View Full Version : Terry Dixon
Pages :
[
3]
Razors left peg
11/02/2009, 11:04 AM
Totally unexpected good news, fair play to the lad for not just giving up when he was let go by Spurs, hope he goes on to have a great career now
Drumcondra 69er
11/02/2009, 11:05 AM
Delighted to hear that, had such a bad time with injuries, hope it comes good for him now. Fair play to him for sticking at it and keeping his head up as well, shows great character.
irishfan86
11/02/2009, 11:10 AM
That's a fantastic story, thanks for sharing.
Credit to West Ham as well- not many Premiership clubs would invest that time and money into rehabilitating a player who many had written off at such a young age due to serious injury.
Hopefully he can repay them with some fantastic performances and fulfill his potential with the national side.
Dr. Ogba
11/02/2009, 11:18 AM
great news..just wish we knew where woodie was now......one so young as well
agree on both counts...
11/02/2009, 11:20 AM
So West Ham sponsored the rehab including 2 months treatment with specialists in Belgium, not bad.
Well done to him to get so far, since being written off.
The contract with WH is very positive, it would mean that there is overwhelming medical confidence that he will be able to train normally.
Wexford Delboy
11/02/2009, 11:43 AM
great news,WH are a good team for bringing through young talent so hopefully he will get a shot soon
11/02/2009, 11:43 AM
I'm sorry lads, but i can still see there being problems in the future. he could end up doing the other knee unfortunately. Sorry for being a pessimist, but the "specialist" didnt even perform an operation by the sounds of it either. :(
11/02/2009, 11:45 AM
Wow, a very pleasant surprise.
11/02/2009, 11:49 AM
Fantastic news. Best of luck to the lad and well done West Ham.
the ox
11/02/2009, 11:52 AM
Brilliant news, I don't think many people saw this coming. The fact they're talking about trying to make the first team this season is awesome as well.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/w/west_ham_utd/7883543.stm
11/02/2009, 11:59 AM
I'm sorry lads, but i can still see there being problems in the future. he could end up doing the other knee unfortunately. Sorry for being a pessimist, but the "specialist" didnt even perform an operation by the sounds of it either. :(
I'd say he's well aware that his other knee may have problems and that he's not out of the woods. And I don't think many people on here have high hopes that he'll turn out for Ireland in the future.
We're reacting to the positive news that a talented young lad, looked to be out of the game permanently, but has worked hard to get himself a 3 year deal and another shot at the big time.
11/02/2009, 12:30 PM
What are you basing your pessimism on ?
Why do you think he needed an operation?
The fact that Terry did not need an operation in order for him to get to this stage of physical stability, is very positive.
Traps Cat
11/02/2009, 12:37 PM
Great news. Now all i need is a Win tonight,and for woodie to turn up again and i'll be over the moon.
11/02/2009, 12:42 PM
What are you basing your pessimism on ?
Why do you think he needed an operation?
The fact that Terry did not need an operation in order for him to get to this stage of physical stability, is very positive.Maybe he took the holistic route.
11/02/2009, 1:46 PM
A Ros man taking the holistic route isn't a pretty picture.
Hunty's Flatcap
11/02/2009, 2:36 PM
I'd suggest the fact that he's been awarded a three year deal is an indication of the faith they have in his knee. They could have quite easily offered him a 6 month deal.
11/02/2009, 3:45 PM
Well geysir he already had a knee operation, and from personal experience, although I was never near a pro footballer, close but never near :D, I was told by a few different "specialists" that if it occurs again after operation then there is nothing they can do. All he has got since his operation is more phsyio to build up the quads and the meniscus i think its called, but that can only do so much. The 3-years is a confidence measure more than anything. Im sure there are clauses in there to cover them if it re-occurs etc....Anyway I hope I'm wrong :D
seanfhear
11/02/2009, 4:36 PM
Best of luck to the lad
Fergie's Son
11/02/2009, 5:04 PM
Maybe he took the holistic route.
So pixies will magically fix it?
Delighted to hear that he's back. Good for him.
carloz
11/02/2009, 6:10 PM
Says a lot that they have given him a 3 year contract. If West Ham still had reservations about his knee im sure they would have only givenhim a year long contract. Fair dues to the lad, he must be made of the right stuff. Most would pack it in with an injury like that. Spurs loss could be West Ham and Irelands gain
SilkCut
11/02/2009, 9:03 PM
3 year deal! This is fantastic news, especially when you consider he is still only 19. Look what Zola has done for Carlton Cole, I can't wait to see what he does for Dixon. Very exciting times.
tommy_c12000
11/02/2009, 9:07 PM
That news is after making my week. Best of luck to the goy!
Adrianovic
11/02/2009, 10:44 PM
Great stuff, Terry! I never thought I'd hear his name again, such was the nature of his injury. Says a lot for the lad's character.
EastTerracer
03/03/2009, 1:26 PM
The West Ham website have a quick update on Terry Dixon's progress. Apparently, he's been working hard in training and Zola can't wait to see him play. Fingers crossed all continues to go well for him.
http://www.whufc.com/page/News/0,,12562~1564707,00.html
03/03/2009, 1:35 PM
A great hope and incentive to anybody who has had serious injury
The Fly
03/03/2009, 10:08 PM
I hope and pray that young Dixon can progress and make a breakthrough at West Ham. I know hype is more often than not misleading, not to mention annoying, but he was labelled as the real deal by many respected observers. Lets all hope he still is.
A great forward is a crucial piece in the jigsaw for latent potential in the future national side, which I believe will start to exhibit itself in the qualification for the next European championships. (Hopefully it will be at the World Cup ;))
20/03/2009, 6:11 PM
Hammers manager Gianfranco Zola said: “The problem with Terry Dixon is now he has sorted out his problems with his knee, every time he tries to force something he has a tight calf or groin because he has been out for such a long time. We have been following him for a long time. He may have had the chance to play by now if he was fit.”
more... (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/news.asp?n=36144)
latest injury setback aside, he seems to be very highly rated by Zola. Thats a great sign. Heres hoping the lad can make a career for himself.
irishfan86
20/03/2009, 6:27 PM
In the grand scheme of things, these calf strains are minor and more indicative of a lack of fitness more than anything following his injury lay off.
Great to see Zola speak so highly of him though, and it's probably more next season we should be looking towards for a possible breakthrough into the first team squad.
20/03/2009, 7:29 PM
Sounds a bit like Edoardo. Out through a serious injury and now can't string 2 games together because of minor niggles.
Good luck to the guy.
20/03/2009, 8:02 PM
Not wanting to compare myself with an international footballer but thats the way of it I am afraid. When you have a serious knee injury or any serious injury things like hamstrings and calfs wither to **** and it takes a lot to build everything up at the same speed. Back injuries can be common too due to a weak hamstring. Really hope the lad makes it.
20/03/2009, 11:20 PM
As has been pointed out, these are not uncommon with players who have been out injured. Rosicky seems to have a succession of these since first getting seriously injured over a year ago, Walcott's picked up a strain since coming back after being out with a shoulder injury. Really hope he starts getting his fitness together, and starts stringing games together, at any level (reserve, on loan, etc). The more he plays, the less likely these kinds of injuries are to occur.
Closed Account 2
11/04/2009, 1:42 PM
Anyone know if Terry is left or right footed ? Thanks!
The Fly
11/04/2009, 2:22 PM
Anytime I see that there is a new post updating this thread I think "Ohh No!," "Christ Almighty," "Poor lad," etc... such is this fella's misfortune with injuries. There follows a little pessimism and trepidation until I get to the first unread post - it's always a relief when it's something positive.
......anyway edmundo, to the best of my knowledge he's left-footed. Although, don't quote me on that!
back of the net
14/04/2009, 2:48 PM
Anytime I see that there is a new post updating this thread I think "Ohh No!," "Christ Almighty," "Poor lad," etc... such is this fella's misfortune with injuries. There follows a little pessimism and trepidation until I get to the first unread post - it's always a relief when it's something positive.
......anyway edmundo, to the best of my knowledge he's left-footed. Although, don't quote me on that!
yeah im pretty sure he is a left footer alright
14/04/2009, 3:34 PM
Should be some sort of "still healthy - still training" rider with this thread whenever somebody posts.
Deckydee
15/04/2009, 6:49 AM
Thats excatly what I was thinking!! :p
Closed Account 2
16/04/2009, 12:58 AM
Thanks for the info, he should now be left footed in Fifa 10, assuming he is still at West Ham!
10/05/2009, 10:57 AM
McCaffrey
“There are a number of players who are not involved in this (three day training camp in Dublin on May 18) because of club commitments and injuries. West Ham’s Terry Dixon is training well with his club and if he recovers, he will travel with the squad for the (U19s UEFA Championship) qualifiers"
Closed Account 2
03/07/2009, 10:32 AM
He's been doing a lot of fitness training in the last few months at West Ham:
http://www.whufc.com/page/News/0,,12562~1701324,00.html
The Republic of Ireland Under-21 international joined the Hammers on a three-year contract in February after battling back from a long-term knee injury.
Dixon, who has spent endless hours in the gym at the club's training ground in a bid to regain full fitness, recently travelled to Belgium with physiotherapist Stijn Vandenbroucke to continue his rehabilitation under the watchful eye of renowned knee specialist Dr Marc Martens.
Martens, who has worked with AC Milan's Gennaro Gattuso and Kakha Kaladze in Antwerp, examined Dixon before giving him the all-clear to step-up his fitness work. Now, the 19-year-old is back at Chadwell Heath and working hard with Vandenbroucke and other members of the club's medical department.
"It's just a case of getting fit for pre-season, which is why I'm in early," explained Dixon. "Hopefully, come next month I'll be ready because I haven't played football in ages and I just want to start playing again. Whenever I train I feel normal so I just need to work on my fitness now.
"Stijn from West Ham came with me to Belgium. He is from Belgium so I underwent some procedures with Dr Martens and then I did a week of rehab with Stijn. I then went on holiday to Bulgaria but I had a fitness programme to follow while I was over there.
"Touch wood, I'm physically right now and I'm back in to work on getting my muscles physically strong and then I'll start running when the boys come back in. I will be ready for the start of the new season."
Having been out of action for an extended period of time, Dixon is well used to working without the company of his team-mates. Since returning to the training ground the teenager has had only Hammer of the Year Scott Parker, who is recovering from a groin problem, for company.
"I would rather be here than on holiday to be honest, just to get ready for the new season," he added. "Scott Parker has been in this week, but other than that I haven't seen any of the other players since the end of the season."
Crosby87
03/07/2009, 11:51 AM
Good Luck to him. Will probably be months before he is up to game speed though.
03/07/2009, 11:26 PM
You can't but help love the guy's dedication. He's had so many setback so lets hope he can finally get his promising career going again.
Hibernian
04/07/2009, 12:14 AM
i wish the lad well hope he stays injury free and becomes a decent player
galwayhoop
06/07/2009, 3:23 PM
Dixon, who has spent endless hours in the gym at the club's training ground in a bid to regain full fitness, recently travelled to Belgium with physiotherapist Stijn Vandenbroucke to continue his rehabilitation under the watchful eye of renowned knee specialist Dr Marc Martens.
that lad used to sponsor them didn't he???
13/07/2009, 12:15 PM
Minor update on West Ham's site: http://www.whufc.com/page/News/0,,12562~1720470,00.html
It remains to be seen if Dean Ashton and Terry Dixon will travel as they are working hard on their fitness after lengthy injury lay-offs. The manager revealed that there may be more attack-minded players on the way with speculation linking the club with a range of players. "We are trying to spot what our weaknesses are," he added stressing that there was plenty of time for new recruits. "Certainly we need to improve up front and that is the majority of the job."
23/08/2009, 12:35 PM
Dixon in training with the reserves at West Ham: http://www.whufc.com/page/News/0,,12562~1763088,00.html
Dixon is also progressing well and has started full training with the reserves
ofjames
23/08/2009, 12:52 PM
Dixon in training with the reserves at West Ham: http://www.whufc.com/page/News/0,,12562~1763088,00.html
good for him, looks like ashton may have to retire on the other hand. poor chap, looked a quality player. i'm sure terry can empathise with his predicament
16/09/2009, 2:56 PM
getting closer to an appearance with the reserves: http://www.whufc.com/page/News/0,,12562~1793790,00.html
Reserve-team forward Terry Dixon has overcome his knee problems but is not yet thought to be ready to take part in matches as he has not played competitively since March 2008.
Murfinator
17/09/2009, 10:56 AM
Wonder if we'll ever see him in first team action. It's not good for a player his age to have the injury track record like Original Ronaldo has right now.
Murfinator
17/09/2009, 10:58 AM
And yeah Ashton is a top player when he was fit, I remember seeing him at Crewe as a kid and thinking he'd grow up to be world class and I think he would have if it wasn't for injuries. He'd certainly have got a top 4 move by now if he was fit and playing often. Always sad to see a talent like that with their career in jeopardy at only 25.