View Full Version : Drogs v Helsingborgs
16/08/2007, 7:21 PM
Had to be didnt it
16/08/2007, 7:21 PM
Why is Larsson being booed?
Sounds like Drogs are well under the cosh.
Dunfermline 1up.
Larson scores 1-0 helsingborg
Tie over. Only pride & coefficients to play for.
16/08/2007, 7:34 PM
May as well go for it now
Have you forgotten who the Manager is?
dapman1
16/08/2007, 7:36 PM
Drogs should go with two up front and go for it
Larson scores 1-0 helsingborg
Finally an Irishman performs in europe!
SPXcyan
16/08/2007, 7:38 PM
go 3-5-2 or 3-4-3 is the way to go!! they have the squad to play attacking footie!! 1 man up front is stupid!
16/08/2007, 7:40 PM
Doolin might aswell throw caution to the wind. 5-4-1.
I wouldn't be panicing too much. 135 minutes left.
dapman1
16/08/2007, 7:52 PM
Sounds like Drogs are begining to put some pressure together. Ollie Cahill coming on might get them moving
dapman1
16/08/2007, 7:54 PM
GoAAAAAAAL
16/08/2007, 7:55 PM
Zayeeeedd
Edward Woodward would be proud
Burny89
16/08/2007, 7:56 PM
Fantastic
Some of the comments above are just ridiculous
Game on!!!
If Drogheda started with 1 man up front, I have no sympathy for them and have lost all interest. Doolin is a clown
Sounds like the Drogs are taking the game to them. Come on lads
Not so many chances on goal but definitely seems the ball is spending most of the time in the Swedish half.
Did he definitely start with one up front or did Ristila play up front with Zayed? PLayed that way against us last week
16/08/2007, 8:04 PM
C'mon the Drogs........!
dapman1
16/08/2007, 8:05 PM
Sounds like the Swedes are getting tired
Did he definitely start with one up front or did Ristila play up front with Zayed? PLayed that way against us last week
Sounded like it was one up front. Madness. At least they seemed to have changed it this half.
Sounds like the Swedes are getting tired
Definitely. Showed too much respect to these guys first half.
16/08/2007, 8:07 PM
Was crazy alright if its what he did.
He must have thought they could hold out 180 minutes for penalties.
Hope the Drogs can maintain our superiority over Swedish opposition after our ****-up against Hammarby.
I reckon Drogs fitness is savage and should show in the last 15 minutes.
16/08/2007, 8:09 PM
Sounds like the Swedes are happy to settle for an away goal, Drogheda have to go for the jugular now
Burny89
16/08/2007, 8:09 PM
Its all about fitness at this level. If ye can last and fight till the end ye got a chance. Thats one thing people said about Derry last year, that SK had them super fit. This year they've been sluggish after Fenlon had then bulking up in the Gym
Com'n Drogs
Sounds like Drogs beginning to feel the pace. It's gone very dead the last 10 mins.
16/08/2007, 8:27 PM
RTE News just after showing Larsson's goal[good strike]...didn't show Drogheda's one though:rolleyes:
1-1 FT
Keeps the tie alive just about but odds are firmly against Drogs.
Few coefficients won't make move up a place but keeps the eL moving in the correct direction.
16/08/2007, 9:01 PM
so there was cameras there?
sounds like they should have won it though. but at least in this match it seemed like drogheda were controlling it.
Well done Doolin, your tactics worked a charm. You deserve to go out
16/08/2007, 10:03 PM
I'd love it if thousands of Celtic-beshirted knuckledraggers turned up and Larsson did his hamstring in the warm-up.
Hope it goes well for the Drogs tonight.... when I say I hope it goes well for the Drogs, I mean the coefficient of course! ;)
And I really hope Larsson doesn't play just to **** off any eejits who are going along just to see him
Good luck to the Drogs !
Hope Larsson plays and is sh!te. Feckin has-been....
I'm delighted Larsson scored just because of the anti-Celtic feeling amongst the LOI support. I thought you lot had someone else to moan about...Sunderland.
MeathDrog
16/08/2007, 10:05 PM
I was at the game and there was 2 up front! not one!
16/08/2007, 10:05 PM
I'm delighted Larsson scored just because of the anti-Celtic feeling amongst the LOI support. I thought Sunderland were the new Celtic anyway.
And things like an Irish person being happy that a Swede scored against an Irish team in Europe is the reason for these anti-Celtic feelings :rolleyes:
16/08/2007, 10:08 PM
And things like an Irish person being happy that a Swede scored against an Irish team in Europe is the reason for these anti-Celtic feelings :rolleyes:
Ahh go way out of that. I'm always pro-Irish teams. My heart was still with Drogheda tonight. If it wasn't for the bloody idiotic moronic attitude to people on here about Celtic I wouldn't have cared less whether Larsson scored. Just like I couldn't care whether he scores any other time.
Put yourself in my shoes. I'm being branded a knuckle dragger because I support Celtic. I'd be embarassed to wear a Celtic shirt in Dublin because I know too well what a lot of people are thinking. Get over it. I support a foreign team. I'm bloody raging typing this. I love Celtic. That's not a decision I made and it's something that can't be changed. Any football fan should know that feeling.
16/08/2007, 10:23 PM
one of the lads on GW sums it up well:
I wouldn't normally go to the European games of another EL Club but tonight, my curiosity aroused by the whole Celtic nonsense, I went along in a gesture of solidarity with our Eircom League of Ireland brethren. It was indeed embarrassing.
I was on Connaught Street and there were plenty of people around me who were urging Henrik on whenever he got the ball. The "hardcore" though, of about forty or fifty, stood beside their big celtic flag in the Des kelly for the first half, then moved to the unseated part of connaught street, directly above the entrance, to be nearer to their man when helsingborgs attacked the shopping centre goal.
The Drogheda hardcore were in sections A-B and chanted "If you're only here for Henrik **** of home" throughout, while the "Bhoys" responded with Celtic chants, cheering whenever the swedes were awarded a free kick in a dangerous area.
With a couple of minutes to go I moved towards the exit so I could be near them at full time, just to see if any of them were in fact scottish. Nope. I have never had the bad fortune to hear that "Henrik Larsson is the king of kings" thing but, if there is a gayer footie chant, I have yet to hear it.
For me, the great irony is not that these guys, who, if they fit the stereotytpe, probably see themselves as Uber-Gaels, come along to support a Swedish team against an Irish one, although that's bad enough. What really makes me laugh is that the object of their hero worship has turned down big money in the glamour leagues, preferring instead to see out his career with his hometown club and give something back to football in his own country, while a load of cut me and I bleed green Irish guys probably won't see the inside of Dalyer, or indeed any other EL ground, for many a long day.
Burnsie
16/08/2007, 10:25 PM
Watching the game from a reasonably neutral perspective (i backed helsingborgs but was cheering on the drogs), I thought Drogheda could be proud of their performance.
Helsingborgs were technically a bit better, comfortable on the ball from 1 to 11, with a couple of big strong lads bullying the Drogs a bit. Larsson was mostly kept quiet but showed some flashes of brilliance. They did miss a couple of extraordinary sitters - one in the opening five minutes that beggared belief, when their other striker beat a couple of players, went around the keeper, and passed the ball wide of the empty goal from about five yards away. And they were inches from scoring in injury time, volleying just wide after a splendid move.
zayed looked a real threat - made some good runs into the channels, and stuck his goal away nicely with the left foot.
connor's kicking was atrocious right throughout the game. i've never been impressed by him.
16/08/2007, 10:38 PM
RTE News just after showing Larsson's goal[good strike]...didn't show Drogheda's one though:rolleyes:
If any of you ever felt hard done by from Irish media then you should pick up the phone. This is the number for the RTE complaints department 01 208 3434 ..... To show a goal of a foreign team over an Irish team is just completely not acceptable.
Even if it cost you a euro, make the fawkin' call if you want change ffs.
MeathDrog
16/08/2007, 10:40 PM
thats the gist of what happened reiteoir.gas thing is the lad with me is mad celtic,goes to all drogs games before you get wound up,and he was livid about it too
I was in the Des Kelly stand and I was well ****ed off when Irish people wearing some sort of Celtic clothing around me started cheering when he scored.This was a big, big night for Irish soccer and all they wanted to see was some 36 year old score against one of their own teams.Just shows you how many plastic fans are out there.
16/08/2007, 10:41 PM
If they were actually wishing for a Helsingborg win against Drogs then I find that very strange. I don't see what's embarassing about the rest of it though. Drogheda filled a few seats that they otherwise wouldn't have with a few Celtic fans going to see the clubs greatest ever player, probably for the last time. And you're not going to get a few Celtic fans together without them singing Celtic songs. If Henrik Larsson was playing in Switzerland you can be sure the France, Germany, or wherever else it would be out supporting him. If he playing in Paris it'd be the same. Obviously the ratio of home fans to Larsson fans would be a lot bigger though.
Just out of interest, was it a full house tonight?
16/08/2007, 10:46 PM
its a joke eirebhoy Irish people shouting for a Swedish team or cheering a goald that once played for a foreign team. There is no defending it if you believe in nationalism. If you dont well they thats fair enough.
16/08/2007, 10:50 PM
its a joke eirebhoy Irish people shouting for a Swedish team or cheering a goald that once played for a foreign team. There is no defending it if you believe in nationalism. If you dont well they thats fair enough.
I would even bring nationalism in to defend it, its 'slow' and outlines how completely off the wall it actually is.
16/08/2007, 10:55 PM
(i backed helsingborgs but was cheering on the drogs)A loser all round so?:p
16/08/2007, 11:00 PM
I would even bring nationalism in to defend it, its 'slow' and outlines how completely off the wall it actually is.
I am saying that because if you dont believe in nationalism or even in the idea of countries well then that does open your belief system to think you can support whatever you want.
But its not something I agree with.
Was the game any good. I heard it was a cracker.
16/08/2007, 11:02 PM
its a joke eirebhoy Irish people shouting for a Swedish team or cheering a goald that once played for a foreign team.
I never defended Irish people cheering on a Swedish team. Of course they're going to cheer on Larsson. It's impossible not to love Henrik Larsson as a Celtic fan.
As far as patriotism goes. I'd support Joe Bloggs in the Rock, Paper, Scissors world final if he was Irish. One thing that will always be the case with me is I'll support the Irish national team more than anything. Some people can't understand why someone from Pearse street who never heard of the league of Ireland for the first 15 years of his life doesn't support a team in the league. I can't understand how any Irish football fan can't support our national team.
These kind of debates are the one thing that really anger me. People that slag off the likes of me who don't support an Irish club team. I opened a thread on this forum a good while ago with good reason. I wanted to find out how people began supporting a LOI team. As expected, pretty much all of them either lived locally or were brought to the stadium by family, friends, or other. Very few just decided at the age of 20 odd that they're going to support a LOI team and love them forever more. I'm a Celtic supporter. 99% of Irish Celtic supporters that post on the football forums are not the steriotypical Celtic shirt wearing knacker. Please distinguish between the Irish Celtic fan and the knacker. There's about 100 times more Liverpool fans in this country than Celtic fans.
Flume
16/08/2007, 11:03 PM
Lads i tipped over to the game.And contrary to whats being said here drogheda started with TWO UP FRONT!!!! It was a typical 4-4-2 and stayed that way for the game.
I was in the connaught st side of dalyer and i have to say i am embarased to be irish tonight. A group of about 50 or 60 morons visibly delighted jumping up and down screaming and celebrating when a sweedish man, who used to play for a scottish team scored for a sweedish team against an irish side, one of our own sides!Its no wonder our league is the way it is with it having to rely on people like this.
On the game i thought drogs were diabolical first half and made a lot of mistakes. Their number 6 almost gifted a goal to your man up front with larsson. They improved dramatically 2nd half though and really took the game to the sweedes. Thought they deserved to win tbh and i think they can beat them over there.I hope they do. for the leagues sake!
16/08/2007, 11:16 PM
I was in the connaught st side of dalyer and i have to say i am embarased to be irish tonight. A group of about 50 or 60 morons visibly delighted jumping up and down screaming and celebrating when a sweedish man, who used to play for a scottish team scored for a sweedish team against an irish side, one of our own sides!Its no wonder our league is the way it is with it having to rely on people like this.
Is this all we're going to get?
Did Drogheda fill Dalymount?
If not, what is the bloody problem?
I just honestly believe you don't realise how much of a hero Henrik Larsson is to the Celtic fans. They were there to cheer him on. Again, just put the shoe on the other foot.
What do you mean by "rely on people like this"? Is the plan to turn a 30 year old Celtic fan into a fan of Bohs or Galway? It's too late now for people to start supporting a team in the LOI. The people you're relying on are the kids that aren't old enough to read the papers or watch the news.
It's easy to come out with all this rubbish but actually think about it. Think about how you started supporting the team you do. Think about the fact that you could be a Celtic fan like me. You simply wouldn't have the choice, as much as you'd like to think you would.
MeathDrog
16/08/2007, 11:25 PM
On the game i thought drogs were diabolical first half and made a lot of mistakes. Their number 6 almost gifted a goal to your man up front with larsson. They improved dramatically 2nd half though and really took the game to the sweedes. Thought they deserved to win tbh and i think they can beat them over there.I hope they do. for the leagues sake!
A bit harsh.Droheda were ok in the first half.They werent diabolical.They struggled to keep up for the first 20 minutes or so but thats only because the opposition were a lot better than them.
MeathDrog
16/08/2007, 11:27 PM
I just honestly believe you don't realise how much of a hero Henrik Larsson is to the Celtic fans. They were there to cheer him on. Again, just put the shoe on the other foot.
What do you mean by "rely on people like this"? Is the plan to turn a 30 year old Celtic fan into a fan of Bohs or Galway? It's too late now for people to start supporting a team in the LOI. The people you're relying on are the kids that aren't old enough to read the papers or watch the news.
It's easy to come out with all this rubbish but actually think about it. Think about how you started supporting the team you do. Think about the fact that you could be a Celtic fan like me. You simply wouldn't have the choice, as much as you'd like to think you would.
Look, any of the celtic fans who were just there to see Henrik Larsson and cheered when he scored were just complete, idiotic morons, and that's that
Flume
16/08/2007, 11:27 PM
Im also an arsenal fan and say if an arsenal great such as ian wright came to play someone like cork while playing for his hometown club in european competition then yeah there is no doubt that i would go! BUT there is absolutely no way that i would celebrate wildly if he scored.I would marvel at his ability but jump, clap and scream with delight, no way. Forgive me but I fail to see the logic in wishing to see a club of your own nationality to fail.especially for the reasons above.
And as for the fans that we're relying on yes your right it is kids that we have to rely on now.But if they dont read papers etc i'll give you one guess who they're going to turn to for guidence on who to support ----- the parents!!
onceahoop
16/08/2007, 11:31 PM
Eirebhoy, all I can say is I find it hard to believe that someone lived in Pearse Street until the age of fifteen and never heard of the Eircom League or League of Ireland. As for your last few posts on here, there's none so blind as those who do not see....