Cork City v Waterford 6000
St Pats v Drogheda
UCD v Shelbourne 950
Longford T v Shamrock Rovers
Round 5: Waterford Utd Bohs: 3500
10/05/2003, 6:04 PM
UCD v. Shels 950
Don't know if that's more embarassing for us or Shels...
Blue Muff
19/05/2003, 10:15 AM
Has anybody got the attendances for Fridays games
Dricky
19/05/2003, 10:58 AM
4,000 they said for your match v's St.Bernards
19/05/2003, 12:32 PM
Drogheda - UCD - main terrace mostly full under the roof, stand mostly full (say 200), other terrace maybe 100. DOn't know what the main terrace would hold though.
Round 1: 14,900
Cork City v Pats 4500
Bohs v UCD 3000
Derry v Longford 2300
Rovers v Drogs 1600
Waterford v $hel$ 3500
Round 2: 14250
Drogheda Utd v Waterford Utd 2500
St Patricks Ath v Shamrock Rov 4500
UCD v Cork City 700
Shelbourne v Derry City 2800
Longford Town v Bohemians 3750
Round3: 10700+derry
Waterford Utd v St Patricks Ath 2000
Shamrock Rov v UCD 1200
Derry City v Drogheda Utd
Shelbourne v Longford Town 1500
Cork City v Bohemians 6000
Round 4: 11450
UCD v Waterford Utd 700
St Patricks Ath v Derry City 2700
Drogheda Utd v Shelbourne 2750
Longford v Cork City 1500
Bohemians V Shamrock Rovers 3800
Round 5: 12000
Derry City v UCD 2250
Shelbourne v St Pats 4000
Drogheda v Longford Town 2250
Waterford v Bohemians 3500
Shamrock Rovers v Cork City 2000
Round 6:
Bohemians v Derry City
St Pats v Drogheda
UCD v Shelbourne 950
Longford T v Shamrock Rovers
Roiund 7: 14000-15000?
Derry City v Cork City generous 2500 (papers too optimistic at 3000)
Shelbourne v Bohemians 4000-4500?
Waterford v Shamrock Rovers 4000
Drogheda v UCD 1000?
St Patricks v Longford 2500-3000?
Any confirmations?
20/05/2003, 4:33 PM
More like 1,500 for Drogheda v. UCD, I would have thought. Then again, if the 1,000 is based on my description of the crowd or someone else's guess, fair enough.
TommyT
20/05/2003, 6:33 PM
Pete judging by the TV Pats crowd is way too optimistic.
blutil
22/05/2003, 12:32 AM
blues pats was defo more than 2000 closer to 3000+ the stand alone holds 1300 bucket seats hold 900 and the stand behind the goal about 300ish (not too sure)
Cork City v Pats 4500
Bohs v UCD 3000
Derry v Longford 2300
Rovers v Drogs 1600
Waterford v $hel$ 3500
UCD v Cork City 700
Round3: 11400+derry
Waterford Utd v St Patricks Ath 2700
Shamrock Rov v UCD 1200
UCD v Waterford Utd 700
Derry City v UCD 2250
Round 6: 14500
Bohemians v Derry City 2500?
St Pats v Drogheda 3000?
UCD v Shelbourne 1000
Longford T v Shamrock Rovers 2000?
Round 7: 14700
Derry City v Cork City generous 2500
Shelbourne v Bohemians 4200
Drogheda v UCD 1500
St Patricks v Longford 2500
Any changes? round & figures sorta from the Star...
TommyT
23/05/2003, 2:13 AM
It may be poor reading but at least it's honest. If any thing it's a touch too high. I'd guess the real average is about 11500-12000, per game thats 2400. Not too bad for a small country with 2 other codes of football to compete with ( a situation unique in europe to ourselves, the IL and parts of the north of England)
The numbers are bound to increase as the summer approaches & no footie on tv. I don't think the GAA much of a threat but friday evening matches will ensure no clashes there either.
With Rovers having their own home & maybe UCD relegated is good scope for increased numbers next season also.
24/05/2003, 6:35 PM
950 for UCD v. Pat's. Say the lashing rain will affect crowds this week...:(
TommyT
25/05/2003, 9:46 AM
Rovers-Derry 1000
Cork City v Pats 4500
Bohs v UCD 3000
Derry v Longford 2300
Rovers v Drogs 1600
Waterford v $hel$ 3500
UCD v Cork City 700
Shamrock Rov v UCD 1200
UCD v Waterford Utd 700
Derry City v UCD 2250
St Pats v Drogheda 3000?
UCD v Shelbourne 1000
Drogheda v UCD 1500
Round 8: 11950
Cork City v Shelbourne 5000
Bohemians v Drogheda 2500? (start had optimistic 3500)
Shamrock Rovers v Derry City 1000 (star had 2000)
UCD v St Pats 950
Waterford v Longford 2500
blutil
26/05/2003, 8:26 PM
id say 2000 - 2500 at Blues Longford match
TommyT
26/05/2003, 11:08 PM
Originally posted by A face
Round 8:
Cork City v Shelbourne 5,000 aprox.
Not ahving a go at you but if there were 4500 at the Pats game in Cork surely there were less on Friday, going by the telly.
Casegrande
26/05/2003, 11:19 PM
Originally posted by TommyT
Not ahving a go at you but if there were 4500 at the Pats game in Cork surely there were less on Friday, going by the telly.
There was a lot more than 4,500 at the Pats game.
5,500 I'd say.
RedShed
28/05/2003, 4:46 PM
Rovers Vs Finn Harps 2900 approx. and were in the first division any premier league clubs getting less then that don't deserve to be in the premier league.
Originally posted by A face
Round 8:
Cork City v Shelbourne 5,000 aprox.
I was told by a member of the club that there were 4,000, the star said 5,200. :confused:
TommyT
28/05/2003, 6:05 PM
Pete the whole point of this thread was that the Star attendences are rounded up/exaggerated t a ridiculous degree, take them with a pinch of salt.
Hey lads,
I was in Prague at the weekend - really great place. On Monday morning I picked up a newspaper, however the only bit I could really understand was the sports section.
From what I can make out (and I am open to be corrected) the average crowd for the final round of games which, were at the weekend, was 2,146. The highest crowd was 4,538 for Olomouc v Slavia Prague, the lowest 400 for Bohemians v Synot and the total crowd for all 8 games was 17,165.
I think these figures are about the same as the eircom league, but obviously the Czech league produces teams which are much more successful in Europe - including Viktoria Zizkov (the team who played near the hostel I was staying in), who knocked Rangers out of last season's UEFA cup, and who qualified for the UEFA cup again on the last day of the season. My main point here is that there must be something more fundamental responsible for the poor quality of teams in the eL (compared to other leagues) than raw attendance figures.
5,500+
got that from the pats official responsible for it
drummer boy
06/06/2003, 10:39 AM
sure alot of their players would be locals or from the poorer countries around them with no propper league. thats our problem the countries around us have big leagues like the premiership and scotland and also the gaa are taking some of our best players. could you imagine what the kerry team would be like if their gaelic players played soccer well i think they would have some of the most skillful players in the league.
06/06/2003, 10:48 AM
There's a website somewhere that compares crowds in European football and apart from England, italy and Spain no where gets huge attendances. You have places like Scotland and Portugal with one or two teams get big crowds with the others all way under 10,000. Even places like Belgium struggle with crowds generally. The problem is we'll always be compared to England and we're not going to compete. If we had 7-10,000 at every game, I'd be very happy (I know it means doublin and trebling attendances but last week there was 10,000 people at LOI football in Dublin so we're heading in the right way...)
Originally posted by crc
Hey lads,
I was in Prague at the weekend - really great place. On Monday morning I picked up a newspaper, however the only bit I could really understand was the sports section.
From what I can make out (and I am open to be corrected) the average crowd for the final round of games which, were at the weekend, was 2,146. The highest crowd was 4,538 for Olomouc v Slavia Prague, the lowest 400 for Bohemians v Synot and the total crowd for all 8 games was 17,165.
I think these figures are about the same as the eircom league, but obviously the Czech league produces teams which are much more successful in Europe - including Viktoria Zizkov (the team who played near the hostel I was staying in), who knocked Rangers out of last season's UEFA cup, and who qualified for the UEFA cup again on the last day of the season. My main point here is that there must be something more fundamental responsible for the poor quality of teams in the eL (compared to other leagues) than raw attendance figures.
06/06/2003, 11:05 AM
their attendances are poor right enough but their facilities and grounds are still waay better then ours
remember was at Olomoucs ground there last summer (have pics of it somewhere) ..fupping great looking ground.. in the middle of a huge public park.. with a training pitch right next to it.. (where we went knacker drinking.. and playing soccer) :D
also saw a 2nd division ground in valmez that also had a skateboard track/area with jumps and everything !! mad like.. and also had a park type area..
both also had bars..
thoughts ?
Cork City v Pats 4500
Bohs v UCD 3000
Derry v Longford 2300
Rovers v Drogs 1600
Waterford v $hel$ 3500
UCD v Cork City 700
Shamrock Rov v UCD 1200
UCD v Waterford Utd 700
Derry City v UCD 2250
St Pats v Drogheda 3000?
UCD v Shelbourne 1000
Drogheda v UCD 1500
Bohemians v Drogheda 2500?
Shamrock Rovers v Derry City 1000
UCD v St Pats 950
Round 9:
Derry City v Waterford
St Pats v Bohemians 4500
Shels v Rovers
Drogheda v Cork City 1000?
Longford v UCD
Round 10:
Shels v Waterford
IMO if the Premier League got to averaging 5k a match in the near future it would be a significant step. I get the impression some of the middling coun tries in europe have their average crowds boosted by big local derbies which bring in 3-4 times the average crowd plus they get a lot more tv money
06/06/2003, 11:31 AM
You should add at least 1,000 to that Pats Bohs crowd. Best crowd we've had in years... One of the papers had the crowd at 6,200.
In terms of facilities we're slowly improving and hopefully we'll continue (if Pats planned new stand comes out we're talking about a flagship stand...) All the Uk clubs (including the North) had the Football Trust to help build their grounds and most other countries have some sort of local government funding. Although we have grants, generally speaking they're paltry enough.
06/06/2003, 12:30 PM
Originally posted by crc
My main point here is that there must be something more fundamental responsible for the poor quality of teams in the eL (compared to other leagues) than raw attendance figures. Money, I'd say those Czech teams are getting more money from TV and sponsorship than any EL team could dream of.
06/06/2003, 12:44 PM
Originally posted by Schumi
Money, I'd say those Czech teams are getting more money from TV and sponsorship than any EL team could dream of.
You'd have to wonder what the league could do if RTÉ/TV£/TG4 ever pumped some real money into it...:(
goalside
06/06/2003, 5:57 PM
those are amazing figures
06/06/2003, 6:38 PM
Originally posted by pineapple stu
You'd have to wonder what the league could do if RTÉ/TV£/TG4 ever pumped some real money into it...:(
i wonder do they even realise how many people go out to these games already and the possible interest that could be generated given better coverage. or do they even care?
TommyT
06/06/2003, 10:43 PM
Originally posted by Schumi
Money, I'd say those Czech teams are getting more money from TV and sponsorship than any EL team could dream of.
Also our attendences show us up as better than we really are, since they only involve the ten best teams playing against each other and hava large number of local derbies.
Also few countries lose as high a proportion of players to other leagues as we do and don't have 2 other codes of football vying for attention.
Postman
09/06/2003, 5:14 PM
I reckon about 4,800 at Shels v Rovers in series 9 (a very good attendance by all accounts) and I reckon there was about 3500 at Drogs v Rovers in Series 10
Originally posted by Dodge
if Pats planned new stand comes out we're talking about a flagship stand
Any more details on that because I have'nt heard a thing about that yet. There were a lot more people there than I expected Fri night and Dublin crowds bring larger numbers to Inchicore. Would be class if it happened but ye need another entrance on that side of the ground aswell.
TommyT
15/06/2003, 10:46 PM
Rovers-Pats 4500
Derry-Shels 2000
Real ale Madrid
15/06/2003, 11:22 PM
Cork City v UCD 3500-4000
I'd be very surprised if there was much more than 2,000 at Dalyer Friday night.....
Cork City v Pats 4500
Bohs v UCD 3000
Derry v Longford 2300
Rovers v Drogs 1600
Waterford v $hel$ 3500
UCD v Cork City 700
Shamrock Rov v UCD 1200
UCD v Waterford Utd 700
Derry City v UCD 2250
St Pats v Drogheda 3000?
UCD v Shelbourne 1000
Drogheda v UCD 1500
Bohemians v Drogheda 2500?
Shamrock Rovers v Derry City 1000
UCD v St Pats 950
Round 9: 12400+derry
Derry City v Waterford
St Pats v Bohemians 5500
Shels v Rovers 4800
Drogheda v Cork City 1000
Longford v UCD 1100
Round 10: 7700+shels
Shels v Waterford
St Pats v Cork City 3000?
UCD v Bohs 1200
Drogheda v Rovers 3500
Round 11: 12500+Waterford
Derry City v Shels 2000
Cork City v UCD 3500
Bohemians v Longford 2500
Rovers v St Pats 4500
Waterford v Drogheda
Anyone want to dispute any numbers or fill in the blanks....?
If no one has any objections i'll also delete most of the posts to tidy up the thread also...?
How about a cumulative total for the first 5 home games for all teams?
17/06/2003, 2:04 PM
Longford - UCD was low: about 900 maybe, I can't remember exactly. UCD - Bohs was about 1200 I think.
Still have my doubts about the Bohs Town game being 2500 (I know that's probably a split between mine and D13Bohs figures)...
I'm trying to get confirmation of the Town UCD figure......
Originally posted by Macy
I'm trying to get confirmation of the Town UCD figure......
I have on good authority that the Town V UCD figure was 1100 approx
TommyT
17/06/2003, 8:56 PM
Originally posted by Macy
Still have my doubts about the Bohs Town game being 2500 (I know that's probably a split between mine and D13Bohs figures)...
Assuming there was no one on the Connacht Street side I'd go for 2200 off the telly.
24/06/2003, 6:04 PM
Attendances for most European leagues - except Ireland! - are available here (http://european-football-statistics.co.uk/attn.htm)
Ireland compares fairly well to some of the middling European leagues - the likes of Serbia and Montenegro, and the former USSR states. So it seems attendances aren't as much of a problem as they seem to be (although they could be better)
TommyT
24/06/2003, 8:09 PM
Stu that site was what prompted me to get of my (metaphorical) ase and get this thread going.
Maybe some waster studedt could set up a spreadsheet of a table our attendences per game linked to population compared to those of other countries and send it to the national newspapers, that might shake them up.
25/06/2003, 5:56 PM
Originally posted by TommyT
Stu that site was what prompted me to get of my (metaphorical) ase and get this thread going.
Maybe some waster studedt could set up a spreadsheet of a table our attendences per game linked to population compared to those of other countries and send it to the national newspapers, that might shake them up.
Ah right so. Didn't know that. Interesting site though.
You'll have to ask a student to do your dirty studenty-wastery deeds though!;) Still, couldn't see the newspapers paying any attention - eL is like a disease to them or something.:(
Interesting site. Pity there's no up to date info on the EL. Don't think the figures they have there for EL 2001 are right either. Many of the highest attendance figures seem a bit low.
Outside of the top 2 or 3 teams in alot of leagues the EL does pretty well comparably. Former Euro champs Red Star with an average of only 3,500. How the mighty have fallen!