19/07/2007, 8:40 PM
Some serious mano e mano stretching going on from libertas players
ger121
19/07/2007, 8:40 PM
Jesus these Sammarinese like scoring against the Irish. Didn't see that coming
Torn-Ado
19/07/2007, 8:41 PM
Like Goteburg???:p
Goteborg are brutal but if they had to play either Derry or Drogheda, they'd leather them.
19/07/2007, 8:42 PM
Dig dig dig dig! ;)
I believe that would be San Marinos first ranking point in 5 years if stays like that? :eek:
LeixlipRed
19/07/2007, 8:43 PM
Goteborg are brutal but if they had to play either Derry or Drogheda, they'd leather them.
Someone else tell him!!
Decent save from Libertas keeper.
Yeah exactly, sure look what Elfsborg done to Linfie....oh wait. :o
19/07/2007, 8:44 PM
Wouldn't be that bothered if it stays 1-1, it's very difficult to play against a packed defence, boredom and frustration are your worst enemy. Libertas will play for 0-0 at Dalymount and ship a couple.
Good save by Libertas keeper, corner cleared.
I believe that would be San Marinos first ranking point in 5 years if stays like that? :eek:
Yup.
Cymro's point about Andorra's first ever result comes to mind...
Doolin out. :p
Drogheda goal disallowed for offside.
I think Libertas will prove a handful for other teams from now on further on in the competition.;)
ger121
Goal ruled out for Offside
LeixlipRed
19/07/2007, 8:45 PM
Is the 2nd leg at Dalyer? Excellent
Torn-Ado
Someone else tell him!!
what.....
LeixlipRed
Anyone spot the lone dude in the wheelchair?? Has that whole running track to himself :D
Derry beat Goteborg home and away last year.
LeixlipRed
19/07/2007, 8:46 PM
what.....
The mighty Goteburg were recently knocked out of Europe by one of those teams you put down
Ceirtlis
19/07/2007, 8:47 PM
Someone else tell him!!
He knows, he lives in Gothenburg. All joking aside if Drogheda draw this it will be worse than what the international team did over there.
Torn-Ado
19/07/2007, 8:47 PM
Yeah exactly, sure look what Elfsborg done to Linfie....oh wait. :o
0-0 result was decent for Elfsborg. They wanteed to come away from a tricky away tie with a draw or win knowing that they'll overpower them at home.
Like PSG last season against Derry. Not being smart.
LeixlipRed
19/07/2007, 8:48 PM
He knows, he lives in Gothenburg. All joking aside if Drogheda draw this it will be worse than what the international team did over there.
Overstating it a bit maybe. Richie Baker plays for Drogs like ;)
Torn-Ado
19/07/2007, 8:49 PM
The mighty Goteburg were recently knocked out of Europe by one of those teams you put down
That was a year ago. I was at the game. I watched Derry play last night and I can safely say that Goteborg would wallop them.
19/07/2007, 8:49 PM
0-0 result was decent for Elfsborg. They wanteed to come away from a tricky away tie with a draw or win knowing that they'll overpower them at home.
Like PSG last season against Derry. Not being smart.
But had Elfsborg lost they wouldn't have been so confident of overpowering them? :confused:
LeixlipRed
19/07/2007, 8:51 PM
One last corner. Come on Drogs!!
LeixlipRed
19/07/2007, 8:52 PM
Time must be up by now
LeixlipRed
19/07/2007, 8:53 PM
Absolute rubbish
19/07/2007, 8:54 PM
Over?
God awful result if it stays this way.
Juanace
Thye seem pretty happy!!
1-1 result. :rolleyes:
Torn-Ado
19/07/2007, 8:55 PM
All over. Shocking result against one of the worst football teams I have seen in my life.
19/07/2007, 8:56 PM
Libertas players hugging the ref at full-time!
Like I said, I wouldn't be particularly fussed about this result If I were Drogheda. They don't score many at the best of times, they now know they're vastly superior to Libertas and they got the away goal which protects them against catastrophe. Job done.
shocking from Drogheda but the San Marino lads celebrated their 'historic result' as if they won the CL final.
Fair play to them, they worked hard and defended well.
Bad for the coeffecient :(
Steve Bruce
19/07/2007, 8:56 PM
But had Elfsborg lost they wouldn't have been so confident of overpowering them? :confused:
We gave as good as we got.;)
ger121
19/07/2007, 8:57 PM
Terrible result but they've had their day in the sun. Drogheda will beat them easily in the 2nd leg.
19/07/2007, 8:57 PM
All over. Shocking result against one of the worst football teams I have seen in my life.
Does it really matter? The tie is over with Drogheda's away goal. They're through to the next round and that's what it's all about.
Steve Bruce
19/07/2007, 8:58 PM
Drogs got the away goal, the result might not have been what was expected, but one thing is for sure and that is Drogs will thump them at home.
Libertas wont score more than once. They've just had their cup final and to them they have won the tie if only morally as they see themselves correctly as being a vastle inferior side to Drogheda.
19/07/2007, 8:59 PM
From watching the first half, it appeared Drogheda had absolutely no sense of urgency at all. Almost like they took the win for granted and were just hanging around to see how it would come about. That fair on the basis of the whole match? Captain and manager need to share a good chunk of the blame if so.
19/07/2007, 8:59 PM
The biggest question about this match is how many drogs are going to hammer this team?
It is a foregone conclusionWhy oh why would anyone be certain of Drogs not throwing this away?
They're through to the next round and that's what it's all about.
Not to me. I want the coefficient points...:(
Torn-Ado
19/07/2007, 9:01 PM
Does it really matter? The tie is over with Drogheda's away goal. They're through to the next round and that's what it's all about.
They are probably going to go through (I wouldn't put the house on it however) but watching them huff and puff against arguably the wost team in the competition doesn't bode well for the next round.
19/07/2007, 9:02 PM
Not to me. I want the coefficient points...:(
The coefficient ranking is over a five year period. So one draw in a match Drogheda should have won doesn't really make much difference.
19/07/2007, 9:02 PM
They are probably going to go through (I wouldn't put the house on it however) but watching them huff and puff against arguably the wost team in the competition doesn't bode well for the next round.
I would confidently say that Carmarthen are the worst team in the competition.
Steve Bruce
19/07/2007, 9:04 PM
Why oh why would anyone be certain of Drogs not throwing this away?
The overall tie is still a foregone conclusion :rolleyes:
19/07/2007, 9:04 PM
I'm consistently bemused by this failure to recognise that the imperatives of a two-legged tie are completely different to those of a one-off fixture. How many times in the bad old days did we see LoI teams achieve creditable results against foreign opposition only to get hammered in the away leg?
Priority 1 - Get an away goal: Tick
Priority 2 - Suss out opponents you know nothing about: Tick
Priority 3 - Don't expend more energy than you need to: Tick
Priority 4 - Don't get beaten if you can avoid it: Tick
Not a stellar performance by Drogheda, but no great drama.
The coefficient ranking is over a five year period. So one draw in a match Drogheda should have won doesn't really make much difference.
It will.....We're losing a poor year coefficient wise this year, and this year will be added so it could make a difference alright.
We are in no position to be writing off coefficient points.
Torn-Ado
19/07/2007, 9:08 PM
I would confidently say that Carmarthen are the worst team in the competition.
Worst result, yes. But if the two played each other, I'd say the Welsh would win.
19/07/2007, 9:10 PM
It will.....We're losing a poor year coefficient wise this year, and this year will be added so it could make a difference alright.
We are in no position to be writing off coefficient points.
The two years at the start of the current 5 year period are bad. Once they're out of our 5 year calculation our coefficient will greatly improve. If the league gets a 1 point coefficient from this year's matches that's a good return for me.
gilberto_eire
19/07/2007, 9:21 PM
not sure on this so someone can tell me otherwise but.....
ive checked the poplulation of san marino and saw 25,000,so basically there making an international squad from a place half the size of galway...right??
are any of these playing outside the country in any decent leagues??
would there club teams not be like junior teams here??, i cant see how a place that small could maintain anything other as you couldnt generate reasonable crowds for a few clubs from 25K
anyone know what the situation was with Libertas, are they just a sunday team?
was a differant Drogs tonight then the one that has been fairly consistent this yr...but even kilkenny wouldnt have done any worse then that!
Well done Drogs. Its unfair to judge them based on previous San Marino records of never achieving a ranking point in Uefa Competitions ever! (records i can find do only go back to 1994 though) of Great away goal to put the tie close to completion.
Doolin is not that bad a manager. He almost as good as Staunton
19/07/2007, 9:58 PM
Well done Drogs. Its unfair to judge them based on previous San Marino records of never achieving a ranking point in Uefa Competitions ever! (records i can find do only go back to 1994 though)
San Marino only entered in 1999 or so. This is the first time they've been allowed two teams. Libertas have never been in Europe before.