View Full Version : Gerard Houllier
Pages :
[
4]
Fergie's Son
09/01/2008, 4:27 AM
According to today's Independent:
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/houllier-for-ireland-1261237.html
Interesting. I'd prefer him over McCarthy who would be a step backwards to be honest.
09/01/2008, 6:58 AM
just read that online. Very interesting development. However I'm sure I read on here yesterday that El Tel didn't get the vacant Bulgarian post?!
09/01/2008, 7:09 AM
According to the latest scribbles Houllier is back in the running:
http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...d-1261237.html
I think I'd prefer El Tel to him :eek:.
However, it quotes the usual "insiders" and says Mick Mc is the other rival which to me sounds a load of hogwash since Mick is under contract at Wolves and was driven out by the Keane fans who I doubt would welcome him back.
Sligo Hornet
09/01/2008, 7:39 AM
I would be quite happy with Houllier, and with Bulgaria looking to have "purchased" the "Spiv", it will make for exciting times when we meet:)
RiffRaff
09/01/2008, 8:47 AM
I'm not at all convinced by Houlliers record. Heres a bit from Wikipedia's profile on him:
"In 1988 Houllier was appointed technical director and assistant to the French national team, under manager Michel Platini. He became manager in 1992, though resigning in 1993 after the team failed to qualify for the 1994 FIFA World Cup - which Houlier blamed afterwards on winger David Ginola failing to complete a pass to Eric Cantona to score. Houllier became an extremely unpopular figure in France, being blamed not only for the failure to qualify, but also for the poor results during Platini's tenure"
Quite an achievement not to get France through the qualifiers with the squad they had back then. He never really took Liverpool anywhere despite the players he had and bought.
09/01/2008, 8:57 AM
He didn't do much with Lyon either other than win successive league titles and regularly achieve the latter stages of the Champions league.
Nobody's arguing that Houllier's record isn't blemish free. He bought some real duds at Liverpool but also won trophies there, all admittedly with a large slice of luck, and nearly won the league in 01/02 I think it was.
He fell out with the likes of Ince & Fowler. Well, Ince fell foul of Ferguson too don't forget, he was a nasty character in his playing days.
I actually think Venables could do a decent job with Ireland. We have very good players in a lot of positions, certainly good enough to challenge for qualification (that's all I'm asking for) BUT I think there are better candidates out there with more current experience. Houllier is one of the best of these.
Are we really so special that we can't appoint a former Liverpool & Lyon manager, French national team manager and national director of football at France? It's unbelievable how people could look down their noses at such a candidate.
09/01/2008, 9:11 AM
Are we really so special that we can't appoint a former Liverpool & Lyon manager, French national team manager and national director of football at France? It's unbelievable how people could look down their noses at such a candidate.
Wholeheartedly agree with this. compared to some of the absolute wasters who are being touted for the job, Houllier is in a class of his own
Grab him with both hands before its too late
09/01/2008, 9:24 AM
Quite an achievement not to get France through the qualifiers with the squad they had back then.
Let's not go through that argument. Again.
Remember when Jewell was all set to be appointed and I said he would be the "least hated" appointment? I'd imagine there's still a lot of Liverpool fans out there who aren't too thrilled with the idea of being under the thrall of Houllier again. Add to that the United, Arsenal, Everton etc fans who would still hold his association with Liverpool against him and you can start to see why some people would not like to have him as manager.
09/01/2008, 9:38 AM
I'd imagine there's still a lot of Liverpool fans out there who aren't too thrilled with the idea of being under the thrall of Houllier again. Add to that the United, Arsenal, Everton etc fans who would still hold his association with Liverpool against him and you can start to see why some people would not like to have him as manager.
Fcuk them so. If you're Irish what should feelings about English club teams have to do with the Irish national team?
09/01/2008, 9:39 AM
Yes, we have to accept there is no ideal candidate and whoever is chosen will have "baggage".
I didn't favour Jewell because of his poor record at Wednesday. He failed to turn them around and it seems to be the same at Derby.
Venables I don't like because he is a spiv and didn't really achieve much at England, despite having home advantage in a tournament he didn't have to pre-qualify for. As I said before, if we had a tournament in Ireland, I'd expect semi-final minimum.
Houllier: I just have a memory of him being average at Liverpool and not very inspirational.
However, we're not Brazil, England or Germany and the really top managers won't be interested in us so we'll just have to take whatever manager is proposed, warts and all, so long as it isn't a dream team of a novice and father time as his assistant, and the manager has some experience and some success previously, which could be any of the three I mentioned above and others.
Over the post
09/01/2008, 9:56 AM
Are we really so special that we can't appoint a former Liverpool & Lyon manager, French national team manager and national director of football at France?
In a word, yes. Only unproven/unsuccessful Irish managers or English TV pundits with time on their hands need apply. :D
Drumcondra 69er
09/01/2008, 9:59 AM
Yes, we have to accept there is no ideal candidate and whoever is chosen will have "baggage".
I didn't favour Jewell because of his poor record at Wednesday. He failed to turn them around and it seems to be the same at Derby.
Venables I don't like because he is a spiv and didn't really achieve much at England, despite having home advantage in a tournament he didn't have to pre-qualify for. As I said before, if we had a tournament in Ireland, I'd expect semi-final minimum.
Houllier: I just have a memory of him being average at Liverpool and not very inspirational.
However, we're not Brazil, England or Germany and the really top managers won't be interested in us so we'll just have to take whatever manager is proposed, warts and all, so long as it isn't a dream team of a novice and father time as his assistant, and the manager has some experience and some success previously, which could be any of the three I mentioned above and others.
Much as I'm not a Houlier fan his time at Liverpool is being dismissed by many incorrectly, he won the League Cup, FA Cup and UEFA Cup and got them to 2nd in the league (albeit he was ill for part of that season) which is as good as they've done since 1990. Liverppol is a poison chalice in any case, they're exactly like Man U were in the 80's. He also won 2 French titles with Lyon since and had them performing in the Champions League.
He may well be irritating (his bull**** about 'winning 5 trophies' when two of them were the Charity Shield and the Super Cup for example) but he has a good recent record and we can't turn our nose up at someone of that calibre. I'd be happy enough with certain reservations if he were to get the job.
09/01/2008, 10:13 AM
I understand you're a Wednesday fan so you may have a biased view of Paul Jewell but he did well at Bradford to get them promoted in the first place and then to keep them up. He did very well at Wigan, no one can deny that. He's only had a few weeks at Derby and the players he had were not up to the Premiership, wait til the end of the season to judge him there. But he's not going to be Ireland manager at this stage so let's move on.
Are you serious? Ireland would be lucky to get to the QF's in any tournament, no matter where it's held.
Houllier brought Liverpool back to the CL for the first time in years. He wasn't particularly popular but that shouldn't take away from his achievments there.
09/01/2008, 10:19 AM
I agree with Stuttgart - who gives a monkeys about what some scouser fans think of the bloke? If he's the best man for the job (on paper he is) then give him a two year contract and see how he fares. Every manager buys duds - Fergie, Benitez, yes even Wenger (Franny Jeffers anyone) so his transfer dealings don't worry me greatly.
RockofGibraltar
09/01/2008, 10:22 AM
houllier along with martin jol is by far the best candidate that has been mentioned since stan got the boot...i mean someone name someone better person for the job seriously...we're not brazil like
09/01/2008, 10:23 AM
Houllier would be fine. Plenty of others who have managerial experience will be just fine as well. I think we're all a little over-anxious about the CV and medal cabinet of applicants because we don't want another sows ear presented as a silk purse.
The two most successful, consistent international managers we've had -Jack and Mick - themselves had pretty patchy (in Micks case plain dodgy) managerial careers before arriving here. They did fine. It's not rocket science -IF you've the groundwork done and merit badges earned elsewhere.
09/01/2008, 10:28 AM
"Insiders say that the former Liverpool and France chief is in prime position to benefit from uncertainty surrounding Terry Venables ..... blah, blah, blah".
Houiller will be in the country for a coaching conference shortly after the selection panel presents its findings to the FAI. I think somebody's "insiders" have added 2+2 together and gotten 5.
amaccann
09/01/2008, 10:39 AM
Oh noes!
Houllier hasn't a 100% clean record of trophies, championships & "win". CLEARLY he's not suitable to lead our elite team of champions.
Jee.sus.
09/01/2008, 10:49 AM
Fcuk them so. If you're Irish what should feelings about English club teams have to do with the Irish national team?
Spot on Stuttgart. I think Houllier would be a very good candidate too.
09/01/2008, 10:51 AM
Houllier, however, has emerged as the favourite.
Not according to any bookies or betting exchanges I've seen.
The amount of spoofery and scamola attached to this appointment is beyond ridiculous. I don't doubt that some shadowy character may have "tipped" McDonnell off about Houllier's impending job offer but who's to say the source wasn't making it up or deliberately feeding shaky information. Or that the source's source wasn't mistaken. Or that all sources are dead-on accurate that Houllier is the No. 1 choice but he has no actual chance of getting the job because John Delaney thinks he may have thrown a croissant at him in a Paris bistro that one time...
On the other hand, it's obvious that a lot of media outlets are happy to let their imagination run wild with tales of secret meetings between out-of-work managers and Delaney in the back room of Peter Marks, often in a transparent attempt to manipulate the betting markets.
In a very short space of time Keegan went from 499/1 to 4/1 and back out to 249/1 and is now available at 109/1 again :eek:
09/01/2008, 10:53 AM
I don't doubt that some shadowy character may have "tipped" McDonnell off about Houllier's impending job offer but who's to say the source wasn't making it up or deliberately feeding shaky information.
Coincidentally enough, or perhaps not, McDonnell was one of the first to announce that Stan was a serious candidate for the Ireland job, and he had Sir Bobby as being involved as well.
Over the post
09/01/2008, 11:11 AM
The delay in making the appointment is leading to all kinds of speculation. Both Chris Coleman and Sam Allardyce look like they may become available in the next few days and their odds (currently both at 50/1) will shorten in no time. I don't think Allardyce would be a bad choice but Houllier is a better candidate.
If Coleman does decide to stick it out at Real Sociedad, the man currently lined up to replace him, former Deportivo coach Javier Irureta, will find himself at a loose end. Mind you, he's foreign.
Noelys Guitar
09/01/2008, 11:46 AM
I always thought the FAI would chose Houllier above all other candidates. Delaney had stated he preferred a non-British style manager. Houllier is a clever man and media friendly. Which is why I backed Houllier at 40/1. But I will be very surprised if he leaves his current job. He is the only candidate of the front runners who could get a job tomorrow as a manager at a top European club. Having said all that I am not a fan of his time at Liverpool. But he has shown he can win things so if he wants the job then he will get it. McDonell in his article states that McCArthy is the back up if Houllier does not want the job. We should start a poll on here to see who would accept McCarthy back. I would if no top candidate comes forward.
Wolfie
09/01/2008, 12:06 PM
As the "wish list" has been completely eroded away to nothing - I suppose we've all had to reappraise who we'd like to see in the job.
If it is indeed a choice of Houllier, El Tel, McCarthy, Dalglish or Brady - I'd go for Houllier.
I had all but resigned myself to El Tel getting it so its an encouraging development.
This bloody "process" is worse than water torture. Put us out of our misery, for the love of god.
09/01/2008, 12:32 PM
I always thought the FAI would chose Houllier above all other candidates.
Hang on, I thought your insider knowledge had Glen Hoddle as the next manager :D
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=80151
citizenerased
09/01/2008, 12:34 PM
horrible process. the most drawn out saga ever...faffing about, waiting till no one is available!
Noelys Guitar
09/01/2008, 12:42 PM
Hang on, I thought your insider knowledge had Glen Hoddle as the next manager :D
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=80151
I placed the bet on Houllier weeks ago after Delaney stated he did not want a British style manager. Houllier has not been interviewed and has never stated his interest in the ireland job. Hoddle has been interviewed and of those interviewed so far is considered leading candidate because he got a team through WC qualifying(which says a lot about the other candidates). Why do you think MM is now being touted for a return. The leading candidate is Hoddle followed by Brady of those interviewed.
09/01/2008, 1:37 PM
I placed the bet on Houllier weeks ago after Delaney stated he did not want a British style manager. Houllier has not been interviewed and has never stated his interest in the ireland job. Hoddle has been interviewed and of those interviewed so far is considered leading candidate because he got a team through WC qualifying(which says a lot about the other candidates). Why do you think MM is now being touted for a return. The leading candidate is Hoddle followed by Brady of those interviewed.
Do you have a list of those that were interviewed.
09/01/2008, 1:54 PM
It's all in the way Noely stares into his pint glass, has crystal ball powers.
What would Mrs Houllier have to say about the Irish job being offered to Gerard.?
09/01/2008, 1:57 PM
What would Mrs Houllier have to say about the Irish job being offered to Gerard.?I hope she's not accompanying him to Dundalk.
Sligo Hornet
09/01/2008, 2:07 PM
What would Mrs Houllier have to say about the Irish job being offered to Gerard.?
"Tas de Merde!! ":eek:
09/01/2008, 5:07 PM
We play 451 tonight, or else!! (http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/1595000/images/_1597380_thomhoullwife300.jpg)
Isabelle - more than a capable deputy- shows who really is in charge in the Houllier household
Accordingto TodayFM this morning,
Houllier is gonna say "Thanks, but no thanks"
Sligo Hornet
10/01/2008, 8:09 AM
Houllier is gonna say "Thanks, but no thanks"
:mad::mad:....had a feeling today was going to be a ****e day!
10/01/2008, 8:51 AM
Houllier is gonna say "Thanks, but no thanks"Yeah, that's deflated my mood a bit too.
Newryrep
10/01/2008, 9:47 AM
At least it is encouraging that the likes of Hodgson Houlliers are being asked. I dont have a major issue if we dont get a great manager as long as all available candidates were asked and not just the usual suspects- if they say no then fair enough
Is Trappatoni happy at Salzburg - would international football appeal to him
Van Gaal - would he be willing ?
Deschamps - doubt he would want it and would probably only stay a campaign but by all means ask him
jmurphyc
10/01/2008, 11:46 AM
At least it is encouraging that the likes of Hodgson Houlliers are being asked. I dont have a major issue if we dont get a great manager as long as all available candidates were asked and not just the usual suspects- if they say no then fair enough
Is Trappatoni happy at Salzburg - would international football appeal to him
Van Gaal - would he be willing ?
Deschamps - doubt he would want it and would probably only stay a campaign but by all means ask him
But it's no good if they are willing and we tell them to wait 5 weeks until we've interviewed all the other (inferior) candidates, which may have happened with Hodgson. If there is a standout candidate then we offer them the job and tell Kendall et al to **** off.
ShamrockIreland
11/01/2008, 10:39 AM
But it's no good if they are willing and we tell them to wait 5 weeks until we've interviewed all the other (inferior) candidates, which may have happened with Hodgson. If there is a standout candidate then we offer them the job and tell Kendall et al to **** off.
;):o:) Just the waiting is killing me look how swift the England manager was picked. FAI should have chosen 3 outstanding candidates or drawing up a list and interviewed them straight away. Hodgson could have done a fine job like Houllier but we'll end up with somebody who hasn't worked in years. The 3 man panel is nonsense in my humble opinion
11/01/2008, 11:15 AM
look how swift the England manager was picked.
Hard to go wrong when one of the top managers in the world comes straight out and says he wants the job. Look how long Scotland have been without a manager
ShamrockIreland
11/01/2008, 11:25 AM
Hard to go wrong when one of the top managers in the world comes straight out and says he wants the job. Look how long Scotland have been without a manager
True and the England job is appealing but surely we could have a body running football here that show a degree of courage and go out and find a Houllier or a Hodgson themselves. I mean could you imagine the English FA asking the players who they want. Its a joke and another dragged out saga.Why wait for Venables whos huffing and puffing and who wouldn't be my choice at all.
Noelys Guitar
13/01/2008, 9:46 AM
From the the BBc site discussing the Newcastle vacancy. Hall is answering a question about Keegan and Shearer taking the job.
But life president and fomer chairman Sir John Hall told 5 Live's Sportsweek programme that they are not right for the role.
"Alan is the most dedicated professional I have ever met and a great man. But he would want to come in at the right time, and now is probably too early," he said.
"Kevin has had his time and I don't think he and his family would want to return."
Hall is a long-time admirer of ex-Liverpool manager Gerard Houllier who now works for the French Football Federation as a technical director after leaving Lyon.
"Gerard did a fine job at Lyon and I feel he could do it at Newcastle, but I don't think he would leave his new role," he said.
13/01/2008, 10:02 AM
Report or rumour in the Indo that the FAI were not prepared to pay compo to the FFA.
Houllier has been heavily backed for the Newcastle job, now at 12/1
Venables at 33/1
Noelys Guitar
14/01/2008, 11:38 PM
Houllier to be interviewed this week with FAI prepared to pay compo if that is a factor
http://www.examiner.ie/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=sport-qqqm=sport-qqqa=sport-qqqid=52618-qqqx=1.asp
Skysports haved just said that Newcastle owner Ashley has Houllier on a managers shortlist. The FFA have said that there will be no problems with Houllier leaving for whatever he wants to do.
15/01/2008, 8:50 AM
As long as they are compensated for the loss.
15/01/2008, 9:11 AM
If Newcastle go for Keegan/Shearer then Gerard might be tempted. I think he'd work wonders for us defensively - we'd be better organised that's for sure.
15/01/2008, 12:36 PM
Seems there's a head of steam building up with regard to Houllier taking over at Newcastle, maybe assisted by that goon Shearer.
15/01/2008, 12:54 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/n/newcastle_united/7189443.stm
yep I reckon that's Houillier out of picture for us then.
16/01/2008, 8:59 AM
Houllier has told the FFF that he doesn't want the Newcastle Job. "Everytime an english club is in difficulty my name is brought up" from the herald am or Metro this morning not sure which I read both on the bus on the way in
Noelys Guitar
16/01/2008, 1:06 PM
Houllier is speaking on Thursday and Friday at a coaching conference in Baltimore (US). And he is expected to remain until Saturday at the conference. So the earliest the lads could chat/interview/courtesy call him would be Monday.
Wolfie
16/01/2008, 1:12 PM
Houllier is speaking on Thursday and Friday at a coaching conference in Baltimore (US). And he is expected to remain until Saturday at the conference. So the earliest the lads could chat/interview/courtesy call him would be Monday.
Maybe Joe Lapira could have a word?