View Full Version : Smoke bombs flares etc.

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

22/11/2007, 5:53 PM
does anyone know where you can get equipment for a display in Ireland or do you have to order from abroad? Derry usually put on some good displays, any of the Derry boys know where they got them?

22/11/2007, 5:59 PM
We get our stuff from Tifo...i think Derry do to.

Can't use them really anymore though.

22/11/2007, 6:25 PM
More importantly, does anyone know if it's hard to get permission from the FAI to use them? I know we got permission for the Cork game but don't know if it was hard to get or not? They state that 'controlled flares' are allowed like.

half_full
22/11/2007, 8:53 PM
Tifo.it is probably best, other sites out there but I don't know how reliable they are..

The FAI are doing their best to RUIN Football in this country with ridiculous fines and sanctions for fan activity.

Freedom for Ultras!

Tis-smeee
22/11/2007, 8:53 PM
They state that 'controlled flares' are allowed like.

No such thing as contolled they are illegal on land, im not looking at another thread with flares smoke bombs in the title my h=soul cant handle it

22/11/2007, 10:07 PM
The FAI are doing their best to RUIN Football in this country with ridiculous fines and sanctions for fan activity.

Freedom for Ultras!

Absolutely spot on mate. They're not going to win though.

22/11/2007, 10:10 PM
All these fines are a joke. Is their anything that can be done? Petitions don't work, protests? We are on for buying flares and stuff at the moment but if it's going to cost the club then is it worth it...I hate the F.A.I.

22/11/2007, 10:19 PM
All these fines are a joke. Is their anything that can be done? Petitions don't work, protests? We are on for buying flares and stuff at the moment but if it's going to cost the club then is it worth it...I hate the F.A.I.

How about everyone bring a flare to the cup final and we start a Mexican wave of flares going off? Seriously it would be a good laugh seeing the stewards running around in circles.

Alternatively we could kick the **** out of John Delaney

Ultra Power! :D

22/11/2007, 10:21 PM

Check your PM's.

How about everyone bring a flare to the cup final and we start a Mexican wave of flares going off? Seriously it would be a good laugh seeing the stewards running around in circles.

Sounds class actually.

22/11/2007, 10:24 PM
Sounds class actually.

If we can get enough people I'm up for it anyway

22/11/2007, 10:26 PM
Well a few of us[Rovers fans] are going to cup final and might be bringing a flare so not a bad idea if everyone joins in:).

GreenStar
23/11/2007, 7:06 AM
They state that 'controlled flares' are allowed like.

...like what??

Sonic
23/11/2007, 10:05 AM
The fines imposed are fairly small though so feck it of you go with the flares!

a.a.d
23/11/2007, 12:29 PM
Yep as seen throughout the year, you get a bigger fine if you throw toilet role

Dazzy
23/11/2007, 12:40 PM
Just use them, and dont give a **** about FAI etc.

JC_GUFC
23/11/2007, 12:54 PM
What you really need to do is get a shi*load like Rovers did against Drogs.

They got only twice the fine that Cork (I think) did for letting off one flare so it's better value for money.

You could also pre-arrange a collection to pay for the fine that the club will receive, that way the club won't ban you! :)

23/11/2007, 2:11 PM
...like what??Don't ask me, it's what the FAI say. Flares can only be used when controlled...I can only guess it means somebody trained to use them? If there is such a person:confused:

MojoPin
23/11/2007, 2:52 PM
this person looks qualified ;)

http://images.buycostumes.com/mgen/merchandiser/150.jpg

half_full
23/11/2007, 3:27 PM
Don't ask me, it's what the FAI say. Flares can only be used when controlled...I can only guess it means somebody trained to use them? If there is such a person:confused:

Controlled means standing in front of the stand/terrace AFAIK

A protest in Merrion Square might not be a bad idea...

Celdrog
23/11/2007, 6:32 PM
Where's Maxi??

23/11/2007, 7:39 PM

As well as the normal reasons for it being pointless, the FAI, as of today are no longer based in Merrion Square.

Anyone know how to get to Abbotstown?

bray boy
23/11/2007, 8:41 PM
i honestly cant believe this
THERE WAS A PROTEST ON THE 2ND OF NOVEMBER IN MERRION SQ.
about 8 people turned up.
and everyday there is people compliang about the fai john delaney on this site
unbelieveable.

bray boy
23/11/2007, 8:43 PM
oh yeah we were told by the fai heads that abbotstown is near the aquatic centre

half_full
23/11/2007, 10:19 PM
As well as the normal reasons for it being pointless, the FAI, as of today are no longer based in Merrion Square.

Anyone know how to get to Abbotstown?

:o I knew they were moving, but not so soon...

24/11/2007, 12:20 AM
i honestly cant believe this
THERE WAS A PROTEST ON THE 2ND OF NOVEMBER IN MERRION SQ.
about 8 people turned up.
and everyday there is people compliang about the fai john delaney on this site
unbelieveable.

If you are going to have a propper protest you really need to build for it. You can't just advertise and expect people to turn up. You need an organisation that people affiliate to and trust. The fact that no one really knew who organised that protest didn't really help.
There have been attempts at setting up supporters organisations before but they have gone awry for various reasons. I'm setting up something with likeminded people. Its open to everyone who agrees with basic principles -
Stop arbitrary fines.
Freedom to stand if you want.
Accommodation for Ultras to carry out displays without any repression.

I have some other ideas for demands too but thats a basic programme for the time being. Its aimed at both the Ultra groups and anyone else who agrees with the general principle.
Anyone who is interested PM me. State if you are a member of an Ultra group and if so which group.

Sam Savic
25/11/2007, 1:50 AM
Don't ask me, it's what the FAI say. Flares can only be used when controlled...:

No one from the FAI made any such statement.

25/11/2007, 7:44 AM
Well good luck to whoever wants to set up a supporters association for ELOI fans.
I was involved with the first such grouping back in the 1990's and from experience only a small number of people end up doing all the work and when they get fed up the thing normally falls apart.

25/11/2007, 9:32 AM
I'm not really thinking along the lines of a full time association with all the trimmings. I think thats where the previous attempts went wrong. This would be more along the lines of a loose alliance of already existing fans groups at the various clubs and any other individuals who want to help co-ordinate a series of protests on these key issues and if that goes well we'll see where we take it from there.

25/11/2007, 1:14 PM
No one from the FAI made any such statement.Who are you to tell me nobody said such a thing? Maybe not to you.

Noel Mooney said it and last time I checked, he works for the FAI

25/11/2007, 1:17 PM
No one from the FAI made any such statement.

I think they did alright. Something about obtaining permission from them and then have someone in charge who knows what he's doing, or some such nonsense

Sam Savic
25/11/2007, 7:42 PM
Who are you to tell me nobody said such a thing? Maybe not to you.

Noel Mooney said it and last time I checked, he works for the FAI

Good. Get it in writing so. You'll be waiting a long time though. I'll reiterate what I said to you already - no one from the FAI made any such statement. Send them a simple e mail. Print the reply you get on this forum.

25/11/2007, 8:32 PM
I'll reiterate what I said to you already - no one from the FAI made any such statement.Maybe you just didn't read what you've quoted there but I already said, Mooney has said it. I don't need to justify anything to you by sending an e-mail to the FAI so go away now.

25/11/2007, 9:49 PM
Sam Savic is right lads, just check it out if you want.

25/11/2007, 10:06 PM
Sam Savic is right lads, just check it out if you want.He's clearly not right though Anto. I've already said Mooney said it. Maybe they've changed there mind since but he's clearly wrong when he says no one from FAI ever said it.

25/11/2007, 10:10 PM
In fairness to Sligoman GUFC were also told that controlled flares were permitted.
When we played Sunderland flares were allowed on the pitch as the teams came out after consultation with the referee and FAI officials before the match.

25/11/2007, 10:12 PM
Yes and we were given permission, from the FAI, for a 'display' for the final home game Vs. Cork this season

Sam Savic
26/11/2007, 5:22 AM
In fairness to Sligoman GUFC were also told that controlled flares were permitted.
When we played Sunderland flares were allowed on the pitch as the teams came out after consultation with the referee and FAI officials before the match.

They weren't flares Conor. Fireworks are a different thing. And certain smoke displays are permitted. However, flares are not permitted at football grounds under any circumstances.
No problem with a firework display under controlled conditions.

26/11/2007, 7:58 AM
He's clearly not right though Anto. I've already said Mooney said it. Maybe they've changed there mind since but he's clearly wrong when he says no one from FAI ever said it.

He said no one from the FAI made any such statement, if he means an actual official formalised statement, then he is right. Noel Mooney may have said to you but if you go looking for an official statement, you'll be a while looking.

11/11/2013, 3:30 PM
Bumping this up ... Just need to know where is best to buy some smoke and flares etc. at the moment

ATFC-1887
11/11/2013, 3:42 PM
http://www.ultrasshop.com/ 100% best

Bosco
12/11/2013, 3:53 PM
Just since this has been brought up. Just wondering what kind of fines clubs received this year for flares and smokebombs and how often?

There seemed to be a lot more pyro this year then any year from different clubs so just wondering have the Fai gone easier or are clubs getting fined every-time?

I know Dundalk got that huge €3,000 fine but other then that?

Did Athlone get fined for all their pyro towards the end of the season?

12/11/2013, 8:00 PM
We got fined bosco for the flares goin off in second leg v Bray.A club committee member said to me on sat last that we got our fine reduced from 500e to 150e as club said to fai not to be too harsh considerin the hard work section o have given to the club this season! I was also told that after three repeat offences there will be a six point deduction!

bluewhitearmy
12/11/2013, 10:26 PM
We got fined bosco for the flares goin off in second leg v Bray.A club committee member said to me on sat last that we got our fine reduced from 500e to 150e as club said to fai not to be too harsh considerin the hard work section o have given to the club this season! I was also told that after three repeat offences there will be a six point deduction!

That has never happened with anyone.

Bosco
13/11/2013, 4:23 PM

I know yeah that's why I was asking. The points deduction thing didn't sound right to me.

fitzpatrick10
13/11/2013, 4:32 PM
We got fined bosco for the flares goin off in second leg v Bray.A club committee member said to me on sat last that we got our fine reduced from 500e to 150e !

considering they confiscated about 100 quids worth of pyro they only 50 quid out...

as for the points deduction , thats bull!

NeverFeltBetter
13/11/2013, 5:45 PM
Deducting points is just about the only thing that would get the practise to stop.

13/11/2013, 6:47 PM
considering they confiscated about 100 quids worth of pyro they only 50 quid out...

as for the points deduction , thats bull!

Did ye not get those back? I'd heard after the game that they were going to give them back if someone came back for them.

Bosco
13/11/2013, 6:59 PM
I went to try get them back at half time and it didn't seem like we were getting them back.

I'll try get them at the weekend.

Sean South
14/11/2013, 4:57 PM
You Section O lads have to be the biggest egits in the supporters scene in this country. Well done.:clown:

14/11/2013, 5:17 PM
I was also told that after three repeat offences there will be a six point deduction!
Pats just lost the league.