View Full Version : MFA Junior Cup 2007/08
Pages :
[
3]
abbeyvale
26/11/2007, 5:46 PM
Result - 2nd Rnd
Janesboro 2-2 Fairview (AET Janesboro won 5-4 on pens)
Munster Junior Cup 3rd Rnd Draw
Pallasgreen v Killmallock
Star Rovers v Wembley
Aisling A'cotty v Janesboro
Ballynanty Rvs v Pike Rvs
Knockainey v Caherconlish
Corbally Utd v Regional
6 Winners will advance to the out of town stages for the "Open Draw".
Is the 3rd Rd on this Sunday?
clonmel and saint michaels sunday in second round munster cup. here saints are ready to unleash new signing john mernagh from athenry. he will be some strike partner for paul kennedy
jug2004
26/11/2007, 7:20 PM
I thought that the word on the street was that Mernagh was after signing for Pike no? he would be a good addition to Michaels though. He must be gettin alot of "expenses" for his travels all the way down to tipp then no:) Should be a cracker of a game pity one of the big guns have to go so early in the cup both teams have made it a habit of gettin far in the competition over the last number of years!
Green_Hoop
26/11/2007, 11:25 PM
I thought that the word on the street was that Mernagh was after signing for Pike no? he would be a good addition to Michaels though. He must be gettin alot of "expenses" for his travels all the way down to tipp then no:) Should be a cracker of a game pity one of the big guns have to go so early in the cup both teams have made it a habit of gettin far in the competition over the last number of years!
He got too greedy for Pike..
abbeyvale
27/11/2007, 11:10 PM
Fixtures for Round 3 of the MJC are down for Sunday week 09/12/07
Pallasgreen v Killmallock
Star Rovers v Wembley
Aisling A'cotty v Janesboro
Ballynanty Rvs v Pike Rvs
Corbally Utd v Regional
6 winners advance to "Open Draw" for out of town stages in Rd 4.
Town Fan
28/11/2007, 7:05 AM
clonmel and saint michaels sunday in second round munster cup. here saints are ready to unleash new signing john mernagh from athenry. he will be some strike partner for paul kennedy
With Mernagh signing and Town without Aaron Moroney, this will tip the balance in Michael's favour. Will be close but I would have to fancy Michael's
the dazzler
28/11/2007, 9:13 AM
With Mernagh signing and Town without Aaron Moroney, this will tip the balance in Michael's favour. Will be close but I would have to fancy Michael's
ya ye paid big bucks for mernagh he was asking 100e_150e from teams in limerick plus clonmel fair play to them not paying him hes hardly playing for ye for nothing:eek:
littleman
28/11/2007, 2:09 PM
Not exactly the best example to be setting for smaller clubs is it buying success.Strange thing about payin players is you can never be quite sure if he's playing for the club or his next big paypacket.I would hope for the sake of who ever signed him he dos'nt get tapped up the night before a big game by someone with a bit more money.
By the way what exactly do you tell the younger players tryin to break into your squad when they ask why ar'nt they given the chance for a break through.Sorry we'd rather pay for it than develope it.
I have never ever heard of a club building a successful junior team on the back of a pay cheque.But I have lots of examples of clubs who are up shiite creek because they put money into players who won them nothing instead of puttin a little time an effort into developing their younger players.
Hoops 1967
28/11/2007, 2:49 PM
Paying lads to play junior football is a complete joke, if a fella doesn't want to play for your club then you're better off without him no matter how good he is supposed to be.
Paying players will only come back to haunt a club in the end, for one it will **** off the lads who aren't getting paid!!
Green_Hoop
29/11/2007, 10:46 AM
Paying lads to play junior football is a complete joke, if a fella doesn't want to play for your club then you're better off without him no matter how good he is supposed to be.
Paying players will only come back to haunt a club in the end, for one it will **** off the lads who aren't getting paid!!
Exactly...Now tell that to the rest of the Limerick crowd...Pity most can't tell the difference between travel expenses and wages...If both were the same, pike have been "paying" players for years before it was even thought of in Junior soccer...
I can tell you now,players like Dermot Phelan,Dave Morris and likes would have Fecked off years ago if Pike were paying big "wages" to mercs...
themerryman
29/11/2007, 10:51 AM
Exactly...Now tell that to the rest of the Limerick crowd...Pity most can't tell the difference between travel expenses and wages...If both were the same, pike have been "paying" players for years before it was even thought of in Junior soccer...
I can tell you now,players like Dermot Phelan,Dave Morris and likes would have Fecked off years ago if Pike were paying big "wages" to mercs...
Well davy wall must have been travelling by chopper to get 2 grand to come in from shannon if he only got it for expenses and not to play..As for Dermot phelan he would never leave cos know other club in town would have him..
And Dave morris fecking off might be a good thing for pike ????
widow
29/11/2007, 12:18 PM
we'll take 'em
Green_Hoop
29/11/2007, 1:27 PM
Well davy wall must have been travelling by chopper to get 2 grand to come in from shannon if he only got it for expenses and not to play..As for Dermot phelan he would never leave cos know other club in town would have him..
Yes and ofc you've seen Davy with his 2 grand no doubt....your probably his PA are you??Or did a 'friend of a friends friend' tell you?And Tell me a team Phelan wouldn't get into in town?? Stop making rubbish claims when you know nothing about it,only the rubbish you spout here..
littleman
29/11/2007, 2:29 PM
Their's no smoke without fire
see's it
29/11/2007, 2:32 PM
didnt phelan play with fairview
silvercircle
29/11/2007, 3:05 PM
didnt phelan play with fairview
I beleive he played with view for 1 season
abbeyvale
29/11/2007, 6:14 PM
Yes he did play one seaosn with the View and also played before that with Granville, but whats that got to do with players being payed "expenses".
If Pike want to pay expenses then thats up to them, nothing to do with any other person, player or club.
littleman
30/11/2007, 6:53 AM
Wo their Abbey, I would'nt go throwing that statement out into the open air.Remember for clubs who apply for funding for developement,an Pike will have done so along with the rest of us. They have to also state that they are a non profit organisation.Thus they can except donations but cannot use those donations in any way that may be seen as to bring a profit to the club,I'd say winning the league an maybe the Fai junior cup by paying/expenses players might top up your coppers a bit in the long run.......
Secondly when or if a league of Ireland player is regraded part of the regrading is that that person will no longer reveive a wage or expense's for playing football,other wise he wont be allowed play junior football so all your doing by naming the clubs that pay players expenses is inviting an objection along the way in some competition.
From my own point of view it seems their are certain clubs in Munster doing this and the seem to receive an awlful lot of very negative posts on this website for doing so.To be perfectly honest to me an this is only my opinion,its basically an unfair advantage,or maybe even cheating.Some will agree,an I think I know who won't.
shanman2
30/11/2007, 7:39 AM
Wo their Abbey, I would'nt go throwing that statement out into the open air.Remember for clubs who apply for funding for developement,an Pike will have done so along with the rest of us. They have to also state that they are a non profit organisation.Thus they can except donations but cannot use those donations in any way that may be seen as to bring a profit to the club,I'd say winning the league an maybe the Fai junior cup by paying/expenses players might top up your coppers a bit in the long run.......
Secondly when or if a league of Ireland player is regraded part of the regrading is that that person will no longer reveive a wage or expense's for playing football,other wise he wont be allowed play junior football so all your doing by naming the clubs that pay players expenses is inviting an objection along the way in some competition.
From my own point of view it seems their are certain clubs in Munster doing this and the seem to receive an awlful lot of very negative posts on this website for doing so.To be perfectly honest to me an this is only my opinion,its basically an unfair advantage,or maybe even cheating.Some will agree,an I think I know who won't.
That is a fantastic post, it makes the most sense I have read on this site since I've joined. For starters any club club paying players to win a competition at junior level are psising into the wind. Is it not the amateur status of a player the makes the FAI such a unique competition along with the local lad who plays football for a club that he loves.
These clubs have raped their league and surrounding leagues for players for longer then I care to remember. Hence sufficating all other junior clubs who can't afford to pay players and won't pay players, as a result the decline in Junior soccer has been dramatic.
Why would young lads want to play when they know they have not got a hope of competing for a major honour no matter how much work they put in. Good on you "littleman" I'm glad someone finally said it.
MitreSize5
30/11/2007, 12:12 PM
so Pike are paying players again - it must be all of two days since this one came up
YYYYYYYYYAAAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWNNNNNNNNNN
silvercircle
30/11/2007, 12:38 PM
That is a fantastic post, it makes the most sense I have read on this site since I've joined. For starters any club club paying players to win a competition at junior level are psising into the wind. Is it not the amateur status of a player the makes the FAI such a unique competition along with the local lad who plays football for a club that he loves.
These clubs have raped their league and surrounding leagues for players for longer then I care to remember. Hence sufficating all other junior clubs who can't afford to pay players and won't pay players, as a result the decline in Junior soccer has been dramatic.
Why would young lads want to play when they know they have not got a hope of competing for a major honour no matter how much work they put in. Good on you "littleman" I'm glad someone finally said it.
Where do people get their info about Pike paying players...I will tell you where..dis fella told me that fella told me..it's all absolute rubbish.
With all the crap posted not one bit of concrete evidence has been shown for this to be believed...I for one as a pike supporter all my life do not belive it to be the case.
what I do know is that we travelled to cork a few weeks ago to play Avondale in the MSC and transport, meals, a few beers were provided for the A team, I can's see a problem with that.
Would this not be common practice with most clubs.
young boy
30/11/2007, 12:57 PM
who cares if pike are paying players. there still one of the most boring teams in limerick to watch
silvercircle
30/11/2007, 1:34 PM
who cares if pike are paying players. there still one of the most boring teams in limerick to watch
they are the current MJC champions....doesn't say a lot for the rest of limerick or munster
Town Fan
30/11/2007, 1:43 PM
they are the current MJC champions....doesn't say a lot for the rest of limerick or munster
They are indeed but in truth they had to win it off the field
Green_Hoop
30/11/2007, 1:49 PM
Double post..
Green_Hoop
30/11/2007, 1:50 PM
Generally players want to play with successful teams,and Pike are a successful team,this stuff about us paying players is basically empty whine's from locals who hate the club...Pike haven't had a strong schoolboy setup for a few years,so getting players from other clubs is the only way to survive,and it also shows ambition on the players part that they want to win trophies and cups.
Whine more,its the same in england,everyone hates chelsea now because they are winning,same goes for Pike.They're being attacked because they are out in front and its the only way for sadacts to feel better about themselves to try and belittle a club..
If they put as much time into there clubs as they do whining about other teams,then maybe just maybe they'd actually get somewhere..
Explain that?
silvercircle
30/11/2007, 2:22 PM
or another way of looking at that is CTFC lost it off the pitch...the game is won on the pitch by 11 v 11 who have the right to be on the pitch in the first place...
littleman
30/11/2007, 2:42 PM
Not meaning to state the obvious but i'd say that was a snipe at the objection shiite that made a mockery of the competition last season.Please feel free to correct me if im wrong by the way.
On Pike being Mjc Champions fair enough but you cant say your way out in front of everyone and in the same breath say ye hav'nt had a decent youth side in years and have no other option but to tempt players in by what ever means.That goes against all the decent points you were makin and makes no sense.
Im not from Limerick and dont claim to know much about your set up but should ye not concentrate a bit more on developing players from underage level and try to solve your problems that way.I've seen clubs go down that route in our league with expenses or whatever they choose to call it and also living off other clubs players(not a nice sayin but lets call a spade a spade) .Eventually it goes belly up big time.Why,because players move on,always have an always will to the next big team.Then your left with nothin but raw young fellas and past their best ol fellas.
Greenmount Rangers and Temple United are point in fact to anyone who would like to know what can happen if you dont have a good youth set up bringing players on or spend your time living off other clubs.A few moons ago they were some of the top sides in the country, Fai Cup Finalists,Mjc champs an regular last 8 of the Fai if not better.Aoh an Mossie Linnane Cups alround an Irish Caps as well.They at their best were the pride of Cork Football.
Now ones just existing in Premier A Cork Aul,just.The other threw away all its history and amalgamated with Maymount because it was broke and die'n a slow death.
How the giants fall.............................
shanman2
30/11/2007, 3:18 PM
Silvercircle at no point did I mention Pike Rovers. However with all the stories being spread around they cant all be wrong.
I loved junior soccer, when I was able to play and at no point is it acceptable that any junior player walks across those white lines knowing he is being paid to do a job. (thats what it is at the end of the day a job)
If he is, then he is nothing more than a mercenary who is out for no one other than himself.
Green_Hoop
30/11/2007, 3:47 PM
Not meaning to state the obvious but i'd say that was a snipe at the objection shiite that made a mockery of the competition last season.Please feel free to correct me if im wrong by the way.
On Pike being Mjc Champions fair enough but you cant say your way out in front of everyone and in the same breath say ye hav'nt had a decent youth side in years and have no other option but to tempt players in by what ever means.That goes against all the decent points you were makin and makes no sense.
Im not from Limerick and dont claim to know much about your set up but should ye not concentrate a bit more on developing players from underage level and try to solve your problems that way.I've seen clubs go down that route in our league with expenses or whatever they choose to call it and also living of other clubs players(not a nice sayin but lets call a spade a apade) .Eventually it goes belly up big time.Why,because players move on,always have an always will to the next big team.Then your left with nothin but raw young fellas and past their best ol fellas.
Greenmount Rangers and Temple United are point in fact to anyone who would like to know what can happen if you dont have a good youth set up bringing players on or spend your time living off other clubs.A few moons ago they were some of the top sides in the country, Fai Cup Finalists,Mjc champs an regular last 8 of the Fai if not better.Aoh an Mossie Linnane Cups alround an Irish Caps as well.They at their best were the pride of Cork Football.
Now ones just existing in Premier A Cork Aul,just.The other threw away all its history and amalgamated with Maymount because it was broke and die'n a slow death.
How the giants fall.............................
We've been going 69 years and no problems so far,we probably are one of the biggest clubs in Limerick,theres not many places for a junior player to go after Pike,LOI and that's about it..We're gotten our schoolboys back up and running(fairly successfully for the first year or so back may I add..)
At the end of the day its down to you committee and how well they work and its so far so good for Pike..
MitreSize5
30/11/2007, 4:07 PM
littleman
As a Pike man I agree totally with your sentiments. Pike restarted their schoolboys back up 4 years ago and its fair to say they are thriving at the moment with a lot of hard work being put in by those involved. They're a lot of top quality players in their late twentys around Limerick who played their school boy football with Pike and give it another 5 years and we should have another crop coming through.
On the paying of players issue - I'll lay it on the line for you - Pike are hated in Limerick, always have and probably always will, all lot of the people who feel like this probably wouldnt be even able to tell you why they hate them, its just the way things are.
This paying of players issue is just another stick to beat Pike with. If its not that its poaching players (I'll come to that), if its not that its getting fixtures dates fixed to suit us. About the only thing Pike havent been accused of recently is the kidnap of Madeline McCann. As long as Im invloved with Pike (nearly 30 years now) weve been getting stick.
On the poaching players thing, I dont know about Cork but in Limerick theres really only one club that get players loyalty and thats Ballynanty rovers. All the other top clubs in town may been cherry picking the best players for years. If they werent then clubs like Gearldines and Granville would have been winning leagues and cups for years ... ever hear of them in Cork... exactly. Every big club in Limerick does it, not saying its right, but again its a handy stick to beat Pike with.
I'll finish by saying, you wouldnt believe everything every one told you in real life - then certainly dont believe it on the web where people can spout more **** with the comfort of anonmity
Green_Hoop
30/11/2007, 4:34 PM
Dont make me laugh,youre making a mockery of yourself and Pike Rovers by posting comments like this
Pike Rvrs Pay certain players FACT!!!!!!!!!!!!
Im not a begrudger i like Pike and would like to wish them all the best in the FAI,league and any other competion they are involved in
So its totally my fault that everyone hates pike? Don't make me laugh....about 15 people post up on these forums,about 3 from balla,4 from pike,3 from fairview and one or two others from summerville etc...I doubt sincerely its TOTALLY my fault,and doubt the ****e that gets posted up here is talked about at matches..Thats what about 2% of the numbers who watch junior matches..
Your another of those "Pike players getting payed FACT" and yet you've yet to actually post anything whatsoever to back your claims...Your the one leaving your club down with the snide remarks, It'd be fantastic if you'd act your age(OAP?) for once and stop throwing Jab's..
Green Hoop if u say that there is not many places to go after Pike but LOI,why are yee hanging around in the junior leagues .Surely yee are so good that yee would **** threw the senior ranks.I was watching pike and carew game and with carew playing with two may be three players not good enough for the premier they still took yee all the way .By the way carew s two center halfs were solid with carey being man of the match
abbeyvale
30/11/2007, 7:04 PM
Green Hoop if u say that there is not many places to go after Pike but LOI,why are yee hanging around in the junior leagues .Surely yee are so good that yee would **** threw the senior ranks.I was watching pike and carew game and with carew playing with two may be three players not good enough for the premier they still took yee all the way .By the way carew s two center halfs were solid with carey being man of the match
Like I said originally, who cares if Pike are paying players or not, its nobody's business but their own.
I dont think Frankie Stewart and John Boyle got paid at Regional and Carew, so why would they have left Pike in the first place if they were being paid by Pike??
Dont tell me, for first team football (they were both only dropped for one game each at Pike and then threw a strop, surely they would have stuck it out for a couple more games, if they were being "Paid")
End of story, lets move on.
Neutral Jo
30/11/2007, 8:47 PM
Mike Carey has the attributes of a good footballer but it is clear he has never been coached properly imo. His positional sense is suspect at times as he gets drawn completely out of position at times also known as 'ball watching'. I have watched him for many years and formed this opinion over time.. Game versus coachford if memory serves correctly and another games versus galway opposition he was exposed imo
silvercircle
30/11/2007, 9:03 PM
Like I said originally, who cares if Pike are paying players or not, its nobody's business but their own.
I dont think Frankie Stewart and John Boyle got paid at Regional and Carew, so why would they have left Pike in the first place if they were being paid by Pike??
Dont tell me, for first team football (they were both only dropped for one game each at Pike and then threw a strop, surely they would have stuck it out for a couple more games, if they were being "Paid")
End of story, lets move on.
j boyle got a transfer from pike to c/p boyle came back to pike after 2 matches with c/p why???????not for money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
limericklad
01/12/2007, 12:07 AM
bull.. carew had a full team.. explain??
zizu's head
02/12/2007, 5:03 PM
St. Michael's beat Clonmel Town in 2nd rd of MJC today, 1-0 after extra time.
Both teams had a man sent off!
Limerick Lad i did not say that carew had nt a full side,What i was saying was that carew was carrying two maybe three players .U miss the point i was makeing was that if pike are so good how did carew take them all the way.
tipp man
02/12/2007, 9:47 PM
Was there a spitting incident in the Town v Saints match? I am hearing confliciting reports. Wasn't at the game so if a neutral was there I'd appreciate a comment.
Galla
03/12/2007, 12:57 PM
Was there a spitting incident in the Town v Saints match? I am hearing confliciting reports. Wasn't at the game so if a neutral was there I'd appreciate a comment.
There were suggestions by St.s crowd that a Town player had spat at their palyer - didn't see it but unfortunately wouldn't be surprised if it was true - sad reflection as it is on the current state of players behaviour. A typical Town-St.s match otherwise - a terrible day meant the standard was always going to be poor (and it was). The only bit of quality being the winning goal - a great strike by Paul Kennedy (??). Town are very light up front and really need Moroney back to have any chance in FAI.
Town Fan
03/12/2007, 6:48 PM
There were suggestions by St.s crowd that a Town player had spat at their palyer - didn't see it but unfortunately wouldn't be surprised if it was true - sad reflection as it is on the current state of players behaviour. A typical Town-St.s match otherwise - a terrible day meant the standard was always going to be poor (and it was). The only bit of quality being the winning goal - a great strike by Paul Kennedy (??). Town are very light up front and really need Moroney back to have any chance in FAI.
I was at the game and I didn't see or hear anything about anyone spitting, I did see a Michael's player head butt a town player and only receive a yellow card.
However, take nothing away from Michael's, wonderful goal to win it. Town missed a couple of chances in the first half. Michael Coady going off injured was a disaster for Town
abbeyvale
03/12/2007, 10:03 PM
Douglas Hall 2-1 Castlelack
Concept
04/12/2007, 12:49 PM
Sun December 9th
Pallasgreen v Kilmallock
Star Rovers v Wembly Rovers
A/Annacotty v Jonesboro
Ballynanty Rovers v Pike Rovers
Corbally Utd v Regional Utd
Super Rovers
04/12/2007, 12:55 PM
Sun December 9th
Pallasgreen v Kilmallock
Star Rovers v Wembly Rovers
A/Annacotty v Jonesboro
Ballynanty Rovers v Pike Rovers
Corbally Utd v Regional Utd
where did you see them fixtures
Concept
04/12/2007, 1:00 PM
Chronicle
Green_Hoop
04/12/2007, 1:12 PM
Balla V Pike is on in LIT apparently...some of the best news Pike could have asked for..
Halfback
04/12/2007, 1:20 PM
Why so ?
Green_Hoop
04/12/2007, 2:01 PM
Why so ?
Its a actual Pitch as in its relitively flat(no holes) and its lined.
manalishi
04/12/2007, 2:03 PM
Let me guess.There is no hope of the game being able to be played if it was down for the Flanders minfields in this weather so they cut their losses and went for LIT.Remains to be seen but Id say Pike are happy???