View Full Version : Noel Hunt
stiffler
24/07/2008, 5:27 PM
It would be good to see him make the breakthrough at international level.
Who was the last set of brothers to play for Ireland at the same time?
seanfhear
24/07/2008, 9:48 PM
Good luck to the lad.Everyone needs a bit of luck when they move to a new club.
SilkCut
25/07/2008, 6:02 AM
Celtic are of course on a level with the mid table EPL teams. However the other teams arent. Can you think of anyone who has gone from non old firm SPL teams to perform well in the EPL?
Colin Hendry, Gary MacAllister, Kevin Gallacher, Christian Dailly? I do get your point, I'm just tired of that question. There are quite a few who have done well but even if there were many more it does not mean the SPL is as good as the EPL just that they produce good players every now and then.
Drumcondra 69er
25/07/2008, 8:49 AM
It would be good to see him make the breakthrough at international level.
Who was the last set of brothers to play for Ireland at the same time?
David and Pierce O'Leary I reckon?
Think Chirs Houghton's brother played underage but never made seniors. Gary Kelly (the keeper) was in a couple of squads with Alan but obviously couldn't play at the same time and never got capped in any case.
Brady's brother Ray was capped but it was years before Liam.
minty
25/07/2008, 11:34 AM
Ray won his caps well before Liam came on board
third policeman
25/07/2008, 1:14 PM
Ray O'Brien (Notts County) and Fran O'Brien (Bohs and Vancouver Whitecaps I think) were playing at the same time and were both capped. Doubt whether they ever played together though.
Chris Hughton's brother was Henry. Think he played for Orient. Saw him play for Ireland B at Anfield against England. Sheedy and Whelan were in the Ireland team. I cant remember the score which is a bit worrying.:confused:
Torn-Ado
27/07/2008, 6:48 PM
Im after meeting the bold Noel Hunt, Steven Hunt and Shane Long in the pub a few hours ago. They were watching the hurling. I think Reading have a few friendlies aginst halmstad and the like.
I resisted asking them any questions about potential transfers and the like.
you should definitely have asked him,it would have been interesting
richieos
31/01/2009, 3:56 PM
noel hunt not even on the bench today for reading. anybody know if hes injured?
31/01/2009, 4:02 PM
He was subbed because of injury in the game against Wolves so probably.
31/01/2009, 5:58 PM
Yeah, he's still injured since the Wolves game
from http://www.readingchronicle.co.uk/articles/2/9084
Up front, Lita was handed his first league start since the 4-2 defeat at Charlton way back in August with Noel Hunt sidelined with an ankle injury he picked up in the Wolves win.
18/07/2009, 7:00 PM
Hunt's recovery from injury 2 weeks ahead of schedule: http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/17072009/58/championship-hunt-training.html
18/07/2009, 7:27 PM
I met Noel and his brother, Richie Byrne and a few others in Vegas last month. Didn't even know he was injured. Very nice fella. Stephen kept himself to himself though as we took over one of the pubs with a sing song. :)
dr_peepee
19/07/2009, 10:12 AM
I met Noel and his brother, Richie Byrne and a few others in Vegas last month. Didn't even know he was injured. Very nice fella. Stephen kept himself to himself though as we took over one of the pubs with a sing song. :)
"It was about 3 in the morning and we were looking for 100 brown M&M's to fill a brandy glass or Ozzy wouldn't go on stage that night. So Jeff Beck popped his head around the corner and mentioned there's a little sweet shop on the edge of town. So we go. And it's closed. So there's me, Keith Moon and David Crosby breaking into this little sweet shop right."
19/07/2009, 11:44 AM
Does that mean I was talking to myself? :)
Wangball
20/07/2009, 11:48 AM
"It was about 3 in the morning and we were looking for 100 brown M&M's to fill a brandy glass or Ozzy wouldn't go on stage that night. So Jeff Beck popped his head around the corner and mentioned there's a little sweet shop on the edge of town. So we go. And it's closed. So there's me, Keith Moon and David Crosby breaking into this little sweet shop right."
Love it.............:D
07/09/2009, 10:33 PM
Got sent this today, can't find the original article, so take it with the standard measure of sodium chloride
Question and answer session with Jimmy Calderwood in the paper today.
Said that Noel Hunt was off his head. I realise the lad used to wind up
the huns and got several booked in the one game. Turns out he got
shamrocks specially sewn into his boots for the game at Ibrox.
07/09/2009, 10:36 PM
Got sent this today, can't find the original article, so take it with the standard measure of sodium chloride
classy lads, those Hunt brothers... :D
Razors left peg
08/09/2009, 8:22 AM
the guy only did what most Celtic fans would love to. I remember one game in particular where Barry Ferguson got sent off, Hunt tapped him on the shoulder and said "the dressing room's that way".... sounds petty as hell, but as a Celtic fan it did bring a smile to my face :D
Drumcondra 69er
29/10/2009, 2:34 PM
Definitely out for the play offs and the rest of the season, had surgery yesterday.
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/hunt-is-out-for-season-1927933.html
Would have to bring Morrison back if I was picking the squad but doubt Trap will.....
29/10/2009, 2:46 PM
On the assumption that Folan, Best and N. Hunt are out, who will the forwards be?
Doyle
Keane
Keogh
Long - has barely figured this season
Morrisson - I agree, should be in squad now
Stokes - wouldn't want to be depending on him
Murphy - was in previous squads but has done F all lately (if ever)
Reid - not as a forward per se, but given Trap's plan B of a big man is now out the window
29/10/2009, 2:49 PM
Don't rule Best out
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11688_5659479,00.html
Don't think Hunt is much of a loss really.
29/10/2009, 4:52 PM
Hunt is no loss what so ever!
Lenny82
29/10/2009, 6:11 PM
Trap has a chance here to call Andy Reid back into the squad and stay true to his word that there is no bad blood between them and his ommission was purely tactical. He has said that he see's A. Reid as a man behind the main striker but didn't need him as we had big men up front in Doyle, Best and Folan. With Best and Folan likely to be out, as well as Hunt, nows the easiest way for him to bury the hatchet and shut the press up at the same time!!!
Wexford Delboy
29/10/2009, 11:37 PM
Trap has a chance here to call Andy Reid back into the squad and stay true to his word that there is no bad blood between them and his ommission was purely tactical. He has said that he see's A. Reid as a man behind the main striker but didn't need him as we had big men up front in Doyle, Best and Folan. With Best and Folan likely to be out, as well as Hunt, nows the easiest way for him to bury the hatchet and shut the press up at the same time!!!
so we lose 3 strikers and you want to call up a midfielder?
29/10/2009, 11:51 PM
so we lose 3 strikers and you want to call up a midfielder?
On that subject.....I am pertrified that Trap is going to call up someone like David Connolly.
30/10/2009, 12:06 AM
On that subject.....I am pertrified that Trap is going to call up someone like David Connolly.
i doubt trap knows who he is... bring in delap :D
feck andy ried delap would be as usefull. but realisticly id be quite happy if he gave stokes or morrison a cal up as they both have points to prove
Colbert Report
30/10/2009, 12:25 AM
I wouldn't mind seeing Morrison in the squad, he's been here before.
I can't figure out why Delap can't get a look into the provisional squad at least.
30/10/2009, 8:02 AM
I wouldn't mind seeing Morrison in the squad, he's been here before.
I can't figure out why Delap can't get a look into the provisional squad at least.
trap only found out he was irish at christmas:confused:
14/08/2010, 3:09 PM
On the bench for Reading today. They might need him as they're 1-0 down at half time to Portsmouth.
14/08/2010, 5:01 PM
haven't seen it mentioned yet, Noel Hunt has a twitter account that he updates pretty regularly: http://twitter.com/boyhunt
15/08/2010, 8:58 AM
Sounds like a child porn account.
SaucyJack
15/08/2010, 3:51 PM
Sounds like a child porn account.
yeah, a very poor choice for an account name, I think he's gonna get alot of strange posts, reminds me of the Cartman/Nambla episode from Southpark.
theworm2345
30/05/2011, 3:11 PM
Get in!
EDIT: Its an own goal, don't care though
Sullivinho
30/05/2011, 3:14 PM
Very tidy finish from Noel. Brothers Stephen and Mike will be pleased.
Edit: OG. Which irritates Mike.
30/05/2011, 3:17 PM
Well just tuned in at half time to find Reading 3-0 down.
Reading got a goal back, through Hunt or an own goal.
I thought it was over but the second half might be interesting.
30/05/2011, 3:18 PM
3:2!!!!!!!!
TrapAPony
30/05/2011, 3:18 PM
3-2 now..Hunt with the 1st & Mills with a header from a corner
Noelys Guitar
30/05/2011, 3:38 PM
Very strange decision to take off Hunt. Looked the most likely player to get Reading an equaliser.
30/05/2011, 3:42 PM
needless penalty 4:2 looks to have put an end to Readings fightback. Really stupid.
14/04/2012, 2:20 AM
Well about a year since a post in this thread but worth mentioning Reading are effectively promoted so
Hunt will be in the Premiership next season assuming he is not sold.
He only has 8 goals and 6 assists but Readings goals seem to be widely distributed (top scorer is 11 goals).
Is there a case for a place? (no rhyme intended).
Colbert Report
14/04/2012, 6:10 AM
Remember the time this clown tried to claim Robbie's equalizer away to Italy? Don't think he'll be making any appearances in the Premiership next season. I'm very excited to see how Ian Harte does though. He's going in the fantasy premier league team for sure.
14/04/2012, 9:08 AM
Hunt, Harte, Tabb and Pearce - any other Irish?
Of these, how many would feature if Reading get promoted?
TrapAPony
14/04/2012, 9:37 AM
Hunt, Harte, Tabb and Pearce - any other Irish?
Karl Sheppard
Yard of Pace
14/04/2012, 9:55 AM
Karl Sheppard
And Sean Morrison, a Centre half on loan to Huddersfield at the moment and getting excellent reviews.
seanfhear
14/04/2012, 11:02 AM
Brian McDermott has done some job at Reading as has Chris Hughton at Bermingham (When you consider the number of first team players that have left that club; Hughtons has done a miraculous job)
14/04/2012, 12:41 PM
I was never convinced by Hughton. I thought he was too quiet and too compliant to Brian Kerr's occasional brain farts as Irish boss. He should have grabbed Kerr by the throat when he made that change at home to Israel for example. But what Hughton has done so far this season is top class.
Always liked reading as a club, considering they are effectively promoted now, shame the likes of Doyle and hunt aren't with them. A return perhaps?? Unlikely, both will do well to get a move to a premiership club next yr.
IMO noel hunt is an honest good player but not good enough for top flight
14/04/2012, 10:43 PM
I guess I owe an apology to the Reading Irish I omitted, apart from Harte perhaps who has retired.
Personally I would be very reluctant to break up a winning squad upon promotion.
I am from the "if it ain't broke don't fix it" school of management, as by the time you have fixed it
will never work again.
theworm2345
14/04/2012, 10:50 PM
I guess I owe an apology to the Reading Irish I omitted, apart from Harte perhaps who has retired.
Personally I would be very reluctant to break up a winning squad upon promotion.
I am from the "if it ain't broke don't fix it" school of management, as by the time you have fixed it
will never work again.
Harte has retired? From what?