View Full Version : Stephen Ireland
btid1
15/10/2007, 11:41 AM
IRELAND `TEASED ABOUT HAIR TRANSPLANTS`
Posted 15/10/07 12:28
Stephen 'Daddy Dick' Ireland is reportedly set to quit international football because his Irish team-mates teased him about apparent hair transplants.
The Irish Mail on Sunday reports that two unnamed team-mates pinned him to the floor on the night before Ireland's game in Slovakia last month, and tried to see if the sudden appearance of a fringe was down to artificial means.
What is in no doubt is that last season Ireland had a rapidly receding hairline, while in recent times he appears to be sporting a fringe.
Indeed, the Daily Telegraph claims 'it was not clear to the casual observer that he was there (at Ireland training) at all until coach Kevin MacDonald praised him loudly for a good piece of footwork.'
The FAI deny the incident took place.
Source Football365.com
15/10/2007, 11:52 AM
Jesus. I'm sure he was teased about his hair. To suggest he's going to quit international football over it is nonsense though. Anything for an "article".
15/10/2007, 11:55 AM
Can we stop the Steve Ireland threads, they all hit the bin anyway, this is just saying what was said in last thread.
btid1
15/10/2007, 12:01 PM
Can we stop the Steve Ireland threads, they all hit the bin anyway, this is just saying what was said in last thread.
Well considering we have been debating why he decided not to join up with the squad for the last week I think any article that may give a reason is relevant and newsworthy.
I wonder if he wasnt from Cobh would you have the same attitude?
depor
15/10/2007, 12:20 PM
absolute ********. even if he did have transplants its his own buisness. its not something id mock someone about. the fact is he has great ability, and can become one of the best. and Btid1 u should ask yourself if he was a jackeen would you get the pleasure ur clearly getting from his problems. i bet we wouldnt even be tal;king about it now if he wasnt from cobh. roy keane was right , them dubs love putting everything and everyone from outside the pale down.:mad:
15/10/2007, 12:25 PM
absolute ********. even if he did have transplants its his own buisness. its not something id mock someone about.
If any of my mates got a hair transplant I'd be taking the **** out of them from years. How could anyone pass up the opportunity for a good slagging like that?
15/10/2007, 12:26 PM
Jesus if one of the lads got the hair transplant of course they are going to get slagged over it. However the article is just grasping at straws and it makes a mockery of what could be a serious mental illness for Stephen Ireland. Taking the **** out of someone for getting a hair transplant is fair game in my view but I do not believe it has anything to do with Ireland not turning up for these games.
Billsthoughts
15/10/2007, 12:28 PM
Stephen Ireland threads are the new saipan threads of foot.ie.....
15/10/2007, 12:28 PM
Can we stop the Steve Ireland threads, they all hit the bin anyway,
Exactly. Hair today, gone tomorrow.
depor
15/10/2007, 12:31 PM
I agree with ya neilMcD, it is making a mockery of his mental health. Its bad form.
Patrick Dunne
15/10/2007, 12:44 PM
A low cut.
He may have to remain on the fringes of the squad for the next few matches.
shanman2
15/10/2007, 12:45 PM
would ye ever cop on he is well enough to play for City and not for Ireland you must be joking me. Bin this thread its crap and since when were ye able to diagnose mental problems. Your all sick in the head. give it a rest.
as_i_say
15/10/2007, 1:03 PM
its a hair raising story alright
15/10/2007, 1:05 PM
since when were ye able to diagnose mental problems. Your all sick in the head.
Touché.
Torn-Ado
15/10/2007, 1:07 PM
Hopefully he will Regaine his spot in the Irish team soon.
absolute ********. even if he did have transplants its his own buisness. its not something id mock someone about. the fact is he has great ability, and can become one of the best. and Btid1 u should ask yourself if he was a jackeen would you get the pleasure ur clearly getting from his problems. i bet we wouldnt even be tal;king about it now if he wasnt from cobh. roy keane was right , them dubs love putting everything and everyone from outside the pale down.:mad:
Im actually from Kildare so thats you argument out the window I suppose.
Where does his percieved mental illness come into this??
Anyone who gets a hair transplant for reasons of vanity deserves all the abuse they get and should expect it.
There was a time when we could laugh at certain things on this board I can see those days are over with the PC brigade in full flight.
I suppose we shouldnt discuss Andy Reid's weight either as Im sure he is senstive about it........
15/10/2007, 1:09 PM
Hopefully he will Regaine his spot in the Irish team soon.
:DBest of the puns so far!
DeNiro
15/10/2007, 1:11 PM
Heard a story that he might join BARNET after he finishes at City.
as_i_say
15/10/2007, 1:11 PM
agreed :D
eelmonster
15/10/2007, 1:14 PM
What a shame, he was hair apparent to Roy Keane's crown[ing glory], more than just a fringe player. Someone's going to get to the root of this, it has to be more than yet another shaggy dog story.
Wolfie
15/10/2007, 1:15 PM
Touché.
No - not a toupee, it's a hair transplant.
as_i_say
15/10/2007, 1:19 PM
I think this thread is going nowhair.
hair, hair!
15/10/2007, 1:23 PM
yeah we've hair-ed it all before.
greendeiseboy
15/10/2007, 1:25 PM
read it that apparently he got advise from elton john who told the best thing to do was put a rabbit on his head as it would look like hair from a distance
15/10/2007, 1:27 PM
Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow
greendeiseboy
15/10/2007, 1:30 PM
it's all rubbish about him not playing for us again as he has been quoted as saying just like his pevious hairstyle that he'd never "part" with us
15/10/2007, 1:44 PM
So do you think Stan will give him the chop for good? We could really do with him weaving his magic for us. We're short of cover on the back and sides.
15/10/2007, 2:03 PM
Indeed, the Daily Telegraph claims 'it was not clear to the casual observer that he was there (at Ireland training) at all until coach Kevin MacDonald praised him loudly for a good piece of footwork.'
It is a good piece! :)
Torn-Ado
15/10/2007, 2:07 PM
So do you think Stan will give him the chop for good? We could really do with him weaving his magic for us. We're short of cover on the back and sides.
Thats a bald statement.
bogwarrior
15/10/2007, 2:08 PM
This matter cannot be swept under the rug! It shall be debated to the bitter (split)end.
I apologise but i cudnt resist!
15/10/2007, 3:26 PM
THATCH the long and short of it. I couldnt give a flying FIG about whats happening. His performances have been HAIROIC in my book.
Ozymandias
15/10/2007, 4:09 PM
he won't be asking for a short back and shine anymore
15/10/2007, 4:09 PM
Stan: "Stephen, is that herpes?"Stephen: " No Stan, it's me real hair"
This guy must be off the fringe if he can't take a bit of slagging. Surely this has also happened at his club. Some people may say its bullying but in a couple of weeks it would be forgotten.
4tothefloor
15/10/2007, 4:26 PM
He should have bought himself a pair of balls with the hair transplant, cos he obviously has none. Mental illness my @rse, how can you be mentally ill to play for Ireland and but play out of your skin for City? He's in the wrong environment if he can't take a slagging :rolleyes:
Noelys Guitar
15/10/2007, 5:17 PM
"Irish Jig spotted on Crust" screams Mail headline.
mattie
15/10/2007, 5:18 PM
I am luaghing my hole off after reading this thread. great comments.
There is nothing wrong with a bit of banter.
However I would say that I don't agree with the people who are usin that "if he can play for man city and not for ireland" argument.
If he is mentally ill and the signs are that he suffers from low self-confidence (hair issue) plus he is suffering some sort of post-traumatic thing after the miscarriage + lying episode then I would just say without trying to sound patronising...
If you know people who are mentally ill you will know that they rarely portray there illness in public. If you are depressed you have to conserve and muster up all your energy for any public appearnace (e.g. work) and you are completely drained after.
The energy (in these terms) needed to come to Dublin, play for Ireland is different to that needed to play in Manchester. In fact there is a huge chasm in how a depressed person would approach these challenges.
Its a hairy situation alright, Stan must be pulling his hair out, if true I can't really blame the lads for giving him a slagging, how can you not expect it? Ireland's goals has helped comb-over Stans incompetence but he needs to shed his immature overlysensitive attitude as he needs toupee the fans back if he did miss games over such ridiculous reasons.
15/10/2007, 7:56 PM
Exactly. Hair today, gone tomorrow.
I think you mean:-
Gone yesterday, hair today. ;)
Haire transplants are really painfull. Banging a load of hair in one spot. I knew a bloke who had his fringe done but either too painfull or expensive when the inevitable decline set in, to get the rest done. He was left with a line of hair he couldn't get rid of and got knicknamed zippy. No joking mattter. My advice: Spam with dignity. :D
: Spam with dignity. :D
The creeping alopecia gets us all in the end
greendeiseboy
15/10/2007, 9:38 PM
a lot of his performances have been a cut above the others but he needs to brush up on his act if he wants to win over the fans again..... or else he'll just curl up and dye... heard he scored a great scissors kick in training last week
15/10/2007, 9:52 PM
A bit here from Stuart Pearce, seems like his problems are genuine enough whatever the case maybe with his hair.
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_2802858,00.html
greendeiseboy
15/10/2007, 9:56 PM
seemingly errickson is prepared to let him go for a snip............ yeah he preferred his hair the way it was!
15/10/2007, 10:04 PM
A Manchester Newspaper is reporting that Stephen Ireland didn't show up for training on Monday morning. Friends and family are still combing the area.
16/10/2007, 1:28 AM
The energy (in these terms) needed to come to Dublin, play for Ireland is different to that needed to play in Manchester.
This is the Richard Whiteley thread.
Regarding the footballer however, he has to summon up the overwhelming energy to go to Dublin, a journey of 35 minutes. It's not exactly like travelling to Dubai. It's about the same distance as travelling to London for matches. That never stopped him.
His issues aside, I still stand by saying he should never play for Ireland again, mainly for the grossly insensitive and disrespectful way he handled the Prague issue.
Torn-Ado
16/10/2007, 1:58 AM
he needs toupee the fans back
LOL
16/10/2007, 3:56 AM
I hear Wig-on may be interested in signing him.
Noelys Guitar
16/10/2007, 4:16 AM
Luckily for Ireland Erickson dose'nt use the hairdyer treatment.
Heres the link to the real story http://www.grapheine.com/bombaytv/play_uk.php?id=1866756