View Full Version : Stephen Ireland

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

16/10/2007, 4:52 AM
I think this whole episode over the advances his fringe has undergone are a bit of a grey area...... :D

16/10/2007, 7:49 AM
Claire Balding was interviewing him on the telly earlier. Followed by Michael O'Hehir. I dont think he's going to move to Trim. Is this thread Just For Men? He might not be Head and Shoulders above the rest but stick with him in the long run...... Because He's Worth It.

16/10/2007, 9:10 AM
a lot of his performances have been a cut above the others but he needs to brush up on his act if he wants to win over the fans again..... or else he'll just curl up and dye... heard he scored a great scissors kick in training last weekCurl up and Dye! I seen a barbers with that name on it. Craiced me up. but there was a place next to it called the Hairport, I had to shake my head in disgust.

smellyfeet
16/10/2007, 9:22 AM
absolute ********. even if he did have transplants its his own buisness. its not something id mock someone about. the fact is he has great ability, and can become one of the best. and Btid1 u should ask yourself if he was a jackeen would you get the pleasure ur clearly getting from his problems. i bet we wouldnt even be tal;king about it now if he wasnt from cobh. roy keane was right , them dubs love putting everything and everyone from outside the pale down.:mad:

Noel Mooney former goalkeeper got hair transplant and has got stick for years over it, its all a bit of craic. At the same time i do understand that some people can take a slagging but others can't.

galwayhoop
16/10/2007, 9:25 AM
maybe he is able to play for Man City as the lads there don't slag him! Or perhaps they do but in their own language and he can't understand it!!

On a serious note, if he didn't come to Dublin to play this week because the lads slagged him before the Slovakia game does this not cast doubt on the whole miscarriage story??? It does for me anyway.

What a tosser, he is so vain that he goes and gets hair implants and then goes off crying when his peers slag him off about it. Grow up you muppet! Shave you fookin head and stop acting like a girls blouse.

16/10/2007, 9:27 AM
Exactly, It's only a slagging, if it emerged they were slagging him about the miscarriage, then fair enough, but hair plugs???? Grow up. When people start slagging me about something, i just grab there balls.... End of....

dr_peepee
16/10/2007, 9:58 AM
RIGHT, That's enough... SAID FRED!!

as_i_say
16/10/2007, 10:03 AM
Exactly, It's only a slagging, if it emerged they were slagging him about the miscarriage, then fair enough, but hair plugs???? Grow up. When people start slagging me about something, i just grab there balls.... End of....

what are you tony friggin soprano or something?

Dun Laoire
16/10/2007, 10:44 AM
what are you tony friggin soprano or something?

Alright keep your hair on!

16/10/2007, 10:48 AM
Alright keep your hair on!
Exactly, lets be Piece-ful about this.....

viagogo
16/10/2007, 8:27 PM
Hopefully he will Regaine his spot in the Irish team soon.

Brilliant.

sligobhoy67
16/10/2007, 9:03 PM
I dont think Stephen will not FADE from the team, sure he is a SPIKEy character but he wont allow himself to be UNDERCUT by his teamates.

His absence wont be PERMantent, I am sure he will STRAIGHTen this out

Noelys Guitar
16/10/2007, 9:24 PM
New FIFA Directive that each team must play at least 3 follicly challenged individuals. So that Stephen won't be the the only Sham poohed.

aidz1
21/10/2007, 12:10 AM
after watching some of match of the day tonight, low and behold, our man stevie ireland was playing from the start for man city....
ffs... i had a lot of sympathy for what he had went through and never questioned the lad before. however, these sympathies are up in smoke after seeing him play for an city today.
i can not now trust what this wig wearing little lad has to say these days. feel terrible for even suggesting it but now even question his excuses for fecking off after the bratislava game. am sorry for questioning such a terrible event in a couples lives, but after observing the last 6 weeks actions of the lad, i find it hard to believe a word from his mouth.
a real pity as i think he is a good footballer.

21/10/2007, 12:12 AM
There'll be wigs on the green over this!:D

21/10/2007, 9:59 AM
I very much doubt that anyone who calls themselves Daddy Dick has self esteem issues as well

21/10/2007, 10:48 AM
I am pulling out my hair over this one. Ah well, hair today. Gone tomorrow.

jjppc
21/10/2007, 12:01 PM
Who were the players who allegedly held him down ? My guess is Steve Thinin and Shave Given

21/10/2007, 12:30 PM
Stephen Hunt with a great piece of advice for the man formerly known as Stephen Ireland today in relation to his 'personal problems',

He's got his own problems and he's got to deal with it, but only Stephen Ireland can deal with it and that's it. We've all had hard childhoods and he has to be a man. He's playing in the big boys' world now and it's difficult.

GuisaSaigon
21/10/2007, 12:49 PM
His popularity with the fans appears to be receding.

carloz
21/10/2007, 12:55 PM
Fair dues to Hunt. He said that he gets more abuse about his hair than any guy in the squad but he takes it like a man. Ireland seems like a very ****ed up individual if something that silly would make him question playing for his country

Paddy Garcia
21/10/2007, 2:43 PM
Stephen Hunt with a great piece of advice for the man formerly known as Stephen Ireland today in relation to his 'personal problems',

He's got his own problems and he's got to deal with it, but only Stephen Ireland can deal with it and that's it. We've all had hard childhoods and he has to be a man. He's playing in the big boys' world now and it's difficult.

I'm not an apologist for Ireland, but these words of wisdom from the great psychotherapist in the team seem il conceived to say the least.

Is this the same guy crying about his brother not being picked for the US tour, welcome to the big boys world.

Also Hunt can do something about his hair!

Docboy
21/10/2007, 6:56 PM
I'd have to agree with Hunt. Everybody has their own problems but you have to set them aside and get on with things. Strong characters tend to get on in football, as in life, and hopefully Ireland will learn to deal with his problems and come back all the stronger for it.

Gotta love Hunt's straightup attitude in this time of Sky's gloss. Very refreshing.

Paddy Garcia
21/10/2007, 9:23 PM
I'd have to agree with Hunt. Everybody has their own problems but you have to set them aside and get on with things. Strong characters tend to get on in football, as in life, and hopefully Ireland will learn to deal with his problems and come back all the stronger for it.

Gotta love Hunt's straightup attitude in this time of Sky's gloss. Very refreshing.

mmm. except in the olden days he would have stuck by his team mate & never talked to the media this way.

If anything he is appears a product of the sky generation, all to keen to share his views....

citizenerased
21/10/2007, 11:10 PM
fair play to hunty,,im sure that the players are fed up with ireland

22/10/2007, 7:32 AM
Fair dues to Hunt. He said that he gets more abuse about his hair than any guy in the squad but he takes it like a man. Ireland seems like a very ****ed up individual if something that silly would make him question playing for his country

He's from Cork.. nough said :D

Wolfie
22/10/2007, 12:13 PM
Jason McAteer should be brought in to sort out "Hair Gate".

He appeared in a TV ad in his crusade against the scourge of dandruff and problem hair in general.

"If theres ONE thing that Jason won't tolerate - its problem hair" :D

22/10/2007, 1:40 PM
That's a hair brained idea!!

galwayhoop
23/10/2007, 12:14 PM
if steven hunt really cared he would offer to cut his own hair so steve ireland could use it to make a wig. problem solved. ireland doesn't get slagged off for going bald and hunt has a nice neat hair cut.

carloz
05/11/2007, 9:47 PM
He scored a very good goal today tonight.......then he pulls down his shorts in the celebration:confused:. Im beginning to worry about him

Colbert Report
06/11/2007, 12:43 AM
Why do I get the feeling this fella is going to be out of the game in three or four years, recovering from a drug problem or worse? Can you imagine if he was playing for Sunderland and he pulled down his shorts? Roy Keane would give him a right boot up the arse and he'd be training with the reserves for a year.

billybunter
06/11/2007, 12:49 AM
have to say, any respect i had for the chap has gone. he was upset over being teased about his ridiculous "miracle grow hair transplants" yet he takes down his shorts in front of 20 oddd thousand (or whatever City are pulling in these days). The club should get an immediate refund on any money that they have invested in his 'therapy" and actually use the money for someone that wants to be helped. This guy is proving himself to be an idiot - and I dont want to hear the excuse about his age. He does not deserve to share an international stage with the likes of Richie Dunne and Shay Given - who are real pros.

Claret Murph
06/11/2007, 6:35 AM
Spot on Billy Ireland is I think going well off the rails :mad:

Sligo Hornet
06/11/2007, 7:03 AM
what a prat........as he no longer wants to play for us, and we definitely do not need assistance in bringing our game to new depths.....can we not insist he changes his name by deed pol to " Stephen ENGLAND"?;)

RiffRaff
06/11/2007, 7:54 AM
have to say, any respect i had for the chap has gone. he was upset over being teased about his ridiculous "miracle grow hair transplants" yet he takes down his shorts in front of 20 oddd thousand (or whatever City are pulling in these days). The club should get an immediate refund on any money that they have invested in his 'therapy" and actually use the money for someone that wants to be helped. This guy is proving himself to be an idiot - and I dont want to hear the excuse about his age. He does not deserve to share an international stage with the likes of Richie Dunne and Shay Given - who are real pros.

Not defending Ireland, but do you remember what Richard Dunne was like at 21? He made Ireland look like a model pro!

06/11/2007, 8:06 AM
Shock Horror- Immature footballer celebrates goal in silly fashion.

RogerMilla
06/11/2007, 8:12 AM
brillinat goal and a very good player indeed , i look forward to the day our new manager figures out how to get him and andy reid playing together in the green, he can pull down his shorts for every goal for all i care.

06/11/2007, 8:24 AM
brillinat goal and a very good player indeed , i look forward to the day our new manager figures out how to get him and andy reid playing together in the green, he can pull down his shorts for every goal for all i care.
Amen to that , I have a feeling under Eriksson's guidance he could turn out to be a very fine player

Sligo Hornet
06/11/2007, 8:45 AM
Did he get the Wig from the same fancy dress store as the Superman pants?.........very embarrassing...the wig I mean!:D

RogerMilla
06/11/2007, 8:48 AM
Did he get the Wig from the same fancy dress store as the Superman pants?.........very embarrassing...the wig I mean!:D

least he could have done was got one thats more realistic !! especially with his money !

BaZmO*
06/11/2007, 8:57 AM
He does not deserve to share an international stage with the likes of Richie Dunne and Shay Given - who are real pros.
The same Richard Dunne that while sitting at a bar with a cigarette in one hand and a pint in the other said to an Irish reporter, "Who are you to question my professionalism?" a couple of days before a match?

A bit of perspective please. Although I do agree that Stephen Ireland really doesn't help his cause but he is still young.

RogerMilla
06/11/2007, 8:59 AM
if the manager sees fit to pick him then he deserves the stage , end of.

06/11/2007, 9:22 AM
Why do I get the feeling this fella is going to be out of the game in three or four years, recovering from a drug problem or worse? Can you imagine if he was playing for Sunderland and he pulled down his shorts? Roy Keane would give him a right boot up the arse and he'd be training with the reserves for a year.

Yeah imagine a player of that quality playing for a team that have struggled with relegation and lost something like 7 matches this season and have only kept one clean sheet. Instead he is playing for a top class manager and a team that is over performing and is 3rd in the league ahhh but sure Keano would give him a kick up the arse, what a manager.

RogerMilla
06/11/2007, 9:28 AM
LOL could be two points now !

06/11/2007, 9:29 AM
Soon he will have more points than Sunderland but sure Keano will give BTID1 a kick up the arse.

06/11/2007, 9:32 AM
Thanks be to god he was not wearing the pink thong from his bebo site.

06/11/2007, 9:35 AM
Lovely goal by Ireland but God the Man City fans are fickle. Didn't get behind the team at all and groaned every time they witnessed a misplaced pass. They can't keep beating teams with ease and should be delighted that they are in such a lofty position. I thought Sunderland played well again last night but lack that cutting edge that gets points on the road. I like that they always try and play football no matter the opposition. The Irish Sunderland contingent were solid on the whole without being spectacular, Miller got into the game more as the second half wore on and Stokes had a great opportunity with a header that just whizzed past the post. Dunne was outstanding (again), him or Nosworthy must have won MOM.

06/11/2007, 9:38 AM
Keane and Eriksson spent roughly the same amount in the summer – around £36m. One bought little-known foreign players on video evidence, Keane trusted in footballers he knew, who were usually young, English-speaking and Championship players.

Sligo Hornet
06/11/2007, 9:40 AM
Soon he will have more points than Sunderland but sure Keano will give BTID1 a kick up the arse.

Nice one Neil!!:D

Sligo Hornet
06/11/2007, 9:45 AM
Thanks be to god he was not wearing the pink thong from his bebo site.

He was going to wear it....but he didn't want to look ridiculous!:D