View Full Version : What to get the missus for Christmas?

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

20/11/2007, 3:47 PM
by the sounds of it, from the prices of presents being listed on here, spending and the average disposable income seems to have gone through the roof.

20/11/2007, 3:52 PM
Are you sure it would be an error?In her eyes yeah.

Congratulations on getting engaged, by the way.
Congratulate her, I'm the catch (and we're engaged a couple of years now). Thanks though

Yeah disposable/plastic spending is through the roof.

endabob1
20/11/2007, 4:00 PM
One other thing, a couple of years ago I had a good year for Bonus's at work so I went a bit mental at Christmas, well she had to put up with a lot of long hours away from home working so I thought it was fair.
Anyway one of the presents I got her was a gift voucher for a department store in the UK (Debenhams if you live over here) and with it I got a personal shopper for an afternoon. Basically she just had to call the number on the card and arrange a Saturday afternoon where she went shopiing, this bird advised her on styles, colours etc.. & ran around the store picking up things for her to try on, she had a private dressing room with champagne on tap, she took her mother along and they had a ball. Big time brownie points for that one.

Danny
20/11/2007, 4:05 PM
Around what price would this DS be?? Would it be suited to a woman in her mid 20s or would it mainly be the more mature lady?? No offence meant!!!

Paid 200 quid for it and 2 games
she told me it was what she wanted as well, which is a help ;)

Congratulate her, I'm the catch (and we're engaged a couple of years now). Thanks though

LOVFL

Newryrep
20/11/2007, 7:00 PM
What exactly would pampering include - a spa wkend away with her girlie friends?? Where would the spa resorts be??

just vouchers at the local beauty salon so she can get her nails done , have a head massage , face pack etc - that sort of thing

20/11/2007, 7:05 PM
just vouchers at the local beauty salon so she can get her nails done , have a head massage , face pack etc - that sort of thing
Dang, if mine needed all that, I'd just trade her in and get meself a Christmas present!:D

*Joke*

22/11/2007, 11:45 AM
What's the perfect gift for the woman who has everything?

PENICILLIN! :D I'll get my coat!

padjoe
23/11/2007, 3:25 PM
i rented a limo for my current girlfriend for an night.....to drive her and her mates into dublin city centre and dropped them off like vips...for a night out...that was for her birthday last year....this year its milan but i stupidly acted a bit tight and didn't splash for an extra night as a result i know miss milan v juve.

nui-harp
25/11/2007, 7:02 PM
Dvd box sets are a good idea....something like Desp Housewives. There is also a pink PSP on the market. I work in Argos and it seemed to be popular for the girls...along with the pink DS Lite. Pink digital cameras and pink ghd's 2.....basically anythin pink!:D

26/11/2007, 8:21 AM
I prefer purple. :D

26/11/2007, 10:16 AM
I prefer purple. :D

yes green or purple, pink yuck! :eek:

AidoM
26/11/2007, 10:19 AM
yes green or purple, pink yuck!

Deep Purple .....oops wrong thread :confused: :o word association thread :D

26/11/2007, 10:20 AM
Deep Purple .....oops wrong thread :o word association thread :D

Santa won't be comin to u!:p

26/11/2007, 10:44 AM
I kinda like pink. Hated it for years until I noticed the lack of it in football so it has become me mission to pinkify football somewhat. I usually wear some pink to games and always have my pink folder and my pink rucksack but think I will have to start purplifying it now.

AidoM
26/11/2007, 10:47 AM
I usually wear some pink to games ...............

:eek: ;) :D

26/11/2007, 11:12 AM
I kinda like pink. Hated it for years until I noticed the lack of it in football so it has become me mission to pinkify football somewhat. I usually wear some pink to games and always have my pink folder and my pink rucksack but think I will have to start purplifying it now.

I think Mick Wallace has taken on your mission. He was wearing a lovely pink shirt, purple trousers combination at the last game against Shels. Rumour has it he wants the Youths to wear a pink away strip too. Perfect Christmas present for any football loving missus.

26/11/2007, 11:17 AM
Yeah I noticed he is trying to corner my flamboyant pink market. Tell him to back off. I was in the eL before him! :D

26/11/2007, 11:40 AM
Rumour has it he wants the Youths to wear a pink away strip too. Perfect Christmas present for any football loving missus.

Heard that at the end of the season. O'Neills will be doing it.

26/11/2007, 12:28 PM
Books, perfume, CD's, jewellery (cautiously of course), weekend away, pampering goods/day, gadgets. All great ideas for the lady in your life.

Does that make it any easier for you?

AidoM
26/11/2007, 1:20 PM
............ gadgets............

:eek: :rolleyes: :D

26/11/2007, 8:13 PM
ha ha Aido! Trust you!

Battery Rover
27/11/2007, 11:05 AM

Did you get the Bubblegum Pink Laptop yet

27/11/2007, 11:14 AM
No, cant afford it at the mo unfortunately! It is on my wish list for next year though Rover.

lionelhutz
28/11/2007, 12:07 PM
Just wondering what kinda presents would be a big no no for the ladies??

A voucher for weight watchers???

28/11/2007, 2:25 PM

slippers, shower gel sets, plastic jewellery, anything to do with household items

28/11/2007, 2:28 PM
What's wrong with slippers?

28/11/2007, 2:29 PM

slippers, shower gel sets, plastic jewellery, anything to do with household items
Oh oh, I'd better take back that Hoover then.

28/11/2007, 2:35 PM
What's wrong with slippers?

This is just my opinion, perhaps there are ladies out there who would love slippers and a hoover :p

Slippers, I could get for €3 in Penneys, they're boring....lets think outside the box!

endabob1
28/11/2007, 2:37 PM
An Iron with matching Ironing board
Dyson gift vouchers

The usual stuff :D

see's it
28/11/2007, 2:45 PM
This is just my opinion, perhaps there are ladies out there who would love slippers and a hoover :p

Slippers, I could get for €3 in Penneys, they're boring....lets think outside the box!

what man thinks outside the box when it comes to his missus,if you did she'd leave you :)

lionelhutz
03/12/2007, 1:08 PM
Just wondering what would the ladies here think of a trip to London for a 3 night wkend and tickets to the show Mamma Mia as an xmas present for the better half??

On that note actually, has anyone seen that show and is it any good??

EAFC_rdfl
03/12/2007, 2:21 PM
Just wondering what would the ladies here think of a trip to London for a 3 night wkend and tickets to the show Mamma Mia as an xmas present for the better half??

I did the same for her 21st a year or so ago, went down a storm, and I went to see fulham reading (doyle scored the only goal!) :cool::D while her&a few girlie friends from london went to a show. wasnt that one, but I'd say a shows a show!
this year i've been told to get an mp3 player, but will have to get the usual extra few bits aswell :confused:

03/12/2007, 2:24 PM
this year i've been told to get an mp3 player, but will have to get the usual extra few bits aswell :confused:

What extra bits?

EAFC_rdfl
03/12/2007, 2:32 PM
What extra bits?

in my best Louth accent ..... you tell me!!:D:D

I dunno, get a cd to go with it anyways after that Im kinda stumped! have to avoid jewellery as thats been used for xmas / birthdays nearly everytime. perfume books vouchers? I dunno!!

anto1208
04/12/2007, 8:29 AM
I got herself a Orgasmatron !! not what it sounds like its not some weird sex toy its a head masager looks kind alike a giant metal spider but the copper legs tickle the head and react to the electric current in the body drives them wild !!! .

Also got her a 8gb ipod nano video , digi cam + printer and dvd

04/12/2007, 8:46 AM
I got herself a Orgasmatron !! not what it sounds like its not some weird sex toy its a head masager looks kind alike a giant metal spider but the copper legs tickle the head and react to the electric current in the body drives them wild !!! .

Also got her a 8gb ipod nano video , digi cam + printer and dvd

It would have sounded better if you said you planned to give her an Orgasmatron, and left it at that.

anto1208
04/12/2007, 9:15 AM
It would have sounded better if you said you planned to give her an Orgasmatron, and left it at that.

But i dont make promises i cant keep :D

Eire06
04/12/2007, 10:06 AM

Shocking show saw it on Broadway wanted to leave after first act.
Trip away is a good one but instead of wasting money on Mamma Mia, try getting Dirty Dancing tickets or shopping spree

04/12/2007, 10:12 AM
yeah go for Dirty Dancing. The best movie ever for girls so she will love the show.

I would love to see Mama Mia but would have to shoot someone if had to sit through Abba songs.

shedite
04/12/2007, 2:34 PM
Okay here's my dilemma. All help and suggestions appreciated. Started casually seeing a girl in October. Started off a drunken thing, but have met up a few times since, she calls over to my house a few times and we speak every day. She still won't let me call her my girlfriend, and I dare not even mention the "L" word. So all-in-all it's pretty casual.

However she's absolutly stunning, and I really like her so want to make an effort for christmas. Can't be anything too lovey-dovey or too meaningful (don't want to freak her out). Last thing is we're both 24.

Ideas so far:
Digital photo frame (filled with her photos and fav songs)
Massage
Earrings/Necklace

Ideas I've already shot down:
Weekends away - too soon
Concert tickets - all good concerts are 5/6 months away - don't want to presume we'll last that long ;)

Lookin at the €150 mark

04/12/2007, 2:49 PM
Ideas so far:
Massage
Earrings/Necklace

1) Geeky
2) are you doing it for her?
3) Jewellery = commitment

€150 is a big sized budget for a casual thing. I think something like clothes might be the handiest thing here. You know what type of stuff she likes (presuming you have functioning eyes) so just get similar stuff. Next time you talk to her you can bring up shopping and see what shops she likes (she mightn't even think you're gay if you saying you're getting something for your sister/cousin/lollipop lady). A nice bottle of perfume (or a LUSH type gift basket) is a good option too.

As well as something half decent get her something "jokey" to show that you don't want to marry her just yet. You'll know her sense of humour so you'll know how far you can push it.

Don't get her anythign you like as it'll look like you're trying to drag her into a relationship.

As I've said €150 is a huge budget so maybe use some of it to get her out for thenight with you

DIFChick
04/12/2007, 2:53 PM
shedite >> giftvoucher for hair/nail/massage treatment is a good idea. I went to this place http://www.freespiritsalons.ie/index.htm in the IFSC last month, enjoyed the treatment (Swedish massage) and prices are reasonable compared to other places.

Or perhaps a giftvoucher for a nice meal out? Most mid-range to top end restaurants sell giftvouchers. If you're in Dublin try Ely for example http://www.elywinebar.ie.

Best of luck with the gift hunt!

04/12/2007, 2:54 PM
Was gonna say €150 is a lot for a casual thing. I'd go for perfume/smelly stuff, safe option or even nicer get a nice set with lots of different cosmetics made up in some of the shops. Keep it simple

cheifo
04/12/2007, 3:14 PM
Oh Damn...I misread the thread title, I thought it said how to get a missus for Christmas.

AidoM
04/12/2007, 3:56 PM
Oh Damn...I misread the thread title, I thought it said how to get a missus for Christmas.

Early nominee for December POTM :D

04/12/2007, 6:09 PM
Okay here's my dilemma. All help and suggestions appreciated. Started casually seeing a girl in October. Started off a drunken thing, but have met up a few times since, she calls over to my house a few times and we speak every day. She still won't let me call her my girlfriend, and I dare not even mention the "L" word. So all-in-all it's pretty casual.

However she's absolutly stunning, and I really like her so want to make an effort for christmas. Can't be anything too lovey-dovey or too meaningful (don't want to freak her out). Last thing is we're both 24.

Ideas so far:
Massage
Earrings/Necklace

Ideas I've already shot down:
Weekends away - too soon
Concert tickets - all good concerts are 5/6 months away - don't want to presume we'll last that long ;)

Lookin at the €150 mark

I made a complete disaster of the 'joke present' thing when I started with me missus but she still suffered through.
Presume you won't be seeing her Christmas day and 150 is big for two months so I'd get her summat small but really nice (maybe the digital photo frame but I don't have a clue what that is) and spend most of it on taking her out Christmas Eve or the night before.
Dinner, drink and something else, depending on your priorities of film, music and dance.
Give her a nice little present then when ya say goodbye and happy Christmas to keep her thinking of ya.
All the best either way.
That's an exciting Christmas.

05/12/2007, 10:05 AM
Was gonna say €150 is a lot for a casual thing. I'd go for perfume/smelly stuff, safe option or even nicer get a nice set with lots of different cosmetics made up in some of the shops. Keep it simple

Would tend to agree, wouldn't want anyone spending that amount on me for Christmas, far too much. Not that anyone is going to this Christmas:D
Especially if it is casual, 150 Euros is madness!
Is she expecting you to spend that much or something?:eek:

05/12/2007, 10:24 AM
Agree with the girlies on this one. She will only feel that she hasnt spent enough on you or feel obliged to get you something more and am sure you dont want to put that kinda pressure on her yet.

Next time you see her, tell her she smells good and ask what perfume she is wearing as you think your sister (if you have one) would like that and then get her it with the body lotion type set. That should set you back bout €60-80 and she will be delighted that you made the effort to find out what she wears.

If you feel like doing something more, as the lads suggest, take her out for a meal and make her feel special.

Would avoid jokey kinda thing tbh but some small sweet present like a cute/funny keyring or a CD would grand.

shedite
05/12/2007, 11:29 AM
Well when I said the €150 mark, it was a max. PRob gonna take her out for a meal or somethign which is prob gonna be close to €70 anyway, so maybe a massage voucher for €80 or somethin would fit the bill. I'll report back with results anyway folks!

anto1208
05/12/2007, 12:34 PM
Just give her one , thats what all girls really want :D

Note on the digital photo frame as a bloke id thought it was a great idea tested the water and she said she would hate it