View Full Version : Any Bohs Care to Comment?
It is disgusting that this kind of thing is going on. It's a cancer on Irish football and only harms the clubs involved as well as the league, not to mention the innocent victims. One can only hope the scum involved face the full rigour of the law.
As DmanDmythDledge hints at the point is being missed completely.
I have no problem in condemning previous incidents involving Rovers fans and do not use the 'public order excuse'...because most incidents are directly related to a Rovers game for example, Rovers were playing Bohs in Richmond that day.
This is different. This is about public order. It would be like Waterford fans attacking Cork fans at a Cork-Cobh match. Or Sligo fans at a Harps-Derry match. It's preposterous. But it is happening. It is nothing like what has happened at previous Rovers matches. This is the proof it's happening. It no longer matters whether there's a derby or who Rovers are playing...it's no longer under any restrictions.
It was Rovers v. UCD, ffs on a Monday night.
the fan wasnt attacked at the match or even outside the ground as youre implying. He was attacked in the city centre by scumbags who claim to follow Bohs although many/all of them probably cant get into the ground anymore. Theyre just using the Bohs name as a vehicle to attack Rovers fans.
But i agree that something has to change. But where do we start? We have banned known hooligans from attending our games and beyond that what can the club do? What can the fans do? Form vigilante groups that roam the streets waiting for trouble to break out? Really, what do you lot want us to do? Whats your solution to this?
What are SRFC and Rovers fans doing about their own element? What have they done already to fix the problem? Its all well and good coming on here pointing the finger trying to score points but you should look closer to home yourselves.
And BGR has a point - live by the sword, die by the sword. I remember the days when Rovers fans came onto our message board laughing at the BSC for running away, never get a result against the Rovers etc etc. Now it seems these f*ckheads have accepted the Rovers challenge. Do Rovers fans deny all responsibility for what this rivalry has become?
My sympathies go out to the kid, truly. I hope that Rovers fans felt the same way about the kid standing close to me who got his head split open with a brick outside Richmond. It doesnt hold any water with me that this was at a derby game (as if that justifies it in some way?). Both acts are equally reprehensible.
Rovers asked Bohs to comment. We have. My question to you lot is simple - what do you want us to do about it? Please tell me cos id love to know what it is that Bohemians are doing wrong.
One can only hope the scum involved face the full rigour of the law.
agreed.
17/07/2007, 7:29 PM
And BGR has a point - live by the sword, die by the sword.
You seem to be missing the point that this latest craze is outside the Bohs vs Rovers rivalry. First of all there is a high chance that many of the Rovers fans that have been attacked have not caused any trouble previously or gotten involved in any BSC/Ultras 'wars'. This is innocent people getting attacked for simply following their team. Secondly a public bus was attacked endangaring men and women, old and young. Why should they suffer?
Ignoring the above lets just say that the only people attacked were Rovers casuals who have a history of causing trouble. Do you think that it's alright for both sides to continue fighting? When will all this stop? Saying they did it first and pointing the finger is a sad excuse to carry out vicsious attacks and justify them.
17/07/2007, 7:30 PM
But i agree that something has to change. But where do we start? We have banned known hooligans from attending our games and beyond that what can the club do? What can the fans do? Form vigilante groups that roam the streets waiting for trouble to break out? Really, what do you lot want us to do? Whats your solution to this?
Why do BFC allow BSC to freely fly their flags in Dalymount?
17/07/2007, 7:31 PM
See this thread for details of the latest unprovoked attacks on Rovers fans in the Dorset St area by Bohs fans. This is a regular (weekly) occurance and is getting well out of hand.
Last night the 16 bus was attacked yet again, this time before the game and lads were hospitalised. And there were more attacks after the game.
No doubt this thread will be locked and dumped because Rovers are the victims here and everyone knows we're just paranoid. :rolleyes:
http://www.srfcultrasforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3763
I'll comment after I see indesputable video evidence. If you don't come up with that it didn't happen. :p
17/07/2007, 7:39 PM
Ignoring the above lets just say that the only people attacked were Rovers casuals who have a history of causing trouble. Do you think that it's alright for both sides to continue fighting? When will all this stop? Saying they did it first and pointing the finger is a sad excuse to carry out vicsious attacks and justify them.
It is you who is badly missing my point. I was merely pointing out that rovers have been guilty of causing trouble in which innocent bystanders where hurt (I myself was struck by a bottle when they got into the Jodi stand) whilst I know that my example did happen at a game there have been other occasions where rovers have rampaged far away from football stadiums (Hill 16 Pub anyone) and here they are on here spinning this to make it sound like Bohs toerags have suddenly decided that they dont like Rovers and have invented a new type of hooligan activity to target anyone in a rover's shirt and anyone who gets between them and anyone in a rovers shirt.ffs open your eyes its the pot calling the kettle black they're just not used to being on the receiving end of things for a change. I agree there is very little that clubs can do about so called fans outside of the stadium and surrounding areas. It is up to the Guards and they should come down on these skuts like a ton of bricks. I hope this clears things up a bit
Quite honestly I don't care what Bohs fans think. Bohs fans on their knees apologising (although if you wouldn't mind anyway lads ;) ) isn't going to stop this.
SkStu, my first post. However any comparisons that 'what goes around comes around' is showing ignorance of the point of what happened.
Block G, like at Richmond, Hill 16 and the Jodi were incidents surrounding Bohs Rovers games. This was Rovers v. UCD. When there's a regular incident where Rovers have attacked fans at Bohs v Pats or Bohs v Bray for example, then that is a valid comparison. There was no legitimate or justifiable reason for BSC/BSS or whoever it was to be there last night other than lying in wait.
How sad do you have to be to lie in wait for your 'rivals' to come home from a match v UCD? How bad does it have to get?
You seem to be missing the point that this latest craze is outside the Bohs vs Rovers rivalry. First of all there is a high chance that many of the Rovers fans that have been attacked have not caused any trouble previously or gotten involved in any BSC/Ultras 'wars'. This is innocent people getting attacked for simply following their team. Secondly a public bus was attacked endangaring men and women, old and young. Why should they suffer?
bullsh*t. You cant selectively quote my post like that and ignore the rest of that paragraph and the question that follows.
To answer your post in full - of course i get the point of this and it is sickening. Of course no innocent bystanders should be subjected to this. Where have i suggested otherwise?
The second part of your post is hypothetical and pointless. To be honest i wouldnt care if we got all the Bohs scum and all the Rovers scum in a big room and let them kill each other. In fact id be pretty happy.
Saying they did it first and pointing the finger?? Please! Im just pointing out the irony of Rovers laughing at Bohs for years for "running away" and then crying when these absolute scumbags accept the Rovers challenge. Its a bit cheeky to say the least.
So what about the rest of my post? What do we do about it Dman? Whats the solution? I want rid of this crap as much as you do.
Why do BFC allow BSC to freely fly their flags in Dalymount?
Okay, so say we stop them flying flags. What then? Does that solve it? Does that take it off the streets? Is that even really an issue? Ridiculous post. Answer the questions in my post, show that you really care about what can be done to stop this and ill take you seriously.
It's hardly accepting the challenge though is it? If 2 sets of hooligans want to meet up and kick **** out of each other away from the ground it doesn't really bother me but thats not whats happening. Cowardly scum are targetting innocent fans on buses and attacking people on the streets when they out number them 15 to 1. Accepting the challenge would be fighting with other like minded people.
17/07/2007, 7:57 PM
DFX: seem to remember a gang of lads being attacked by so called Rovers Fans getting off teh No 10 on the way back from Belfield a few years back. anyone else remember this. Rovers where at home in dalymount that night
Okay, so say we stop them flying flags. What then? Does that solve it? Does that take it off the streets? Is that even really an issue? Ridiculous post. Answer the questions in my post, show that you really care about what can be done to stop this and ill take you seriously.
Bohs fans are saying that these people are banned from Dalymount. Having hooligan fans flags flying at your games would suggest otherwise. I think thats the point being made.
SkStu, as I said in my first post, what Bohs fans think is not very useful, because it goes beyond that at this stage...however any comparisons that 'what goes around comes around' is showing ignorance of the point of what happened.
Block G, like at Richmond, Hill 16 and the Jodi were incidents surrounding Bohs Rovers games. This was Rovers v. UCD. When there's a regular incident where Rovers have attacked fans at Bohs v Pats or Bohs v Bray for example, then that is a valid comparison. There was no legitimate or justifiable reason for BSC/BSS or whoever it was to be there last night.
How sad do you have to be to lie in wait for your 'rivals' to come home from a match v UCD? How bad does it have to get?
dfx, if its not very useful what we think then where is the point of this thread and why arent Rovers complaining to the police? Read the rest of my points regarding "what goes around". I dont feel like repeating it for a third time.
"how sad do you have to be?" - pretty fukin sad alright. But i repeat the question - if this thread isnt simply Rovers fans trying to score points, what is the solution? Theres enough collective brain here to surely come up with some suggestions because I, for one, am at a loss. Its a sickening state of affairs.
17/07/2007, 8:03 PM
The point is the kids and teens look who are involved in this **** look up to these ****s. They see the BSC flag in front of them on match night, they get a sense of pride and honour and feel part of this group. The fact is the club are now afraid to ask this lot to get of said flags.
DFX: seem to remember a gang of lads being attacked by so called Rovers Fans getting off teh No 10 on the way back from Belfield a few years back. anyone else remember this. Rovers where at home in dalymount that night
No, I think you'll find that BSC attacked Rovers fans who were in the Mill that night because they thought (mistakenly) that some Rovers hooligans were there. One Rovers fan was taken off in an ambulance.
Nobody should take Gav seriously, he's just bored and is on a wind up because he got banned off the ccfc forum
dfx, if its not very useful what we think then where is the point of this thread and why arent Rovers complaining to the police? Read the rest of my points regarding "what goes around". I dont feel like repeating it for a third time.
"how sad do you have to be?" - pretty fukin sad alright. But i repeat the question - if this thread isnt simply Rovers fans trying to score points, what is the solution? Theres enough collective brain here to surely come up with some suggestions because I, for one, am at a loss. Its a sickening state of affairs.
The solution is for the Gardai to get off the donut munching asses and do something about it. Problem is they'd prefer to be in the ground away from any possible incidents as it makes their night easier.
One Rovers fan who was on the bus that was attacked last night and got hit with a rock tried to make a complaint to a Garda at the ground last night. The garda's response was "looks like it didn't hit you hard enough". Thats what we're up against.
Accepting the challenge would be fighting with other like minded people.
which was done, which is being done and has been let go for so long that unfortunately this is the next step.
Yes Block G, i remember that.
regarding the flags Swano, i understand the point of the question but i merely stated that its hardly at the core of the issue. As stated we have banned most trouble makers and members of BSC. Unfortunately not all. And i agree that allowing this flag at the games looks bad but really you cant deny that the club has acted in good faith to try to rid the ground of these c*nts on matchnight.
bohsmug
17/07/2007, 8:11 PM
I don't think there's any point in the traditional "you're worse than us" type argument. This is a problem for both clubs and would best be tackled by both clubs together. I don't know what can be done about an incident like this but that doesn't mean both clubs should just give up. I've been on the recieving end of various different incidents like this and sadly for every one I post up a Rovers fan can post up an equivalent. So lets at least try not to get in to that argument as it will achieve nothing. I hate both sides scum.
Carlin
17/07/2007, 8:15 PM
No, I think you'll find that BSC attacked Rovers fans who were in the Mill that night because they thought (mistakenly) that some Rovers hooligans were there. One Rovers fan was taken off in an ambulance.
That was a different night to the one Block G is talking about. And without getting into tit for tat bóllocks, there were Rovers hooligans in The Mill that night who rang the Bohs scum element and "called it on", some of whom are currently banned by Rovers.
This will be my only post on this thread because I'd just be echoing what most other Bohs have said already and nothing will be solved on the internet anyway.
I don't think there's any point in the traditional "you're worse than us" type argument. This is a problem for both clubs and would best be tackled by both clubs together. I don't know what can be done about an incident like this but that doesn't mean both clubs should just give up. I've been on the recieving end of various different incidents like this and sadly for every one I post up a Rovers fan can post up an equivalent. So lets at least try not to get in to that argument as it will achieve nothing. I hate both sides scum.
Agree with everything there. As I've said before it's up to the Gardai to act. They were warned that it might happen last night after the incidents the previous weeks. They turned up at the wrong junction. It's either gross incompetence or else they didn't want to have to deal with it. I'd reckon it's the latter.
When there's a regular incident where Rovers have attacked fans at Bohs v Pats or Bohs v Bray for example, then that is a valid comparison. There was no legitimate or justifiable reason for BSC/BSS or whoever it was to be there last night other than lying in wait.
Just to point out that after the Pats/ Drogheda game in Richmond in May there were a group of Rovers gurriers in the streets around St Michaels estate after the game looking for some aggro with the little Pats gurriers. The police with dogs had to stand between them. I'm not having a go at genuine Rovers fans here by any means, and stoning of public buses, in fact any kind of violence goes way beyond the pale. I'm just saying, it happened. Suggestions on the Pats forum at the time where that it was pre-arranged between the two sets of scumbags. It seems to be a growing trend, and it's kinda worrying.
17/07/2007, 9:37 PM
I was on the 16A that came after that 16. Had I been a bit earlier getting to the bus stop I'd have been on that 16. When the bus got to Aungier Street one of the guys sitting near me answered his phone then started telling his mates that the 16 had been attacked and to expect trouble up the road. I thought they were taking the p1ss but it was unnerving heading towards Tolka. I was at the Shamrock Rovers v Bohemian derby there a few weeks ago and Rovers fans were telling me to expect that the 16 could be attacked on the way home. This is developing into a serious problem (not to say yesterday's incident wasn't serious enough). It's hard to say what's to be done but it's a poor state of affairs. I hope everyone who was caught up in the incident is doing ok.
17/07/2007, 9:44 PM
Bohs fans are saying that these people are banned from Dalymount. Having hooligan fans flags flying at your games would suggest otherwise. I think thats the point being made.
People caught engaged in hooligan activity are banned from Dalymount. Obviously the people hanging the two flags haven't been caught at anything. There are definitely far more casuals at away games than home games. As for what happens on Dorset St, its been said over and over again, we can't do anything about that.
FarmHoop
17/07/2007, 9:50 PM
[QUOTE=SkStu;726414].
Saying they did it first and pointing the finger?? Please! Im just pointing out the irony of Rovers laughing at Bohs for years for "running away" and then crying when these absolute scumbags accept the Rovers challenge. Its a bit cheeky to say the least.
The people they are attackin never made any challenge?
17/07/2007, 10:10 PM
The people they are attackin never made any challenge?
I think the point he was making was that "ordinary decent Rovers fans salt of the earth that they are" sing run away, taunting the BSC that they don't stand up and fight.
Theskinloyal
17/07/2007, 10:34 PM
Adrian Kennedy debating about Bohs and Rovers
half_full
17/07/2007, 10:44 PM
the few people on here who have condoned this would want to get a serious dose of reality
17/07/2007, 10:47 PM
the few people on here who have condoned this would want to get a serious dose of reality
As would the people who think Bohs are in a position to police Dorset St.
No one is condoning this. For anyone who thinks Bohs haven't done enough, what would you have us do? As someone once said, put up or shut up.
half_full
17/07/2007, 10:55 PM
im not in any way expecting bohs to police anywhere, it was aimed at the few attention seeking idiots on here
btw a quick search on bebo would easily point BFC in the direction of quite a few of them
18/07/2007, 12:16 AM
It is you who is badly missing my point. I was merely pointing out that rovers have been guilty of causing trouble in which innocent bystanders where hurt
Really (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=726339&postcount=47)?
there have been other occasions where rovers have rampaged far away from football stadiums (Hill 16 Pub anyone)
So that had nothing to do with Bohs?
and here they are on here spinning this to make it sound like Bohs toerags have suddenly decided that they dont like Rovers and have invented a new type of hooligan activity to target anyone in a rover's shirt and anyone who gets between them and anyone in a rovers shirt.
That's not the case at all.
bullsh*t. You cant selectively quote my post like that and ignore the rest of that paragraph and the question that follows.
I quoted the part of your post that I responded to. Why would I quote the whole post if I'm not responding to all of it?:rolleyes:
To answer your post in full - of course i get the point of this and it is sickening. Of course no innocent bystanders should be subjected to this. Where have i suggested otherwise?
4th paragraph, first sentence (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=726388&postcount=53). You've said (indirectly) that Rovers fans got what was coming to them in relation to this incident. Didn't seem to bother you that innocent people got injured. No point in saying you don't condone innocent people getting hurt but condoning the Rovers fans getting injured when innocent people were hurt to injure them.
The second part of your post is hypothetical and pointless.
Well it's not hypothetical because it's happening all the time.
Pointless? Only if you don't have a problem with ongoing violence surrounding football in this league.
then crying when these absolute scumbags accept the Rovers challenge. Its a bit cheeky to say the least.
20 on 1 accepting the challenge? Bricking buses accepting the challenge?:rolleyes:
why arent Rovers complaining to the police?
Do you actually think that hasn't been done?:rolleyes:
Really (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=726339&postcount=47)?
So that had nothing to do with Bohs?
That's not the case at all.
I quoted the part of your post that I responded to. Why would I quote the whole post if I'm not responding to all of it?
4th paragraph, first sentence (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=726388&postcount=53). You've said (indirectly) that Rovers fans got what was coming to them in relation to this incident. Didn't seem to bother you that innocent people got injured. No point in saying you don't condone innocent people getting hurt but condoning the Rovers fans getting injured when innocent people were hurt to injure them.
Well it's not hypothetical because it's happening all the time.
Pointless? Only if you don't have a problem with ongoing violence surrounding football in this league.
20 on 1 accepting the challenge? Bricking buses accepting the challenge?:rolleyes:
Do you actually think that hasn't been done?:rolleyes:
ok, ill address the points you made on my post even though you persist in misrepresenting my entire post and its sentiments. You should try reading it in full.
1) you quoted the first sentence of a point i made which taken out of context like that is misleading. It illustrates a point. That the actions of Rovers fans and hooligans in the past in taunting Bohs fans for running away has played a part in how extreme this rivalry has become. I dont think its an unfair point to raise. It takes two to tango. Your selecting only part of that paragraph grossly misrepresents the point i made.
2) read the entire post and my other posts in this thread and see if you want to accuse me again of not caring about innocent people getting hurt. For example the post directly below my original. In each post i have tried to get across my disgust at the events. Its not right that you try and imply otherwise. Your last sentence in that point makes no sense to me but ive probably addressed it above. To be clear i totally detest the actions of the people who attacked that poor kid, there is no justification (there is context however). I similarly detest the past actions of Rovers fans and hooligans inside and outside grounds to which i have been subjected.
3) the point you made was hypothetical as it didnt happen last night. Are you the one missing the point? I still answered the questions you asked. The answer makes my feelings clear even though you again want to accuse me (indirectly of course) about not caring about violence surrounding football in this league.
4) Yes. Unfortunately that is what it has come to. These are not right minded individuals we are talking about and something like this has been on the cards for some time.
5) I dont know. Has it? All ive read about is people asking Bohs and Bohs fans to comment and what are we going to do about it.
Ill ask you again Dman - what are your suggestions to rid my club of this element seeing as you care so much? Or are you just preaching for the sake of it? Maybe another :rolleyes: will help.
half_full, i hope that your post is not directed at me. Im far from attention seeking and i restrict my posts in this forum to matters i feel strongly about.
Also, if you read the posts from Bohs fans youll know that people caught organising or participating in trouble have been BANNED by the club. Why dont you stop bleating and send these bebo links of yours to the police?
I hope everyone who was caught up in the incident is doing ok.
Latest on our mb is that one of the lads hit with a brick may unfortunately lose sight in an eye unless surgery is done asap. I'm really not looking forward to Aug 7th now as I think we all know what's gonna happen
Bungle
18/07/2007, 8:26 AM
I've just returned to Dublin with my family after a very long time living in England and I'm very saddened at the football violence that seems to be common among certain clubs.
It seems to me that these gob****es (whoever they support) are trying to copy their English counterparts. Unfortunately, while the normal supporter with a family might stop going to certain games, there will be a ****load of young thugs who will jump on the bandwagon trying to imitate Danny Dyer, so that attendances might not be affected, but may rise. I saw this firsthand in England back in the late 70s and 80s. Obviously, it will be on a much smaller scale to England.
The sad thing is that the standard of the league is improving and might actually begin to attract more people. My two sons born and bred in England have grown up on live football and have said that they want to go to Eircom games. Unfortunately, many irish people don't come from that kind of weekly ritual of going to games and many normal people aren't going to be likely to bring a young family to a game if you've got gob****es running amok.
it's up to ALL Eircom fans to stand together and work on trying to eliminate this problem, rather than the usual tit-for-tat nonsense about so and so being worse than us.
18/07/2007, 8:32 AM
Think the point he was making is that Bohs fans are all too quick to post when their fans are abused (either physically or verbally) and last time out they made some unsubstantiated claims (still waiting for that vid BTW)
and also, you knew someone involved so you want the thread to remain open. admit it. this thread is utterly pointless and (i havent read the rest) will more than likely end up descending into another "x did this, y did that" "every club has its element" thread. groundhog day. my sympathies for anyone hurt, but i fail to see the point in posting it here, or in getting uninvolved bohs fans to comment. go to the police, im bloody sick of here about dubs unable to control themselves. I was given a warning here last time for telling someone throwing a rock/whatever it was at the bus would be idiotic!
this thread is pointless and i'm sure you'd say the same thing, if it wasnt for the personal interest.
Pablo is one of the lads from the Cork forum who was posting repeatedly saying that Rovers were going down to Cork with Hammarby fans to cause trouble without knowing any of the facts or what Rovers fans were travelling. When nothing happened (as was predicted by reasonable posters) he just disappears from the thread leaving behind all his incorrect accusations.
Pablo said they shouldnt be traveling with you as there could be trouble - as there has been repeatedly in the past. And nothing happened? 2-8 (depending on who you ask) "opposition" fans were arrested before the Cork-Hammarby game. In the away leg, our keeper got belted with all manner of coins. The worst injury, however was that inflicted by your fans cheering on another team against us in Europe. That disgusts me, and any little respect I had for Rovers fans is gone.
shelbourne1904
18/07/2007, 8:39 AM
Why dont the Gardai dress as Rovers fans get on the bus and when its attacked have back up close by and arrest the criminals who are attacking the public transport vehicle.This has nothing to do with football.These are criminals who need to be arrested and jailed.
Or is this all toomuch bother for our police force??
sfc red
18/07/2007, 8:53 AM
That's all we need - that clown discussing something he hasn't a clue about to the muppets that ring up that show.
and also, you knew someone involved so you want the thread to remain open. admit it
*sigh* He wasn't involved, he was a witness. Unlike the last rubbish where one side said something and the other refuted it, then the first side said they could prove it but didn't, we know this happened and nobody has denied it happened.
I've no interest at all in the thread (except to keep things in check) but if its so pointless stop reading it and stop ****ing posting in it. :mad::rolleyes:
18/07/2007, 8:57 AM
I got a phone call from my girlfriend to say she didn't want me going to matches anymore because she was listening to the fools on Adrian Kennedy (she was half serious too). I wonder how many other girlfriends, wives and mothers thought the same? Disastrous publicity for the league. I only caught the last 20 mins or so of the debate and in fairness the Rovers fan was fairly reasonable, but, the idiot who called himself a Bohs fan should never be allowed at a game again if anyone knows him.
In fairness to Adrian Kennedy (don't think I've ever said that before) he said he didn't like debating negatives about Irish soccer and pointed out the good work done by the clubs and the league. He also raised the point that it was a lot to do with policing and that the incidents were happening away from matches and from football grounds.
Latest on our mb is that one of the lads hit with a brick may unfortunately lose sight in an eye unless surgery is done asap. I'm really not looking forward to Aug 7th now as I think we all know what's gonna happen
All wind up aside. Now that is appalling. Nobody deserves to have that happen for attending a football match.
I hope the lad is ok.
Should the more senior supporters amongst Rovers and Bohs not take on some responsability here and sit down like adults and call an end to this?
I got a phone call from my girlfriend to say she didn't want me going to matches anymore because she was listening to the fools on Adrian Kennedy
I couldn't go out with a girl who listened to him in the first place. And I'm not half joking
If you believed everything on that show you'd never leave the house again
18/07/2007, 9:06 AM
Should the more senior supporters amongst Rovers and Bohs not take on some responsability here and sit down like adults and call an end to this?Unfortunately the only way this will ever be put to an end is one of the clubs going bust or rovers/bohs fans having some balls and getting the police involved, enough of this "they arent real fans", "its inevitable" and "every club has them" rubbish that is usually spouted by the "ordinary, decent" fans. The people who did this should be doing time for it and they probably wouldnt have had the opportunity if they were punished for past offences. There aren't exactly thousands of them.
18/07/2007, 10:51 AM
Jesus this seems to be getting worse every week, and all we ever get is the usual hand wringing by all involved. Surely Bohs and Rovers officials could come together with the Gardai for tackling this sort of garbage? Not sure what the solution would be, possibly plain clothes policemen in grounds, and traveling away from the grounds with fans, coupled with a decent number of uniformed police in and around the ground, but something needs to be done.
I've never been a fan of this 'it happened away from our ground so it's not our fault' mentality, it's your fans, it's your problem. Clubs could start by looking on Bebo for proposed meet-ups and then pass the information on to the Gardai, they could also easily find out and issue a lifetime ban to anyone mouthing off about throwing rocks at buses, or battering other clubs supporters. Might seem harsh, as I'm sure there are some teenagers just mouth off on that site and wouldn't actually do anything, but tough times, tough measures and all that.
Maybe the FAI should be contacting their British counterparts to get advice on how to tackle this rising problem (this season alone I've noticed incident reports increasing a lot)
18/07/2007, 11:00 AM
Should the more senior supporters amongst Rovers and Bohs not take on some responsability here and sit down like adults and call an end to this?Its not the feckin Sopranos Pablo....
18/07/2007, 11:06 AM
I've just returned to Dublin with my family after a very long time living in England and I'm very saddened at the football violence that seems to be common among certain clubs.
It seems to me that these gob****es (whoever they support) are trying to copy their English counterparts. Unfortunately, while the normal supporter with a family might stop going to certain games, there will be a ****load of young thugs who will jump on the bandwagon trying to imitate Danny Dyer, so that attendances might not be affected, but may rise. I saw this firsthand in England back in the late 70s and 80s. Obviously, it will be on a much smaller scale to England.
The sad thing is that the standard of the league is improving and might actually begin to attract more people. My two sons born and bred in England have grown up on live football and have said that they want to go to Eircom games. Unfortunately, many irish people don't come from that kind of weekly ritual of going to games and many normal people aren't going to be likely to bring a young family to a game if you've got gob****es running amok.
it's up to ALL Eircom fans to stand together and work on trying to eliminate this problem, rather than the usual tit-for-tat nonsense about so and so being worse than us.
Good post. At the end of the day it's just aping what they have seen in england. Talking about "firms", wearing burberry etc has got nothing to do with supporting your team. And they all look like clones of each other. Pathetic.
The Dorset st scum have been active for a lot longer than this season. I remember back circa 1991 seeing about 5 Hoops getting chased by about 40 scum. Thankfully tolka back then was an away venue.
Bohs have definitely not done enough on this. They continuously have allowed that hooligan flag to be hung at every home game knowing full well that the guy hanging it, as well as his friends, are known troublemakers.
For the bohs and cork fans coming on here condoning this is sad. Is there a part of "innocent non football fans are getting hurt" that you dont understand?
18/07/2007, 11:10 AM
Its not the feckin Sopranos Pablo....
No but a blind eye is being turned. I for one am sick of attending games in Dublin where there is incidents be they minor or major. Something has to be done. All Rovers and Bohs care about is blaming each other. Tit for tat. And sadly, very literally, it looks like eye for an eye.
This is awful. Hope the young fella is okay.
Those with the 'you reap what you sow' attitude may change their mind if any of their loved ones are ever injured or caught up in any trouble while travelling on a bus.
Jeez but there would some whinging if Rovers had of been playing Cork and there were Cork fans on that 16 bus. What happens if Cork, Derry, Galway etc are playing Rovers in Dublin, will the fans of these clubs use public transport after the game or for that matter get the 16 bus? I know I wouldn't.
The Jewish remarks says it all........idiot.
It's not just down to scum stoning buses that I blame for this crap, it is the type of eircom League fan that has the devil may care attitude towards it and this thread is full of them.
To the sensible posters saying that the clubs should go to the police, it's been done. I posted earlier saying that they were told that the incident the other night was on the cards. They turned up in the wrong place. It's like talking to the wall with most of the gardai cos they don't want to know. Dealing with the problem means getting their hands dirty and they don't seem interested in doing this.
We can all agree on that much at least.