View Full Version : Bratislava

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

sylvo
18/09/2007, 10:33 PM
Had no real problems with Bratislava myself, apart from being told to fcek off by a bus driver because I asked him did he stop on a perticular street, but getting on Bus's up to Dublin as well as the 66 from Maynooth i'm getting used to this craic. Found the people hadn't a clue what was going on and didn't seem to want strangers in their town, never mind put themselves out to help anyone.

If we ever played there I would base myself in Vienna, cracking city, I enjoyed Bratislava but I wouldn't rush back there, but in saying that i've seen Ireland in worse far more unfriendly holes like, Vilnius Lithuania, Skopj Macadonia and Wembley England.

soccerc
18/09/2007, 10:56 PM
I know that, but it still really ****s me off. Im getting calmer in my old age though. In Stuttgart I had to be removed by the friends I was with from the kebab place we were in because some idiot from Limerick didnt understand how I could be irish, I was raging :o

Think I was there if it was on the Friday night where that Limerick rugger head was so totally out of it.

Noelys Guitar
19/09/2007, 12:09 AM
I have seen it happen to Irish fans born in England all the way back to the 70's. Witnessed it in France 79. Holland 81. They were isolated incidents and the idiots involved got told to shut up sharpish by other fans. In those days we had the infamous Shepherds Bush crew travelling to the away games. Nobody ever took the **** out of their accents with good reason as they would kick your head in. Sad to see its back as I have always had great craic with the Irish brought up in England/Scotland/Wales/NI. They have always made up a huge chunk of our support away (and at home).

19/09/2007, 1:26 AM
Pity to see gob****es giving grief to English born fans. As said above, there was none of these fools in the Faroes, probably in part due to the day-trip flights being grounded. I didn't notice any such idiocy in Stuttgart but there were a lot of ****ed up eejits there so I wouldn't be surprised. The more awkward trips seem to rule out a lot of the idiots though so look like a better bet for good trips. Roll on Kazakhstan next time round. ;)

19/09/2007, 7:09 AM
No place for ******* like that - it doesn't matter where you come from or what kind of accent you have, as long as you are on the one side (for that matter, it shouldn't matter whoever you are supporting, but that is a more loved up thread for the Off-topic). Some ties exceed the accidents of birth or upbringing - especially where there is a degree of determined choice involved, serious acknowledgement shold be made - if anything we should be more praiseworthy of those who have chosen to follow a team that cannot securely aspire to win majorly in international competition, when it would be just as easy turn their backs on it, and follow a side that we are regularly told is one of the top ten sides in the world.

And this should be regardless of nationality, assumed or otherwise. Take for example our Bulgarian fan that a few met in Prague. Or the Japanese who make a concerted effort to come from Japan regularly in order get to see us play (Galway United fan I think). We even have a few fans in Cork!

Gobsh!tes however will always be gobsh!tes - this is sadly a universal truth.

19/09/2007, 9:12 AM
Yes the was a Japanese guy sitting behind us in the czech end supporting ireland, i guess his support for ireland grew when he saw them in 2002, but nobody would question his support, however it's a diff story if ya have an english accent. :rolleyes:

citizenerased
19/09/2007, 12:31 PM
what flag incident was that?

biscuit
19/09/2007, 12:40 PM
i met a few lads from london over in stuttgart last year. one was a tall baldy fella, absolute gent. we had great craic with them, met them a few times over the few days. Do the simpletons not realise that these "english" people are still making an effort to come and support ireland. S who cares where they were born!

19/09/2007, 1:40 PM
Rogue trader what on earth are you on about? It wasnt the fact that the guy with the chelsea tricolour was from london that he got abuse for. And he was never "attacked".

Judging by your posts it sounds like you have a minder/helper by your side all the time to type in tripe. Your obsession with Rovers is embarrassing at this stage. An example being the Miah Dennehy post.

Babysis next time that happens smile and take the clowns pic on your phone! Also ask him what club he supports.

19/09/2007, 2:01 PM
As far as I could see the guys property was interferred with by people who did not own it. I did not agree with his flag and I said that to him but I did not agree with people removing the flag and touching other peoples property.

19/09/2007, 2:18 PM
He wasnt physically attacked. And it was a Rovers fan, amongst others, who explained that his flag was inappropriate.

Find your shoelaces yet?

Sligo Hornet
19/09/2007, 2:26 PM
He wasnt physically attacked. And it was a Rovers fan, amongst others, who explained that his flag was inappropriate.

Find your shoelaces yet?

Saw the same flag flying at the Prague game........was there any trouble then?....I couldn't see from my vantage point in the Main Stand.

19/09/2007, 2:28 PM
Saw the same flag flying at the Prague game........was there any trouble then?....I couldn't see from my vantage point in the Main Stand.

None cos the guy with Cliftonville FC put his flag over it. Fair play.

19/09/2007, 2:35 PM
In Arhus some fella went crazy proper frothing at the mouth as well went mad looking to take it down. They Guy was an Irish fan from London Chelsea was his team challenged the inbred ( Who in my view had one thing on his mind "attack all Outsiders"). I was a little taken back to be honest as he looked crazed, a Skangers accent as well.

LFMAO! Second sentence there is priceless!

Babysis
19/09/2007, 5:22 PM
:o
Think I was there if it was on the Friday night where that Limerick rugger head was so totally out of it.

Yeah, hadnt figured on people remembering it - He was drunk and I was very angry :o

FarBeag
19/09/2007, 5:36 PM
Babysis don't worry about any of those ignorant morons.As one poster pointed out its been happening for years but its only a small amount of brainless cavemen.Its just unfortunate that it has happened to you so often.Many of the guys I travel with are English born Irishmen and they are the most down to earth lads you could get. They get some hassle but very little, possibly because they are blokes.

I hope it doesn't deter you from supporting Ireland and wearing the colours with pride more than i can say for some of those so called Irish scumbags born on the Island.I know who I would rather have a beer with.

Babysis
19/09/2007, 5:40 PM
Hi Babysis were you with another girl at the two games ? I think i seen you did you fly into Vienna ?

Yep I was with Green Tribe and yep we did fly into Bratislava Vienna with Ryanair from East Midlands. If you were on the flight you will know it was .................eventful :D

M@ttitude
19/09/2007, 6:49 PM
Myself and four of my mates absolutely loved Bratislava and are planning on goign back soon, I walked around the so called bad part in the suburbs wearing an Ireland jersey and all i got was handshakes. Met loads of locals and went to a party in a ballymun flat type place with all my friends. Maybe its the Irish fans who fell out of the Dubliner and without knowing it (coz they were so drunk) started singing rebel songs in the locals faces, trying to annoy them. They were the ones who woke up with black eyes. Beautiful clean city, cheap drink, great public transport, fantastic looking women! The opposite of Dublin!!

Prague is a sleazy s hit hole! Great buildings though..

Saint Tom
19/09/2007, 7:29 PM
I would just ignore the gob****es girls to be honest. In my experience the London and Bermingham (and watford ;)) groups are as good craic as any.

We were in the karaoke dungeon bar on the friday night. We had gotten talking to a group of local girls in the Slovak pub just outsude the old town and they came along to see what the craic was like. five minutes after we got in the little irish runt walked up to one of the girls and put his hand right underneath her, not pinching her arse if you know what I mean. When i asked him would he do that at home and did his mother teach him any manners he squared up to me. He then threw a few shapes, realised there was six hard men from Waterford with me and left. Had I been on my own he would have started on me.

This same ******** was giving some Uk based fans grief, he was out of it and it wasn't the drink. Dirtbag

stiofain
19/09/2007, 7:51 PM
I would just ignore the gob****es girls to be honest. In my experience the London and Bermingham (and watford ;)) groups are as good craic as any.

Dont forget the Surrey Irish! Our (or my) craic is equally as good!

Saint Tom
19/09/2007, 7:52 PM
group hug:eek:

sylvo
19/09/2007, 10:23 PM
Yep I was with Green Tribe and yep we did fly into Bratislava Vienna with Ryanair from East Midlands. If you were on the flight you will know it was .................eventful :D

I'm getting left out of all this accent abuse by these clowns and the thing is, I'M GAGGING FOR IT.

I enjoyed my little putting that Man u fan in his place who slagged off my accent in San Marino, and i want more.

20/09/2007, 9:11 AM
I'm getting left out of all this accent abuse by these clowns and the thing is, I'M GAGGING FOR IT.

I enjoyed my little putting that Man u fan in his place who slagged off my accent in San Marino, and i want more.

Aw poor sylvo, you'll just have to dress like a girl next trip and ingest 100 helium balloons :D

20/09/2007, 9:12 AM
group hug:eek:

:D That happened during the riverdancing beside the czech riot police and horsies b4 the game! :eek:

20/09/2007, 9:13 AM
Dont forget the Surrey Irish! Our (or my) craic is equally as good!

We briefly met you near caffreys but we were too wrecked to even speak :o

aidz1
20/09/2007, 9:35 AM
I cant comprehend all this whinging im hearing from irish fans on this website since i returned from our travels last week.
I arrived in Bratislava on Friday lunch time when it was bucketing down. Met up with 2 mates. The hotel we were checked into was a right old s*** hole. It was the 15 storey building around the corner from tesco. It was a right dive, there were loads of lads complaining about it. In fairness though, what do you want. Its not as if it is a romantic weekend away. The location was great, it was cheap and for all the hours you spend in it (mostly sleeping it out drunk)what more do you need. I had to love the lemon bathroom suite and dripping water through the ceiling though. It added that bit of “3 star” material to it!!!
We found refuge from the pouring rain in a Belgian bar in the city centre. The place was hopping. Several Irish songs were belted out making it a great atmosphere. The service took a while to get used to but once tolerated was grand. We spent most of the night here before wandering about town before taxiing it to some dodge night club by the river bank way out of town. There we were the only 3 irish in the club (club may be an exaggeration- it only held about 60). The Slovaks there were pretty cool and we had a right laugh. The dj even started to play songs for us. A great night ensued. Looking back i’d say we had the best day of our 7 then (probably something to do with an optimism of the 2 games ahead that we so innocently had).
The Saturday started off well. After a breakfast of a 12” pizza served by a sound Slovak lass across the road we ventured out into the town square. A sing song outside a pub ensued (think it was slangs). It was lead by a lad playing the accordion. It was a good sing-song. He preferred not to play any old rebel songs which i thought was a pity as the range of songs being sang were diminishing- i left once i heard bl**din simon and Garfunkel being sang.
After a few more drinks in small bars dotted about and a mighty Chinese feed we headed off to the stadium by tram which was a right laugh. The ground was a bit of a dump. We found our way in grand. There were loads of lads queuing in at 1 particular gate, but one only had to walk a few metres down the road to see a lot more empty stiles.
The atmosphere at the game was good enough – think it was better in prague, probably a lot to do with the enclosed stadia. Didnt take kindly to the few lads near us that attempted to get some boo-ing going on immediately after the final whistle. C’mon lads...we were all sucker punched at that stage. Save the boos for your x-factor/big brother stages.
Ended up in a sports bar in town that night a bit dejected- met a few sound ‘plastic paddys’ from reading though. The night ended in a very small bar. We were about to go when the barman threw on a rock anthem cd, pumped up the volume and mayhem commenced. It was half and half Slovak to irish. The place went crazy as Sunday bloody Sunday, killing in the name of, teen spirit and europe’s final countdown(!!!)were played . A group of younger irish guys were giving it socks, standing on chairs, bouncing from the ceiling,trousers down the ankles - much to the delight of the waitress!!! Turned into a great laugh.
We retreated back to the hotel p155ed before checking out of our hotel the next morning to head to Vienna for the day before our jaunts to prague.
To summarise bratisalva, i encountered the Slovak people as grand. Taxi-men were right c-nuts as they are in most countries. The beer was pretty good, though i didn’t enjoy the pebble dash affects you had to endure a few hours after!!!!!! Thought the beers left you with a bit of the Sonia’s. Thought the town was small with some nice buildings and squares. Bar the football, we had a great time in Bratislava.

20/09/2007, 9:45 AM
To be fair Aidz everyone has a different experience and whereas my experience was pretty close to yours there were people out there that had a rough time.

stiofain
20/09/2007, 10:44 AM
We briefly met you near caffreys but we were too wrecked to even speak :o

Dont worry, thats quite understandable :)

lopez
20/09/2007, 11:30 AM
Rogue trader what on earth are you on about? It wasnt the fact that the guy with the chelsea tricolour was from london that he got abuse for. And he was never "attacked"...I heard it was you that was the Shams fan that lost the plot there. If it was, your behaviour seemed at odds with your posts on here. Whoever it was, almost got himself taken to Jutland's answer to An Teach Mor by some concerned Danish stewards. Anyone remember the head butting motions? Priceless.:D Got a load of abuse from some Bohs fans I was having a chat with. Called him a 'knacker'. From Bohs fans!:eek:

Must say I've had less grief over my accent in recent years, but let's say I do a brief Arnie from Terminator 1 & 2 check before I talk to these gobsh*tes. You know: Colour: White. Sex: Male. Sexual experiences: Mainly with self. Current Status: Buckled. Then generally move on.

meathkeeno
20/09/2007, 1:02 PM
The night ended in a very small bar. We were about to go when the barman threw on a rock anthem cd, pumped up the volume and mayhem commenced. It was half and half Slovak to irish. The place went crazy as Sunday bloody Sunday, killing in the name of, teen spirit and europe’s final countdown(!!!)were played . A group of younger irish guys were giving it socks, standing on chairs, bouncing from the ceiling,trousers down the ankles - much to the delight of the waitress!!! Turned into a great laugh.

Ha ha ha!! Those younger Irish guys would have been us!! :o:D We were on our way home from a niteclub when we heard this cafe rocking so decided to go in and see what the craic was! Then, as was the case for the whole week away wherever we went, up on the chairs, trousers down and hands in the air!! The Jaygermeister can be blamed for this! The Slovak barman was dead on, skipped all the ****e tunes for us! Couldn't believe it when Sunday bloody Sunday and Killing in the name of came on!! Good times, good times!! :p

20/09/2007, 1:17 PM
I heard it was you that was the Shams fan that lost the plot there. If it was, your behaviour seemed at odds with your posts on here. Whoever it was, almost got himself taken to Jutland's answer to An Teach Mor by some concerned Danish stewards. Anyone remember the head butting motions? Priceless.:D Got a load of abuse from some Bohs fans I was having a chat with. Called him a 'knacker'. From Bohs fans!:eek:

Must say I've had less grief over my accent in recent years, but let's say I do a brief Arnie from Terminator 1 & 2 check before I talk to these gobsh*tes. You know: Colour: White. Sex: Male. Sexual experiences: Mainly with self. Current Status: Buckled. Then generally move on.

No idea who shams are but it was the chelsea clown that was taken away by the stewards at one point. Bohs fan posted on Rovers forum agreeing with actions of said Rovers fan!

20/09/2007, 1:29 PM
But did anybody have the right to touch another mans property, despited what was written on the flag. If everybody went around grabbing things that were not theirs because they did not agree with them it would be a worse off world. A bit of human decency would not go amiss here.

20/09/2007, 1:40 PM
But did anybody have the right to touch another mans property, despited what was written on the flag. If everybody went around grabbing things that were not theirs because they did not agree with them it would be a worse off world. A bit of human decency would not go amiss here.

Didnt see anyone touch the flag in fairness. Wonder how long a rangers tricolour would last though??

20/09/2007, 2:30 PM
Didnt see anyone touch the flag in fairness. Wonder how long a rangers tricolour would last though??

I've seen some tricolours with another mediocre British team from Glasgow on it not been touched so I don't see why a slightly better team on a tricolour should cause problems. I don't see the point of either though.

RogerMilla
20/09/2007, 2:37 PM
never mind all that muck , anyone see my frankfurt flag ? that was the daddy!

Sligo Hornet
20/09/2007, 2:48 PM
I've seen some tricolours with another mediocre British team from Glasgow on it not been touched so I don't see why a slightly better team on a tricolour should cause problems. I don't see the point of either though.

Agreed...Partick Thistle are nothing really to crow about!!;).......ps Happy Birthday!!:)

20/09/2007, 3:24 PM

I dont agree with any foreign team names written on the flag but whether it was rangers or not I would not try to pull down or touch another persons flag.

Claret Murph
20/09/2007, 3:31 PM
I dont agree with any foreign team names written on the flag but whether it was rangers or not I would not try to pull down or touch another persons flag.

Hard to say Neil but Q.P.R. have always a big Irish following :D:D:rolleyes:

Sligo Hornet
20/09/2007, 3:38 PM
Hard to say Neil but Q.P.R. have always a big Irish following :D

They won't after their next fixture this saturday!:D

lopez
20/09/2007, 3:39 PM
No idea who shams are...
Fair enough. :rolleyes:

...but it was the chelsea clown that was taken away by the stewards at one point. Bohs fan posted on Rovers forum agreeing with actions of said Rovers fan!The steward from Aalborg who was talking to me seemed to be taking more of an interest in the bloke with the Tourettes, but then I can hardly blame someone for going mad at an attempt to take, rip down, whatever, his flag.

Personally I agree with GSpain about this. Foreign clubs (as opposed to foreign towns) on flags should be excluded from Ireland games. And as I know the bloke who owns this flag, he knows my feelings. Not only because I particularly dislike Chelsea (and English football in general is not far behind) for a number of reasons, but it's just ridiculous.

But then we have this little thing called freedom of speech. You know, I'm sure Tourette boy's mate's 'Long Kesh' GAA top may offend a few people, and it can hardly be considered, in the literal sense, to have any connection to the side I was watching that day. Why he didn't wear his Galway United shirt, I don't know. Anyway, I don't know what kicked it all off. Maybe some people were bored of seeing Ireland win 4-0 away yet again.:rolleyes:

Desyf
20/09/2007, 5:06 PM
I'm told that it goes against the constitution to put anything on the Tricolour.

I'm presuming this includes, "Hello Mum", or "Paddy's Bar, Ballygonowhere" etc.

Personally I don't see anything wrong with it at football matches though I can understand why people wouldn't like to see the word Chelsea on it.;)

But I can also understand the bloke who carries that around with him.

If you are an Irishman born in England it's great to show your pride in your Irish nationality by taking a tricolour around the grounds of England when you follow your local football team. Many, many people in England do not like to see a tricolour hanging in their ground and abusive incidents or worse can happen so it would be easy to take the flag down, take it home and lock it in a draw.

Think about that. The owner of one of these flags can be abused in England for the tricolour whilst following his football club, and then when he goes away to support his country, he can get abused then too.

Sounds like good fun to me.

20/09/2007, 5:40 PM
Fair enough. :rolleyes:
The steward from Aalborg who was talking to me seemed to be taking more of an interest in the bloke with the Tourettes, but then I can hardly blame someone for going mad at an attempt to take, rip down, whatever, his flag.

Personally I agree with GSpain about this. Foreign clubs (as opposed to foreign towns) on flags should be excluded from Ireland games. And as I know the bloke who owns this flag, he knows my feelings. Not only because I particularly dislike Chelsea (and English football in general is not far behind) for a number of reasons, but it's just ridiculous.

But then we have this little thing called freedom of speech. You know, I'm sure Tourette boy's mate's 'Long Kesh' GAA top may offend a few people, and it can hardly be considered, in the literal sense, to have any connection to the side I was watching that day. Why he didn't wear his Galway United shirt, I don't know. Anyway, I don't know what kicked it all off. Maybe some people were bored of seeing Ireland win 4-0 away yet again.:rolleyes:

Tourettes??

Every time I see the Long Kesh guy I ask him where his GUFC top is too! But he had the top with him on the trip and his big Galway flag........

fergalr
20/09/2007, 6:30 PM
Babysis next time that happens smile and take the clowns pic on your phone! Also ask him what club he supports.

So the nutter who has a go at an English-born Irish fan is a clown ....

No idea who shams are but it was the chelsea clown that was taken away by the stewards at one point.
.... and the English-born Irish fan is a clown ....

I travel with 3 other lads and we have all commented on the amount of muppets now travelling to irish games.
.... and as for the muppets ....

And we think the FAI is a circus :eek:

wooman
20/09/2007, 8:26 PM
ive been living in London the past few years and usually go to watch ireland games in O'neills or waxy o connors if im not at them. Always get chatting to different english lads who are in supporting Ireland and I couldnt have a better word to say about them

sylvo
20/09/2007, 9:43 PM
Aw poor sylvo, you'll just have to dress like a girl next trip and ingest 100 helium balloons :D

What only 100, we'll need more then that.

sylvo
20/09/2007, 10:00 PM
The incident with the flag in Aarhus and peoples stories from Bratislava are getting mixed into one, can the mods maybe split the thread please and maybe give this story from Aarhus a tread of its own.

If people are going to disagree over English clubs being written across the Tricolour, it would be better sort it out here on the forum, rather then having words with each other face to face and having what we had in Denmark with local stewards and other fans having to intervene.

21/09/2007, 7:54 AM
Agreed...Partick Thistle are nothing really to crow about!!;).......ps Happy Birthday!!:)

i was actually thinking of the team Thistle stuck 4 past in a League Cup final but Partick are not an appropriate team to put on a tricolour either. :D

I don't think any British club is appropriate to put on a tricolour. However I also don't agree with intervening and trying to take the said flag down.

Desyf
21/09/2007, 7:54 AM
But most of the people who would react in that aggressive manner to an English club's name on an Irish flag surely can't read or write and wouldn't be on a board like this ?

Most of the descriptions that I've seen of these characters aren't too clever and there does seem to be a consistent factor running through a lot of them.

They are f#cking thick.

Unless in this particular case they just don't like Chelsea.

If they are questioning somebody's right to follow Ireland just because of an English accent, this somebody that they probably have never met and know sweet fa about, then I question their intelligence and knowledge of their own country's history.

The best reaction would be to ignore them but sometimes that just is not an option.
I'm not too sure how I'd react in that situation but it can't be easy.

21/09/2007, 9:04 AM
Just getting away from the flag issues for a moment, I just had a funny
flashback to Bratislava ...

Schloomp and meself were having a feed of drink in the Dubliner on the
Friday and ended up chatting to a gang of lads from Dublin. One of them
was the cut out of Staunton so naturally we slagged him off about it for
ages.

Saturday we saw him and he didnt look too healthy and had a fierce shakey
hand. Let a roar over to him "Hey, mini Stan" and he came over to us going
on about 2 drunken cnuts who had been calling him that the night before :D

Then he thought that I was Schloomps father :eek:
(Usually people think we're brothers!!!)
(We're not related at all btw!!!!)

21/09/2007, 9:38 AM
So the nutter who has a go at an English-born Irish fan is a clown ....

.... and the English-born Irish fan is a clown ....

.... and as for the muppets ....

And we think the FAI is a circus :eek:

I'll make it easy for you. Anybody who slags off anyone with a foreign accent who supports Ireland is obviously an ignoramus. Through the years I've met a few with english accents who would know more about the league here than the natives.

However if anyone, no matter where they are from, brings a tricolour with chelsea (a notoriously anti Irish club) to an Ireland game they can expect abuse.

Clear?