View Full Version : FAI Cup Latest

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

18/06/2007, 5:25 PM
The whole situation meant a 15 minute delay in the game. Everything was done by the book.
But that's where I'm curious - putting someone on a spinal board doesn't take 15 minutes. Assuming he was conscious (and I haven't seen anything to indicate otherwise), it should take a bit over five minutes. Ten at the absolute max if you want to wait for enough bodies.

Either way, good to see you actually have a doctor now - don't know if you remember a game in 2005 when our doctor had to treat Marc Kenny for a head wound, and Roddy Collins was going mental because he wasn't allowed approach our dugout where the treatment was taking place!

Student Mullet
18/06/2007, 5:29 PM
Either way, good to see you actually have a doctor now - don't know if you remember a game in 2005 when our doctor had to treat Marc Kenny for a head wound, and Roddy Collins was going mental because he wasn't allowed approach our dugout where the treatment was taking place!I remember that game. Afterwards Roddy was complaining in the papers that the player was treated at the wrong dug out and blaming the ref and the FAI with no mention as to why he was treated at the UCD end.

BohsFans
18/06/2007, 5:30 PM
They didn't have a doctor either when their goalkeeping coach collapsed against in Tolka the year they got relegated.

green-blood
18/06/2007, 6:23 PM
they of course not being anything that "we" had any control over then and are very clear reasons why we were prepared to bankrupt our own club and take it to the brink of extinction in order to oust the corrupt regime, including Collins

A backbaord was bought by the "us" last year and was very useful last night, Barry was not moved until the ambulance arrived and if it had meant abandoning the game, then so be it

it was a push, end of

18/06/2007, 6:35 PM
Don't Order of Malta cover Tolka Park? They'd provide an ambulance, so you just bring it to that (as they did, as seen on the video).

exiled_gufc_fan
18/06/2007, 7:06 PM
19 mins gone at Finn Park and Galway Bay fm reporter informs that still no goals and a small crowd.

Fivesilver
18/06/2007, 7:26 PM
Ah well, now I'm all disappointed - there I was thinking e had managed to knock out the "Cup specialists" fair and square. Now I realise we only could have managed it by cheating.

That was a push? Take another good look or two, get real, grow up and take your beating like an adult.

exiled_gufc_fan
18/06/2007, 7:32 PM
still scoreless at Finn Park.

Football is fairly dire apparently. Highlight is three consecutive foul throws by Reggie Nootimeer!

18/06/2007, 7:36 PM
0-0 half time

18/06/2007, 8:42 PM
0-0 after 90mins, extra time being played now

FarmHoop
18/06/2007, 8:53 PM
Push or no push the goal shouldnt have stood, or kudezovic should have put it out, cue paulo di canios actions for west ham few years back

18/06/2007, 8:59 PM
Push or no push the goal shouldnt have stood, or kudezovic should have put it out, cue paulo di canios actions for west ham few years back

thats the stupidest quote ive seen in a very very long time

FarmHoop
18/06/2007, 9:02 PM
:)thanks

exiled_gufc_fan
18/06/2007, 9:06 PM
Extra Time Live on Galway Bay FM

F**k the packing for Glastonbury!

exiled_gufc_fan
18/06/2007, 9:09 PM
Harps v Galway - Still 0-0 four mins to go in extra time

exiled_gufc_fan
18/06/2007, 9:13 PM
gone to penalties.

exiled_gufc_fan
18/06/2007, 9:19 PM
two each taken: 1-1 both teams scored one, both missed one

exiled_gufc_fan
18/06/2007, 9:20 PM
3 kicks each taken:

2-2

exiled_gufc_fan
18/06/2007, 9:21 PM
Sean Holmes for Harps - scores

Foley for Galway - saved

exiled_gufc_fan
18/06/2007, 9:22 PM
Sean Ruddy for Harps - scores

All over. Harps are through :mad:

18/06/2007, 9:22 PM
So Harps to score and win?

Edit - beat me to it.

Well done the Harps. Three Premier teams out in the Second Round.

SolitudeRed
18/06/2007, 9:36 PM
well done to the Harps! I know a few Finn Harps fans from Letterkenny who will be pleased with that result!

18/06/2007, 10:10 PM
:)thanks

your welcome. in fairness though, you really think he should have put the ball out 5 yards from goal? i see where your soming from (kinda), but no way Faz realised the keeper was injured, he was past nearly past him once he hit the floor

cheifo
18/06/2007, 10:59 PM
Just back after a few pints to celebrate Harps beating Galway on penalties.Goddammit those penalties are not good for the nerves.
Bloody chuffed TBH.:)

Blue & White Army

18/06/2007, 11:03 PM
it was a push, end of
TV3 highlights clearly showed no push by Kudozovic.

18/06/2007, 11:12 PM
Indeed. The more adamant these clowns and their ringmaster (Scully) became that an infringement had occurred, the more I was convinced that no infringement would be apparent. How right I was. He should be fined €500 for every time he spouts b0llocks and another €1000 for appearing on TV with an ill-knotted tie.

19/06/2007, 12:12 AM
says its tough to go out of the cup when we score a goal like that, what a muppet. sore losers, all of them......cant accept the best team won the game fairly

19/06/2007, 1:16 AM
Mulligan ripped into the Order of Malta chaps at the Rovers game - comical viewing :D

19/06/2007, 1:21 AM
Mulligan ripped into the Order of Malta chaps at the Rovers game - comical viewing :D
He was bloody right to too. It would have been bad enough if they were jogging but they walked casually onto the pitch after taking their time making a move in the first place.

Rico made a classic statement saying that good managers always look at their defence when they are attacking.:D Mulligan ripped into him as well.:D

19/06/2007, 1:26 AM
He was bloody right to too. It would have been bad enough if they were jogging but they walked casually onto the pitch after taking their time making a move in the first place.

I really hope they were watching it :p

Fivesilver
19/06/2007, 7:22 AM
When a player is badly injured like that, it's a very serious claim to make. Presumably after seeing it on the telly, Mr earnest, heart-on-the-sleeve, tell-it-like-it-is Scully will now admit his mistake. He was happy enough to play the terribly-wronged martyr last season - let's see if he's big enough.

DvB
19/06/2007, 7:42 AM
Indeed. The more adamant these clowns and their ringmaster (Scully) became that an infringement had occurred, the more I was convinced that no infringement would be apparent. How right I was. He should be fined €500 for every time he spouts b0llocks and another €1000 for appearing on TV with an ill-knotted tie.

That chip must be the size of Belgium by now!

Calcio Jack
19/06/2007, 8:11 AM

Have to say that looking at it again and again I thought there was a push on the defender... notwitstanding that what drives your venom and apparant hatred of Rovers... anything to do with the fact that we still exist and of course Dublin City don't.... get over it

19/06/2007, 9:54 AM
Need to take off the green-tinted glasses, lads. :) He didn't even raise his arm.

Does any non-Shams fan think it was a heinous example of GBH or - at the very least - blatant, dirty Sligwegian cheating, that they all seem to think it was?

well from looking at the video footage ,i thought it was a push by the Sligo player....

your striker hadn't the balls to admit it or apologise, even after getting away with it, his statement to the journos was that it was a freak, wrong it was a push, is just pathetic, not a hint of concern for the injured player

more to blame is the ref, A for letting it go and B for not protecting the injured player and signalling a restart - amateur

kak, he got away with it, yee won the tie, its not going to change - have the decency to admit it was a shove

These two are my favourites. :D

it was a push, end of

DvB
19/06/2007, 12:20 PM
TBH on the night (as Dr Nitedub can verify) i felt there was no foul, i havent seen anything on tv or youtube to change my position on that, i dont want to comment on what other people saw or thought they saw but for me it was just an unfortunate coming together that the Sligo lad took advantage of!

TBH had it been the other way round i'd expect one of our players to do the exact same thing!

Although disappointed at the score & Baz getting injured i've no complaints, on the night the better team won, simple as!!

Koh

19/06/2007, 12:25 PM
Does any non-Shams fan think it was a heinous example of GBH or - at the very least - blatant, dirty Sligwegian cheating, that they all seem to think it was?

however I was much closer to the third goal and thought there was no push at the time and looking at the footage, I haven't seen anything to change my mind.

Anyone tell me where I can buy some green tinted glasses?:)

19/06/2007, 12:27 PM
Main thing is that Murphy is not as seriously injured as first thought.

Having had first hand experience of watching someone (Dagfinn Enerly) sustain a serious injury during a game - I wouldn't wish that kind of thing on anyone:

Sadly only five minutes into the Fredrikstad - Start Norwegian Premier Division game in October 2005, Enerly collidedwith a team-mate, fell to the ground with his team-mate over him and laid there without moving a muscle. Enerly could be seen breathing as medical personnel rushed to his aid and got him on a stretcher. Shortly afterwards, the speaker at the stadium informed the crowd that he was conscious and in a stable condition. Later that evening it was learned that Enerly, who was sent to Oslo's Ullevaal Hospital for surgery, had broken his neck and was paralyzed

He's still confined to a wheelchair to this day

19/06/2007, 12:28 PM
Anyone tell me where I can buy some green tinted glasses?:)

Carrolls of course - you buy two pairs of green tinted glasses - get a Dublin City jersey free

19/06/2007, 12:30 PM
I'd rather stand in the glare in that case.

Dr.Nightdub
19/06/2007, 12:35 PM
I didn't see the incident as I was busy texting mates about the Rovers equaliser just before, but I certainly don't remember any of the Rovers fans near me in the Riverside giving out about a push at the time and we'd probably have been closer than most to the incident. At FT, was wondering what Scully was giving out about to the ref.

Scoreline reflected the balance of what was a poor game overall, most Rovers fans I was with seemed to accept that on the night, dunno what point all the recriminations serve now. It's over lads, forget it, your assault on Pat's non-cup-winning run remains intact.

19/06/2007, 2:14 PM
I didn't see the incident as I was busy texting mates

Lame excuse. The right thing to say is

I didn't see the incident as I was busy looking at the other end of the pitch to make sure my defenders were keeping their shape. A good manager never watches the ball, you know! :eek:

19/06/2007, 6:02 PM
Looks like the Douglas Hall players and management made a few bob for themselves according today's Star, "our manager has won over a grand". Talk about putting your foot in it :D

19/06/2007, 6:28 PM

That would explain then why a five minute job took a quarter of an hour. Good old Order of Malta! At least UCD, Bohs and Pat's have proper first aid crews. ;)

The Man Himself
19/06/2007, 7:11 PM
18 mins gone
waterford united 3 tolka rovers 1

kdjaC
19/06/2007, 7:12 PM
Looks like the Douglas Hall players and management made a few bob for themselves according today's Star, "our manager has won over a grand". Talk about putting your foot in it :D

Is not only pros who arent allowed bet?

kdjac

The Man Himself
19/06/2007, 7:30 PM
waterford united 4 tolka 1 after 43 mins
rain is bucketing down, game could be called off:confused:

The Man Himself
19/06/2007, 8:23 PM
wexford 0 limerick 1

19/06/2007, 11:16 PM
Carrolls of course - you buy two pairs of green tinted glasses - get a Dublin City jersey free

I heard they'd sewn-up the bottom of the Dublin City jersies in their large stockpile, and were giving them out as novelty bags whenever people bought anything.

I hope the Revenue is getting 10 cents on each one mind....

20/06/2007, 2:44 PM

Jesus years later and still the bile. You need help to get over the fact that your no mark club is gone. At least Scully can fit a tie around his neck unlike deluded seery.

Wouldnt go so far as to say it was a shove on our player but defo a nudge. Anyway sligo deserved to go through as our defending was shambolic. For them beating us is as good as winning our Cup judging by their celebrations at the final whistle. The wait continues.

Did the bores really have a flag in Drogheda friday about that never ever out of the news missing kid??

Fivesilver
20/06/2007, 6:57 PM
For them beating us is as good as winning our Cup judging by their celebrations at the final whistle.

God be with the good old days when fans of the winning team would just shake hands, say "Jolly well done" and head off for a nip of sherry.

Still, you take your glory where you can get it, like referring to "our Cup" when you're talking about a competition a very large proportion of your fans have never seen their team win.

"European giants Notts Forest" anyone? :rolleyes: