View Full Version : 2day FM + Bertie

pixiehead
06/12/2007, 9:00 PM
Irish Football Fans:
This Saturday our Taoiseach, Mr. Bertie Ahern is due to 'talk football' on Today F.M's Premier League Live show, in what is yet another blatantly cynical P.R. stunt by our country's leader. Such a public relations exercise has become a favourite of Bertie's. Whenever his back is against the wall he pulls out one of his 'man of the people', 'salt of the earth' routines. Irish football fans will not fooled however by yet another 'nice guy Bertie' act from his spin department. Moreover, we don't really care for his unqualified and uninformed view on the game we love, when he really should have more pressing matters to deal with. Football is there for fans - not the ramblings of politicians and celebs. It is almost comical that Ahearn will go on to talk about the English premiership as he and his government continue to shun the league at home. Please txt or E-Mail the show with the Comment- Eircom League Fan- Why are you showing your support for another countrys league?? I am aware that this is a premier league show but a reaction in numbers may help!!

Voice your displeasure to the Taoiseach's appearance on the show by texting in on 0854100102 either now or on the show itself. Alternatively, you e-mail http://www.todayfm.com/contactus.asp

TELL BERTIE TO GET BACK TO DOING IT HIS JOB AND LEAVE FOOTBALL TO THE REAL FANS!

Pass this on to Football Fans you know

06/12/2007, 9:16 PM
Voice your displeasure to the Taoiseach's appearance on the show by texting in on 0854100102 either now or on the show itself. Alternatively, you e-mail http://www.todayfm.com/contactus.asp

Are you sure thats the number ... thought it was a five digit one now? (i actually dont know, i gave up on that station ages ago)

06/12/2007, 9:21 PM
Here's a bit of reaction (http://bohsnews.wordpress.com/2007/08/04/what-football-planet-does-bertie-live-on/) to Bertie's ridiculous comments re Bohs fans after the Sunderland game...

bohsRap
06/12/2007, 11:12 PM
Irish Football Fans:
This Saturday our Taoiseach, Mr. Bertie Ahern is due to 'talk football' on Today F.M's Premier League Live show, in what is yet another blatantly cynical P.R. stunt by our country's leader. Such a public relations exercise has become a favourite of Bertie's. Whenever his back is against the wall he pulls out one of his 'man of the people', 'salt of the earth' routines. Irish football fans will not fooled however by yet another 'nice guy Bertie' act from his spin department. Moreover, we don't really care for his unqualified and uninformed view on the game we love, when he really should have more pressing matters to deal with. Football is there for fans - not the ramblings of politicians and celebs. It is almost comical that Ahearn will go on to talk about the English premiership as he and his government continue to shun the league at home. Please txt or E-Mail the show with the Comment- Eircom League Fan- Why are you showing your support for another countrys league?? I am aware that this is a premier league show but a reaction in numbers may help!!

TELL BERTIE TO GET BACK TO DOING IT HIS JOB AND LEAVE FOOTBALL TO THE REAL FANS!

Pass this on to Football Fans you know

I've emailed his office and today fm voicing my opinion.
Think about it, the leader of our country would prefer to see a foreign team do well in the champions league rather than an Irish team.
It's unbelievable, he can go fúck off to britain if he wants.

Tis-smeee
06/12/2007, 11:46 PM
Wonder who the oppostion supporters on here are??????????????????????????????

Myself I couldnt give two flying fu c ks

Pablo Escobar
07/12/2007, 7:43 AM
I've emailed his office and today fm voicing my opinion.
Think about it, the leader of our country would prefer to see a foreign team do well in the champions league rather than an Irish team.
It's unbelievable, he can go fúck off to britain if he wants.

Would you have the e-mail address for his office please?

07/12/2007, 7:47 AM
Think about it, the leader of our country would prefer to see a foreign team do well in the champions league rather than an Irish team

and you have proof of this?
some people obviously have very few real issues to be thinking about

beautifulrock
07/12/2007, 8:04 AM
busy morning Pixie, dont actually care what he does in his spare time.

bohsRap
07/12/2007, 9:17 AM
Would you have the e-mail address for his office please?

http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/index.asp?locID=172&docID=-1

bohsRap
07/12/2007, 9:19 AM
He's showing his support as a soccer fan not as a political leader.

Would you have a problem if he supported England's soccer team? What if he walked around in an england jersey and denounced our national team?

bohsRap
07/12/2007, 9:20 AM
and you have proof of this?

What has he ever done or said to suggest otherwise?

07/12/2007, 9:42 AM
The fact is most of the Irish populace support English football teams. He's just like them. Clearly he and the common man have something in common.

If he were Minister for Sport (or whatever department it falls under), he'd have a case to answer.

btid1
07/12/2007, 9:59 AM
I support Bayern Munich above all else, If I was elected to a position of power I wouldn't start suddenly falsely swinging a Cork City flag to raise support, I'd be myself and speak of my desire to see Ribery and Schweiny tear Stuttgart apart

:D:D:D

Pathetic!!!

Kind of sums up the Irish psyche really!

btid1
07/12/2007, 10:01 AM
Wonder who the oppostion supporters on here are??????????????????????????????

Myself I couldnt give two flying fu c ks

I have no potlitical loyalties (I hate them all equally) but who really gives a **** what Bertie thinks on football and why is he getting airtime?

He cant do his own job properly why should he be given free reign to comment on someone elses?!!?

btid1
07/12/2007, 10:10 AM
I'm from Tipp anyway so there's no local team that's successful. So if I'm going to support a team that isn't local might as well be a successful one like Bayern. :rolleyes:

I think it'd be silly to support an unsuccessful club out of obligation. Maybe when Cork City achieve something, they'll win my support.

This has to be a WUM!!!!

Bayern Munich is one of the oddest chioces possible.Are you German?Any Germans that support Cork City you reckon?

I think this guy needs it spelled out to him.........you are a G L O R Y H U N T E R !!!!!

Soper
07/12/2007, 10:11 AM
I think it'd be silly to support an unsuccessful club out of obligation. Maybe when Cork City achieve something, they'll win my support.
They won the cup last Sunday

Student Mullet
07/12/2007, 10:14 AM
It's not Bertie's fault his team folded.

07/12/2007, 10:18 AM
What has he ever done or said to suggest otherwise?

oh, so we're all guilty of everthing until we suggest otherwise?:confused:

the programme is called premier lge live so they will interview bertie about the premier lge. how on earth does that mean he is anti Irish football?

shanman2
07/12/2007, 10:48 AM
This has to be a WUM!!!!

Bayern Munich is one of the oddest chioces possible.Are you German?Any Germans that support Cork City you reckon?

I think this guy needs it spelled out to him.........you are a G L O R Y H U N T E R !!!!!

Bertie Ahern can support who ever he wants to. Fair play to him for voicing his opinion. I support FC Barcelona I travel over at least 6-7 times a year with the possy I live in clare I cant stand the Eircom League and the fans. If your looking for a reason why people won't follow the LOI then you have it. ITS YOUR KIND! Get over yourself.

bohsRap
07/12/2007, 10:50 AM
I'm from Tipp anyway so there's no local team that's successful.

You're from Tipp so you're possibly a hurling man. Would it seem alright to you if all the young lads in Tipp suddenly started supporting KilKenny because they play better hurling?

bohsRap
07/12/2007, 10:54 AM
the programme is called premier lge live so they will interview bertie about the premier lge. how on earth does that mean he is anti Irish football?

Well he could show some support at home in the game he loves!
The only game I can remember him taking in was a friendly - Bohs v Sunderland!

btid1
07/12/2007, 10:55 AM
I live in clare I cant stand the Eircom League and the fans. If your looking for a reason why people won't follow the LOI then you have it. ITS YOUR KIND! Get over yourself.

Why are you on an Eircom League MB then???Kind of illogical dont you think!

Id say you get some strange looks in Barcelona all the same with them having such a Nationalistic support?

We truly are the only nationality who follow the glory wherever it is in the world!!!!If Barcelona were to be relegated would you still follow them?

Funny how Leeds fans disappeared quickly enough of late and the emergence of Chelsea fans in the last couple of season.Odd that!

No wonder we are the laughing stock of Europe!

shanman2
07/12/2007, 11:44 AM
Why are you on an Eircom League MB then???Kind of illogical dont you think!

Id say you get some strange looks in Barcelona all the same with them having such a Nationalistic support?

We truly are the only nationality who follow the glory wherever it is in the world!!!!If Barcelona were to be relegated would you still follow them?

Funny how Leeds fans disappeared quickly enough of late and the emergence of Chelsea fans in the last couple of season.Odd that!

No wonder we are the laughing stock of Europe

Why have cotton when you can have silk!:confused:

Hitman
07/12/2007, 12:01 PM
That's not a fair comparison.
A fairer comparison would be to use Football. Football isn't a popular sport at Tipp and the team stinks at it so it's not really supported. So ok, if there's a football fan in Tipp and they want to support a successful team who do they support?

They could try doing whatever they could to help the Tipp football team be successful. Or should seeing Gooch Cooper getting an All-Star mean more to them than Declan Browne?

hogey
07/12/2007, 12:27 PM
This country makes me sick. Where else would you get the leader of a country spouting on national radio about a foreign league. Disgusting.

Flawless
07/12/2007, 12:33 PM
He's showing his support as a soccer fan not as a political leader.

I support Bayern Munich above all else, If I was elected to a position of power I wouldn't start suddenly falsely swinging a Cork City flag to raise support, I'd be myself and speak of my desire to see Ribery and Schweiny tear Stuttgart apart :D

Give him a break, if he was screaming of Eircom League support from the rooftops people would be complaining that he was just another smarmy politican pandering to the voters. He supports Man Utd, always has. What do you want? For him to change that and pretend that he doesn't?

I agree 100%.

07/12/2007, 12:47 PM
Don't you all know Bertie only went to Manchester to walk his beloved United & not to take "loans" from businessmen.

Far too many cynics here. :(

BTW Live after 5 is the saddest radio or TV show in Ireland. Hi Mick from Tralee who has never attended a live football match in his life. :rolleyes:

07/12/2007, 12:55 PM
I think it'd be silly to support an unsuccessful club out of obligation. Maybe when Cork City achieve something, they'll win my support.My advice would be to change your name to Johnny Barstool asap.

BTW you're not a football supporter and you're kidding yourself if you think you are. You're a consumer.

Boh_So_Good
07/12/2007, 1:04 PM
Funny how Leeds fans disappeared quickly enough of late

Oh that is so true! My own uncle was a former secretary for the Leeds Utd Dublin Supporters group. He went over to Elland Road about 10 times a year and slagged the hell out of me and my brother for supporting Bohs. When Dave O'Leary took over he was like "now they are the main Irish club in England" - I am 100% serious! He spent huge amounts of his time justifying to all and sundry, all the ways he could prove that Leeds were actually an Irish club. I tell this story to other blokes and they tell me almost the same tale of somebody they know who likewise claim that Arsenal, Liverpool, Notts Forest you name are really "Irish" clubs.

Anyways, my uncle after 30 years of devotion to Leeds started following Sunderland "cos of Keano" [?!?] (like he never followed LUFC in the first place!) and is currently "not interested in football" (LOL!), but still passes a snide comment about Bohs and "League O' Urland" when he can. He is a lovely bloke, but he epitomises the mentally of the typical Irish soccer fan. Hasn't a ****ing clue unless it's really popular and he is somehow connected to it.

Mind you, I have noticed a generational change in the last 5 years. You get a lot more young kids into the LOI now and they are happy to support some British team, but not make fun of LOI and even support them. The cut off age now seems to be around 25 and above were they are like my uncle. If anything I have noticed 'the thick Paddy into some "Oirish" club' in the UK seems to be tapering off.

20 Years ago if I was to say "I support Bohs" 100% of people would laugh at me. Now it's like down to 25% and a lot of people say things like "I would like to support an LOI club, but..." So things are on the up in that regard.

But nearly every Irish soccer fan from the age of 25 up are all like Bertie, they all have this national identity crisis and are so arrogant and clueless about what being a soccer fan really is. It use to make me mad, but since so many foreigners have come to Ireland and I see them all laughing at the "Oirish" soccer supporters, just confirms that we were right all along.

I work with a lad from Spain and he was ripping the diddies out of all the Liverpool and Man U lads at work and saying things like "you are all wired wrong - support an Irish club!" They honestly are shocked that he now supports Bohs since moving to Ireland and not Sunderland or Celtic.

Ireland4ever
07/12/2007, 1:09 PM
This has to be a WUM!!!!

Get off your high horse mate, its pathetic. Theres a hell of lot more important things in the world to worry about, than what team a guy supports.

07/12/2007, 1:11 PM
as soon as i saw this thread it was just all so predictable that it was going to end up as an eircom lge vs the rest of the football world rant

hoops1
07/12/2007, 1:12 PM
Clubs? Clubs are businesses.

Goodnight Eileen:eek:

07/12/2007, 1:16 PM
as soon as i saw this thread it was just all so predictable that it was going to end up as an eircom lge vs the rest of the football world rantIn an Eircom League forum of all places.....who'd have thunk it?:eek:

07/12/2007, 1:22 PM
In an Eircom League forum of all places.....who'd have thunk it?:eek:

well, if its confined to the eircom lge section only from now on that would be a godsend

07/12/2007, 1:26 PM
well, if its confined to the eircom lge section only from now on that would be a godsend
Forgive me, I didn't realise I was on foot.co.uk.

If you don't support EL football, why on earth would you come in here? Do you have guilt issues or something?

07/12/2007, 1:34 PM
Forgive me, I didn't realise I was on foot.co.uk.

If you don't support EL football, why on earth would you come in here? Do you have guilt issues or something?

i have an interest in all Irish football. heavily involved in Irish football too. practicaly zero interest in uk football except to see how our lads are getting on over there. do you support other eircom lge clubs? probably not.... yet id say i'll find a few of your posts on other clubs sections

07/12/2007, 1:41 PM
i have an interest in all Irish football. heavily involved in Irish football too. practicaly zero interest in uk football except to see how our lads are getting on over there. do you support other eircom lge clubs? probably not.... yet id say i'll find a few of your posts on other clubs sections
Well then why are you surprised at a bunch of EL fans supporting their own league and ridiculing our leader for not supporting his local team?

Like many others on here I intensely dislike the garden variety Irish football consumer who has the footballing alligience of an Italian tank commander. Bertie is the ultimate poster boy for these kind of people and deserves ridicule for it.

I presume by your posts your one of the schoolboy brigade who see their role as feeders clubs for the English professional game?

Rocky77
07/12/2007, 1:45 PM
Sport and sporting allegiances have their bases in tribal instincts.

Call me old fashioned if you will, but I'd rather support my local team than someone else's...

07/12/2007, 1:51 PM
Well then why are you surprised at a bunch of EL fans supporting their own league and ridiculing our leader for not supporting his local team?

Like many others on here I intensely dislike the garden variety Irish football consumer who has the footballing alligience of an Italian tank commander. Bertie is the ultimate poster boy for these kind of people and deserves ridicule for it.

I presume by your posts your one of the schoolboy brigade who see their role as feeders clubs for the English professional game?

believe me, the usual "yous are all just barstoolers" tone does not surprise me in the slightest. no, not involved in schoolboy football and you comment about schoolboy football seeing themselves as feeder clubs to english football is well wide of the mark. do you think schoolboy football in this country supplies no players to the eircom lge? why the obsession with british football??

CavanBohs
07/12/2007, 2:24 PM
Bertie Ahern can support who ever he wants to. Fair play to him for voicing his opinion. I support FC Barcelona I travel over at least 6-7 times a year with the possy I live in clare I cant stand the Eircom League and the fans. If your looking for a reason why people won't follow the LOI then you have it. ITS YOUR KIND! Get over yourself.

You aren't a fan of an Eircom League club because you don't like the type of fans but you claim to support FC Barcelona? You've no problem with Boixos Nois and their antics? Top lads, them boys. Not a racist bone among them.:rolleyes:

07/12/2007, 3:03 PM
I think there are two separate issues here.

First, Bertie, as a citizen, is entitled to support whoever he wants. And he's just as open to criticism for that choice as anybody else is. As a citizen, I'd much rather he supported his local side or closest eL side rather than a foreign team, just like I'd rather everybody did.

Secondly, a Taoiseach is aware that basically everything he says and does will be scrutinised. That comes with the territory of being Taoiseach. The eL, like it or not (and some posting here clearly don't), is the national league, and has been for many, many years. It is a part of our history, our culture, our tradition, and our identity. And these are things that a Taoiseach should be trying to promote, not ignore.

07/12/2007, 3:08 PM
This is an Eircom League site , well I thought it was anyway .

niallsparky
07/12/2007, 3:08 PM
Who cares really? His job is to lead the country and whatever he does in his own time (providing it's legal) doesn't bother me. It makes no difference whatsoever to me whether it's him I hear on the radio or some other joker spoofing on about how great "we" are getting on in the Premier League this season.

As far as I'm concerned they're both brainwashed spoofers who have managed to convince themselves and be convinced by the media that they are cheering on "their club." I say fair play to them. I hope you have a good time supporting "your" club.

07/12/2007, 3:57 PM
And players from England's third tier can stumble in here and be the league's best player.

What are the names of these players?

jmurphyc
07/12/2007, 4:10 PM
Michael Keane. Colin Healy, Joseph Ndo, Neale Fenn, heck Mansaram doesn't even have that honor. He was in the 5th tier and was probably bohs best player this year. ¬_¬

Colin Healy hardly stumbled in from the third division. He played for Celtic and won caps for Ireland and may be a regular now if injuries hadn't ruined him. Neale Fenn played for Tottenham at one point and Joseph Ndo got caps for Cameroon. These are hardly s**ty 3rd division calibre players. What about Kevin Doyle "stumbling in" to the English Premier League and being one of the top goalscorers?

Rocky77
07/12/2007, 4:13 PM
What English team did Ndo play for? Colin Healy almost went to a World Cup and has played Champions League and when, oh when, was Mansaram one of the League's best payers?

By yor earning support theory, if we were all around in the 70s, you'd support England beacuse of their greater pedigree and Ireland's inability to compete with the World's best?

And given your loyalty to Bayern Munich, if they went into a Forest-style freefall, you would obviously find a better team, more worthy of your support?

The LOI not being worthy yet, but you're happy enough to allow others to put in the hard work to make it a success by which time you'll gladly jump on the band wagon?

Or have i picked you up wrong?

sonofstan
07/12/2007, 4:22 PM
Actually, I'm glad Bertie doesn't support a LoI team; I'd hate it if he had a saving grace.

Docboy
07/12/2007, 4:32 PM
I agree, in theory, with the idea that we as Irish men/women should be supporting a local team. However, the way you would usually begin to support a local team ie by going along with your pals, father, grandfather etc., has not been the case for a large majority of people in this country. I began supporting Spurs in 1986 when my da brought me along to my first game whilst over visiting my gran for Christmas in London. I have supported them ever since though for me the love of the national team supercedes this.

When Rovers played for a while in the RDS, on my bus route, I went along for a bit with the brother, but I never developed an affinity with the club nor the LOI. I do respect fans of the LOI and I have been glad of late to see the progress being made both in the calibre of player on show and the end 'product'. I don't subscribe to the notion that you have to attend LOI football regularly to fully understand the game and feel that the attitude towards 'barstoolers' is counter-productive.

Live and let live I say, and I hope the domestic game continues to thrive. Those pointing to the youth support are correct as they are fans of the future. As any football fan knows, you can't change your club once your hooked.

Well, most people anyway.

kingdomkerry
07/12/2007, 4:54 PM
I must admit I used to support Man Utd when I was younger. At some stage I realised I was'nt from Manchester so I stopped supporting them. Im from Kerry where there is no team in the LOI so I just follow the league. This thing about supporting the nearest team does'nt wash. A kerryman is hardly going to support a cork team (although i did last suday in the RDS).

I recently moved to south dublin so I was thinking of following Shamrock Rovers next season and going to a few of their games. Not so sure now as they are'nt playing their home games on this side of the city.

Anyway as regards Bertie ahern he is entitled to do what he wants in his spare time and support who he wants but as leader of the country he should be a role model and supporting foreign teams is not the model i want to see!

07/12/2007, 5:24 PM
Michael Keane. Colin Healy, Joseph Ndo, Neale Fenn, heck Mansaram doesn't even have that honor. He was in the 5th tier and was probably bohs best player this year. ¬_¬

None of them are league best players.

You can look at the other way. How bad are English clubs that they release potential which is then matured within the league. I could mention a certain Kevin Doyle but sure after training for a few weeks with a real club he was transformed.