View Full Version : Baaaaaaaaaaad Movies

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

Soper
14/06/2007, 8:56 PM
The 'Leprechaun' series of films are supposed to be rubbish, and it's the rubbishness of these films that make them watchable.

14/06/2007, 9:02 PM
Jaysus, that takes me back!

Didn't think the one I watched was that bad, but then I was about 12 at the time.

Soper
14/06/2007, 9:14 PM
They always show them on 'Zone Horror' on Sky. I really should be ashamed that I've seen the 1st one 4 times...

''Try as ya may, Try as ya moite, Y'ar gonna be in for one hell of a foit''.

15/06/2007, 1:29 AM
Jennifer Aniston was in the first Leprechaun film, and now denies it to the end

15/06/2007, 1:56 AM
HAHA, yes, the worst line of a truly awful movie.

Yes, but as pointed out above, you can enjoy these movies for how cheesy they are.
Kind of like dumbed-up versions of Snakes on a Plane.

M9GwtRsOYSI&v3

Incidentally, did you ever notice that Harrison Ford has made the same film dozens of times?

15/06/2007, 7:16 AM
The worst thing i've ever seen was a Silence of the Lambs spoof callled , Silence of the Hams. It was woeful

15/06/2007, 7:32 AM
Can't remember the name of the film featuring the town which had been closed off because of a fire in a nearby mine and a woman getting up there and losing a child. It was up there with Bad Boys for utterly stupid, improbable plot-lines.

While "cheesy" movies like "dude where's my car" (never seen it ...can't imagine why?:confused:) and Leprechaun are being mentioned -I'll give an honourable mention (seriously!) to the 1993 "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" movie, which while being a silly cheesy pre-teen yoke, had a wit to it that was utterly absent from the later moronic TV series.

15/06/2007, 10:20 AM
Blair Witch Project
Borat
Natural Born Killers
The Village
all films I've thoroughly enjoyed:)

yeah likewise:)

15/06/2007, 10:25 AM
Others, like Signs, The Village, and in my opinion Fight Club, think they are sending a message, cloak themselves in layers of supposedly deep meaning, but finally are about nothing at all. These are the films that really disappoint us, I think.

i hated Fight Club for ages, but when i watched it drunk as a skunk.it kind of made sense and wasnt as bad............

has anyone seen the god damn awful
"EuroTrip" about american high schoolers let lose on Europe, dire stuff

15/06/2007, 11:08 AM
We used to watch it religiously in a house I used to live, like once a week, I've seen it so much now I started to speak bad German!
Scotty doesn't know..

15/06/2007, 11:23 AM
i hated Fight Club for ages, but when i watched it drunk as a skunk.it kind of made sense and wasnt as bad............

I think Euro Trip is a good example of American's taking the **** out of themselves and Europe and everything else. It's actually pretty funny. An underrated film if that 'American Pie' genre floats your boat.

Truly bad films I've seen would include 'The Village', 'The Grudge' (the US version with Sarah Michelle Gellar), 'Jeepers Creepers 2', 'The Ring 2', 'Date Movie' and 'Godsend'.

Most walkouts I've witnessed was 'House of the Dead' (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0317676/)in the UGC on Parnell Street. At least half the audience left. It was awful, but, I thought it was awful in a very entertaining way. Any film based on a SEGA arcade game is not going to be a masterpiece.

Newryrep
15/06/2007, 12:35 PM
Bullseye - directed by Michael Winner , do i need to go on ?. Roger Moore and Michael Caine play scientists ? who swap with their identical twins/lookalikes who are con men (also played by RM/MC )in a hilarious comedy/espionge caper.

Twice as awfull as you would think, acting tree like, direction non existant, toe curling puns and talking to the camera. So bad it is good, i might actually buy it for my brother only the thought of Michael Winner/roger moore might recieve a penny from me prevents me.

Anything with Burt Reynolds in it - (excluding Deliverence)

15/06/2007, 12:36 PM
I think Euro Trip is a good example of American's taking the **** out of themselves and Europe and everything else. It's actually pretty funny. An underrated film if that 'American Pie' genre floats your boat.

Truly bad films I've seen would include 'The Village', 'The Grudge' (the US version with Sarah Michelle Gellar), 'Jeepers Creepers 2', 'The Ring 2', 'Date Movie' and 'Godsend'.

Most walkouts I've witnessed was 'House of the Dead' (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0317676/)in the UGC on Parnell Street. At least half the audience left. It was awful, but, I thought it was awful in a very entertaining way. Any film based on a SEGA arcade game is not going to be a masterpiece.

The Ring 2 is an appalling movie. It chucks out a lot of the framework of the first film. Tamara now has pretty much whatever powers you can think of (I'm surprised they didn't stick a machine gun turret on her) and can appear freddie kruger style when and where she likes.

When juxtaposed -the whole "seven days" thing from the first film seems downright sporting of her.

15/06/2007, 12:47 PM
Anything with Burt Reynolds in it - (excluding Deliverence)

And Boogie Nights, but agree with the general point

Aberdonian Stu
15/06/2007, 12:58 PM
And the original version of The Longest Yard.

15/06/2007, 1:08 PM
And Reynolds' classic - Cop and a half.. I'll get my coat.

15/06/2007, 3:41 PM
...I'll give an honourable mention (seriously!) to the 1993 "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" movie, which while being a silly cheesy pre-teen yoke, had a wit to it that was utterly absent from the later moronic TV series.
I'm not a big fan of the TV series, but what it lacked in cheese and slapstick, it made up for in dialogue and depth.

15/06/2007, 11:35 PM
I'm not a big fan of the TV series, but what it lacked in cheese and slapstick, it made up for in dialogue and depth.

You're joking of course? we need a "tongue in cheek" emoticon.

Den Perry
16/06/2007, 12:30 AM
You're joking of course? we need a "tongue in cheek" emoticon.

lost in translation
fight club
The english patient
the crow
Borat
Babel ....thought it would never end
Human traffic....thought the main character was a tool and it was a pathetic attempt to be the new Trainspotting

I actually like Nicholas Cage...

16/06/2007, 10:19 AM
lost in translation
fight club
Babel ....thought it would never end
I actually like Nicholas Cage...

I can see why you like Nicholas Cage.

:o

kingdom hoop
16/06/2007, 1:15 PM

Yes! Watching Fight Club in a 'mind-altered' state spawns different interpretations every time. I tend to go for the stoned option, revelationary usually!

Recently I watched When Brendan Met Trudy, hair-pullingly awful I thought. A rare example of Roddy Doyle failing to get my lips dancing. :(

17/06/2007, 12:57 AM
Just saw that Jebus had put American Psycho on the "Recommended Films" list, and that reminded me how much of a piece of junk it was.

American Psycho. A good example of how decent actors, working from a decent novel, can be undermined by a very poor director.

Sorry Jebus.

17/06/2007, 1:35 PM
Sorry Jebus.

Thats alright, Jebus isn't Christian Bale's Foot alter-ego, so no offence taken :p

Neish
17/06/2007, 8:40 PM
Anything with Jenifer Lopez

17/06/2007, 8:44 PM
Jennifer Lopez is the ugliest leading man in Hollywood.

17/06/2007, 9:27 PM
Jennifer Lopez is the ugliest leading man in Hollywood.I think he meant Jennifer Aniston;):)

18/06/2007, 11:45 AM
beerfest. Anybody see this? It's so bad some people might think it's funny!!!

18/06/2007, 12:13 PM
Anything with Jenifer Lopez

Out of Sight is a QUALITY film

None of the others are even watchable though

18/06/2007, 12:16 PM
Phantom Menace - An insult to every Star Wars fan. Dissapointing, lazy, vacuous - much like Gareth Farrelly's tenure as Bohs "player"-"Manager"

couldnīt agree more whoever thought jar jar binks was a good idea sould be taken out and slashed with a lightsaber

cheifo
18/06/2007, 1:56 PM
I saw that notes of a scandal during the weekend.While not totally awful I could not beleive how bad it was.I lean towards the films that think their good as being most relevant for this thread...maybe most over rated films would be more apt.What did people think of A History of violence.Can someone please explain how that piece of garbage got good reviews.Entertainment.ie which is normally reliable really praised it.When I saw it in the cinema people were laughing out loud at some of the terrible acting.

18/06/2007, 3:29 PM
beerfest. Anybody see this? It's so bad some people might think it's funny!!!
you probably shouldn't watch Super Troopers so.

18/06/2007, 3:32 PM
I saw that notes of a scandal during the weekend.While not totally awful I could not beleive how bad it was.I lean towards the films that think their good as being most relevant for this thread...maybe most over rated films would be more apt.What did people think of A History of violence.Can someone please explain how that piece of garbage got good reviews.Entertainment.ie which is normally reliable really praised it.When I saw it in the cinema people were laughing out loud at some of the terrible acting.

Notes of a Scandal saw Judi Dench give an acting masterclass in my book, I thought she completly turned what would have been an okay movie into a very good one. A History of Violence on the otherhand, well I enjoyed it, but I know a lot of people that didn't so I'll hold off defending that one

18/06/2007, 3:35 PM
Notes of a Scandal saw Judi Dench give an acting masterclass in my book, I thought she completly turned what would have been an okay movie into a very good one. A History of Violence on the otherhand, well I enjoyed it, but I know a lot of people that didn't so I'll hold off defending that one

Pretty much 100% agree with this. Though some of the acting in Notes was superb and the story was pretty good. Also enjoyed A History of Violence, though it was excellent in parts.

18/06/2007, 3:43 PM
Mission to Mars left cinema after 25 mins,

18/06/2007, 3:56 PM
Mission to Mars left cinema after 25 mins,

That would make a great Weekly World News headline! :D

cheifo
18/06/2007, 5:34 PM
Agree about Judi Dench, just thought plot about teacher and student getting jiggy didn't come across as credible.

18/06/2007, 5:40 PM
Agree about Judi Dench, just thought plot about teacher and student getting jiggy didn't come across as credible.
Because the dozen or so high profile cases of teachers being jailed for it in the states were all made up, right? Or are you talking about the acting?

18/06/2007, 5:57 PM
Mars Attacks - truly woeful movie, even when stoned.

History of Violence. Absolute garbage bar the first scene in that hick motel reception area which was almost Tarantino-esque. But it really is a love it or hate it movie - i hated it.

18/06/2007, 7:37 PM
Mars Attacks - truly woeful movie, even when stoned.
Really? I enjoyed it. Great tongue in cheek movie.

18/06/2007, 7:49 PM
interestingly, i enjoyed it the first time. Then i rented it on dvd and couldnt believe it was the same movie... so dont watch it twice is my advice... :(

18/06/2007, 7:53 PM
I'm going to have to get it out and watch it again now, you know that!

18/06/2007, 8:22 PM
enjoy!! :p

cheifo
18/06/2007, 11:07 PM
Because the dozen or so high profile cases of teachers being jailed for it in the states were all made up, right? Or are you talking about the acting?

O we are all aware of those,just thought it didnt seem to work in the film but I only watched half of it so maybe I am been unfair.

19/06/2007, 12:19 AM
star wars 2
van helsing-only time i've ever wanted to leave cinema b4 the end
date movie-just awful

by far the worst film i've ever seen tho is a film called latin kingz. it was in some dodgy cheap box set my brother bought. how it made it as far as a dvd is beyond me. no joke whatsoever you'd see better acting and a better script at a baby infants nativity play. it's absolutely f*ckin hilarious if you're stoned tho

19/06/2007, 2:30 AM
Have you seen Adaptation? It is quality. I agree he isnt great, but was decent in this, in both roles.

I'll go for The Village as my choice.

Is there anyone on here who actually likes this movie :o :confused:

19/06/2007, 10:22 AM
Is there anyone on here who actually likes this movie :o :confused:

i do:o

19/06/2007, 11:17 AM
i do:o

Grand, I'm not the only one so :D

19/06/2007, 11:28 AM
Grand, I'm not the only one so :D

I enjoyed it also!

theleprechaun
19/06/2007, 11:36 AM
'maybe baby'-the worst two hours of my life!

19/06/2007, 12:49 PM
Watched a couple of movies on tv3 recently. Not sure which was worse Van Hensing or Oceans 12. Oceans 12 was an introduction on how you make a movies with loads of star actors but no script.