View Full Version : Drogs v Helsingborgs
16/08/2007, 11:32 PM
Sorry but eirebhoy I became a member of Bohs this year. I grew up a large part of my life in Clare so it was the Irish national team for me. I watched English football on tv and picked Spurs as my team as I liked and met Chris Hughton.. However over the last 2 years I have started going to Bohs with mates and this season I became a member. Spurs lost the other night and it paled into comparison how I felt when Bohs beat rovers the other week or when Bohs lost to Drogheda with a last minute goal.
16/08/2007, 11:33 PM
BUT there is absolutely no way that i would celebrate wildly if he scored.I would marvel at his ability but jump, clap and scream with delight, no way. Forgive me but I fail to see the logic in wishing to see a club of your own nationality to fail.especially for the reasons above.
I agree. I'd need proof that these celebrations were nothing but 100% natural though. :D ;) I'm serious though. If a person loved Larsson so much that they were so overjoyed and celebrated "wildly" then what's a man to do? If these people just celebrated wildly for the same reasons people fake a little cry in a funeral parlour then they're idiots.
MeathDrog
16/08/2007, 11:37 PM
I agree. I'd need proof that these celebrations were nothing but 100% natural though. :D ;) I'm serious though. If a person loved Larsson so much that they were so overjoyed and celebrated "wildly" then what's a man to do? If these people just celebrated wildly for the same reasons people fake a little cry in a funeral parlour then they're idiots.
If there were Larsson fans there all they had to do was appluad, not to cheer and jump up and down like an idiot when they have just scored against an IRISH team
16/08/2007, 11:38 PM
Eirebhoy, all I can say is I find it hard to believe that someone lived in Pearse Street until the age of fifteen and never heard of the Eircom League or League of Ireland.
I was being a little sarcastic. I can't remember anything of when I was 15 to be perfectly honest. I just know that as a kid I didn't care about the LOI. There's nothing that can be done about that. How did you start supporting rovers anyway?
Sorry but eirebhoy I became a member of Bohs this year. I grew up a large part of my life in Clare so it was the Irish national team for me. I watched English football on tv and picked Spurs as my team as I liked and met Chris Hughton.. However over the last 2 years I have started going to Bohs with mates and this season I became a member. Spurs lost the other night and it paled into comparison how I felt when Bohs beat rovers the other week or when Bohs lost to Drogheda with a last minute goal.
I think a few on here will know that I did the same with Pats. I brought my nephew to a few games a couple of years ago. That just stopped happening after a few months. I still watch the LOI of course. I know the players and that. I just have no affection for a particular team and that's not going to change. I was on the edge of my seat for Shels v Depor though. I wouldn't miss a match like that for the world.
16/08/2007, 11:43 PM
I was on the edge of my seat for Shels v Depor though. I wouldn't miss a match like that for the world.
The only time I've ever been a Depor fan.
BTW Larsson hates the LOI. Scored in his last european game in Dublin too. When he scored against Pats he lifted his shirt to reveal a vest that had written on it "Shove your coefficient up your arse!"
16/08/2007, 11:48 PM
What do you mean by "rely on people like this"? Is the plan to turn a 30 year old Celtic fan into a fan of Bohs or Galway? It's too late now for people to start supporting a team in the LOI. The people you're relying on are the kids that aren't old enough to read the papers or watch the news.
It's easy to come out with all this rubbish but actually think about it. Think about how you started supporting the team you do. Think about the fact that you could be a Celtic fan like me. You simply wouldn't have the choice, as much as you'd like to think you would.
I'm still confused about what point you are trying to make but I'll answer what I can decipher
Irrelevant point about getting someone to support Galway or Bohs. Derry City were out of football for an entire generation and were still able to attract people of 30 and over back to games when we entered the LOI. Those fans grew up supporting English clubs as they didn't have a choice, but they came back to Derry City when DCFC became a senior club once more. There is nothing to stop people supporting their eL side and then having an English team etc that they follow. It isn't what I do, but I can see why they do.
As for attracting kids you are correct. However to many kids your da is your hero at that age. If he slags off the League of Ireland then the child is more than likely to grow up with the same attitude.
You're right about the difference between Celtic shirt wearing knackers and "real Celtic fans". Knackers wearing Celtic shirts were too busy robbing houses, stealing cars and sniffing glue to be at the match tonight. It was "real" Celtic fans who were there tonight. To worship a former player. Alright, turn up and applaud him on and off the pitch and whatever but get behind the Irish team, the team from your country. No instead these patriots decided that cheering his every touch and celebrating his goal as if it were scored by the home side.
You're upset about the stick people are getting for supporting Larsson over an Irish team. Try being a eL fan. Try being a Derry fan when we played Celtic in Lansdowne or when Pats played them in Tolka. Try being in a stadium when a large part of the home crowd, proclaiming themselves to be Irish, are supporting a non-Irish team over an Irish one.
Why? Because Celtic are Irish. Do they play in Ireland? No. Did they have any Irish players playing when they played us or Pats? No. Naw, but they're Irish.
16/08/2007, 11:52 PM
Eirebhoy, it sounds like you're not so much interested in football as identity-based chauvinism. I think you'll find a lot of members of this forum would have professed some vague affiliation for Celtic before they got into football and grew out of it.
Express your indignation to any genuine football fan anywhere in the world and see which side of the argument they come down on.
sfc red
16/08/2007, 11:54 PM
What absolute intolerable goons. Their whole argument is "Celtic are Irish" yet they go cheer for a Swede who used to play for a Scottish team, against an Irish team. Idiots.
Eirebhoy: Delighted you're ashamed to wear a Celtic jersey in town. You should be.
17/08/2007, 12:01 AM
Ahh go way out of that. I'm always pro-Irish teams. My heart was still with Drogheda tonight. If it wasn't for the bloody idiotic moronic attitude to people on here about Celtic I wouldn't have cared less whether Larsson scored. Just like I couldn't care whether he scores any other time.
Put yourself in my shoes. I'm being branded a knuckle dragger because I support Celtic. I'd be embarassed to wear a Celtic shirt in Dublin because I know too well what a lot of people are thinking. Get over it. I support a foreign team. I'm bloody raging typing this. I love Celtic. That's not a decision I made and it's something that can't be changed. Any football fan should know that feeling.
How was supporting Celtic not a decision you made by the way ? :confused:
17/08/2007, 12:02 AM
I really enjoyed seeing a player who played for Worcester City (my local side here in England) last season, Justin Thompson.
But I'm not going to get on a plane all the way to the Northwest United States just to cheer him on in a League game for his new club there (Portl;and Timbers) against a Canadian side.
I mean that would never happen anywhere on Earth - it'd be sheer MADNESS!
Ah wait there a sec...
17/08/2007, 12:03 AM
Maribor - I wish they were all like you. Excellent post.
sfc red - good post. happy now?
MeathDrog
17/08/2007, 12:04 AM
It's because of people like him that the eircom league attendances are low.Imagine if every Celtic supporter in the country supported thier local EL team.There would be tens of thousands at each game.Why people support an average team playing in a **** league in Scotland is beyond me.
17/08/2007, 12:05 AM
If they were actually wishing for a Helsingborg win against Drogs then I find that very strange.
It's not strange. It sums up the Uncle Tom attitude of the proud Oirish football fan - who would support a foreign team over one of their own any day, whilst also claiming to be solid Irish patriots - yet incapable of seeing any contradiction between the 2. You could see the fcukin eejits jumping about on TV after Larsson scored - and they most certainly were not Swedish.
And then you wonder why people round here have an issue with Irish Celtic fans......:o
17/08/2007, 12:07 AM
I had fallen in love with Celtic long before I was capable of making my own decisions.
btw - I know it's the school holidays and all but it's bed time for one or two in this thread if you think i'll be biting. :)
17/08/2007, 12:08 AM
I am saying that because if you dont believe in nationalism or even in the idea of countries well then that does open your belief system to think you can support whatever you want.
But the Irish support for Celtic is 110% built entirely upon the concept of identity and nationalisim ! There is no other explanation for it.
Why in the name of feck would anyone support a Scottish team if they could pick any team in the world ?!? :eek: Seriously - it's that laughable...!
Do they play in Ireland? No.
They played in Ireland last week, and Harps battered them.
MeathDrog
17/08/2007, 12:10 AM
They played in Ireland last week, and Harps battered them.
He meant do they play in Ireland for home games
niallsparky
17/08/2007, 12:10 AM
I don't have major issue with Irish people supporting foreign clubs. Ideally I would love if they could support an Eircom League club too, which I know a lot of people do. But the thing that really annoys me above all others is the complete disregard for the Eircom League. The comments of "what are you doing following that ****e?" and "Will ye ever watch some proper football." And this comes from a lot of people who have never seen a game but just base their opinions on general public perception.
17/08/2007, 12:14 AM
I opened a thread on this forum a good while ago with good reason. I wanted to find out how people began supporting a LOI team. As expected, pretty much all of them either lived locally or were brought to the stadium by family, friends, or other. Very few just decided at the age of 20 odd that they're going to support a LOI team and love them forever more. I'm a Celtic supporter. 99% of Irish Celtic supporters that post on the football forums are not the steriotypical Celtic shirt wearing knacker. Please distinguish between the Irish Celtic fan and the knacker.
Which ironically is exactly how Irish people chose what English team to support (albeit at a younger age). So why is that methodology only acceptable when you're choosing a foreign team ....? :confused: Do people in England who don't have a local senior team to support just pick a French or Spanish one at random instead ? The hell they do - they pick an English one.....
There's about 100 times more Liverpool fans in this country than Celtic fans.
Absolute laughable bullsh!t there is.......
17/08/2007, 12:17 AM
It's not strange. It sums up the Uncle Tom attitude of the proud Oirish football fan - who would support a foreign team over one of their own any day, whilst also claiming to be solid Irish patriots - yet incapable of seeing any contradiction between the 2. You could see the fcukin eejits jumping about on TV after Larsson scored - and they most certainly were not Swedish.
And then you wonder why people round here have an issue with Irish Celtic fans......:o
The point I'm trying to get across is we didn't actually decide to support Celtic when we had the sense to do so. Many smokers don't want to stop smoking. Very few smokers will start smoking in their 20's. I haven't got a choice now. I love Celtic and always will. It's the same for everyone.
Do you not agree that slagging a Celtic fan for being a Celtic fan is a bit mad? :)
17/08/2007, 12:17 AM
I just honestly believe you don't realise how much of a hero Henrik Larsson is to the Celtic fans. They were there to cheer him on. Again, just put the shoe on the other foot.
If Larsson was now playing for a different Scottish club, would they cheer him on ? No.
If he was playing for an English club that wasn't the one those same Celtic fans supported, would they cheer him on ? No.
If he played for Millwall would they cheer him on ? No.
So there's your answer. It's about Celtic - not Larsson. And it's soooo painfully embarassing...
MeathDrog
17/08/2007, 12:22 AM
The point I'm trying to get across is we didn't actually decide to support Celtic when we had the sense to do so. Many smokers don't want to stop smoking. Very few smokers will start smoking in their 20's. I haven't got a choice now. I love Celtic and always will. It's the same for everyone.
Do you not agree that slagging a Celtic fan for being a Celtic fan is a bit mad? :)
I'd slag an Irish Celtc fan for being a jump on the bandwagon
17/08/2007, 12:27 AM
I had fallen in love with Celtic long before I was capable of making my own decisions.
As did I. But then I became an adult. Capable of my own free decisions. And 3 years ago I chose not to support Celtic any longer - as when I analysed the reasons why I supported a Scottish team in a poor league, I simply couldn't justify it on any grounds other than religion. And I didn't want to slavishly follow a sports club purely because of the religion I was born into (and now no longer practice). I invite you to do the same - write down all the reasons why you support Celtic. One by one you'll be able to eliminate the ones that aren't hand-on-heart genuine reasons (e.g. the quaity of football etc), and then see what you're left with at the end.
So now that you're a grown adult, capable of independent decision making, you have continued with your former decision - so whether you accept or admit it or not, you have chosen to support Celtic.
Nevermind the quips about bedtime - adults take responsibility for their own actions
17/08/2007, 12:29 AM
Very rarely do I find a Celtic fan in this city. Someone I could actually have a chat with about Celtic. In my work place there's a few "Ah I live Celtic and all" type people but I'm the only Celtic fan. Loads of Liverpool fans. on boards.ie there must be 40 Liverpool fans posting there. There's 4 or 5 Celtic fans. I couldn't find anywhere showing the Celtic match yesterday in Dublin 5.
I can't stress enough how few Celtic fans there are in Dublin, compared to what people actually think.
17/08/2007, 12:33 AM
So now that you're a grown adult, capable of independent decision making, you have continued with your former decision - so whether you accept or admit it or not, you have chosen to support Celtic.
That's like telling me I chose to love my ma.
"Nevermind the quips about bedtime - adults take responsibility for their own actions"
It certainly wasn't you I was referring to with that remark. I'm talking about some other chap that's jumping up and down trying to get a few words in.
MeathDrog
17/08/2007, 12:35 AM
He's talking about a football club, not your own mother.
17/08/2007, 12:37 AM
How is it ? At least your mother's Irish, from the same country as yourself, and you have a blood relationship to her. You have clearly sensible reasons for loving your ma. You do not for your love of Celtic, apart from it inevitably boiling down to Catholicism. Which is fine if religious identity is that huge a part of your life
Or do you just love yer ma because you're a Catholic......? :confused:
17/08/2007, 12:40 AM
Was it really that hard to understand what I meant? LOVE! Maybe I just have a huge heart and tiny head but it's impossible now for me to stop supporting Celtic. I presumed it was the same with most people and the clubs they support which goes back to the point I'm making for the 3rd time.
MeathDrog
17/08/2007, 12:41 AM
Was it really that hard to understand what I meant? LOVE!
Why did you have to bring it up?
17/08/2007, 12:45 AM
Jaysus I'm going to bed. :D
MeathDrog
17/08/2007, 12:48 AM
Bye...
17/08/2007, 12:51 AM
Was it really that hard to understand what I meant? LOVE! Maybe I just have a huge heart and tiny head but it's impossible now for me to stop supporting Celtic. I presumed it was the same with most people and the clubs they support which goes back to the point I'm making for the 3rd time.
Fine if that's the case. But at least acknowledge to yourself (if not openly)why it is that you support Celtic.
It's fundamentally becasue you're an Irish Catholic. And like I said - great, if you want the religion you just happened to have been born into to dictate chunks of your life ad finitum thereafter. But that sort of robotic behaviour just isn't for me. And I struggle to see how it can be for anyone who has also turned their back on the religion that made that choice of football club for them in the first place (I'm talking generally here, as I don't know if you practice your religion still or not).
I should hope you observe/follow other Catholic nuances as well, such as not using condoms, by the way... :)
17/08/2007, 1:03 AM
Mate, you obviously did not love Celtic when you decided that they weren't for you. I don't know what it feels like not to love Celtic. I thought it would be pretty easy for a football fan to understand what I'm talking about. I wasn't old enough to make a rational decision to support Celtic. I grew to love them and that's the end of the story.
This thread is pretty embarrassing now. All the talk about love and whatever else.
Snoop Drog
17/08/2007, 1:13 AM
This thread is pretty embarrassing now. All the talk about love and whatever else.
Just go to bed and we'll pretend this thread never happened :p
I wouldn't mind waking up tomorrow and finding out I "love" something with all my heart
Eireboy, is it possible this could happen to any of us in the near future? I love loving things
17/08/2007, 8:08 AM
Which ironically is exactly how Irish people chose what English team to support (albeit at a younger age). So why is that methodology only acceptable when you're choosing a foreign team ....? :confused: Do people in England who don't have a local senior team to support just pick a French or Spanish one at random instead ? The hell they do - they pick an English one.....
he is right steve, you being from the north wouldnt understand :p
Seriouslly though this assertion is correct, bar the backward country pumpkins and the scummy inner city types, celtic support is far less than united or liverpool. Having said that the support they get would actually involve people going to their matches at elast a few times and year and buying thier merchandise as oppossed to just watching them on the tele, like united or liverpool etc.
Oh and I love me. who wouldn't?
lofty9
17/08/2007, 8:47 AM
:eek: How the hell can you love a football team? :eek: Those saddos who went to support Larsson are showing severe tendancies of male love. Football terracing is obviously the wrong place for them. Each to their own I suppose.
17/08/2007, 8:56 AM
Someone in our office made the comparison after reading this thread of:
"Sure - you may love your ex-girlfriend, but you wouldn't travel up to cheer her on when she's out with another bloke. That's just wierd "
17/08/2007, 8:59 AM
But the Irish support for Celtic is 110% built entirely upon the concept of identity and nationalisim ! There is no other explanation for it.
Why in the name of feck would anyone support a Scottish team if they could pick any team in the world ?!? :eek: Seriously - it's that laughable...!
Totally agree, the whole Celtic thing is Ireland is madness not matter which way you look at it. It does not work on the nationalism angle that you should support your own and then ifyou say you can support any team in the world cause thats your right and freedom of choice and nationalism is a concept that one does not subscribe to it still does not work, as that is once of Celtics selling points.
17/08/2007, 9:00 AM
Very rarely do I find a Celtic fan in this city. Someone I could actually have a chat with about Celtic. In my work place there's a few "Ah I live Celtic and all" type people but I'm the only Celtic fan. Loads of Liverpool fans. on boards.ie there must be 40 Liverpool fans posting there. There's 4 or 5 Celtic fans. I couldn't find anywhere showing the Celtic match yesterday in Dublin 5.
I can't stress enough how few Celtic fans there are in Dublin, compared to what people actually think.
12 years ago it would be unusual to find Celtic fans in the Republic (outside of Donegal). Most football fans would support Liverpool or Man utd
I went to the Packie Bonner testimonial in 1991 and there weren't any other Irish or Celtic fans on the boat either way. I appreciate there were plenty of boats but no obvious Irish travelling apart from the usual group from London who were supporting Ireland (like I was obviously). Celtic were a distant 3rd in th eelague at the time and didn't even manage 2nd place for another 5 years.
Celtic's support here has grown huely in recent years. Success and tv coverage has a lot to do with it and unfortunately the sectarian element has an attraction for some.
17/08/2007, 9:36 AM
Celtic's support here has grown huely in recent years. Success and tv coverage has a lot to do with it and unfortunately the sectarian element has an attraction for some
and the wolfe tones....
12 years ago it would be unusual to find Celtic fans in the Republic (outside of Donegal)
Believe it or not I'd have called myself a Celtic fan 15 years or so ago. I was at that Bonner testimonial too. You couldn't get a celtic kit in dublin, so my aunt got mine in Belfast for me.
Fine if that's the case. But at least acknowledge to yourself (if not openly)why it is that you support Celtic.
It's fundamentally becasue you're an Irish Catholic. And like I said - great, if you want the religion you just happened to have been born into to dictate chunks of your life ad finitum thereafter. But that sort of robotic behaviour just isn't for me. And I struggle to see how it can be for anyone who has also turned their back on the religion that made that choice of football club for them in the first place (I'm talking generally here, as I don't know if you practice your religion still or not).
I should hope you observe/follow other Catholic nuances as well, such as not using condoms, by the way... :)
Steve, Im very impressed with your performance in this thread.Pretty much captures all my thoughts on the issue.
You dont fancy coming down to my local and having a chat with a few of my barstooler mates.Even they could not fail to see the logic in your argument.
Fingal hoop
17/08/2007, 10:16 AM
Why? Because Celtic are Irish. Do they play in Ireland? No. Did they have any Irish players playing when they played us or Pats? No. Naw, but they're Irish.[/QUOTE]
Celtic are as Irish as James Connolly
Fingal hoop
17/08/2007, 10:19 AM
Celtic's support here has grown huely in recent years. Success and tv coverage has a lot to do with it and unfortunately the sectarian element has an attraction for some.[/QUOTE]
How is it sectarian ?? could it not be political - Celtic represent the Irish Diaspora in Glasgow & many people like Celtic because of this. There is a republican element with Celtic as well-not sure where this is sectarian?
17/08/2007, 10:21 AM
Celtic are as Irish as James Connollywho was as Irish as Billy Connolly...
17/08/2007, 10:22 AM
How is it sectarian ?? could it not be political - Celtic represent the Irish Diaspora in Glasgow & many people like Celtic because of this. There is a republican element with Celtic as well-not sure where this is sectarian?Try any Old Firm game.
Fingal hoop
17/08/2007, 10:23 AM
Anyway most Celtic fans there last night Ive spoken to were up for Drogheda
Fingal hoop
17/08/2007, 10:24 AM
who was as Irish as Billy Connolly...
exactly -its not a black & white issue- most irish id guess would consider JC Irish or at least recognise he is part of the Irish diaspora-why not the same with Celtic
Fingal hoop
17/08/2007, 10:26 AM
Try any Old Firm game.
Ive been to many - heard a lot of rebel songs which bertie & the boys say are ok now