View Full Version : Libertas vs. Drogheda United - LIVE

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

19/07/2007, 10:38 PM
Drogs fans look stupid now with their "Doolin is our Saviour" banner. From reading this thread they got cocky and deserved what they got. A decent manager would have prepared them better. Still the only people this result affects are the co-efficient people.

19/07/2007, 10:52 PM
still the only people this result affects are the co-efficient people.

Are they like fairy people? ;)

19/07/2007, 10:58 PM
A decent manager would have prepared them better. Still the only people this result affects are the co-efficient people.And fans of teams who have a chance of playing in Europe next year.

19/07/2007, 11:03 PM
Are they like fairy people? ;)

No, they're slightly bigger.

Snoop Drog
19/07/2007, 11:18 PM
From reading this thread they got cocky and deserved what they got.

A draw and an away goal?

If we get through to the next round this result won't count for much.

19/07/2007, 11:21 PM
A draw and an away goal?
Yes. Drogs should have won easily. Still as I said above no real damage done.

TheBoss
19/07/2007, 11:22 PM
What is it with Louth Men and San Marino ?

Snoop Drog
20/07/2007, 12:39 AM
What is it with Louth Men and San Marino ?
"San Marino were always going to be a handful in this group":D

Snoop Drog
20/07/2007, 6:09 AM
It'll only damage teams with European aspirations so don't worry about it.

hoopy
20/07/2007, 6:16 AM
People can dress it up all they like but it doesn't say much for our league if it's potential champions can't beat a team who I'd expect a LSL team to beat

20/07/2007, 6:20 AM
Of course there was damage done. Irish clubs have to win games like this and hope that other clubs pick up the odd point from the stronger european teams. This was a missed opportunity.

"no real damage done" my arse.

But they don't (have to win these games).

The coefficient is beginning to lose its importance because LOI clubs are much more competitive now than for 5 years ago. It was more important before because it was necessary for clubs to get a good draw if there was going to be any chance of progress. As it is now, LOI clubs have a good chance of qualifying for the next round no matter who they are drawn against. With a bit of luck, the LOI can overtake the Lithuanian league this year on the ranking table and this will most likely ensure seeding for our clubs in next year's UEFA Cup. If this doesn't happen next season, I'm confident it will happen the following year.

People can dress it up all they like but it doesn't say much for our league if it's potential champions can't beat a team who I'd expect a LSL team to beat

It's only half time in this match ;)

Libertas had one chance and scored from it - it was just bad luck and it doesn't reflect on the standard of our league.

20/07/2007, 10:47 AM
This result is obviously a cunning plan hatched by the Drogs commercial department to increase ticket sales for the second leg.

Isn't it?

Shelsman
20/07/2007, 1:03 PM
"San Marino were always going to be a handful in this group":D

I think Drogs proved that they could be a real banana skin for Libertas! :D

20/07/2007, 2:02 PM
San Marino Teams are always dangerous in July.

Ceirtlis
20/07/2007, 2:11 PM

Totally agree with this. When the international team struggled to win over there everyone was saying stuff like 11 ****heads on a stag weekend in rimini could have beaten San Marino. It is a disgrace that Drogheda couldnt even beat this crowd who didnt even win the San Marino championship last year.

20/07/2007, 2:26 PM
It'll only damage teams with European aspirations so don't worry about it.

And the relative standing of our league vis-a-vis all others in Europe by the only benchmark that exists (the UEFA coefficient).

Plus it just looks fcuking amateurish...! :eek:

Cymro
20/07/2007, 3:03 PM
Just remember, Maccabi Tel Aviv lost in Andorra last night.

These places are tougher than you think to go and get a result from. The conditions are unfamiliar, and unless you've actually been there before, you won't have a clue what to expect.

20/07/2007, 4:35 PM
Totally agree with this. When the international team struggled to win over there everyone was saying stuff like 11 ****heads on a stag weekend in rimini could have beaten San Marino. It is a disgrace that Drogheda couldnt even beat this crowd who didnt even win the San Marino championship last year.
Again, another club that won't get within an arses roar of Europe feel the need to berate Drogheda.

What would Galway know about Europe? You only got into the Premier Division by default ffs.

Last time I checked European progression was decided over two legs.

20/07/2007, 5:02 PM
Just remember, Maccabi Tel Aviv lost in Andorra last night.

These places are tougher than you think to go and get a result from. The conditions are unfamiliar, and unless you've actually been there before, you won't have a clue what to expect.

Just look what happened to Longford Town when they made the long journey to play Carmarthen...! :D :p

kdjaC
20/07/2007, 9:08 PM
Just look what happened to Longford Town when they made the long journey to play Carmarthen...! :D :p

Clear your inbox!!!!

kdjac

Torn-Ado
20/07/2007, 10:05 PM
Again, another club that won't get within an arses roar of Europe feel the need to berate Drogheda.

What would Galway know about Europe? You only got into the Premier Division by default ffs.

Last time I checked European progression was decided over two legs.

Oh yes. You are totally right. Why on earth should a mere Galway Utd fan be allowed to give their opinion on another Irish team in Europe. How dare they. This forum should be made exclusive to fans of Derry, Drogheda and pats.

Criticse a team who couldn't beat what is the equivalent of a pub team over here? Disgraceful.

By the way, you can dress it up all you want, with your 'two legs' and 'away goals' blah blah, but it doesn't hide the fact that Drogheda couldn't break down a team rated one of the worst in Europe and Derry couldn't even force a decent save out of the diddy teams keeper.

20/07/2007, 10:59 PM
got talking to one of the lads out in san marino and he said he was gonna hunt down doolo and tell him hes letting the whole country down cos the co efficient will suffer :rolleyes:

The reason you got such a favourable draw is by the hard work being done by City and Shels in the last few years, so don't pretend the co-efficient isn't important, and show a bit of gratitude you weren't draw the traditional 1st round trip to the baltic.

20/07/2007, 11:02 PM
Oh yes. You are totally right. Why on earth should a mere Galway Utd fan be allowed to give their opinion on another Irish team in Europe. How dare they. This forum should be made exclusive to fans of Derry, Drogheda and pats.

Criticse a team who couldn't beat what is the equivalent of a pub team over here? Disgraceful.

By the way, you can dress it up all you want, with your 'two legs' and 'away goals' blah blah, but it doesn't hide the fact that Drogheda couldn't break down a team rated one of the worst in Europe and Derry couldn't even force a decent save out of the diddy teams keeper.

What Torn-Ado has done there in graphical form (http://www1.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve/280569/2/istockphoto_280569_nail_head.jpg)

20/07/2007, 11:08 PM
What Torn-Ado has done there in graphical form (http://www1.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve/280569/2/istockphoto_280569_nail_head.jpg)

I'd expect it from a Limerick man but...

20/07/2007, 11:15 PM
San Marino Teams are always dangerous in July.

Busmen can be dangerous when they haven't driven a bus for months. Maybe Drogs got confused with the Italian surroundings, and were therefore happy to settle for the away goal and draw. :confused:

Another embarrassment for the league, but that's what you get when you spend all your pre-match talk, talking up sh-ite opponents. Instead of respecting them, you instill fear in your team, which leads to bad performances, and bad results. Even Libertas were writing themselves off before the game... :eek::o

Dyl10
21/07/2007, 11:53 PM

By the way, you can dress it up all you want, with your 'two legs' and 'away goals' blah blah, but it doesn't hide the fact that Drogheda couldn't break down a team rated one of the worst in Europe .

Drogheda 3 - 2 Galway
1. Drogheda Utd
10. Galway Utd

What worries me is if Drogheda couldnt beat the equivalent of a pub team, where does that leave Galway? DDSL standard?:eek::p

gilberto_eire
22/07/2007, 12:52 AM
Drogheda 3 - 2 Galway
1. Drogheda Utd
10. Galway Utd

What worries me is if Drogheda couldnt beat the equivalent of a pub team, where does that leave Galway? DDSL standard?:eek::p

WOW because that there is fool proof!!....

Snoop Drog
22/07/2007, 1:31 AM
im so soooooooooo sorry

Now THAT'S sarcasm!

22/07/2007, 9:34 AM
in the words of father jack im so soooooooooo sorry :rolleyes: i couldnt give a rats about the co efficient drogheda dont go into games in europe thinking oh we better win to give oursleves/pats/bohs/rovers a better chance in the cl/uefa/intercity rail savers card next season
Whatever about pats/bohs/rovers (rovers in europe hahaha :D), you don't think your club wants to do well for itself? or wait- are ye actually going out to win the entire cup is it? Get past the san marinese first please, and try not to embarress yourselves. Mind you, the last louth langer who went to san marino actually won, and people still called for his head. I guess you lot do set the sights a little lower than he rest of the country. Sure wasn't Doolin in the papers saying ye should have shut up shop at 1-0 :D

Celdrog
22/07/2007, 10:10 AM
Only back yesterday and was wondering what the hysterical reaction would be. We decided to ignore the usual suspects rants. This thread bears out the usual nonsense and most fans getting behind an Irish team in Europe.
Dundalk giving out that the Drogs only drew away in Europe:rolleyes:

Apologies for not getting a co-efficient point, trust me we were extremely ****ed off that we only got a half point. We should have buried that shower before a half hour had gone, never mind make a show of ourselves.

So for next season we shall throw away the league and not finish in a european spot. That will allow Cork and Dundalk who have amassed hugh points in the last five years to save the country.
Mind you there is no guarantee that we can throw the league away.

Well done Derry and Pats.

Dyl10
22/07/2007, 4:12 PM
WOW because that there is fool proof!!....

Yeh, but gunning for relegation isn't :p

22/07/2007, 8:28 PM
yeah gavin do well for OURSELVES like if ye do well for yourselves and pats and derry too the co efficient will look after itself wont it??you think the likes of ajax or brondby back a few years were worrying about other teams in their leagues benefitting from how they did in europe

No-one's asking you to want the other teams to benefit, but until you're in the position where your club is a country (no pun intended) mile ahead of the rest, eg ajax/brondby a few years back, you are relying upon the other teams to do well too to bump up YOUR coefficient, along with your own performances, rather than your success simply helping the others.

Grayzer
23/07/2007, 12:24 PM
Sh1t happens, we totally outplayed them, I'd say the shot count was about 25-1, we just couldn't score added to a few dodgy decisions from the ref (playing advantage when he should have given a peno and a red card :eek:), 25 degree with near 100% humidity, I was wrecked from just standing (well the beer probably didn't help either)!!

Couldn't care about co-efficient points, don't see too much moaning about Derry not being able to beat a side from a bandit country or about Pats shutting up shop at home. Get over it, we'll get you your precious co-efficient point in Dalymount.

As for the Langer and Dundalk fans, no need to worry about Europe next year lads.

diamond
23/07/2007, 12:32 PM
i'm too lazy to read the thread so only read last page.
dunno what others drogs said but i do know that 90 per cent of drogs couldnt give a fiddlers how we do in europe this season.
we want the league. every other game is a please dont get anyone else injured worry.
next year hopefully we'll worry about the cl.

Snoop Drog
23/07/2007, 10:07 PM
but i do know that 90 per cent of drogs couldnt give a fiddlers how we do in europe this season.

I'm in the other 10% then. I think it is a great honour for our boys to play in Europe and to get to the 1st round proper is a good goal and would be a great achievement.

Getting by this San Marino team though would be a good start too...

kdjaC
23/07/2007, 10:08 PM
i'm too lazy to read the thread so only read last page.
dunno what others drogs said but i do know that 90 per cent of drogs couldnt give a fiddlers how we do in europe this season.
we want the league. every other game is a please dont get anyone else injured worry.
next year hopefully we'll worry about the cl.

FFS thats seriously dumb by winning both legs you could be seeded for your CL game.

kdjac

Celdrog
27/07/2007, 12:34 PM
FFS thats seriously dumb by winning both legs you could be seeded for your CL game.
kdjac
Exactly - that's why I was so annoyed at not winning