View Full Version : Terry Dixon

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8

Paddy Garcia
02/03/2010, 6:37 PM
Thanks for posting Eaststand.

theworm2345
02/03/2010, 9:45 PM
Why would you loan him to MLS? Just loan him to League One or an SPL team its a lot closer and its the same level. Or ever better the LoI, theres not too much of a gap in quality there and they play summers.

eaststand85
02/03/2010, 10:05 PM
Presume it's for summer football & they either think MLS is better for his development than LOI or they have better contacts there..

Crosby87
02/03/2010, 11:08 PM
Im no fan of MLS but it is definitely a better fit than LOI...

Colbert Report
02/03/2010, 11:09 PM
I can't wait to see how he does in the MLS. Could be a great move for him, get him in proper shape before the next EPL season starts in mid-August.

03/03/2010, 11:48 AM
Dont like the sound of this, the poor lad probably wont be able to walk in a few years:

“My knee only swells up now when I go on a flight. I ice it every day after training and it’s fine.

03/03/2010, 12:04 PM
named on the bench for the game tonight: http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=100728&catid=3&Itemid=11
Judge, Scannell and Sheridan up front
the front 6 looks decent, but the defence is poor

Closed Account 2
03/03/2010, 1:56 PM
I think it's a great move, the MLS is a competitive league and I don't think it's anything like as physical as the Championship, League 1 or the LoI. Also over in the states he'll have the best medical care money can buy. Colorado is where Richard Steadman (the miracle doctor who's fixed the likes of Shearer, Ronaldo (Brazilian derivative), Del Piero) is based. If he visits Steadman his knee could well be fixed.

Colbert Report
03/03/2010, 8:51 PM
I think it's a great move, the MLS is a competitive league and I don't think it's anything like as physical as the Championship, League 1 or the LoI. Also over in the states he'll have the best medical care money can buy. Colorado is where Richard Steadman (the miracle doctor who's fixed the likes of Shearer, Ronaldo (Brazilian derivative), Del Piero) is based. If he visits Steadman his knee could well be fixed.

If he visits Steadman, he won't get to play football at all this summer! He's a surgeon!

EastTerracer
03/03/2010, 9:27 PM
Just back from Tallaght where the U-21s were very badly beaten by Armenia. The one bright spot on the evening though was to see Terry Dixon back in a green jersey albeit only for the last 27 minutes or so.

It's clear that regaining his fitness is going to take some time (he's only played something like eight games in two and a half years) and he is carrying a bit of excess weight. It was also apparent though that he still has some of the spark that excited people about him a few years ago. Unlike most of his team-mates on the night most of his passes went to their intended target and he created one excellent chance for Cillian Sheridan with a very neat dummy and an excellent cross. All we can hope for is that he stays fit and starts to get a consistent run of games at club level (even in the MLS).

I think we might have to lower our expectations just a little though that Terry is going to be one of our great hopes for the future. Despite all he has overcome so far, it's clear that he is only at the beginning of a long process to establish himself as a credible international player. Given the fragile nature of his knee I think it will be a fabulous achievment if he ever gets a place on the senior team. Beyond that anything else will be a bonus.

03/03/2010, 10:00 PM
thought the same EastTerracer, he was right in front of where I was sitting for most of the second half. He's clearly carrying some extra weight and needs to work on his fitness, as he played at a walking pace.
Having said that, when he did have the ball at his feet, he clearly still has the talent that marked him out at an earlier age as a special talent. One cross in particular to the far post to Daly (I think) should have ended in an equaliser.

Boleyn67
17/03/2010, 6:43 PM
Terry Dixon is being released by West Ham at the end of the season because of personal problems. He has featured in two matches since the U21 match, the most recent being yesterday, he come off the bench for both.

EastTerracer
18/03/2010, 1:30 AM
Terry Dixon is being released by West Ham at the end of the season because of personal problems. He has featured in two matches since the U21 match, the most recent being yesterday, he come off the bench for both.

Can you tell us your source for that Boleyn67? It's terribly disappointing news (especially if its not for footballing reasons). He did look unfit at the U-21 game in Tallaght but I was hoping that was just a natural symptom of his long layoff.

Hopefully his knee is still holding up and he will find another club.

Boleyn67
18/03/2010, 1:48 AM
Can you tell us your source for that Boleyn67? It's terribly disappointing news (especially if its not for footballing reasons). He did look unfit at the U-21 game in Tallaght but I was hoping that was just a natural symptom of his long layoff.

Hopefully his knee is still holding up and he will find another club.

A friend at West ham, personal problems is the best way to describe it. His knee is as good as can be expected considering what has happened to him in the past.

Crosby87
18/03/2010, 10:50 AM
Where does this put him with MLS?
Wonder if he got on the drink with all his down down while injured....

zackmorris
22/03/2010, 11:18 PM
Scored against Arsenal reserves tonight and set up the first goal:

http://www.whufc.com/articles/20100322/arsenal-0-2-reserves-ft_2236884_2002265

Conor Henderson started for Arsenal whilst Wearen and Dixon started for West Ham with Daniel Kearns coming on as a late sub.

bwagner
23/03/2010, 12:23 AM
i think that Shea guy is Irish also ( goalkeeper )

boovidge
23/03/2010, 2:54 PM
Yeah heās definitely Irish. Londoner I think.

25/03/2010, 3:41 PM
Did we ever confirmation that Dixon leaving WHam was true or not?

25/03/2010, 4:00 PM
No confirmation of that at all.
And just like Woodie, the poster disappears.

Junior
25/03/2010, 7:56 PM
I mean't to post this a while ago. An interview with Terry featured in the Irish Post on the lead up to his U21 appearance against Armenia.

http://www.irishpost.ie/tabId/320/itemId/9332/pageId/2/Resurgent-Terrys-a-happy-Hammer.aspx

No real hint of things not going too well. Hopefully its just idol gossip....

25/03/2010, 10:23 PM
I think Idol gossip goes here:

http://myidol.americanidol.com/boards/

Razors left peg
25/03/2010, 10:35 PM
I mean't to post this a while ago. An interview with Terry featured in the Irish Post on the lead up to his U21 appearance against Armenia.

http://www.irishpost.ie/tabId/320/itemId/9332/pageId/2/Resurgent-Terrys-a-happy-Hammer.aspx

No real hint of things not going too well. Hopefully its just idol gossip....

Good interview. just one thing that did surprise me was that he said that he left school at 13 to play football for Spurs. I had always assumed that the young lads in the academys in England had to continue their studies along with football training

25/03/2010, 11:38 PM
I thought they took classes as part of the Academy?

26/03/2010, 12:47 AM
And yet he's still the best-educated player ever to graduate the Spurs academy.

Boleyn67
26/03/2010, 1:14 PM
No confirmation of that at all.
And just like Woodie, the poster disappears.

No confirmation yet but it will happen. The list of retained players hasn't been produced yet but the West Ham website hints at several of the squad who played against Arsenal being released.

http://www.whufc.com/articles/20100322/dyer-all-smiles-again_2236884_2002407

For those who have been following progress you'll remember how much the official site used to sing his praises but even after scoring one goal and creating the other he hardly gets a mention.

26/03/2010, 6:48 PM
he went to ignatians i was pretty sure he was there for longer than 13....perhaps exaggeratino for effect.

zackmorris
31/03/2010, 12:32 AM
Dixon, Stephen O'Halloran and James Collins started in the West Ham v Aston Villa match tonight, all three played the 90 mins whilst david bevan and Eoin Wearan came off the bench in a one-nil victory for villa.

Crosby87
02/04/2010, 1:24 AM
Is anyone aware as to if Terry is going to Colorado of MLS (on loan) or not?
Thanks in advance.

irishfan86
04/04/2010, 5:59 AM
Is anyone aware as to if Terry is going to Colorado of MLS (on loan) or not?
Thanks in advance.

You'd think if they wanted to do this that it would already have happened...what's the point in him playing reserve football if he could be getting first team experience?

Not sure MLS is a wise decision with Terry's knees given the amount of artificial turf in the league, but from a selfish perspective it would be nice to have an Irish player to follow over the summer outside of the LOI.

samhaydenjr
04/04/2010, 9:36 PM
You'd think if they wanted to do this that it would already have happened...what's the point in him playing reserve football if he could be getting first team experience?

Not sure MLS is a wise decision with Terry's knees given the amount of artificial turf in the league, but from a selfish perspective it would be nice to have an Irish player to follow over the summer outside of the LOI.

Actually, with Toronto FC installing grass in BMO Field and New York moving to Red Bull Arena, that leaves only New England and Seattle as the only teams (out of 16) still using Fieldturf, which itself is a big advance from the Plastic Pitches of the eighties. I saw one sports doctor say that it's no more likely to cause injuries, although some players still disagree

irishfan86
04/04/2010, 9:50 PM
Actually, with Toronto FC installing grass in BMO Field and New York moving to Red Bull Arena, that leaves only New England and Seattle as the only teams (out of 16) still using Fieldturf, which itself is a big advance from the Plastic Pitches of the eighties. I saw one sports doctor say that it's no more likely to cause injuries, although some players still disagree

Thanks for the info.

As for artificial turf and its ability to cause injuries, I've found that it's pretty hard on my knees/back, and I'm only in my early 20s...I'm sure there are differences between types of artificial surfaces as well.

05/04/2010, 1:50 AM
yeah artificial pitches kill my shins and i'm only going 20..

Metrostars
05/04/2010, 2:52 PM
The surface at Colorado's stadium (The Dick, no really it's "Dick's Sporting Goods Park") is grass. The artificial stuff used in the stadiums in the US these days is better than the old stuff but still not that great for players prone to knee injuries and older players.

That coupled with the amount of air travel to opposing teams in the hot summer would not be all that great for his knees.

In any case:

Rapids coach Gary Smith rubbished recent reports from England and Ireland that West Ham striker Terry Dixon could be joining the Rapids on loan. Smith said he has never met the 20-year-old and believes the link has come through a mutual boxing friend who helps train Dixon.

Read more: http://www.denverpost.com/rapids/ci_14515989#ixzz0kEpSGkLB

bwagner
07/04/2010, 1:54 AM
Got 76 mins in tonights reserve game against stoke.

zackmorris
23/04/2010, 6:17 PM
http://www.whufc.com/articles/20100423/dixon-released_2236884_2031878

Boleyn67
23/04/2010, 7:05 PM
I think Idol gossip goes here:

http://myidol.americanidol.com/boards/

I don't expect an apology but don't be so quick to rubbish peoples information in future otherwise they may not bother again.

Junior
23/04/2010, 8:33 PM
No confirmation yet but it will happen. The list of retained players hasn't been produced yet but the West Ham website hints at several of the squad who played against Arsenal being released.

http://www.whufc.com/articles/20100322/dyer-all-smiles-again_2236884_2002407

For those who have been following progress you'll remember how much the official site used to sing his praises but even after scoring one goal and creating the other he hardly gets a mention.

Fair play your sources are obviously on the ball.

Wonder what lies ahead for him now?

Razors left peg
23/04/2010, 9:10 PM
Very bad news. Hopefully a Championship club will take him on and he will get some first team football and try to progress that way

EastTerracer
23/04/2010, 10:33 PM
Disappointing news for Terry after all the work he has been putting in to get fit again. Hopefully he will find another club where he can continue his comeback. At the U-21 game in Tallaght last month he didn't look fully fit but there were certainly flashes of his ability.

24/04/2010, 1:21 AM
I'd agree with that, he looked solid in possession, but definitely needed to lose at least a stone.
got the assist for the goal, or at least delivered the ball that led to the confusion that finished with the goal.

Crosby87
24/04/2010, 12:36 PM
He needs to go somewhere that he will play regularly. It does not matter if it is Luton--He needs to show he can play then things will take care of themselves.

24/04/2010, 2:42 PM
I don't expect an apology but don't be so quick to rubbish peoples information in future otherwise they may not bother again.

It was a joke based on a common misspelling in your post. If you can't take a joke that innocent, Foot.ie might not be the place for you.

24/04/2010, 6:35 PM
Is the clear out of the reserves more for financial reasons than footballing reasons?

Serb
25/04/2010, 6:32 PM
Is the clear out of the reserves more for financial reasons than footballing reasons?

West Ham aren't exactly flush with cash, but I'd say if they felt that Dixon (or any of the other guys that were released) were going to push through to the first team, I doubt they would have let them go. It really can't be that expensive having someone like Dixon on the books relative to the salaries that are being paid to fringe first team players. It's a setback for Dixon no doubt, but at least his injury record has been relatively clean all season, so someone is much more likely to take a punt on him.

I forgot to mention that Boleyn67 said he was being released for what basically amounts to 'Personal Reasons', so in his case, who knows the real reason that they've let him go?

25/04/2010, 6:41 PM
I was a little surprised that the Hammers took him on at all. The general consensus was that he was a crock. Maybe starting off from a lower level is what he needs.

irishfan86
25/04/2010, 9:46 PM
I was a little surprised that the Hammers took him on at all. The general consensus was that he was a crock. Maybe starting off from a lower level is what he needs.

Given his reputation before his injuries, why not take a punt? He was probably paid a nominal fee, and he had the potential to be a very good player for them if he could make a full recovery.

Ultimately, it hasn't worked out, they've probably not paid him much, and no harm done. I think it was a gamble worth taking, and hopefully the rehab will now given Dixon a solid base to find a new club.

Colbert Report
27/08/2010, 12:01 PM
Sadly it would appear as though his career is over. Does anyone know if he's even been on trial with any teams at all?

irishfan86
27/08/2010, 6:51 PM
You'd think a lower league team would have a pop given his reputation, maybe with the financial problems a lot of clubs are experiencing they're less willing to take a gamble.

Going to a Premier League club was always going to be tough for him in terms of trying to make the grade, but in terms of the facilities it was probably the best place for his physical recovery.

Surely there would be some professional team in Britain willing to take him on though.

gastric
27/08/2010, 9:01 PM
It would be very sad if this was the end for Terry. I have often thought that we have been very, very unlucky over the years with players getting serious injuries and never reaching their potential. Colin Healy and Richard Sadlier are two that come to mind and Ireland would certainly have been a stronger team with their inclusion.