View Full Version : Noel Hunt

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

sligobhoy67
19/11/2007, 1:18 PM
Possibly one for Setanta subscribers. The question is - if he was playing in the EPL would he be in the Ireland squad?

19/11/2007, 1:22 PM
Possibly one for Setanta subscribers. The question is - if he was playing in the EPL would he be in the Ireland squad?

Poor logic as he's not good enough to play in the EPL

sligobhoy67
19/11/2007, 1:28 PM
Poor logic as he's not good enough to play in the EPL

i've seen quite a bit of him this season and I would disagree with that.

19/11/2007, 1:35 PM
Do you think, as a Celtic fan, you're over estimating the SPL?

Remember Andy Kirk (I think) being top scorer with Hearts before getting his dream move to Boston?

Young Stokes had a far better impact in the SPl but he's barely registered in England.

sligobhoy67
19/11/2007, 1:46 PM
Do you think, as a Celtic fan, you're over estimating the SPL?

Remember Andy Kirk (I think) being top scorer with Hearts before getting his dream move to Boston?

Young Stokes had a far better impact in the SPl but he's barely registered in England.

Possibly and I take your point with Stokes but at Falkirk he played every game and upfront on his own which isnt the case at Sunderland.

I also remember Henri Camara who couldnt get a sniff at Celtic and did very well when he moved to the EPL = same goes for Ross Wallace.

Have you seen him play this season?

19/11/2007, 1:55 PM
Hunt? Yep, a couple of times. I’ve nothing against the lad and obviously I’d be all for the ex LOI lads. I just don’t think he’s good enough for the EPL. That’s no slight on the lad as it’s a top top league.

Oh and there’s a reason why Stokes doesn’t play up front every game for Sunderland ;)

sligobhoy67
19/11/2007, 2:05 PM
Hunt? Yep, a couple of times. I’ve nothing against the lad and obviously I’d be all for the ex LOI lads. I just don’t think he’s good enough for the EPL. That’s no slight on the lad as it’s a top top league.

Oh and there’s a reason why Stokes doesn’t play up front every game for Sunderland ;)

To

the same reason that Ross Wallace has made more appearances for Sunderland in the year he has been there than the four years he was at Celtic? :rolleyes:

cavan_fan
19/11/2007, 2:09 PM
To

the same reason that Ross Wallace has made more appearances for Sunderland in the year he has been there than the four years he was at Celtic? :rolleyes:

Celtic are of course on a level with the mid table EPL teams. However the other teams arent. Can you think of anyone who has gone from non old firm SPL teams to perform well in the EPL?

19/11/2007, 2:15 PM

If you were playing in the EPL you would in the Ireland squad. Sorry but stupid question...

19/11/2007, 2:18 PM
Celtic are of course on a level with the mid table EPL teams. However the other teams arent
I'd agree with that. Rangers too (obviously enough). I actually meant to point that out earlier

They'd be challenging too after a couple of years in the EPL

sligobhoy67
19/11/2007, 2:19 PM
Celtic are of course on a level with the mid table EPL teams. However the other teams arent. Can you think of anyone who has gone from non old firm SPL teams to perform well in the EPL?

Craig Gordon!?

sligobhoy67
19/11/2007, 2:22 PM
If you were playing in the EPL you would in the Ireland squad. Sorry but stupid question...

its not a stupid question and you are either naive or being deliberately disingenuous, disengenious, disgenginuos (feck it!) if you dont get it!

19/11/2007, 2:22 PM
Craig Gordon!?

he's only been in the Premiership a few months. Hardly enough time to judge.

19/11/2007, 2:23 PM
Can you think of anyone who has gone from non old firm SPL teams to perform well in the EPL?

James McFadden hasn't done too badly for himself, but I take your point

19/11/2007, 2:30 PM
James McFadden hasn't done too badly for himself, but I take your point

There's going to be a few of course. But they would be the cream of the crop (as Gordon is). Hunt is not exceptional in any way in the SPL and would not merit a move to an EPL team

19/11/2007, 2:53 PM
Hunt is not exceptional in any way in the SPL and would not merit a move to an EPL team

As simple as it gets. I'd eat my hat if Hunt ever got a move like that. Honest player who works hard and does reasonably well but ultimately lacking quite a bit of what it requires to be a top player.

cavan_fan
19/11/2007, 2:57 PM
As simple as it gets. I'd eat my hat if Hunt ever got a move like that. Honest player who works hard and does reasonably well but ultimately lacking quite a bit of what it requires to be a top player.

Though the same could have been said about Stephen till recently

sligobhoy67
19/11/2007, 2:57 PM

Like I said recent games I have seen on Setanta that I have seen suggest otherwise, especially the game against Rangers

19/11/2007, 2:58 PM

Yes, but then he grew his hair. Am I getting my threads mixed up?

19/11/2007, 3:45 PM

Fair enough but Stephen is not a top player either. He is a better player than his brother but not a great by any means.

Also Stephen did not "earn" a move to a Premeirship club. He progressed along the way with them and only last season cemented his place as a regular.

Oink
19/11/2007, 4:07 PM
In my best Georgey Hamilton impression *cough *cough

"A little bit of history for the folks out there, Noel's uncle Tom Hunt won the very first know your sport, recieving the prize of being flown to the Olympics in Seoul in 1988."

Take that Jim Beglin!

Drumcondra 69er
19/11/2007, 4:15 PM
In my best Georgey Hamilton impression *cough *cough

"A little bit of history for the folks out there, Noel's uncle Tom Hunt won the very first know your sport, recieving the prize of being flown to the Olympics in Seoul in 1988."

Take that Jim Beglin!

A classic from George, ****ed myself laughing when he mentioned that when Stephen came on. Didn't he actually say something along the lines of 'There's always been a history of sporting excellence in the family', thought he was going to say a relation had competed in the Olympics or something!!

Ceirtlis
19/11/2007, 8:37 PM
To answer the question about Noel Hunt, he is not good enough for the premiership or Ireland, he is a mid table spl striker no more no less.

Dave77
19/11/2007, 10:02 PM
agree with ceirtlis, saw him play for dunfermline regularly, against the auld firm normally does well, or games against Falkirk (dunfermline rivals). Against everyone else always looks poor. Doesnt score enough.

blackholesun
19/11/2007, 10:03 PM
Noel Hunt is a lively enough player. He has progressed well since going over to Scotland. I wouldnt be surprised if ended up being a getting a few caps eventually being drafted into the squad from time to time. His brother also progressed well over a number of years and is a now a good addition to the Ireland team.

bhs

Qwerty
19/11/2007, 10:16 PM
To answer the question about Noel Hunt, he is not good enough for the premiership or Ireland, he is a mid table spl striker no more no less.

Which really means League 1 or League 2 in English terms which is about right, can't imagine him playing in the Championship. He has only been called into the B squad as he plays in Scotland, it's a bit of B caps for the boys really.

Oink
20/11/2007, 8:32 AM
A classic from George, ****ed myself laughing when he mentioned that when Stephen came on. Didn't he actually say something along the lines of 'There's always been a history of sporting excellence in the family', thought he was going to say a relation had competed in the Olympics or something!!

Yeah something along those lines, he comes out with some gems our George. I thought it was so random when I heard him say it, but turns out Hammy hosted "Know Your Sport!".

cityman
20/11/2007, 7:28 PM
I have to disagree with Ceirtlis and Dave 77. Noel Hunt is playing for Dundee United side that are in fact joint 2nd, (with Hibs and Rangers), not mid table spl team! He has also scored 8 in 15 matches which is a decent return in any league, considering he has played most of those games as a wide player in a 3 man attack, or 4-5-1 as well.
United have only conceeded 1 goal at home in spl to date, (Rangers penalty!), some of that is down to Hunt( 3 man of match) who does work his socks off. He plays in front of Sean Dillon,(also in B squad), and tracks back every time. Also a mention for Willo Flood (3 man of match), who is on a season loan from Man City and John Daly just back from a long injury I saw United play recently and Hunt took his goal very well and came very close to a 2nd.
Craig Levein was recently in Dalmount at the u/23 match probably looking to add to the Irish group at Tannadice!
Hunt got a good write-up in todays Star,(p 77) by Mark McCadden.

sligobhoy67
20/11/2007, 9:56 PM
Noel Hunt is a lively enough player. He has progressed well since going over to Scotland. I wouldnt be surprised if ended up being a getting a few caps eventually being drafted into the squad from time to time. His brother also progressed well over a number of years and is a now a good addition to the Ireland team.

bhs

well to be fair one of the games I saw him perform in was against the Bears, he was on fire that day and received the subsequent wrath of the Bears in the crowd and taunts of being a "fenian bassa" - which is always a good sign of having played well!

Has he really got a call up for the B international? link?

sligobhoy67
21/11/2007, 6:57 PM
didnt see the B international - how did Hunt play?

cityman
21/11/2007, 9:49 PM
Was reading match report and Hunt had a couple of chances saved by Scotland keeper Smith. He was replaced early in the 2nd half. Sean Dillon played the full match. Not seen any highlights just yet At least there were some goals this time!

sligobhoy67
25/11/2007, 9:05 AM
Was reading match report and Hunt had a couple of chances saved by Scotland keeper Smith. He was replaced early in the 2nd half. Sean Dillon played the full match. Not seen any highlights just yet At least there were some goals this time!

UPDATE ON HUNT WATCH

He didnt play this weekend - did he pick up a knock in the B international, possibly the reason he was taken off in the match

p.s. Dillon got sent off!

cityman
17/12/2007, 2:57 PM
Hunt scored Dundee Uniteds' 2nd goal in ther 3-0 win at St Mirren. Willo Flood added the third near the end. Nice to get back to winning ways after 2 defeats in a row. Roll on Gretna and Celtic.

17/12/2007, 3:02 PM
Pretty sure I just read a rumour linking Hunt with St Pats. I'd be very surprised if it happened though.

So I did. Right here on foot (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=840302#post840302).

17/12/2007, 3:13 PM
Oh and BTW if he signs for Pats, its a disgrace he's not in the Ireland squad

cityman
17/12/2007, 6:43 PM
Cant see Hunt signing for St Pats.( or any other LOI team) I believe he is on very good wages at Dundee United and scored again at the weekend.
Dont know about the homesick(he has been in Scotland for a number of years now), there is a good Irish number at United( Dillon, Flood, Daly-prob more to come)
Hope he and the others stay. Its the best season for United in some years and long may it cotinue.

soccerc
17/12/2007, 6:50 PM
Pretty sure I just read a rumour linking Hunt with St Pats. I'd be very surprised if it happened though.

So I did. Right here on foot (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=840302#post840302).

Not a chance in the short term, he's just bought a house in Dundee

finnpark
17/12/2007, 7:05 PM
The fact is that the Scottish and Irish leagues are extremely similar in standard bar Rangers and Celtic who are away ahead of both sets of teams. Even they are not in the same calibar as the top 7 or 8 teams in England. Hunt has just broken into his team I beleive and if you think that hes ahead of Doyle, Long, Murphy, Stokes, Keane etc then you are not in the real world. Thats my opinion.

Defenders is another issue especially centre backs.

17/12/2007, 8:11 PM
Hunt has just broken into his team I beleive and if you think that hes ahead of Doyle, Long, Murphy, Stokes, Keane etc then you are not in the real world. Thats my opinion.
Wouldn't say he's just broken into the side, Dundee have played 20 games this season, Hunt has started 18 of these and only been substituted twice.
I'd have him ahead of Murphy, but probably behind Morrison at the moment.

sligobhoy67
19/12/2007, 7:56 AM
Wouldn't say he's just broken into the side, Dundee have played 20 games this season, Hunt has started 18 of these and only been substituted twice.
I'd have him ahead of Murphy, but probably behind Morrison at the moment.

another good performance and goal for Hunt at the weekend - the bandwagon rolls on!!

sligobhoy67
01/01/2008, 4:27 PM
another good performance and goal for Hunt at the weekend - the bandwagon rolls on!!

looks like all my talking up of Hunt has got him noticed - by Blackpool :rolleyes:

AustinoAsprilla
02/01/2008, 2:05 PM
Not good enough for Ireland quite simply because of his position... Now if he had got 8 goals in 15 form left back, he might have a chance..

But we actually have a lot of good not great strikers who are all better then him. Prob 10 off the top of my head who would be picked ahead of him.

Keane, Doyle, Long, Morrison, Stokes, Murphy etc. Even Connolly, Folan and O'Donovan etc.

cityman
02/01/2008, 4:39 PM
Dundee United win 4-1 vs Hearts today with Noel Hunt getting his 3rd goal in last 2 games. This was a game that United had asked to be postponed but the premier league refused.
Hearts also had 3 players sent off.

aidz1
06/01/2008, 1:26 PM
i see on the ceefax that hunts club has laughed off blackpools offer of stg£175k for him

06/01/2008, 2:36 PM
Like I said in the Brazil squad thread, if he scored that many in the Championship, people would be clamouring for him to be given a call up. If Trundle deserved a chance for scoring less in League One, I don't see why Hunt at least deserves a look. What could count against him is that he's another short, out and out striker who doesn't offer much of a physical presence.

sligobhoy67
11/01/2008, 3:01 PM
Like I said in the Brazil squad thread, if he scored that many in the Championship, people would be clamouring for him to be given a call up. If Trundle deserved a chance for scoring less in League One, I don't see why Hunt at least deserves a look. What could count against him is that he's another short, out and out striker who doesn't offer much of a physical presence.

true - if he moves to Wolves or West Brom and plays equally well these same gimps will be fawning all over him

cavan_fan
11/01/2008, 7:12 PM

Trundle didnt deserve a chance so didnt get one. What does Hunt add to the Ireland squad. At best he'll be a fringe player (no-one is arguing he is better than Keane or Doyle are they).

jmurphyc
11/01/2008, 7:21 PM
Trundle didnt deserve a chance so didnt get one. What does Hunt add to the Ireland squad. At best he'll be a fringe player (no-one is arguing he is better than Keane or Doyle are they).

But we could do with some back up strikers. We lack good options other than those two. There's absolutely no harm in having a look at him (although TBH I haven't actually seen him play yet).

11/01/2008, 8:32 PM
Trundle didnt deserve a chance so didnt get one.At the time, all we really had up front was Keane and Morrison, and the Doc coming off the bench. Trundle was playing some great football and scoring plenty of goals in what is now League 1. I still think that, at the very least, Kerr should have called him into the squad to take a look at him. If nothing else, it would have been a change to the squad. Kerr's squads, starting XI and tactics became increasingly predicatable as his tenure continued.

What does Hunt add to the Ireland squad. At best he'll be a fringe player (no-one is arguing he is better than Keane or Doyle are they).Agreed, Hunt would be unlikely to start, if Keane or Doyle were both fit. But he could be a decent squad player. I'd certainly have him ahead of Stokes and Connolly at the moment, but not ahead of Clinton Morrison.

cityman
23/07/2008, 8:55 PM
Noel Hunt has joined his brother at Reading for a fee of £600,000. Not bad considering he was bought for £50,000 two years ago. Best fo luck to him, Im sure he will do very well. He might even get a call-up to the Irish side!:)