View Full Version : What to get the missus for Christmas?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

lionelhutz
15/11/2007, 4:15 PM
I know its a bit early but i think it would be good to have an early brainstorming session on this topic!!

I'll get the ball rolling - trip to Paris (i've already done this one so it's no good to me!!)

Eire06
15/11/2007, 4:16 PM
Nintendo DS lite

15/11/2007, 4:26 PM
Your missus, is it?

How about a new bicycle (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=815217&postcount=1)?

15/11/2007, 4:59 PM
Bike is a good idea.
I'm with the missus a half-decade and she spilled the beans recently she was a bit upset at never receiving a bit of jewellery.
I was going to get Dr. Whatevers brain training but do i have to get a Nintendo DS for that?
Christmas is always great for me as my girlfriend earns far far more than I. :):):)

Eire06
15/11/2007, 5:05 PM
Bike is a good idea.
I'm with the missus a half-decade and she spilled the beans recently she was a bit upset at never receiving a bit of jewellery.
I was going to get Dr. Whatevers brain training but do i have to get a Nintendo DS for that?
Christmas is always great for me as my girlfriend earns far far more than I. :):):)

Ammm get her Jewellery if you want to see another half-decade with her.....

Ya you need to get a DS to play brain Training on it

15/11/2007, 5:16 PM
Jewellery is like clothes only worse especially when she's fussy, won't help me out and wants it to be a surprise.
I suppose she's no right to complain afterwards though.

Eire06
15/11/2007, 5:19 PM
Jewellery is like clothes only worse especially when she's fussy, won't help me out and wants it to be a surprise.
I suppose she's no right to complain afterwards though.

Keep the reciept ;)
White gold is always good avoid getting a ring

You can't go wrong with a nice simple braclet

15/11/2007, 5:21 PM
people still buy jewellery?

i thought we were flashing our wealth with brand name clothes, SUVs and smart mobile phones these days. at least those are somewhat functional.

Eire06
15/11/2007, 5:22 PM
people still buy jewellery?

i thought we were flashing our wealth with brand name clothes, SUVs and smart mobile phones these days. at least those are somewhat functional.

oh you can flash the wealth with Jewellery too and its harder for them to find out how much you've spent

15/11/2007, 5:40 PM
I agree bracelet is probably the best route but
White gold is always good avoid getting a ring

pourquoi?

For the non-fussy compassionate girlfriend living anywhere near Cork, try sponsoring a cheetah or other animal at FOTA. If you're really nice to them they might let you rub it.

Eire06
15/11/2007, 5:49 PM
pourquoi?

Well if she's your misses and you have never given her Jewellery, I'd say you aren't married or engaged to her.

You've been going out half-decade if you get her a ring she might be disappointed its not an engagement ring and if she's not disappointed and loves it for the month of January and maybe a little after the conversation with may of her mainly female friends will go
"Oh what did Risterard get you for Christmas?"
GF: A ring
"Oh are you engaged Congrats"
GF: No
"Oh sorry <pity look>"

Better just to avoid the hassle unless you are going to propose if so congrats

Oh and on your adopt an animal - nice for friends and Family wouldn't get it for a girlfriend even though they try and pretend they love it and they aren't materialistic - they still will be a little disappointed

15/11/2007, 5:58 PM
My missus was dropping hints last Christmas that she wanted
me to give her a ring ... so I bought her a new phone :D

15/11/2007, 6:03 PM
Well if she's your misses and you have never given her Jewellery, I'd say you aren't married or engaged to her.

You've been going out half-decade if you get her a ring she might be disappointed its not an engagement ring and if she's not disappointed and loves it for the month of January and maybe a little after the conversation with may of her mainly female friends will go
"Oh what did Risterard get you for Christmas?"
GF: A ring
"Oh are you engaged Congrats"
GF: No
"Oh sorry <pity look>"

Better just to avoid the hassle unless you are going to propose if so congrats

Oh and on your adopt an animal - nice for friends and Family wouldn't get it for a girlfriend even though they try and pretend they love it and they aren't materialistic - they still will be a little disappointed
Feck.
Cheers for that.

15/11/2007, 8:20 PM
The New Nokia Skype Mobile would be Ideal you could get his and hers and you'd have free calls to other skype phones

15/11/2007, 8:25 PM
Batteries...;):D

15/11/2007, 11:02 PM
spend some time measuring her finger................then give her rubber gloves that fit perfectly. Admire your own efforts to get just the right size gloves.

If that doesn't work, having something like a vase engraved with her name and the date always seems to be appreciated.

cheifo
15/11/2007, 11:22 PM
An huge economy tub of washing powder and a box of milktray.

Sligo Hornet
16/11/2007, 6:28 AM
An huge economy tub of washing powder and a box of milktray.

...A bit excessive don't you think?;)

16/11/2007, 8:09 AM
...A bit excessive don't you think?;)

I thinik you'll find that Chiefo will be sharing the milk tray, if he has it worked out properly;)

Sligo Hornet
16/11/2007, 8:19 AM
I thinik you'll find that Chiefo will be sharing the milk tray, if he has it worked out properly;)

Oh do mean it's a Christmas AND EASTER combined present......well that makes much more sense!

16/11/2007, 8:29 AM
Can't go wrong with a little bracelet or necklace. Just make sure you know whether she likes gold or white gold/silver.
This year we've decided to buy a new TV rather than get individual presents (just moved in together). This does not under any circumstances mean I don't have to get her at least five small presents, value not particularly important. No matter how often they say,'we'll get it between us', or 'I don't want a present', they mean 'you better get me something nice or I'm not touching it for a month'. Always be prepared.

16/11/2007, 8:39 AM
Get her nothing I say , treat em mean keep em keen

*I may or may not have been single for the last 3 years

DIFChick
16/11/2007, 8:42 AM
Ha! passinginterest, spot on!

CD's, giftvouchers from Boots/her favourite clothing store/homestore/dunnes etc., pyjama set, girly nonfiction books (pick one from the top 10 list in Eason's) DS Lite and the Brain training game or The 42 All Time Classic Games.

He got me a new ghd and the DS Lite last year, can't live without either of the two now :D

Newryrep
16/11/2007, 9:07 AM

Broached that with the wife and got a look which meant dont even think about it

Jewelley - cant really fail unless she is expecting an engagement ring - got her jewelery the last few times so need something different

Weekend away - cunningly combined with an away game but given the fixtures wont be out until March the envelope will just say away trip to XXXX

Pampering - again have used it on the last few birthdays/Xmases need something new

Phones - got her a new phone and she didnt like it, bit like clothes better she choses it herself

seriously stuck this year

16/11/2007, 1:07 PM
Got her the same kind of presents every year, Jewellery, Perfume and a voucher for a massage/shopping/somehting like that. So last year I said I'll do something different so I actually bought her a strider machine (she was barking about it for months how she wanted one of these) it was something like €400 quid and I got her some other small things. So christmas day I give her this strider and she doesn't speak to me the rest of the day. "do you really think im that fat?" bad move by me.
Moral of the story, if you want a merry christmes do not get: Kitchen equipment (my da got me mum a Dishwasher :o not a good move), exercise equipment or sexy undies (I 've tried that one too, maybe depends on the woman for that one.)
Christmas is hell, I have 2 brothers, 2 sisters, a mother, father, missus, bambino, employee's and suppliers all to buy for. Off license does especially well out of me at christmas its safe to say.

16/11/2007, 1:12 PM
so I actually bought her a strider machine (she was barking about it for months how she wanted one of these) it was something like €400 quid and I got her some other small things. So christmas day I give her this strider and she doesn't speak to me the rest of the day. "do you really think im that fat?" bad move by me.

You were doing well that she only didn't speak to you for the rest of the day. Good God man did aliens abduct you and forget to put your brain back in? Never, ever, buy her anything that could be construed as suggesting she's a bit fat, no gym membership, exercise equipment, healthy eating or diet related books, possibly not even a health club type voucher as that could be taken the wrong way. I'm glad I've learned something in my four and a half years.

MyTown
16/11/2007, 1:19 PM
Can't wait 'till Magicme gets in on this.

And Eire06s very practical advice suggests he should have his own slot on Oprah - (pity he threw the toys out of the Pram over on our Season Ticket Prices thread :()

Very enjoyable thread 'though...done the jewellry thing to death..might be time for that Nicole Kidman toy

16/11/2007, 1:20 PM
You were doing well that she only didn't speak to you for the rest of the day. Good God man did aliens abduct you and forget to put your brain back in? Never, ever, buy her anything that could be construed as suggesting she's a bit fat, no gym membership, exercise equipment, healthy eating or diet related books, possibly not even a health club type voucher as that could be taken the wrong way. I'm glad I've learned something in my four and a half years.

Yeah well im with her 5 years, thought "yeah, that would be good, she will like that" oh how wrong was I :o She loves the damn thing now. Oh I don't think we will ever be able to understand women, its just impossible.

Eire06
16/11/2007, 1:36 PM
And Eire06s very practical advice suggests he should have his own slot on Oprah - (pity he threw the toys out of the Pram over on our Season Ticket Prices thread :()

Excuse me didn't throw any toys out of the pram - Just sick of the holier than thou attitude of some members on the forum and I pointed it out..

Nintendo DS is the way to go this year highly addictive

Newryrep
16/11/2007, 2:18 PM
Nintendo DS is the way to go this year highly addictive

In the same way as exercise equipment/gym membership is saying that you are too fat is this not saying you are too stupid/beginning to lose it ?

Eire06
16/11/2007, 2:32 PM
In the same way as exercise equipment/gym membership is saying that you are too fat is this not saying you are too stupid/beginning to lose it ?

No because you get other games with it too and say about the Brain Training oh this is the one Nicole Kidman advertises so you thought they'd like it :D

And if she does take it up bad and gets into a sulk, get her to create a file and do a brain age check and you do one against her and make sure your age is higher than hers, then she'll be happier in thinking that she's got a younger brain than you - Problem solved

DIFChick
16/11/2007, 2:38 PM
That's exactly what my fella did! He got me three games: Mario Kart, 42 All Time Classic Games and the Brain Training Game. Clever stunt or maybe he was in a generous mood :confused:

....you have me thinking now Eire06!

Newryrep
16/11/2007, 3:09 PM
No because you get other games with it too and say about the Brain Training oh this is the one Nicole Kidman advertises so you thought they'd like it :D

she is not into computer games nor am I since Asteroids/Galaxian were all the rage

And if she does take it up bad and gets into a sulk, get her to create a file and do a brain age check and you do one against her and make sure your age is higher than hers, then she'll be happier in thinking that she's got a younger brain than you - Problem solved

It would be the most obviously rigged contest since Roy Jones/South Korean fighter olympic boxing gold scandal:- and i would never hear the end of it :D

anto1208
16/11/2007, 4:22 PM
[QUOTE=Risteard;815752]Bike is a good idea.
[QUOTE]

So imagine her surprise when you get her a new ironing board :D

Bottle of Tonic
17/11/2007, 2:23 PM
On jewellery,

A few years ago I got my GF a claddagh ring. She's scottish and had seen them in Ireland, said she really liked them, really pretty etc.
Winner I thought, a Claddagh ring is a Claddagh ring, present sorted.

I had to order it from the jewellers, none in Aberdeen had them. Got it, gave it to her.

She didn't like it.

Another time she was whinging on about how I never get her jewellery. I say its cos your so picky, look at the claddagh ring episode! You say you like a claddagh ring, I get you one, you don't like it! FFS!
So I convinced her to go into a jewellers with me and show me what she likes ('but you should knoooooow what I like'!).

Out of the WHOLE shop, she only liked ONE ring and one more was alright. I was there - FFS! F F S!!!

Needless to say I struggle every christmas. This is nightmare time of year for me - Christmas, her birthday and Valentines all in the space of a month and a half. :mad:

17/11/2007, 2:41 PM
You cant go wrong with some newbridge jewellery, something that sparkles alot and will look good and catch the eye when we are out. We just want to be noticed.

If you're going down the perfume route, I seriously recommend any of the Armani stuff, my own personal fav is Armani Gold (just incase anyone here wants to be generous)

CDs always impress, also I'd love things like an all expenses paid weekend away somewhere booked for mid Jan something to just chill after the Christmas rush

One romantic I know got a star named after his girlfriend, oh and another got one of those teddies made personally for her...thats if you're going for the romantic pressie this year

17/11/2007, 3:51 PM
Mines getting a holiday in Iceland and something else, not quite sure what to be honest

17/11/2007, 3:58 PM
Mines getting a holiday in Iceland and something else, not quite sure what to be honest

The blue lagoon is fantastic, dont miss it. Wear sun cream though!

18/11/2007, 10:54 AM
I dont want to get involved in this thread coz then my fella will think I am hinting and being female I want him to figure it all out himself! :D

You do have to be careful with jewellery tho. Am not a big fan myself. Only wear 2 rings and sometimes some hippy beady bracelets for everyday. If going out mite put on a necklace (have a few classy pieces) or a bracelet.

If you are going down the perfume route, try to find out what she likes. The Armani gold that Maz recommends is gorgeous but maybe not for everyone. Take a look on her dressing table or sniff her out some nite!

God am getting into this and said I wouldnt!

18/11/2007, 12:48 PM
If you're going down the perfume route, I seriously recommend any of the Armani stuff, my own personal fav is Armani Gold (just incase anyone here wants to be generous)

Jayz, just the word Armani sounds scummy to me.
I suppose it goes well with your pyjamas when you're popping in to the offy.
Ooooooooooooh.;)
Cacharel LouLou there, you'll be fine.

Of course, the big test is the dozen small presents you've to get in addition, the best of which have been purchased, this (http://www.amazon.com/Songs-Christmas-Sufjan-Stevens/dp/B000HLDF0O), this (http://www.amazon.com/Wonderfalls-Complete-Michael-Lehmann/dp/B0006GAO18/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1195393606&sr=8-1) and of course this (http://www.britishdelights.com/prod_xm08.htm).

18/11/2007, 1:26 PM
Jayz, just the word Armani sounds scummy to me.
I suppose it goes well with your pyjamas when you're popping in to the offy.
Ooooooooooooh.;)
Cacharel LouLou there, you'll be fine.

Of course, the big test is the dozen small presents you've to get in addition, the best of which have been purchased, this (http://www.amazon.com/Songs-Christmas-Sufjan-Stevens/dp/B000HLDF0O), this (http://www.amazon.com/Wonderfalls-Complete-Michael-Lehmann/dp/B0006GAO18/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1195393606&sr=8-1) and of course this (http://www.britishdelights.com/prod_xm08.htm).
Lucky I dont take ya too serious or I'd have serious hurt feelings here.

Armani Gold actually smells amazing, I bet all you fellas would love it.

anto1208
19/11/2007, 4:15 PM
Im sickened had all the pressents picked out then she goes and tells me what she wanted and names 3 of the 4 things id gotten !! so now it looks like i only got the right stuff because she told me what to get.

So im taking it back getting her membership to the gym for fat chicks "Curves" or something like that its called

inexile
19/11/2007, 4:34 PM
on the same but slightly different topic, what will i get for someone i have just started seeing? well have been seeing her about 2 months now, so she wouldnt be deemed the missus yet, we havent had the "what are we" conversation!!

19/11/2007, 4:34 PM
This year my missus quite helpfully told me she wanted a certain watch. Its about €250. As with earlier posters she asked for that with the proviso "I don't want anything else, thats enough" which means at least 5 other presents. So far she's got the Heroes boxset and a Cooking game for the wii (which she really wants). Won't buy jewellery as I'm too cheap to buy the good stuff and I know I'd get her something rubbish anyway. Clothes are another no no. I don't mind paying for it but no way am I taking the responsibilty of threading the (seemingly) fine line between frumpy and slutty. I'd err on the side of slutty in all probability

We're getting married in may so I could probably get away with less presents on the basis of "I'm saving all our money for our wedding".

Good thread

lionelhutz
20/11/2007, 10:36 AM
Broached that with the wife and got a look which meant dont even think about it

Jewelley - cant really fail unless she is expecting an engagement ring - got her jewelery the last few times so need something different

Weekend away - cunningly combined with an away game but given the fixtures wont be out until March the envelope will just say away trip to XXXX

Pampering - again have used it on the last few birthdays/Xmases need something new
Phones - got her a new phone and she didnt like it, bit like clothes better she choses it herself

seriously stuck this yearHaving really explored this route yet. I'm with my GF 2 and a half years and for each of the last 2 xmas i got her a romantic trip away - Paris the 1st year and Venice last year aswel as the small pressies.

What exactly would pampering include - a spa wkend away with her girlie friends?? Where would the spa resorts be??
Ha! passinginterest, spot on!

CD's, giftvouchers from Boots/her favourite clothing store/homestore/dunnes etc., pyjama set, girly nonfiction books (pick one from the top 10 list in Eason's) DS Lite and the Brain training game or The 42 All Time Classic Games.

He got me a new ghd and the DS Lite last year, can't live without either of the two now :DAround what price would this DS be?? Would it be suited to a woman in her mid 20s or would it mainly be the more mature lady?? No offence meant!!!
You cant go wrong with some newbridge jewellery, something that sparkles alot and will look good and catch the eye when we are out. We just want to be noticed.

CDs always impress, also I'd love things like an all expenses paid weekend away somewhere booked for mid Jan something to just chill after the Christmas rush

One romantic I know got a star named after his girlfriend, oh and another got one of those teddies made personally for her...thats if you're going for the romantic pressie this yearGreat ideas - do you know where could i pursue these options??
on the same but slightly different topic, what will i get for someone i have just started seeing? well have been seeing her about 2 months now, so she wouldnt be deemed the missus yet, we havent had the "what are we" conversation!!2 months after i started seein my gf it was her bday and i just got her a big teddy and a card and she was over the moon.

But this was because we were both still students, i.e. broke - if I'd a full time job I probably wouldnt have gotten away with just a teddy!!

20/11/2007, 2:58 PM
http://www.dublinks.com/index.cfm/loc/9/pt/0/spid/DFFF98C9-3C32-4A2F-A349599212C32A36.htmCheck here for the Bear Factory

20/11/2007, 3:07 PM
I'd err on the side of slutty in all probability

Are you sure it would be an error?

Congratulations on getting engaged, by the way.

lionelhutz
20/11/2007, 3:31 PM
http://www.dublinks.com/index.cfm/loc/9/pt/0/spid/DFFF98C9-3C32-4A2F-A349599212C32A36.htmCheck here for the Bear Factory

Thanks alot for that Maz - really appreciate it.

And apologies for not merging those comments!!!

endabob1
20/11/2007, 3:39 PM
Pampering is always a winner - Find out where she likes to go for special occasion haircuts or if she likes to go somewhere for facials and get vouchers. If you can't manage that, do some research, there are loads of places that do full day or half day packages.
Jewellery is always a winner - Assuming she wears some jewllery you should be able to detect a preference, eg. My Mrs likes gold, not silver, not white gold, not platinum. I detected this quite early in our relationship through the fact that all her jewllery was made of gold. IF you've not been together that long, and you're really unsure, ask her what she'd like. Personally I'd look at what she currently has and get something similar in style.
Weekends away are a great idea, as it becomes a present for 2.
In general just put some bloody thought in to it, if you've been together any lenght of time you shold know what she likes and doesn't like, buy her things she likes and make her feel like you've spent time thinking about her and the present(s)

DIFChick
20/11/2007, 3:44 PM
You can get a DS Lite for €150, games from €30 and upwards. I'm not big into video games but I really like the DS and the games I got. I've seen teens to "mature ladies" in their 20's/30's on the bus with the DS Lite.

Most retailers offer the console with game(s) to a reduced price, sort of like a package.

from the Mature Lady with the DS Lite ;)

Following on to endabob1's post: put some effort into packaging. If you're getting her gift vouchers then get a nice little bag (Easons have them) and put the envelope in there with some decoration paper which can also be found in places like easons.