View Full Version : Terry Dixon
Pages :
[
6]
Keith O'Neill is another that comes to mind. (On off the ball on newstalk next Tuesday by the way)
gastric
27/08/2010, 10:10 PM
Mark Kelly? at Portsmouth when Jack was manager is another who showed lots of potential.
EastTerracer
27/08/2010, 10:57 PM
Gary Waddock might be the more optimistic case to consider. He was forced by QPR and the insurance company to retire from the game at 24 due to a medial ligament injury. He bought an exercise bike, got himself fit, and made a comeback in Belgium before ultimately joining Millwall. He won his way back into the ireland squad for Italia 90 but then Jack decided to bring Alan McLoughlin instead. Gary ended up playing until he was 36 with Luton.
Don't give up yet Terry!
08/11/2010, 11:25 AM
Well begorra and begosh, this one slipped under the radar. Was looking into how Jay O'Shea got on at the weekend and found this.
http://fcboro.co.uk/squad-list/attackers/terry-dixon/
Played 8 Minutes for them in the FA Cup
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/fa_cup/9140377.stm
A final throw of the dice came as Dixon replaced the hard working Ben May.
New soccerbase ID for Tets http://www.soccerbase.com/players_details.sd?playerid=57761
08/11/2010, 12:20 PM
Well begorra and begosh, this one slipped under the radar. Was looking into how Jay O'Shea got on at the weekend and found this.
http://fcboro.co.uk/squad-list/attackers/terry-dixon/
Played 8 Minutes for them in the FA Cup
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/fa_cup/9140377.stm
New soccerbase ID for Tets http://www.soccerbase.com/players_details.sd?playerid=57761
Cheers, great news there for the lad. I've added him back with the new player id: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/PlayerDetails?playerID=57761
According to this - http://fcboro.co.uk/squad-list/attackers/terry-dixon/ - he's with Stevenage on a non-contract basis
08/11/2010, 12:48 PM
my mate was at this game, he said he was warming up most of it, and looked like he had been coming on early.
His first thing to say was he is quite chubby isnt he?! i didnt remember that....said didnt notice him when he came on but "noticed" him warming up....
zackmorris
12/11/2010, 8:49 AM
http://www.thecomet.net/stevenage-fc/dixon_s_got_talent_1_723360
AlaskaFox
12/11/2010, 12:27 PM
Signed him in my Football Manager 11 game where I'm only buying Irish lads. Was wondering did he get a club in real life yet.
rebelmusic
27/11/2010, 12:37 PM
On the bench today with Jay O'Shea starting
AlaskaFox
27/11/2010, 12:46 PM
Stevenage 1-0 up at h/t. O'Shea has had two shots, neither on target.
tommy_c12000
27/11/2010, 1:59 PM
Dixon came on in injury time. No chance to make an impression
03/12/2010, 3:50 PM
Interview with him in the Herald.
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/dixon-longing-for-his-debut-2447121.html
At the end
"I was an idiot at West Ham," Dixon admits. "I had fallen into some bad habits when I was out injured and I kept up those bad habits when I was at West Ham; drinking, staying out late, not eating right, just messing.
"So I didn't do myself any favours at West Ham. I was an idiot but I have learned from that."
:) To be fair, young lad, I'd of done the same thing. Hopefully he's knocked it on the head though.
SwanVsDalton
03/12/2010, 3:57 PM
Fairly unusual for a young footballer to be so frank and honest. Fair play.
Junior
03/12/2010, 3:57 PM
Im a little surprised by that. Considering he had got an unexpected second chance after the bad injury, you'd think he would be grasping it with both hands tightly. However, still only 20 so time to get on the right path, though he'd want to be doing it now!!!
03/12/2010, 4:39 PM
He's gone to a decent club in Stevenage to do just that. As a club they're upwardly mobile, being new to the Football League after winning a strong Blue Square Premier (containing the likes of Luton and Oxford) in 2009. Graham Westley is the manager and, although he has a Marmite reputation personally, he is not afraid to promote young footballers if their attitude is right. If Dixon works hard he will undoubtedly get a run of games to win an extended contract and really show what he can do. Good luck to him.
:ball: PP
03/12/2010, 5:04 PM
What's a "marmite reputation"? barely tolerable - in very small doses?
03/12/2010, 6:39 PM
What's a "marmite reputation"? barely tolerable - in very small doses?
I'd imagine you either love it, or absolutely despise it?
Adrock
03/12/2010, 7:26 PM
Fairly unusual for a young footballer to be so frank and honest. Fair play.
You tend to find footballers are only ever honest in regard to themselves when they are talking in the past tense
SwanVsDalton
04/12/2010, 8:41 AM
You tend to find footballers are only ever honest in regard to themselves when they are talking in the past tense
And? Footballer's honesty is fairly remarkable no matter what the tense.
Drumcondra 69er
04/12/2010, 11:48 AM
At the end
:) To be fair, young lad, I'd of done the same thing. Hopefully he's knocked it on the head though.
In fairness, idiocy doesn't even begine to describe that. Very disappointed in him to blow a second chance like that, stupid beyond belief.
kennedmc
04/12/2010, 1:05 PM
very encouraging that a 20 year old can be that honest with himself -
If you look at the likes of Rooney, alot of people say give him a chance as he is only young i.e. 24/25
The fact that Dixon is saying this at 20 when there is no reason for him to be that honest is terrific because in reality his situation is abit of a non story nationally in the UK & Ireland.
I hope he really gets his head down and gives himself every chance - at least then if he doesn't make it he will have no regrets
Good luck Terry!!
Yard of Pace
04/12/2010, 1:07 PM
In fairness, idiocy doesn't even begine to describe that. Very disappointed in him to blow a second chance like that, stupid beyond belief.
What was he? 19 or 20? How many stupid things did you do at that age?
You're at Spurs and almost an international at 16, everyone says you're the next big thing, you're earning a ton of money for a kid that age, you get to go to West Ham, things still seem easy for you....don't you think it would mess with your head? He actually says in the interview he found the fame hard to handle. Give the lad a break.
04/12/2010, 7:01 PM
At the end
Ive been told he is still like that. That nothing has changed.
Adrock
05/12/2010, 11:53 AM
And? Footballer's honesty is fairly remarkable no matter what the tense.
No they actually become remarkably candid when they've moved on to another club or retired, especially when it comes to writing their biographies. Its easier to criticise yourself for what you have done i.e 'I was a lazy sh*te' etc rather than what they are doing because it avoids taking responsibility for it in a way. Same way Cascarino can easily write in a book he shouldnt have been legally entitled to play for Ireland long after he'd retired but still kept doing so at the time as he didnt feel like accepting the consequences of being honest.
SwanVsDalton
05/12/2010, 4:14 PM
No they actually become remarkably candid when they've moved on to another club or retired, especially when it comes to writing their biographies. Its easier to criticise yourself for what you have done i.e 'I was a lazy sh*te' etc rather than what they are doing because it avoids taking responsibility for it in a way. Same way Cascarino can easily write in a book he shouldnt have been legally entitled to play for Ireland long after he'd retired but still kept doing so at the time as he didnt feel like accepting the consequences of being honest.
There's a difference between a retired player and someone trying to get their career back on track. Whether Dixon repeats the same mistakes remains to be seen but his sentiment for a young guy is admirable. For now I'd give him the benefit of the doubt and see how he progresses.
theworm2345
03/01/2011, 1:57 PM
http://www.thecomet.net/stevenage-fc/we_ve_yet_to_agree_terms_with_dixon_boro_1_763357
03/01/2011, 2:19 PM
not involved again today VS Barnet, Stevenage 2-0 up after just 8 minutes
What next for Dixon? It appears that he's struggling to agree terms with Stevenage — it's unlikely they're offering the kind of terms he was on at West Ham recently, but hopefully he'll sort that out. What he really needs at this point is football. People complain about Darron Gibson not playing enough football; this thread is three years old and Dixon made his first professional appearance 8 weeks ago. He's played around 21 minutes of football in his entire career.
He must have the talent or clubs wouldn't be taking a chance on him so often, but he must also be way behind in his footballing development since he has to work so hard just to keep relatively fit. I'd be amazed if he ever plays top flight football, but good luck to him. He has a long way to go.
boovidge
14/01/2011, 6:09 AM
Think he's been released?
http://twitter.com/#!/fcboro/status/21210493670658048
Think he's been released?
http://twitter.com/#!/fcboro/status/21210493670658048
He was number 26 at Stevenage. According to Wikipedia, a player called Byron Harrison (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Byron_Harrison_%28footballer%29) has that number now. However, according to the official Stevenage website, Dixon is still there at number 26 (http://www.stevenagefc.com/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10839~54229,00.html), but to be honest, I'd say Wikipedia gets updated faster than that thing.
Dunners
14/01/2011, 2:52 PM
Statement from the 29th Dec
Boro have so far failed to agree terms with Terry Dixon with talks about a deal ongoing.
Ex-Spurs and West Ham striker Dixon joined the club earlier in the season but has been unable to hold down a first team spot and has played just three times.
It was thought that the Irish striker had left the club earlier today, but the club has said that it is still talking to the forward.
A statement from the club said: “We haven’t agreed contractual terms with Terry, meanwhile he is continuing with an intensive conditioning and rehabilitation programe.”
boovidge
14/01/2011, 5:33 PM
Stevenage fans saying he's been released for "non footballing reasons".
http://www.borochat.co.uk/sbfc.mpl?action=all&start=52030&end=52021
Colbert Report
14/01/2011, 10:16 PM
From the same link as above:
"Well, I think if you cant behave and accept the rules of the Manager, you'll never survive."
interesting.
theworm2345
14/01/2011, 10:55 PM
From the same link as above:
"Well, I think if you cant behave and accept the rules of the Manager, you'll never survive."
interesting.
"I was an idiot at West Ham," Dixon admits. "I had fallen into some bad habits when I was out injured and I kept up those bad habits when I was at West Ham; drinking, staying out late, not eating right, just messing.
"So I didn't do myself any favours at West Ham. I was an idiot but I have learned from that."
How many times have we seen this. "I was an idiot but have really matured," then go out and do something stupid. Unfortunately, oftentimes it takes more an "eye-opening event" rather than just the course of life to make some people grow up (and some never do). This is speaking without inside knowledge of what happened at Stevenage, but it seems to be fairly plain.
Crosby87
15/01/2011, 1:32 AM
I dont think he will ever see the light of day in a green Jersey tbh.
Shame. I was excited about him when he first came up. Bad injury. Some aren't the same after it and he didn't help himself in other ways.
theworm2345
15/02/2011, 1:30 PM
MLS rumors starting to pop up again.
http://www.tribalfootball.com/articles/ex-west-ham-tottenham-striker-dixon-linked-colorado-rapids-1449061
http://www.soccer365.com/english_premiership/story_14211230156.php
At this point I don't think it would be a terrible move, its probably better than dropping into the Conference North/South.
15/02/2011, 1:33 PM
might be coincidental, but Richard Steadman, the knee surgeon who worked on Alan Shearer, among others, is based in Colorado.
AlaskaFox
15/02/2011, 2:01 PM
And that's where Caleb Folan is on trial at the moment:
http://greenscene.me/2011/02/caleb-folan-on-trial-with-colorado-rapids/
All Irish strikeforce?
Sullivinho
15/02/2011, 2:57 PM
might be coincidental, but Richard Steadman, the knee surgeon who worked on Alan Shearer, among others, is based in Colorado.
Steadman: knee surgeon to the (football) stars. Haven't heard about him saving someone's career in a while, has he retired or what.
Fixer82
15/02/2011, 3:34 PM
Is that not the fella who did a botch job on Quinn?
15/02/2011, 3:44 PM
Is that not the fella who didnt save hargreaves?
Ya he seems to have agone a lot quiter since a lot less succesful ones. The fad is over with him :D
15/02/2011, 10:48 PM
Has apparently signed for Ware (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ware_F.C.) in the Ryman League Division One North ?
http://nln24.com/news/story/ware-strengthen-with-dixon-and-protheroe?
theworm2345
15/02/2011, 11:07 PM
At this point I don't think it would be a terrible move, its probably better than dropping into the Conference North/South.
Has apparently signed for Ware (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ware_F.C.) in the Ryman League Division One North ?
http://nln24.com/news/story/ware-strengthen-with-dixon-and-protheroe?
Well thats two tiers lower than I had guessed (Joe O'Cearuill is playing in the Conference South), but not surprising. I know that there are some internationals playing in that league (Ryan Edgar of Dominica and Ellis Remy of Montserrat play for Brentwood Town to name a few) so he'll be in good company even if he never made his full debut.
boovidge
15/02/2011, 11:21 PM
He can come and play for Lewes if he likes. :D
boovidge
06/03/2011, 11:39 AM
made his debut yesterday:
From the start eyes were on Terry Dixon making his debut after signing from Stevenage. His trademark was a deft touch and an ability to turn an opponent. He almost made it a debut to remember when put through after some good approach play. But his shot was well saved by Elliot Justham, being turned round the post for one of many corners that Ware forced throughout the game.
On the debit side Dixon is inevitably lacking match fitness and was substituted in the second half having earlier picked up a disappointing yellow card.
AlaskaFox
06/03/2011, 11:41 AM
So much for his international aspirations.
boovidge
25/03/2011, 4:04 PM
Dixon leaves Ware (http://www.hertfordshiremercury.co.uk/Sport/Dixon-leaves-Ware.htm) to go to Tooting and Mitcham
The 21-year-old, who was looking to gain match fitness ahead of a mooted move to American Major League Soccer, has only featured in a couple of games for Ware, and was left out of a recent league match after failing to make training.
the bear
26/03/2011, 1:03 AM
very dissapointing, had high hopes for terry, hopefully he makes some sort of career out of it
Colbert Report
26/03/2011, 5:35 AM
"was left out of a recent league match after failing to make training"
no sympathy for the guy now
livehead1
27/03/2011, 12:52 AM
A friend of mine is a coach at spurs. I remember asking him years ago about the talents they had. He said O'Hara was a decent player and had a good chance, he said Dixon was pure class....