View Full Version : Drogs v Helsingborgs

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

17/08/2007, 10:36 AM
even though you see celtic shirts the whole time.like i said i had a problem with the banners and the singing of celtic songs at a game where celtic werent involved.i hate the superiority complex of celtic fans.if drogs had to beat dundalk 4 times a year then yes wed have won a hell of a lot more
The problem may be you perceiving it as a superiority complex. If a Celtic fan was going to watch Barca v Madrid or Boca v River Plate he'd wear his Celtic top. That's just the way the fans are. The other problem is the thought that Celtic fans were cheering on the opposition. They were cheering on Larsson. Maybe they didn't care about the result of the game but they're in the majority (of the Irish public) which is unfortunate.

lofty9
17/08/2007, 10:40 AM
exactly -its not a black & white issue- most irish id guess would consider JC Irish or at least recognise he is part of the Irish diaspora-why not the same with Celtic

Are Hibernians seen as an Irish club? No. They would have more reason to be celebrated here in Ireland. Celtic are Scottish. The only thing green with them is the colour of their shirts and their love affair with the colour of an Irishmans, Englishman's, Japenense, Italian's etc money. Hibernians haven't exploited the Irish market like the Glasgow club have.

17/08/2007, 10:44 AM
The RTE2 report on the match on the late news was embarishing. It was almost report as a Larsson v Drogs home game.

Fingal hoop
17/08/2007, 10:49 AM
Are Hibernians seen as an Irish club? No. They would have more reason to be celebrated here in Ireland. Celtic are Scottish. The only thing green with them is the colour of their shirts and their love affair with the colour of an Irishmans, Englishman's, Japenense, Italian's etc money. Hibernians haven't exploited the Irish market like the Glasgow club have.

Hibernian dumped their irishness in the 50's - tried to ban the tricolour from Scottish grounds - Celtic fanbase is made of the irish diaspora in scotland- your cynicism doesnt deal with this fact. The irish diaspora in scotland are proud of their roots hence Celtic have always been proud of their irishness

lofty9
17/08/2007, 10:56 AM
Hibernian dumped their irishness in the 50's - tried to ban the tricolour from Scottish grounds - Celtic fanbase is made of the irish diaspora in scotland- your cynicism doesnt deal with this fact. The irish diaspora in scotland are proud of their roots hence Celtic have always been proud of their irishness

Hibs ala Derry:p

Im a cynic, they are money grabbing Brits and they know they are!!:D

ciaraa
17/08/2007, 11:07 AM
Celtic are as Irish as James Connolly

Celtic are as Irish as the Queen of England.

Also why were those d***heads allowed to STAND on the connaught st. side? I thought you cannot stand at UEFA matches?

Hibs4Ever
17/08/2007, 11:13 AM

Hibs are very proud of their Irish roots. But we don't need every match to be like a fooking St Patricks Day parade.

There's more Irish history in ONE blade of grass at Easter Road than there is in the whole of Celtic FC, but Hibs have always seen themselves as scottish, and so do the fans

Fingal hoop
17/08/2007, 11:29 AM
didnt Michael davitt lay the centre circle at Celtic park with sod from Donegal

Fingal hoop
17/08/2007, 11:32 AM
Celtic are as Irish as the Queen of England.

Also why were those d***heads allowed to STAND on the connaught st. side? I thought you cannot stand at UEFA matches?

Celtia are as irish as James Connolly Ronan o gara Eamonn de Valera St Patrick Thomas Clarke Paul McGrath - etc etc etc

17/08/2007, 11:46 AM
The RTE2 report on the match on the late news was embarishing. It was almost report as a Larsson v Drogs home game.
It'd be the same if Maldini or Ronaldinho was playing for some mediocre club against an Irish team. The fact they didn't show the Drogs goal though was a disgrace.

Mayo_Bhoy
17/08/2007, 11:53 AM

Aye, that and the Irish tricolour flying over Celtic Park:rolleyes:

Mayo_Bhoy
17/08/2007, 11:57 AM
One thing that has amused me reading through this thread is when posters go about supporting a 'foreign' team in a poor Scottish League. If you have a problem with us supporting a team in the Scottish League fair enough, but the standard of same league is surely irrelevant. After all, most of you support teams in an even poorer league, dont ye????

ciaraa
17/08/2007, 11:58 AM
Celtia are as irish as James Connolly Ronan o gara Eamonn de Valera St Patrick Thomas Clarke Paul McGrath - etc etc etc

Sorry but it doesn't really matter how much you would love them to be Irish you cannot change the fact that they are British. However I will say fair play to the club though. Making absolutely tons of money from the delusional nature and insecurities of Irish people.
Marketing genius.

17/08/2007, 12:00 PM
The fact they didn't show the Drogs goal though was a disgrace.

They probably did not show on RTE 9 o'clock news as the Helsingborg goal was in the first half & Drogs scored too close to the news broadcast.

The Drogs goal was shown on RTE2 News.

17/08/2007, 12:00 PM
It'd be the same if Maldini or Ronaldinho was playing for some mediocre club against an Irish team. The fact they didn't show the Drogs goal though was a disgrace.

You know it wouldn't be the same, and thats even forgetting that you're trying to lump Larsson (a world class player) in with all time greats....

Ps Worst thread ever.

I won't lock it as I've posted in it but hoefully someone will

17/08/2007, 12:03 PM
One thing that has amused me reading through this thread is when posters go about supporting a 'foreign' team in a poor Scottish League. If you have a problem with us supporting a team in the Scottish League fair enough, but the standard of same league is surely irrelevant. After all, most of you support teams in an even poorer league, dont ye????

and so the worms got out....

Torn-Ado
17/08/2007, 12:04 PM
Lock this feckin thread. Its vulgar and bitter enough already

17/08/2007, 12:05 PM
You know it wouldn't be the same, and thats even forgetting that you're trying to lump Larsson (a world class player) in with all time greats....
I'm biased but Larsson I'd certainly put Larsson up there with Ronaldinho. And I rate Ronaldinho very highly. He's Celtic's greatest ever player in my opinion and the opinion of many. That says it all.

17/08/2007, 12:19 PM
I'm biased but Larsson I'd certainly put Larsson up there with Ronaldinho. And I rate Ronaldinho very highly. He's Celtic's greatest ever player in my opinion and the opinion of many. That says it all.
Celtic's greatest ever ;)

Anyway thread locked. Not because of you eirebhoy, because of the idiot reaction to you and the even worse reaction to some of those idiots...