View Full Version : MFA Junior Cup 2007/08
Pages :
[
9]
Elton John
28/03/2008, 10:39 AM
Aisling would not be considered a phsyical side, they can mix it with any team but they try to play football even against the GIANTS that are Pike, they probably should be more direct and play less football like Pike, in fact on further reflection maybe they should abandon the beautiful game altogether like Pike.
widow
28/03/2008, 11:14 AM
In my opinion I think, the winner will come from the Aishling and Balla game. Balla have to be favourites just from there experience alone. Aishling have had a tough run to get this far but now it may have dawned on them that they can actually win it outright. When that happens bottle and experience is needed. I can see Balla winning the semi final maybe 3-0.
Towelie
28/03/2008, 11:34 AM
Its good to see Leeside being written off again.
Nobody on the Limerick forums gave us a chance against Regional either,
hopefully we can prove a few people wrong and make the final.
superhero
28/03/2008, 11:39 AM
Well in truth Regional should have won that game handy just couldn't get goal, hit the bar, post, couple off the line etc.. so that is why the Limerick forum would not be giving Leeside a chance, and after speaking to the Regional striker he doesn't think they'll do it either.
Think Balla's experience will be enough to see them home now
Neutral Jo
28/03/2008, 11:47 AM
Well in truth Regional should have won that game handy just couldn't get goal, hit the bar, post, couple off the line etc.. so that is why the Limerick forum would not be giving Leeside a chance, and after speaking to the Regional striker he doesn't think they'll do it either.
Think Balla's experience will be enough to see them home now
I would agree. Balla should come through this with their experiences from last year. Leeside i read were second best against Regional so i would fancy Balla to beat them in the final.
Innishvilla
28/03/2008, 12:55 PM
Coming from the rebel county I'm hoping that Leeside can do it and go all the way, buy everyone seems to have written off Nenagh... Same happened with the 1/4 finals as well. I hope Leeside will be aware and ready as Nenagh are top of the premier and unbeaten in their league and are the reigning champs of the division so they will be no pushover...
Towelie
28/03/2008, 1:34 PM
I hope Leeside will be aware and ready as Nenagh are top of the premier and unbeaten in their league and are the reigning champs of the division so they will be no pushover...
Spot on we won't be taking anything for granted.
We will prepare like underdogs especially since we are away from home.
Leeside didn't play very well against Regional and still won.
Regional were unlucky not to score but we could have had 2 or 3 more breakaway goals to kill the game but didn't take our chances.
Leeside i read were second best against Regional so i would fancy Balla to beat them in the final.
Must tell the lads we don't have to bother turning up for the semi, as it's a Leeside / Balla final.
Coming from the rebel county I'm hoping that Leeside can do it and go all the way, buy everyone seems to have written off Nenagh... Same happened with the 1/4 finals as well. I hope Leeside will be aware and ready as Nenagh are top of the premier and unbeaten in their league and are the reigning champs of the division so they will be no pushover...
Oh, we are in the semi after all. Playing well too this season, unbeaten, league won early (after our Nenagh neighbours Celtic won the last 4 in a row). And as has been mentioned by a previous poster, Nenagh are a footballing side who like to keep it on the deck.......... Ah sure we'll have a night out in Jackman and leave the final to Leeside / Balla.............
28/03/2008, 7:02 PM
Remember Ballynanty were 7 mins away from goin out against Grattan an would have had no complaints because on the day they were being well beaten .Football wise they were second best on the day,and more importantly physcially wise were well matched.At best if it had gone to penos at 1/1 you could have argued that they fought back well to nick it on penos to go through,but to win that game 3/1 was very flattering to say the least.
Leeside who we played in the league already this season are a very good outfit and are capeable of raising their game an I know that from personal experience.Leeside have been one of the top sides in Cork for the last 7 or 8 years an are would be well able for anything Limerick would have within its ranks.Regional,you could argue had more clear cut chances against Leeside,but they took none of them an Leeside did an defended as if their very lives depended on it an I can see them doin the same again in the semis.I would agree with the Limerick an Tipp sides,maybe even Waterford too that year in year out they perform better in the Fai an Mjc but I think that in itself may blind you to a lot of very good sides that are outside of those perspective leagues.
Nenagh have to be treated with respect because you can only beat whats in fron of you an thats exactly what they have been doing.On paper they have the best record of any side left in the semis within their own league an as for Ashling,they put 4 goals past one of the supposed best defences in the country.enough said.
Lets just remember this is only my own opinion an not ment in a disrespectful way towards any team mentioned,may the best team win,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,especially the rebel team
[QUOTE=littleman;908047]Remember Ballynanty were 7 mins away from goin out against Grattan an would have had no complaints because on the day they were being well beaten .Football wise they were second best on the day,and more importantly physcially wise were well matched.At best if it had gone to penos at 1/1 you could have argued that they fought back well to nick it on penos to go through,but to win that game 3/1 was very flattering to say the least.
There was no football played up there the wind wrecked the game! Plus in extra time there was only 1 team gonna win it once balla got the equaliser they were well on top IMO..
littleman
28/03/2008, 8:07 PM
Thats your opinion an thats your right to have it an have it known,thats what this forum is all about
Although the wind was a factor it didnt stop Grattan playin ball,an it did'nt stop Bally from tryin to stop us playin ball.I would agree with you about Bally bein the side in the accendence,but only after their 2nd goal was scored,but then again this is only my opinion.In your own honest opinion if the game was played in for example Pike field and the conditions were good what would you have thought the outcome,knowing what you know now about Grattan.Did the weather encumber Bally or help them or would you think that Grattan could have won the game on a better surface with more favourable weather.
I have every respect for the sides outside of Cork in all of their respective leagues,but from what I have seen the are a lot of giant shadows being cast out their,with very few giants behind them.
hoops12
28/03/2008, 8:17 PM
Aisling would not be considered a phsyical side, they can mix it with any team but they try to play football even against the GIANTS that are Pike, they probably should be more direct and play less football like Pike, in fact on further reflection maybe they should abandon the beautiful game altogether like Pike.
check aislings disciplinary record and tell me they are not physical
littleman
28/03/2008, 9:40 PM
Feck it hoop,I thought you might be able to do it but I guess the urge was just to strong for you to hold out till tomorrow:D
allab
28/03/2008, 10:06 PM
Thats your opinion an thats your right to have it an have it known,thats what this forum is all about
Although the wind was a factor it didnt stop Grattan playin ball,an it did'nt stop Bally from tryin to stop us playin ball.I would agree with you about Bally bein the side in the accendence,but only after their 2nd goal was scored,but then again this is only my opinion.In your own honest opinion if the game was played in for example Pike field and the conditions were good what would you have thought the outcome,knowing what you know now about Grattan.Did the weather encumber Bally or help them or would you think that Grattan could have won the game on a better surface with more favourable weather.
I have every respect for the sides outside of Cork in all of their respective leagues,but from what I have seen the are a lot of giant shadows being cast out their,with very few giants behind them.
Well seems u reckon ye performed well sunday ye are very average.. no disrespect.. prob the worst balla have been this year and stil got the result, but it would of been a diff ballgame without the gale force winds!
littleman
28/03/2008, 10:22 PM
How would you explain Balla's performance on the day
littleman
28/03/2008, 11:21 PM
Sorry if you seem to have got the wrong end of the stick regarding what I said about Grattan's performance on the day.It is not that we performed well from the perspective that we were outstanding in all areas on the day,just that away from home against a so called superior side along with bad weather an a awful surface we made a game of it an nearly got the result.Thats what I ment,we could have just turned up an rolled over,but we did'nt.
But in our defence,whatever the conditions,over head or under foot I would not accept the excuse that Ballnanty underperformed.I think thats a bit of a cop out. I would give Ballnanty more respect than that.Ballnanty are only too well aware of what their strong points are,set peices for one and playing a high tempo physcial game where they force you to give away frees.Baly were beaten by Killester,did Killester have a bad day.Killester are supposed to be the best side in the country so to keep the score to 2/1 must by your reckoning be Killester havin a bad day.I would perfer to think Ballnanty made it very difficult for Killester an thats why the score was only 2/1.
Bally are very good at what they do in respect of their particular style an I freely admit it.If they were comfortable with playing Grattan on a better surface(which they were clearly not) they could have got one of the many better pitchs available in Limerick.Ballnanty were well aware of the advantage of playing Grattan on a dodgy surface,that weather was a bonus to them an I give them every credit for taking advantage of that.
Over the last 2 season's we have played Pike,Regional,Kilmallock an Ballynanty.Of those Pike were without doubt the best side .We beat Pike last year in the Fai an I still admit they were the best junior side I have ever come across.The weather the day we played them was terrible an our pitch was a bog an still they played ball.I'm sorry but Ballyanty would'nt hold a candle to the Pike team of last year an it showed in the Mjc final.I belive Ballynanty to be a good side,they have their strenghts and are very good at what they do,but if thats what is supposed to be the best Limerick has to offer at the moment I would think it as a measure of how Pike an a few others have slipped back rather than how much Ballnanty have improved since last year.Loosing finals dose'nt give you experience, the only thing it serves as a reminder of is of how many times you have shat the course.
We did our home work regarding Ballnanty an its players an for 83 mins it worked a treat,then we made mistakes an allowed Ballnanty back into the game an paid the price.I have no problem with the losing of the game,Ballynanty won fair an square but I would'nt accept excues of Ballnanty unerperforming on the day,I'v been around too long for that .
hoops12
29/03/2008, 12:07 AM
Feck it hoop,I thought you might be able to do it but I guess the urge was just to strong for you to hold out till tomorrow:D
and this coming from a man that thinks he,e writing a novel when he,s replying to posts,
littleman
29/03/2008, 12:38 AM
Was only putin my point across hoops.At least I'll keep ya awake in work.
littleman
29/03/2008, 1:00 AM
I was always told that one line answers could be viewed as being sarcastic,an I would hate for ya to think me capeable of that hoops:D
hoops12
29/03/2008, 1:33 AM
I was always told that one line answers could be viewed as being sarcastic,an I would hate for ya to think me capeable of that hoops:D
your keeping me awake alright,but still not talking much sense,how are ye doing in the league down there anyway
littleman
29/03/2008, 1:47 AM
Not great reading at the minute,3rd from bottom with 4 played.14 more to go over the next 8 weeks.Plus we have the semi finals of the AOH cup to play within that 8 weeks as well..........................**** this for a game of soldiers,I'm off home.Another week of makin beer for the rest of ye done an dusted an I have an 11am tee off time in Harbour Point Golf Club so I need me beauty sleep. TTFN as Tigger would say................
supporter
29/03/2008, 5:38 PM
lit bad surface lucky ye didnt have to play in bateman park
hoops12
30/03/2008, 12:21 AM
lit bad surface lucky ye didnt have to play in bateman park
keep the rosebowl out of it haha
Innishvilla
01/04/2008, 1:29 PM
Lucozade Sport Munster Junior Cup semi-finals:
Sunday, April 13th, 2.30, at Jackman Park:
Leeside v Nenagh;
Sunday, April 20th, 2.30, at Jackman Park:
Ailsing Annacotty v Ballynanty Rvrs.
Also FYI
Lucozade Sport Munster Youth Cup final:
Sunday April 20th, 3.00, at Ozier Park: Cork City v Waterford Crystal.
Towelie
07/04/2008, 1:47 PM
Any predictions?
Don't know much about Nenagh but they are top of their league.
Could be extra time here I think.
hoops12
08/04/2008, 12:20 AM
Lucozade Sport Munster Junior Cup semi-finals:
Sunday, April 13th, 2.30, at Jackman Park:
Leeside v Nenagh;
Sunday, April 20th, 2.30, at Jackman Park:
Ailsing Annacotty v Ballynanty Rvrs.
Also FYI
Lucozade Sport Munster Youth Cup final:
Sunday April 20th, 3.00, at Ozier Park: Cork City v Waterford Crystal.
if leeside win the final will be on in cork,if nenagh win the final will be played in jackman park
Towelie
11/04/2008, 1:28 PM
Big weekend ahead for both Leeside and Nenagh.
Massive incentive for us to make the final if it is going to be in Cork.
We haven't been playing well lately but we know we can raise our game for
such a big occasion.Hopefully the injuries that have affected us in recent weeks won't affect us too bad on sunday.
Centrehalf
11/04/2008, 2:45 PM
Big weekend ahead for both Leeside and Nenagh.
Massive incentive for us to make the final if it is going to be in Cork.
We haven't been playing well lately but we know we can raise our game for
such a big occasion.Hopefully the injuries that have affected us in recent weeks won't affect us too bad on sunday.
Has this been confirmed that the final will be on in Cork our Tipp, I know Hoops posted this but I'm wondering what this is based on. Is it a toss of a coin or how is it decided.
What do you think yere chances are of winning on Sunday.
Towelie
11/04/2008, 3:26 PM
Has this been confirmed that the final will be on in Cork our Tipp, I know Hoops posted this but I'm wondering what this is based on. Is it a toss of a coin or how is it decided.
What do you think yere chances are of winning on Sunday.
I was only going on what Hoops posted aswell.
I think we have a great chance of making the final.I'm sure Nenagh will feel they have a great chance too and rightly so.All will be decided on the day
thats the beauty of cup football.We made the quarters a couple of years back
and the semis last year so no doubt we are looking to go one better this year.
I was only going on what Hoops posted aswell.
I think we have a great chance of making the final.I'm sure Nenagh will feel they have a great chance too and rightly so.All will be decided on the day
thats the beauty of cup football.We made the quarters a couple of years back
and the semis last year so no doubt we are looking to go one better this year.
i think if leeside win its cork and if nenagh its jackman
abbeyvale
14/04/2008, 7:50 AM
i think if leeside win its cork and if nenagh its jackman
I think the venue to host the final should be chosen before the comp start.
If a club reaches the final and they play their home games on the same ground that the final is planned for, then a 2nd choice venue could also be chosen before the comp starts.
All clubs should be informed prior to kicking off the comp, exactly of where the final will/might be held.
Surley there are better grounds/pitches in Munster than Jackman Park??
Innishvilla
14/04/2008, 8:25 AM
I think the venue to host the final should be chosen before the comp start.
If a club reaches the final and they play their home games on the same ground that the final is planned for, then a 2nd choice venue could also be chosen before the comp starts.
All clubs should be informed prior to kicking off the comp, exactly of where the final will/might be held.
Surley there are better grounds/pitches in Munster than Jackman Park??
Well with Leeside having won their semi the final is now confirmed for Turners Cross
Big Ears
14/04/2008, 9:54 AM
We didn't perform at all and were really quite poor .
Leeside deserved to win the game but I felt we were very unlucky to have a goal ruled out in the first minute , when the ball was(wrongly imo) judged to have crossed the endline before being whipped in . Then again we had a bit of luck with the winning goal in the last round so I suppose it's swings and roundabouts .
To be honest I'd heavily favour the winners of the other semi-final to win it out , but Leeside seem like a good bunch of lads and I's like to see them win it .
Dines
16/04/2008, 11:47 AM
Good Luck to Balla Sunday hope they go on to win it out
abbeyvale
16/04/2008, 12:58 PM
Best of luck to both Limerick teams on Sunday, may the best team win, but I think it will be Balla 3-1.
I predict Balla for the double, MJC & Prem League.;)
i'd have to agree with u there,think balla will be too strong for aisling sunday and leeside in the final
jovani
17/04/2008, 8:59 AM
I disagree with the opinions that Balla will win Sunday.
They are the proverbial bottlers when it comes to the big games and I think Aisling will win with something to spare on Sunday.
After all they have disposed very easily of the fai champions in waiting " Carrick " in a previous round !
Centrehalf
17/04/2008, 9:30 AM
I disagree with the opinions that Balla will win Sunday.
They are the proverbial bottlers when it comes to the big games and I think Aisling will win with something to spare on Sunday.
After all they have disposed very easily of the fai champions in waiting " Carrick " in a previous round !
Proverbial bottlers is a bit harsh I would think, yeah they bottled the final last year but it takes a good team to come back from a defeat like that by a strong Pike team and reach the semi final again, would you not think Balla would have the experience this year.I would think the winners Sunday will win it out.
jovani
17/04/2008, 10:06 AM
im not saying balla are a bad side just that they lack a few leaders on the pitch when things are not going well for them.
i do agree whoever wins sunday will win it out and i think it will be aisling.
hoops12
19/04/2008, 5:02 PM
i would go along with that
see's it
19/04/2008, 8:20 PM
go on balla
Best of luck Balla.Come on the Blues
the hoops
20/04/2008, 3:53 PM
2nill for balla
hoops12
20/04/2008, 5:19 PM
2nill for balla
congrats to balla,go on and win it now
dell hell
20/04/2008, 5:47 PM
well done balla,could still win the league and the munster junior,that would be a great season for them
good result for balla. whoo scored for them. was there a big crowd at the match
josse got the first and rob earls..
abbeyvale
20/04/2008, 9:40 PM
josse got the first and rob earls..
was there many at it?