View Full Version : Smoke bombs flares etc.

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

Town Legend
18/04/2016, 6:37 AM
No need for me to calm down. I'm just putting my point across and some people are getting upset with me over it. This has been discussed over and over again and it's the same ****e everytime. The rules are there, they haven't changed since the last thread on banning regarding flares so I don't understand why there's a need to bring it up. Until the rules change that should be the end of it.

18/04/2016, 6:59 AM
Yeah we get it, you love your rules:D

Town Legend
18/04/2016, 7:16 AM
I don't love them. I just abide by the rules like any normal decent human being. The others??? Well you decide!

bluewhitearmy
18/04/2016, 2:29 PM
I don't love them. I just abide by the rules like any normal decent human being. The others??? Well you decide!

I'd hardly say someone that lets off a flare aren't normal decent human beings tbf. Life would be very boring if everybody followed every rule.

18/04/2016, 2:45 PM
I'd hardly say someone that lets off a flare aren't normal decent human beings tbf. Life would be very boring if everybody followed every rule.

Haha no no he's right they are all degenerate scum.

Town Legend
18/04/2016, 3:06 PM
Where exactly did I say that Outspoken? I just said to Bennocelt he could decide what the others are. Where exactly did I say that they are all degenerate scum??? Please do point out where I said that as I looked back and could not find it.

18/04/2016, 3:23 PM
How much are the fines? Fairly big some of em aren't they?

IIRC, they start at €500 and get doubled for repeat offences.

Personally, whilst I do think flares and smoke bombs can add to the atmosphere, if used correctly, they get the club fined, so leave them.
They've reared their heads in the Brandywell in recent years and they've universally been awful displays. A couple of morons on ego trips will light the flare, hold it for a few seconds, then throw them away when a steward moves near. Rather than help the atmosphere, it kind of kills it.

For comparison, in the IL you get arrested for using them.
http://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2016/04/03/news/teenager-arrested-over-possessing-flare-at-irish-cup-semi-final-at-windsor-park-472802/
Following conviction, could the club then sue the person responsible for the loss suffered from the fine?

bluewhitearmy
18/04/2016, 3:37 PM
IIRC, they start at €500 and get doubled for repeat offences.

Personally, whilst I do think flares and smoke bombs can add to the atmosphere, if used correctly, they get the club fined, so leave them.
They've reared their heads in the Brandywell in recent years and they've universally been awful displays. A couple of morons on ego trips will light the flare, hold it for a few seconds, then throw them away when a steward moves near. Rather than help the atmosphere, it kind of kills it.

For comparison, in the IL you get arrested for using them.
http://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2016/04/03/news/teenager-arrested-over-possessing-flare-at-irish-cup-semi-final-at-windsor-park-472802/
Following conviction, could the club then sue the person responsible for the loss suffered from the fine?

I wonder if that is for repeat offences in one season or say if there is one flare set off each season over 4 season is it 2000 still.

My own opinion is if done safely and the group/person pay the fine I have no problem with em really, but the group or whoever does it knows the risks that come with it. A few of our own group set off some flares in Sligo last season and before they did it there was a conversation about the fact they could end up being banned and that they were taking and could have no complaints if it happened to them. Personally I feel after a first offence if fine is paid a warning should be issued but if it is a constant thing repeatedly getting the club fined then really leaving them with little choice.

We had it too when there was a crowd of about 20 at an away game and flares were set off that is just stupid really as it looks terrible and is wasting money. You would imagine the club could do something to recoup their money in that IL situation.

18/04/2016, 9:18 PM
Where exactly did I say that Outspoken? I just said to Bennocelt he could decide what the others are. Where exactly did I say that they are all degenerate scum??? Please do point out where I said that as I looked back and could not find it.

Turn your sarcasm machine on pal

Town Legend
18/04/2016, 9:26 PM
Well??? That doesn't answer my question. So I'll ask again. Where did I say the others are all degenerate scum?

bluewhitearmy
18/04/2016, 9:52 PM
Well??? That doesn't answer my question. So I'll ask again. Where did I say the others are all degenerate scum?

I believe he was exaggerating for effect, hope this helps.

Town Legend
18/04/2016, 9:55 PM
I believe he was exaggerating for effect, hope this helps.

Really??? You don't say!!

NeverFeltBetter
18/04/2016, 10:05 PM
I'm sorry I said anything about the Wexford bans.

bluewhitearmy
18/04/2016, 10:09 PM
Really??? You don't say!!

Now this is just a wild guess correct me if I'm wrong, but I reckon you are an absolute joy to be around great craic altogether I imagine.

18/04/2016, 10:10 PM
I'm really enjoying this.

Town Legend
18/04/2016, 10:14 PM
Now this is just a wild guess correct me if I'm wrong, but I reckon you are an absolute joy to be around great craic altogether I imagine.

Continue on

Town Legend
18/04/2016, 10:16 PM

All good craic Nigel ;)

18/04/2016, 10:17 PM
This is going through my head as I read these posts.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hxsOXOPni0o

bluewhitearmy
18/04/2016, 10:18 PM

What are your feelings on flares Nigel get involved :p

19/04/2016, 2:13 AM
Good man Martinho. If they're looking for volunteers why don't you take up your own advice and volunteer. That way you and your mates can let off all the flares ye like and deal with the repercussions!

if you want to know I do volunteer. I sell the programme- I help out with the lotto in the shopping centre not as much as I would like to. I used to sell town lotto in the pubs. I do the stats for the Longford Town website. I also am researching into the history of the club in my own free time and am considering doing a history of the club when its all done as I have someone that am friendly with that has wrote loads of league of ireland books thats willing to come on board with me.. I write for the match programme. I also go to the programme fair in Dublin and am active in the Irish Programme Club committtee. I used to be secretary of the Longford Town Supporters Clubs . My younger brother also volunteers also and does our website.I help out with the club shop at xmas. all the lads wanted to do was to better improve atmosphere at games! So you are not going to win the argument with me my man!

Town Legend
19/04/2016, 6:40 AM
So what you're saying is you are a volunteer board member? If that's the case why didn't you step in and have a word with your fellow board members over the fining and banning of your mates? Why didn't you say for the club to look after the fines this once and you'd talk to your mates and say that letting off flares wasn't on and then everybody would be happy? Did you not stand up for your mates to your fellow board members but then come on here bashing those fellow board members? Look Marty, we go back a long way. Back as far as the start up of section O. We've had many a disagreement over football matters on bus trips to away games. And this is just another one. I'm sure we're both big and bold enough to appreciate each other's points of arguments and move on.

This is is the last time I'm going to post on this thread as its getting beyond a joke. Just so it be known, I have nothing against flares. My problem is that the idiots who let them off and then cry about been fined and banned. I don't mind the fellas who let them off and hold their hand up and pay their fine. Everyday you go through life with rules in place. If you get caught you suffer consequences simple as that. If you get away with it fair play to ya, if not then you're in bother. The same goes with these flares. Now that's my rant over with!

19/04/2016, 9:53 PM
So what you're saying is you are a volunteer board member? If that's the case why didn't you step in and have a word with your fellow board members over the fining and banning of your mates? Why didn't you say for the club to look after the fines this once and you'd talk to your mates and say that letting off flares wasn't on and then everybody would be happy? Did you not stand up for your mates to your fellow board members but then come on here bashing those fellow board members? Look Marty, we go back a long way. Back as far as the start up of section O. We've had many a disagreement over football matters on bus trips to away games. And this is just another one. I'm sure we're both big and bold enough to appreciate each other's points of arguments and move on.

This is is the last time I'm going to post on this thread as its getting beyond a joke. Just so it be known, I have nothing against flares. My problem is that the idiots who let them off and then cry about been fined and banned. I don't mind the fellas who let them off and hold their hand up and pay their fine. Everyday you go through life with rules in place. If you get caught you suffer consequences simple as that. If you get away with it fair play to ya, if not then you're in bother. The same goes with these flares. Now that's my rant over with!

I was never a board member and am not a board member. I dont think it is my place to tell lads to stop flares. I was too busy minding my nephew anyway. The issue was that Dundalk should have checked the fans coming into Oriel. My only involvement is with the Supporters Club but I am based in Dublin a lot now so dont have the time now to go to meetings. Thats why I quit as secretary.

20/04/2016, 9:26 AM
Stop, I beg.

08/07/2016, 3:10 PM
Derry now seemingly clamping down on flares now. Leaflets were handed out at the Dundalk game saying how we get fined €750 per game for them.
Now they're threatening lifetime bans. http://www.derrynow.com/soccer/derry-city-to-issue-lifetime-bans-to-fans-who-light-flares-at-brandywell/103197

NeverFeltBetter
28/08/2016, 6:41 PM
Limerick look like the next to be fined, fans setting off flares after Limerick's third this evening. FAI commentators reacting in the driest manner imaginable.

28/08/2016, 7:22 PM
Limerick look like the next to be fined, fans setting off flares after Limerick's third this evening. FAI commentators reacting in the driest manner imaginable.
They'll be demoted I'd say.

28/08/2016, 7:37 PM
Three flares all told. The first looked like it might have been burning a seat at one stage; it was burning away for a while after being dropped anyway.

Is it Limerick or UCD who get fined for that?

NeverFeltBetter
28/08/2016, 7:52 PM
Be a bit weird if they fined UCD. Unless the FAI wants every game to be a security lockdown.

28/08/2016, 8:11 PM
Think it's happened before that the home club has gotten fined for away team flares?

Could be imagining it. Certainly not unlike something the FAI would do.

jinxy lilywhite
28/08/2016, 8:15 PM
Home team gets fined as the venue is their responsibility. The away side get fined too. 50/50 I think. 500 for first offence

29/08/2016, 9:54 AM
Whether there are fines depends on whether there were searches coming in. If UCD had these in place they may well be OK. Ultimately if people are determined to get flares in they will find a way.

29/08/2016, 9:36 PM
Pretty solid searches done at the Legia game and there were no shortage of flares in the away section so true that if they want them smuggled in it will be managed somehow.

GCdfc
30/08/2016, 7:36 AM
Pretty solid searches done at the Legia game and there were no shortage of flares in the away section so true that if they want them smuggled in it will be managed somehow.

Disagree with this. I went up to get programmes early and I had a backpack. It was searched. Went to the pub again and when I came back there were loads more people entering. Not one bag was searched in the crowd that I saw and I still had the backpack.

I can't say if people were searched in the away section. There were 700-odd supporters there and loads had flares. I wouldn't necessarily say that they were searched. Sometimes stewards do things either on a safety ground (maybe afraid something would kick off if the Legia ultras were searched) or maybe they just didn't bother searching them.

30/08/2016, 10:09 AM
I was searched, as was everyone that was in the queue I was in. And it was absolutely battering down rain.

dundalkfc10
30/08/2016, 12:58 PM
I was searched going into the Aviva that night, get searched going into every LOI ground and every game i take 2 cans with me, simply put under belly and stuffed down beside the little man and the only time ive ever had them taken off me was in Windsor Park for the Irish Cup Final!

Do u realise how small a flare is? It would be nearly impossible to get

30/08/2016, 1:18 PM
So thats the reason for that walk with some going round to the shed, I though it was an SSA thing.......

ToberonaTornado
03/09/2016, 6:44 PM
I was searched going into Dalymount last night and so were all the DFC fan in front of me!(i don't do pyro btw)
almost impossible to stop it being brought into matches.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CrXqocnWIAAQLVA.jpg

04/09/2016, 9:53 AM
I was searched going into Dalymount last night and so were all the DFC fan in front of me!(i don't do pyro btw)
almost impossible to stop it being brought into matches.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CrXqocnWIAAQLVA.jpg

Everyone just shoves it down their jocks. Nothing stewards can do.

mcgonigle
04/09/2016, 8:12 PM
Anyone know why our goons decided that Friday was a good time to bring back flares and smoke bombs? We've had nothing for about a year before that

patrickccfc
04/09/2016, 11:11 PM
Anyone know why our goons decided that Frioday was a good time to bring back flares and smoke bombs? We've had nothing for about a year before that

Maybe they're thinking what's 500 euro when we have 6million??

marinobohs
05/09/2016, 10:57 AM
Anyone know why our goons decided that Friday was a good time to bring back flares and smoke bombs? We've had nothing for about a year before that

Didn't do any harm (apart from a few numpties involved that inhaled the smoke) so no big deal. Never agreed with the rule on automatic fines for flares. Definitely where it is a danger but Friday nights incident was harmless and no reason either side should be fined for it.

Sean South
06/09/2016, 11:04 AM
Agreed but that would never happen.

They had some new BBFs over from Bansley that they wanted to impress...

marinobohs
06/09/2016, 11:40 AM
Agreed but that would never happen.

They had some new BBFs over from Bansley that they wanted to impress...
Ah yes, saw the banner. Is this some hoolie link up (recall Bohs have one with wrexam and shams have one with Cardiff and/or man city).
morons united ;)

20/10/2016, 11:17 AM
Shels not happy about the protest last Saturday. They are right, but it won't do them any favours.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/1020/825535-shelbourne/

20/10/2016, 1:40 PM
Shels not happy about the protest last Saturday. They are right, but it won't do them any favours.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/1020/825535-shelbourne/

They are not right. They fail to engage with their own supporters and then call them disgusting for protesting about that?

20/10/2016, 2:47 PM
They are not right. They fail to engage with their own supporters and then call them disgusting for protesting about that?

I don't disagree with their grievance, but using flares, firing them onto the pitch and setting fire to seats is bang out of order.

20/10/2016, 4:16 PM
setting fire to seats is bang out of order.

I did find that part mystifying,

"To express our our immense dissatisfaction at the proposed demolition of Tolka Park we are going to destroy a small part of the ground ourselves..."

Whatever about the seat, whoever hit the Waterford keeper (who could have also minded his own business I'll grant you) with one is a dick head.

El-Pietro
21/10/2016, 9:09 AM
While the protest wasn't handled well, those Shels fans have some real grievances, and the club are making an absolute mess of this. They will alienate what little support they have left if they continue down this path. If they haven't already.

marinobohs
21/10/2016, 9:43 PM
While the protest wasn't handled well, those Shels fans have some real grievances, and the club are making an absolute mess of this. They will alienate what little support they have left if they continue down this path. If they haven't already.

shels involvement in Dalymount has been a joke from the start. The board agreed fully and then got cold feet when some fans kicked up.The plan B apparently (from the protesting numpties) is that the club should just buy Tolka Park and do it up :confused:. Not a pot to pee in but buy the ground and pump money into doing it up (when DCC and FAI said there would be no grants).Fines for the 'protest' should help the buy Tolka fund no end.

22/10/2016, 12:54 PM
For some unknown reason, Uefa have not taken note of the incidents involving flares at the Aviva and are taking no disciplinary action against Legia Warsaw.

Flares? What flares?

http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/onesport/cps/624/cpsprodpb/13602/production/_90826397_legiaflares.jpg