View Full Version : Smoke bombs flares etc.

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

Eminence Grise
15/08/2014, 3:45 PM
On a train heading west with dodgy wifi (and none at all when I arrive), so I've no chance of dissecting that apology for hooliganism. Other than to say that it's a mass of contradictory horse-5hit, with ill-understood political notions thrown around in a way intended to sound impressive, but reeking of an F-grade first year undergrad essay...

Neish
18/08/2014, 12:42 PM
He can throw up all the historical b*ll**** he wants, but the fact is regular fans do get caught up, & not only that but thry smash up other people property

White Horse
10/09/2014, 8:25 PM
Dundalk FC are issuing a number of permanent bans from Oriel Park for individuals who have been identified as being involved in a number of incidents in recent weeks.Dundalk FC received confirmation that we have been fined a further €500 for the use of a flare at the St Patrick’s Athletic match.

The culprits have been identified and bans are being issued. We would like to send our appreciation to those Dundalk supporters who have helped us with this issue.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/fine-dundalk-fc/

Bans were inevitable given the inability of a small number of people to change their behaviour.

10/09/2014, 8:37 PM
Fair play to the club for saying enough is enough.

dundalkfc10
10/09/2014, 8:55 PM
Thats Fantastic News

The 4 or 5 ****heads are gone!

NeverFeltBetter
10/09/2014, 8:59 PM
Trick is enforcing it now, and for more than just this season.

dundalkfc10
10/09/2014, 9:12 PM
Trick is enforcing it now, and for more than just this season.

True enough. Problem is if the club dont name them its handy for them to slip in and out of games without being spotted

DannyInvincible
10/09/2014, 9:24 PM
True enough. Problem is if the club dont name them its handy for them to slip in and out of games without being spotted

Spotting any infiltrators in the crowd shouldn't be a problem. Sure won't they be the fellas waving the lit flares?

10/09/2014, 9:31 PM
Spotting any infiltrators in the crowd shouldn't be a problem. Sure won't they be the fellas waving the lit flares?

LoL! If they do sneak in they will be keeping a low profile so no flares and problem solved!

GCdfc
11/09/2014, 9:30 AM
Photos of them should be put up in the ticket office and turnstiles. Anyone giving them a 'loan' of their season ticket should also be banned.

20/10/2014, 12:19 PM
Not LOI, apologies, but this is pretty cool:D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K1lc1RiwUgI

NeverFeltBetter
15/04/2016, 9:23 PM
According to a Wexford Youths fan FB page (can't link, mobile) the club has banned three fans for setting off pink smoke flares during the Cork game.

disgruntled
15/04/2016, 10:32 PM
Not LOI, apologies, but this is pretty cool:D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K1lc1RiwUgI

I make that display about €650.000 in FAI fines ;)

15/04/2016, 11:20 PM
According to a Wexford Youths fan FB page (can't link, mobile) the club has banned three fans for setting off pink smoke flares during the Cork game.

At their game tonight, not only are 2 of the lads they have banned wrongly identified, their response when told the group would pay the fine was ''as already have your season ticket money''. According to tweets from youths fans tonight no appeal will be heard by the club. Having gotten to know the youths lads over our years in the first division you couldn't meet a nicer bunch of lads, yet again idiots on boards are ruining the game for everyone

disgruntled
16/04/2016, 9:59 AM
At their game tonight, not only are 2 of the lads they have banned wrongly identified, their response when told the group would pay the fine was ''as already have your season ticket money''. According to tweets from youths fans tonight no appeal will be heard by the club. Having gotten to know the youths lads over our years in the first division you couldn't meet a nicer bunch of lads, yet again idiots on boards are ruining the game for everyone

I don't know what that is about.
No one here or anywhere else forced the Wexford lads into doing what they did.
They knew the rules regarding smoke bombs & flares yet they still let them off.

Don't believe everything you hear of Twitter or Facebook but I do think to ban someone for a one off offence if thats what it was is a bit heavy handed but maybe there were other incidences as well that we don't know about ?
I'm sure the truth is in there somewhere.

As regarding appeals ? Everyone has the right of appeal no matter what the situation.
Even if those involved offered to pay the fines that doesn't make it right or do away with the need for any punishment.

oldyouth
16/04/2016, 4:52 PM
I don't know what that is about.
No one here or anywhere else forced the Wexford lads into doing what they did.
They knew the rules regarding smoke bombs & flares yet they still let them off.

Don't believe everything you hear of Twitter or Facebook but I do think to ban someone for a one off offence if thats what it was is a bit heavy handed but maybe there were other incidences as well that we don't know about ?
I'm sure the truth is in there somewhere.

As regarding appeals ? Everyone has the right of appeal no matter what the situation.
Even if those involved offered to pay the fines that doesn't make it right or do away with the need for any punishment.

Excellent post

16/04/2016, 11:10 PM
It was their first offence and as I said 2 of the lads did not even let off the pyro according to the group. Clubs need to realise that banning orders will cost them far more financially in the long run than a small fine, I've seen it first hand at my own club. As for the right of appeal, they were told straight out last night it wouldn't be entertained as te club need to be seen to be hardline on such issues or other clubs will think Ferrycarrig is free game for letting off pyro which is a ridiculous argument. Anyway not my battle to fight thankfully just hope the good guys In Row H get sorted, top lads.

gufcfan
17/04/2016, 3:10 AM
There's blame on both sides here.

As stupid as I believe the pyro fines are, a club like Wexford can't afford unexpected fines for things like that.

The way they handled if, it true, is very wrong, but it doesn't change the fact that had they identified the correct people, it would have been justified.

They really would have nothing to answer for if they didn't make such clowns of themselves banning the wrong people.

Costing the club fines is very serious imo. If it's not the first incident, a season ban is harsh but not ludicrous.

We can't forget that in all of this, the FAI are equally to blame, threatening these fines in the first place.

Town Legend
17/04/2016, 6:09 AM
Are you still waffling on about this Outspoken?? The Town board were sick of paying fines for idiots letting off flares and decided it was time those idiots paid the fines themselves. And until they do so they will be banned from home games.

17/04/2016, 9:29 AM
Are you still waffling on about this Outspoken?? The Town board were sick of paying fines for idiots letting off flares and decided it was time those idiots paid the fines themselves. And until they do so they will be banned from home games.

sick of paying fines lol, pyro show every week at CCS. If people can't see the effect those banning orders had on the atmosphere and the attendances then their heads are well and truly up their h0les. Hopefully last night is a turning point for the club with a much better atmosphere in the ground thanks to the return of a fan who was wrongly accused.

Town Legend
17/04/2016, 11:01 AM
You've got your head up your hole outspoken if you think the club were only fined the once. They've had several fines over the last 2/3 seasons from idiots letting them off. We've had this discussion a few weeks back and you're still waffling on about it. You just can't seem to let it go. And fair play to Wexford for standing up to their own idiots down there.

17/04/2016, 12:36 PM
You've got your head up your hole outspoken if you think the club were only fined the once. They've had several fines over the last 2/3 seasons from idiots letting them off. We've had this discussion a few weeks back and you're still waffling on about it. You just can't seem to let it go. And fair play to Wexford for standing up to their own idiots down there.

The club has lost far more through loss of dinner dance tickets, gate returns, jersey sales, lotto tickets and so on. #BiggerPicture

blueblood
17/04/2016, 1:21 PM
I always thought it was the home team that got the fine, what's the harm in a few flares anyway, when done right it can add a lot to the atmosphere and god knows sometimes this is badly needed, how does the LOI compare to other leagues for fines? Is this really just another format of income for the FAI? Are the FAI just being ultra cautious for the health and safety of fans and/or league (ha ha I know). Some people on here automatically think 'oh flares are banned so people deserve to get banned' this league badly needs some excitement to attract more fans! Just because something is banned doesn't automatically make it wrong!

Town Legend
17/04/2016, 1:23 PM
Childish behaviour by the sheep following the idiots who think they can let off flares and get away with it. Get over it.

chickennuggets
17/04/2016, 1:28 PM
sick of paying fines lol, pyro show every week at CCS. If people can't see the effect those banning orders had on the atmosphere and the attendances then their heads are well and truly up their h0les. Hopefully last night is a turning point for the club with a much better atmosphere in the ground thanks to the return of a fan who was wrongly accused.

I think it's fair to say the improved atmosphere was due to an improved performance. I don't think anyone cared about one fan returning, except for yourself and a few others. That being said, I can't wait for the Town to buy a few world class players in the summer with the increased revenue coming from this glorious return

Ezeikial
17/04/2016, 1:34 PM
Hopefully last night is a turning point for the club with a much better atmosphere in the ground thanks to the return of a fan who was wrongly accused.

Wow - a single fan creates an obvious positive change in the atmosphere in the ground?

Can he (she) be persuaded to stand in the next Dail election?

Town Legend
17/04/2016, 1:41 PM
Chickennuggets, you must of being late in last night as there was a lap of honour for this returning saviour. TC even said after the game that only for him the club were finished!

17/04/2016, 3:09 PM
Yes. A lack of flares is obviously what keeps the crowds away from our glorious stadia... :rolleyes:

17/04/2016, 4:04 PM
It works in other countries without too much bother, some on here need to lay of the self righteousness.

17/04/2016, 5:20 PM
It works in other countries without too much bother, some on here need to lay of the self righteousness.
It works here too when everyone pays their way

Any fines, the group pays them. If they don't, then they get banned. Simple solution

17/04/2016, 5:25 PM

Any fines, the group pays them. If they don't, then they get banned. Simple solution

But that's the point, the Wexford lads offered to pay them straight away. I know you are taking In general though and I agree with you.

17/04/2016, 7:17 PM

You would think. Simple solutions dont always work in the LOI

Town Legend
17/04/2016, 7:20 PM
Flares are banned from grounds. Simple solution = Don't bring flares into grounds!!

blueblood
17/04/2016, 7:22 PM

Why are they banned tho! are they that much of a problem, basically the whole league is a disaster and a fella lighting flares or smoke bombs is the least of the leagues problems...

17/04/2016, 7:55 PM
Flares are banned from grounds. Simple solution = Don't bring flares into grounds!!

And how is that working? :D

Even the FAI/RTE use some pyro footage in their promos.....

Town Legend
17/04/2016, 8:11 PM
And how is that working? :D

Even the FAI/RTE use some pyro footage in their promos.....

I didn't say it was working. But you're one of these boys that are standing up for the Longford idiots who let flares off! :rolleyes:Yourself and your mate Outspoken need to let it go. They were wrong and are now suffering the consequences.

bluewhitearmy
17/04/2016, 8:14 PM
How much are the fines? Fairly big some of em aren't they?

17/04/2016, 8:15 PM
Why are they banned tho! are they that much of a problem, basically the whole league is a disaster and a fella lighting flares or smoke bombs is the least of the leagues problems...

They're banned because they're illegal. You can't even buy them here without a sailing licence

It's that simple. We all know they can be got and we all know they can be used safely but everyone knows the rules so no one can complain if they get fined/banned etc

Town Legend
17/04/2016, 8:19 PM
http://www.thefa.com/~/media/files/pdf/the-fa-2013-14/pyro-facts.ashx?la=en

Town Legend
17/04/2016, 8:28 PM
https://www.fai.ie/sites/default/files/atoms/files/FAI%20Rule%20Book%20Effective%204th%20March%202015 .pdf

Page 53 is rules for spectators. Away team is responsible for away fans. Fines imposed for flares and other forms of misconduct.

blueblood
17/04/2016, 10:09 PM
http://www.thefa.com/~/media/files/pdf/the-fa-2013-14/pyro-facts.ashx?la=en

Fair enough I suppose but I think it's the fai making a mountain out of a molehill milking it to make a few quid thus putting the pressure on clubs, is it the same for smoke bombs are they classed as pyrotechnics?genuine question

17/04/2016, 10:19 PM

the way you are talking TownLegend you are a board member in the making! they are always looking for volunteers why dont you talk to them?
If used correctly they do add some atmo to grounds and I dont understand this condescending attitude creeping into this thread.

Town Legend
17/04/2016, 10:31 PM
Good man Martinho. If they're looking for volunteers why don't you take up your own advice and volunteer. That way you and your mates can let off all the flares ye like and deal with the repercussions!

Town Legend
17/04/2016, 10:33 PM
Fair enough I suppose but I think it's the fai making a mountain out of a molehill milking it to make a few quid thus putting the pressure on clubs, is it the same for smoke bombs are they classed as pyrotechnics?genuine question

Yeah smoke bombs included. I know the English FA even classify children's sparklers as banned fireworks!

bluewhitearmy
17/04/2016, 10:42 PM
Yeah smoke bombs included. I know the English FA classify even children's sparklers as banned fireworks!

Monaghan reported us for pyro for this one night, but to be fair they decided to get 3 innocent lads arrested on made up racism complaints too that night the lovely people that they are.

18/04/2016, 5:57 AM
I didn't say it was working. But you're one of these boys that are standing up for the Longford idiots who let flares off! :rolleyes:Yourself and your mate Outspoken need to let it go. They were wrong and are now suffering the consequences.

Think you need to let it go. It happens. I have already seen pyro this season in the league and it was great fun and added to the atmosphere. You can moan and ban and go on about "de rules" all you want but its not going to stop it.

By the way basel had some pyro yesterday, dont see anyone moaning, must be an irish thing

Town Legend
18/04/2016, 6:02 AM
Why do I need to let it go? It's ye boys that are constantly bringing it up and crying about how the board have accused the wrong people!!! Lol :rolleyes:

18/04/2016, 6:12 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHGB1wODkIs

"ye boys".......eh, i dont support Longford......:rolleyes:

Town Legend
18/04/2016, 6:27 AM
Did I say you supported Longford??? I was on about you, martinho and outspoken for standing up for the idiots who let off flares. Rules are rules. If you're not going to play by them get the **** out. And when that happens don't be crying like spoilt little brats over how things are dealt with!!

18/04/2016, 6:29 AM
Did I say you supported Longford??? I was on about you, martinho and outspoken for standing up for the idiots who let off flares. Rules are rules. If you're not going to play by them get the **** out. And when that happens don't be crying like spoilt little brats over how things are dealt with!!

I only gave my opinion on pyro, didnt talk about anybody, or people getting banned. Calm down, calm down, lol:D