30/07/2008, 1:16 PM
table will look abit like this. to be honest this league can turn with 2 results
Cross Celtic 13 9 2 2 32 12 20 29
Glenisland United 14 8 1 5 35 15 20 29
Mulranny United 13 8 1 4 43 14 29 28
Swinford B 14 6 4 4 30 23 7 25
Claremorris B 13 6 5 2 30 28 2 23
Castlebar Town 13 6 3 4 30 19 11 22
Kiltimagh/Knock United B 14 4 8 2 19 28 -9 14
Manulla C 14 2 9 3 14 32 -18 9
Hollister 13 2 10 1 23 43 -20 7
Ballyglass B 13 2 10 1 14 56 -42 7

swinfordfc
30/07/2008, 1:39 PM
table will look abit like this. to be honest this league can turn with 2 results

is it confirm yet walshk? and by whom?

walshek
30/07/2008, 3:16 PM
i don't know how that will happen. about 3 years ago we were in division 1 and urlar pulled out. all they happened then was 6 points given to all teams. this should have happend a good while ago with team playing A players in b team. this will now will hopefully provoke the mayo league to check all game cards. it is not fair on any team starting up to get bet by a team with A registered players playing B. this should be the same for all leagues.

NoelM
30/07/2008, 9:45 PM
i don't know how that will happen. about 3 years ago we were in division 1 and urlar pulled out. all they happened then was 6 points given to all teams. this should have happend a good while ago with team playing A players in b team. this will now will hopefully provoke the mayo league to check all game cards. it is not fair on any team starting up to get bet by a team with A registered players playing B. this should be the same for all leagues.

Excellent post, all most teams want is selection consistency! Difficult to police though I would think.

walshek
31/07/2008, 8:15 AM
i don't think it would be hard. All you would have to do is publish all the A registered players on a web site and very easy to check then. simple as that. but this would take balls by the league to do this. All teams have to name there first 16 players and are allowed 1 transfer per year.

footie2008
05/08/2008, 6:44 PM
Walshek, C/Town will be on 28 pts. with 15 played and Mulranny on 31 with 14 played. We were due to play Ballyglass twice and Mulranny to play them once.
If you look at Mulrannys run in compared to Cross and Glenisland they have Manulla and Hollister twice and Claremorris i cant see anyone catching them. Its in there hands. We still have to play Glenisland and Cross have a very tough run in with Three tough away games and also Claremorris and Swinford with second place posible it will be an interesting run in.:rolleyes:

FahyForever
07/08/2008, 11:35 PM
Walshek, C/Town will be on 28 pts. with 15 played and Mulranny on 31 with 14 played. We were due to play Ballyglass twice and Mulranny to play them once.
If you look at Mulrannys run in compared to Cross and Glenisland they have Manulla and Hollister twice and Claremorris i cant see anyone catching them. Its in there hands. We still have to play Glenisland and Cross have a very tough run in with Three tough away games and also Claremorris and Swinford with second place posible it will be an interesting run in.:rolleyes:
How are things lads? Never really came on this forum before, mostly just Premier League and Super League threads. Have to say, yours is more football-based and informative in general. Àwful amount of griping and bull**** on some others, notably the superleague one. Best of luck to teams over the run-in.

11/08/2008, 2:51 PM
304016-96438 Code for Mayo Junior Soccer League http://fantasy.premierleague.com

footie2008
19/08/2008, 9:19 PM
Any predictions lads on Claremorris B v Cross on Thursday eve. and Glenisland v Cross Saturday eve. If Cross slip up on these tough away games it opens up the playoff place.
Claremorris B 2 Cross 1 !
Glenisland 2 Cross 2!:eek:

sinabhuil
20/08/2008, 11:52 AM
Having spoken to the Cross lads I have no doubt that they will come away with a win from both games assuming Claremorris don't stack their team with A players. Having spoken to some of them at the previous games in Glencorrib I don't think it is their style. Time will tell. What time are these matches on?

walshek
20/08/2008, 11:59 AM
lads lads lads, claremorris will only be fielding there b players only. the club does not allow this type of messing going on. B players only for tomorrow night game but alot missing. Claremorris has asked for game to be moved to weekend due to the time of k/o 6.45 which is crazy for a thursday game. Claremorris has 6 lads working in galway finishing up at 6 and the same in sligo. So unless there is no cars on the road claremorris will be fielding a very young team. Time will tell on this one. i thick this will be a easy 3 points for cross. all thursday game should be canned a few weeks ago and scheduled at weekend. This is not fair on both cross and claremorris b

footie2008
20/08/2008, 5:57 PM
Having spoken to the Cross lads I have no doubt that they will come away with a win from both games assuming Claremorris don't stack their team with A players. Having spoken to some of them at the previous games in Glencorrib I don't think it is their style. Time will tell. What time are these matches on?
Both games are at 6.45pm kickoffs i think.

footie2008
20/08/2008, 6:02 PM
lads lads lads, claremorris will only be fielding there b players only. the club does not allow this type of messing going on. B players only for tomorrow night game but alot missing. Claremorris has asked for game to be moved to weekend due to the time of k/o 6.45 which is crazy for a thursday game. Claremorris has 6 lads working in galway finishing up at 6 and the same in sligo. So unless there is no cars on the road claremorris will be fielding a very young team. Time will tell on this one. i thick this will be a easy 3 points for cross. all thursday game should be canned a few weeks ago and scheduled at weekend. This is not fair on both cross and claremorris b
Surley these are mind games, when the Town played you away on a Thurday evening you were saying the same things and you had 10 subs. No disrespect to Cross but i hope you can get a result , you still have an outside chance of second and it will help the Towns cause.

sprah1
20/08/2008, 11:15 PM

Very disrespectful to suggest that Claremorris will play illegal players, which is what A team players are. Claremorris B will be trying to win this match so will be sticking with their B team players:)

Tube Station
21/08/2008, 9:57 PM
Clew Bay 5 Ballina 0, well deserved win for Clew Bay, nice way to win the league!

NoelM
22/08/2008, 11:35 AM
Clew Bay 5 Ballina 0, well deserved win for Clew Bay, nice way to win the league!

Congratulations to Clew Bay

Cloggs
22/08/2008, 6:28 PM

fair play to yee lads.well deserved after all the hard work yee've put in over the last couple of years.decent bunch of lads too

irishyop
23/08/2008, 9:03 PM

Well done lads, have been the best team in the league by a long way. Been knocking at the door for a long time. You will have to be touting for some extra players now will you TS? Definately a center half to partner the other lad. ;)

BallyBoy
25/08/2008, 9:15 AM
Well Done to Clew Bay on winning 2A. Ye really deserved it and glad to see ye done it in style.

sinabhuil
25/08/2008, 9:17 AM
Some interesting ties left. Swinford B have both Glen and Cross to play. Claremorris B against Mulranny also a good game. Cross slipped up against Glenisland on Saturday in a very good game of football. Teams were fairly matched in the first half even though Glen got a lucky goal and Cross were denied two blatant penalties. Must be said though that Glenisland were much the better team in the 2nd half and ran out easy winners 3-1.
Whilst not an excuse the Mayo League did not cover themselves in glory. Cross had to play 2 games in 3 days and they definitely looked very tired against Glenisland. Both of the games were in very soft conditions and Cross had to field with some very inexperienced players.

Tube Station
25/08/2008, 3:49 PM
Well done lads, have been the best team in the league by a long way. Been knocking at the door for a long time. You will have to be touting for some extra players now will you TS? Definately a center half to partner the other lad. ;)

Cheers for all the well wishes lads! Div 2b seems very close

bananaboots
28/08/2008, 8:20 AM
Alright lads does anyone know what will happen if Glenisland and Cross end up joint second on the same points??

BallyBoy
28/08/2008, 9:13 AM
Alright lads does anyone know what will happen if Glenisland and Cross end up joint second on the same points??

They will have to play off to see who finishes second - goal difference does not count. Then the team who wins that plays second in 2A and the winner of that play off plays the third from bottom in Div 1.

Simple Really:confused::confused::confused:

NoelM
01/09/2008, 12:31 PM
They will have to play off to see who finishes second - goal difference does not count. Then the team who wins that plays second in 2A and the winner of that play off plays the third from bottom in Div 1.

Simple Really:confused::confused::confused:

Are the playoffs on neutral venues or is there home and away involved ?

footie2008
01/09/2008, 6:45 PM
The playoffs are played in Milebush, one game has to won on the day, extra time, penos if needed. It looks like Cross will be second, Glenisland may have lost out after the Swinford result. If its Ballyheane in the playoffs they will put out half their first team. They done it to us two years ago, very unfair on a team trying to go up as they were relegated straight down the year after because their squad is not big enough for two good sides.