View Full Version : Rovers V Bohs fans (the hatred)

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Royal rover
29/06/2007, 12:07 PM
just a topic which i'm not fully up to date on, do the fans really hate each other that much , i was speaking to Rovers die-hard in a pub recently - he was well into his 30s - and told me of the hatred he had for bohs and everything associated with - likewise i met a guy from Cabra who supported Bohs and he said likewise- both seemed genuine in their views - the rovers guy referred to bohs as the rangers of dublin - i don't really understand that one- any thoughts are welcome - i've seen a few incidents highlighted in the herald in recent years but that's it+ i have never been 2 a derby game- or are these guys just idiots

OhNoYouDidn't
29/06/2007, 12:22 PM
just a topic which i'm not fully up to date on, do the fans really hate each other that much , i was speaking to Rovers die-hard in a pub recently - he was well into his 30s - and told me of the hatred he had for bohs and everything associated with - likewise i met a guy from Cabra who supported Bohs and he said likewise- both seemed genuine in their views - the rovers guy referred to bohs as the rangers of dublin - i don't really understand that one- any thoughts are welcome - i've seen a few incidents highlighted in the herald in recent years but that's it+ i have never been 2 a derby game- or are these guys just idiots

this has been done to death, but the bores were founded within a british military academy, the black in the shirt was originally a mark of respect for queen victoria etc.

in the 70's and 80's they had a right wing skinhead element who wore rangers shirts.

no doubt the gypo revisionists will be on to tell us that all the history books are wrong

29/06/2007, 12:38 PM
The crux of the derby is that there's such a release of tension everytime they play from all the months of jumping on other peoples pitches when they score and dealing with the part-time bebo warriors that other clubs laughingly offer up for their pickings.
Also, it's a release from two or three months of talking tripe, wumming eachother up and ruining every thread on foot.ie with their bull**** you started it, no you started it, but what about the 1930s? arguments.

fbtn
29/06/2007, 12:44 PM
in the 70's and 80's they had a right wing skinhead element who wore rangers shirts.

Honestly?

I remember Bohs supporting skins in Finn Park in the 80s alright any time we played them - bad hures they were too but they definitely never wore Rangers shirts. Would have been interesting to see how people would have got on up here wearing Rangers jerseys in the 70s and 80s. They would still be talking about it now ala Linfield and Glens games in Ballybofey.

OhNoYouDidn't
29/06/2007, 12:47 PM
Honestly?

I remember Bohs supporting skins in Finn Park in the 80s alright any time we played them - bad hures they were too but they definitely never wore Rangers shirts. Would have been interesting to see how people would have got on up here wearing Rangers jerseys in the 70s and 80s. They would still be talking about it now ala Linfield and Glens games in Ballybofey.

dead serious. the bores were briefly infiltrated by the laughable but real Dublin BNP. as was Hill 16.

sure bohs have a love in with linfield these days ;)

fbtn
29/06/2007, 12:56 PM
dead serious. the bores were briefly infiltrated by the laughable but real Dublin BNP. as was Hill 16.

sure bohs have a love in with linfield these days ;)

Wow! Dublin BNP! I'm off to Google with this one :)

s-side hoop
29/06/2007, 1:01 PM
Wow! Dublin BNP! I'm off to Google with this one :)

****in hell! there still at large and it looks like they've even set up a bank!

http://www.ireland.bnpparibas.com/en/introduction/activities.asp

Erstwhile Bóz
29/06/2007, 1:14 PM
I wish the club was actually as Protestant as you pathetic embarrassments keep claiming, as it would repel the obnoxious Celtic element and drive them off to your romantic travelling Catholic circus, bedecked in shamrocks and miscellaneous greenery, the better to jog their memory in case someone ever asks them what country they're from, begorrah.

A psychoanalyst would have a field day with you overcompensating f*ckers.

Your rabid hatred of the national games, currently projected onto the kerfuffle in Tallaght, is another indication of the insecurity you all feel as English-speaking fans of a garrison sport.

Black and red are good soccer colours; green and white hoops is what the Irish wear abroad when they're pleading for recognition and acceptance. Prods make good association football club founders, as evidenced the world over; Louis Kilcoyne is a Catholic.

Erstwhile Bóz
29/06/2007, 1:17 PM
Benn going to LOI games since 1980 and never have i seen a Bohs fan with a Rangers jersey not in Sligo anyway.
There's one gentleman I used to know was a big Rangers fan and good luck to him and very occasionally would wear his jersey to annoy the Celtic contingent. He loved getting the abuse from them, too (sometimes almost turned nasty).

But unless he's changed considerably since I've seen him last, he's about as far from being BNP as the mayor of Port Laoise is. And although a large man, he hardly constituted an "infiltration".

Erstwhile Bóz
29/06/2007, 1:22 PM
the black in the shirt was originally a mark of respect for queen victoria etc.
Mourning that she hadn't died yet? :rolleyes:

29/06/2007, 1:27 PM
We were formed by a civil service acadamy students though the facts never really bothered Rovers when it comes to proving their "Celticness". Fair play to them, if they want to be associated with that kind of Paddywhackery then I have absolutely no objection. Claiming any religious or political reasons for the Bohs-Rovers rivalry is pure fantasy. (another word for delusion! ;) )

Its really a normal city rivalry along Northside/Southside lines stemming from the Seventies when Bohs went professional and replaced the defunct Drumcondra as Rovers Northside rivals. It helped that we had a level of success in that decade. AFAIK there was the added element of existing gang rivalries too.
Bottom line is they are in league with Free Masons, the Bush Family, the Saudi Royal family and Osama Bin Laden is a member of the club.

29/06/2007, 1:36 PM
I wish the club was actually as Protestant as you pathetic embarrassments keep claiming, as it would repel the obnoxious Celtic element and drive them off to your romantic travelling Catholic circus, bedecked in shamrocks and miscellaneous greenery, the better to jog their memory in case someone ever asks them what country they're from, begorrah.

A psychoanalyst would have a field day with you overcompensating f*ckers.

Your your rabid hatred of the national games, currently projected onto the kerfuffle in Tallaght, is another indication of the insecurity you all feel as English-speaking fans of a garrison sport.

Black and red are good soccer colours; green and white hoops is what the Irish wear abroad when they're pleading for recognition and acceptance. Prods make good association football club founders, as evidenced the world over; Louis Kilcoyne is a Catholic.

Dont kid yourself pal. There are a fair amount of Rovers fans who have zero interest in celtic. Also not all Rovers fans have a "rabid hatred" of the GAA or are even catholic for that matter.

However we dont have any connections with fans of clubs that sing anti irish songs.

Charlo is a prod.

29/06/2007, 1:41 PM

Have you just made that up ONYD ?!?!

In all my years on this site - and in all the years we've had to endure the never-ending slanging between Rovers and Bohs fans - this is the first time I've ever seen that allegation raised. :eek:

Hence - I can't help but think it's nonesense.......:confused:

OhNoYouDidn't
29/06/2007, 1:43 PM
I told you that the Bozo's would just blanket deny it.

They dont like their history so they will scweam and scweam when its pointed out. We don't actually care. But the hysterical denials are hilarious, thats why we keep it up.

Erstwhile Bóz
29/06/2007, 1:43 PM
dcfcsteve = "gypo revisionist"

OhNoYouDidn't
29/06/2007, 1:44 PM
Have you just made that up ONYD ?!?!

In all my years on this site - and in all the years we've had to endure the never-ending slanging between Rovers and Bohs fans - this is the first time I've ever seen that allegation raised. :eek:

I know an old timer member in D7 and he helped 'remove' these guys in the 70's. tis true.

Erstwhile Bóz
29/06/2007, 1:44 PM
I told you that the Bozo's would just blanket deny it.

They dont like their history so they will scweam and scweam when its pointed out. We don't actually care. But the hysterical denials are hilarious, thats why we keep it up.
What thread are you reading/having read to you?

Erstwhile Bóz
29/06/2007, 1:46 PM
I know an old timer member in D7 and he helped 'remove' these guys in the 70's. tis true.
Did he tell you about the black being a mark of respect for the (still-alive) Queen, too?

29/06/2007, 1:52 PM

Previously you said this element was active in the 70's and 80's, now you're saying they were removed in the 70's. Couple this with your ascertion that we wear black as a mark of respect for Queen victoria who as was mentioned was not yet dead, I have come to a conclusion - we have a time machine. We are such dedicated revisionists that we go back in time and alter the space time continuem to suit our desired image. In a few years we're going to go back and not appoint Gareth Farrelly as manager.

Erstwhile Bóz
29/06/2007, 1:53 PM
In a few years we're going to go back and not appoint Gareth Farrelly as manager.
:cool:

OhNoYouDidn't
29/06/2007, 2:03 PM
Previously you said this element was active in the 70's and 80's, now you're saying they were removed in the 70's. Couple this with your ascertion that we wear black as a mark of respect for Queen victoria who as was mentioned was not yet dead, I have come to a conclusion - we have a time machine. We are such dedicated revisionists that we go back in time and alter the space time continuem to suit our desired image. In a few years we're going to go back and not appoint Gareth Farrelly as manager.

they wore red. she died. they started wearing black and red.

is this being denied now as well? :rolleyes:

29/06/2007, 2:03 PM
is this being denied now as well? :rolleyes:
In so far as its not true - yes. :rolleyes:

29/06/2007, 2:04 PM
this has been done to death, but the bores were founded within a british military academy, the black in the shirt was originally a mark of respect for queen victoria etc.

I heard that the red was meant to signify the blood of Fenians, is this true:confused:

Vitruvian Man
29/06/2007, 2:09 PM
I heard that the red was meant to signify the blood of Fenians, is this true:confused:

Yes, this is true.

The black stripe signifies the black heart of the Pope as well as respect for Queen Victoria (lovely woman btw).

It's amazing how Scumrocks fans can't support their team without resorting religious bigotry. Theyve always had warped minds in Irelands most famous hooligan club.

29/06/2007, 2:13 PM
Before the thread is closed :o , one of the reasons that has intensified the rivalry over the years, is our never ending move to Tallaght.

So Rovers v them is in other words Tallaght v Finglas, or in Hoopspeak "Tallafornia v Knackeragua" :D

29/06/2007, 2:18 PM
BTW lads we adopted the Red and Black as our colours in 1894 Source: Bohemian Times by Phil Howlin.

OhNoYouDidn't
29/06/2007, 2:18 PM
It's amazing how Scumrocks fans can't support their team without resorting religious bigotry. Theyve always had warped minds in Irelands most famous hooligan club.

Not one Rovers fan has mentioned religion.

Pathetic comeback.

Calcio Jack
29/06/2007, 2:23 PM
When I was a kid Bohs wern't much of a rival as they were amateurs , once they went professional that statrted to change and during the 70's a serious rivalry developed, probabley helped by the fact that our traditional rivals Shels weren't up to much in playing terms then.

So personaly I get most pleasure and pain depending on results go from games against Bohs... as for hating them ,not at all... but for 90 minutes tonight I'll morph into a state of mind that will certainly be somewhat more irrational than my normal state....

As for the Protestent stuff , personally i couldn't care less what Bohs roots are. Also I hate it when Rovers fans try to infer that we share some common brotherhood with Celtic.... we don't , of course some Rovers fans like to follow both clubs and good for them.... personally my view is that all we have in common with Celtic is that they've copied our strip.

No for me having been brought up in the vicinity of Milltown.... tonight is all about South side v North side.... and we all know where the real class is:D

londonhoop
29/06/2007, 2:36 PM
No for me having been brought up in the vicinity of Milltown.... tonight is all about South side v North side.... and we all know where the real class is:D

amen to that!!

Erstwhile Bóz
29/06/2007, 3:38 PM
Here, here. ;)

sonofstan
29/06/2007, 3:47 PM
A Dublin branch of the British National Party? a party that hates paddies as much as it hates any other immigrant groups in England? dear God...

bohsmug
29/06/2007, 3:57 PM
The rivalry between Bohs and Rovers has nothing got to do with Bohs fans supporting Rangers.:rolleyes:
Why the **** would it or should it? If the biggest rivalry in Irish football was borne out of an admiration for Scotlands biggest rivalry then I'm packing in supporting football in this country. Why would you need to justify the Bohs/Rovers rivalry by bringing politics into it? Thank God it has nothing to do with that. I hate Rovers as a football club, as a sporting rival.
I know plenty of Bohs fans who socialize with Rovers fans. I have friends who support Rovers and get on quite well with them. For the most part it's a friendly rivalry. The problem is when I see 1,000 plus Rovers fans celebrating scoring against us with delerious happiness. For me I never hated Rovers until I had to watch them beat us and I would imagine it's the same for most Rovers fans.
It's a derby and in the run up to it I look forward to it, get anxious, get nervous, get excited and get my Rangers jersey.

29/06/2007, 3:59 PM
This is a great thread. Can't beat the run up to this game.

bad mongo
29/06/2007, 4:15 PM
Some decent reasons to hate rowfuss:

undeniable toerag element, always larger and nastier than our own rat faced cretins.

The fawning over 'brother' clubs(coz they went for a pint once or have some obscure graphic or similar colours to their kit): like anyone gives a sh#te a half dozen of you were brought out on the **** in some godawful provincial town a couple of years ago

the kneejerk republicanism- I'm quite comfortable with my west brit heritage thank you-seems everyone who ever stood on the terrace in Milltown's granda was in Boland's mill after fighting their way up from Ringsend

the ### (insert name of any neighbourhood within 20 miles of Milltown) is a 'rovers area through and through' feeble and untrue.

That's about enough to keep me going through my grudging respect for the encumbent SRFC regime for dragging them out of the mire...

29/06/2007, 4:18 PM
I don't hate Boez.

29/06/2007, 5:07 PM
For the most part it's a friendly rivalry.

Why has no one set up a "friendly" thread then?? :confused:

The problem is when I see 1,000 plus Rovers fans celebrating scoring against us with delerious happiness.

The fact that we've spent the last 10 weeks waiting to resume normal service, i.e. us beating bohs, is something we should obviously keep quiet about. :rolleyes:

29/06/2007, 5:15 PM
Half thinking of attending this game. Which stand will be quietest (I'm a UCD fan afterall)?

29/06/2007, 5:19 PM
Bohs fans will be in the main stand, Rovers fans in the lego and I think parts of Riverside. I'd say you're better off somewhere in the main stand as more room to avoid some of the casuals.

SolitudeRed
29/06/2007, 7:00 PM
I typed in Shamrock Rovers V Bohemians on Youtube and found this video of a mini riot between their fans outside the Hill 16 pub in Dublin, what a bunch of idiots!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHV5-Advmf0

Love the fact that when the Gardai do finally turn up they just stand there and do nothing!!

bohs til i die
29/06/2007, 8:36 PM
I typed in Shamrock Rovers V Bohemians on Youtube and found this video of a mini riot between their fans outside the Hill 16 pub in Dublin, what a bunch of idiots!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHV5-Advmf0

Love the fact that when the Gardai do finally turn up they just stand there and do nothing!!

There is hardly a whole lot 2 Gardai can do about 60-70 scumbags fighting in a North Inner City street .....

s-side hoop
29/06/2007, 10:40 PM
There is hardly a whole lot 2 Gardai can do about 60-70 scumbags fighting in a North Inner City street .....

around the corner from a police station :rolleyes:

29/06/2007, 11:02 PM
Bohs fans will be in the main stand, Rovers fans in the lego and I think parts of Riverside. I'd say you're better off somewhere in the main stand as more room to avoid some of the casuals.

I joined the great unwashed of the green and white instead of the unclean red and black variety. Right decision as the only difference was that Shams got out first. Some Shamrock fan threw something at Owen Heary at the end of the match. It didn't look too threatning an object and missed him by a bit. The Gardai cowardly trailed behind a bunch of Bohs schooligans and let them come through and rattle the 16 bus stop full of Shams fans on the Drumcondra Rd. In general the game passed off peacefully. Dull first half but the second half was reasonably entertaining, thought Shams had the better of the play and chances.

green-blood
30/06/2007, 8:38 AM
eh Mr student I assume you missed the Bohs fans having a go t breaking the steward adn garda line and be forced back, with half a dozen then dragged out, and the bottles raining down on Digger in front of the ballybough end

we'll sort our bottle thrower out, but you were far safer in the riverside

bohs til i die
30/06/2007, 9:19 AM
around the corner from a police station :rolleyes:

Whats your point? There was 2 Gardai in a car, on their own, there is not a whole lot they could do.

If you were one of the two boys in blue would you go charging in with no back up or would you wait for the riot cops who were nearby and on the way?

30/06/2007, 10:59 AM
eh Mr student I assume you missed the Bohs fans having a go t breaking the steward adn garda line and be forced back, with half a dozen then dragged out, and the bottles raining down on Digger in front of the ballybough end

One bottle.
Idiot who did it but nowhere near as many idiots as who threw bottles on from your side. There was a large group of yours trying to break the Garda lines too. Not to mention your entire support sinning that hooligan song yet again. Rover- Proud of their History, Proud of their Hooligans.

Was the idiot who shouted Bohs Scum during the minutes silence kicked out, or what about the monkey chants made at Mansaram? Don't say it didn't happen because its been caught on video.

s-side hoop
30/06/2007, 11:35 AM
One bottle.
Idiot who did it but nowhere near as many idiots as who threw bottles on from your side. There was a large group of yours trying to break the Garda lines too. Not to mention your entire support sinning that hooligan song yet again. Rover- Proud of their History, Proud of their Hooligans.

Was the idiot who shouted Bohs Scum during the minutes silence kicked out, or what about the monkey chants made at Mansaram? Don't say it didn't happen because its been caught on video.

so has your lot ripping up seats and throwing them on the pitch :rolleyes:

30/06/2007, 11:35 AM

I did, but my eyesight isn't the greatest and I was in the far corner in the Riverside.

BP, a strong crowd of yours came through the bus stop singing about being hooligans while being followed by the gardai. I also heard some argument about someone called Evans being killed or dead, what's that about?:confused:

OhNoYouDidn't
30/06/2007, 11:58 AM
if you want a laugh, go onto gypo web where reiteoir has, in a sulk because apparently he has resigned from modding on here in a huff, put up my original comments here.

he was told by more than a couple of posters that they are broadly true. :D

quality

OhNoYouDidn't
30/06/2007, 12:03 PM
One bottle.

so when its patently obvious to all that your fans behaved worse last night, admittedly not much happened in the context of the game, you still come on here with your little tales. your end of the ground was the one with the riot cops arresting people. you were the ones ripping up seats.

this goes back to the historical roots arguement. you never, ever take responsibilty as a club for anything. someone else is making it up/worse/provoked us. its absoluly pathetic.

we will ban the turd who threw the bottle. you will keep denying the facts that dont fit into your delusions. :rolleyes:

30/06/2007, 1:08 PM
you never, ever take responsibilty as a club for anything. someone else is making it up/worse/provoked us. its absoluly pathetic.

And without a hint of irony too. Impressive.

Rovers may be cleaning up their act to some extent, but they still are in no position to by handing out lectures on this kind of thing.