View Full Version : Foot.ie Challenge Cup Match Result
Moderators 20 - 25 Non Mods
the 'event' has been immortalised here (http://joehurley.net/fcc/).
bah humbug
bad refereeing decisions and all that
dont think the pitch or weather or the fact that we were unfit suited the mod team
We were robbed, our unbelievable footballing talents were overshadowed by our alarming, but not surprising, lack of fitness.:) ;)
All mods have now been put on an intensive training program and we are confident that we WILL win the rematch.
Saturday March 8th 6:30pm. Leisureworld, Bishopstown.
ok with everyone?
yea as long as i recover full movement in both my legs
And i think everyone will agree twas a 'smashing' time in the gateway afterwards
Originally posted by SCOTTY II
Come on the boys....
Excellent result! But how I cant understand!
Come on ye boyz in green!
Boo, Boo Scotty questioning the ability of of wonderful team after crying off!!!!
Scotty out:D :D
Anyone else having serious trouble walking after playing that match? I suppose I was given rough treatment by the Mods defence, especially one tackle by James in the box, fair play to Ref for picking up on it:D
So for the rematch will the Mods have 20 away goals?
24/02/2003, 10:17 AM
Here, when people were saying we'd make a regular thing of it, I thought we were talking about, like, once a year? :)
Originally posted by Ref
ok with everyone?
Good man ref. That would be the job. Maybe this time you will hang around for a few pints afterwards?
Good game as well, where fitness was the telling factor. Thanks for the ball in face SOC.
The rematch will be great. Revenge is great.
Originally posted by Ref
Nice one Ref, we'll even try to give ya a bit more work next time- it was a very clean game apart from a few tackles that James was aiming in SEJ's direction and Eannas yellow card. This time there is a score to be settled and blood will be spilled!:D
Originally posted by GWA
Good game as well, where fitness was the telling factor. Thanks for the ball in face SOC.
The rematch will be great. Revenge is great.
Sorry GWA I was aiming for Éanna, got you tho':)
How could fitness be the telling factor?? We were shockingly unfit too, although our ringer Rob seemed to be able to play a bit:)
24/02/2003, 12:13 PM
ROB OUT
or else he's a mod nxt time :D
Originally posted by Colm
This time there is a score to be settled and blood will be spilled!
Im not spilling anymore blood dont you know?
Em, maybe if we could get a few more for next time, and have a few players rolling etc.
24/02/2003, 12:42 PM
Originally posted by GWA
, and have a few players rolling etc.
jeeze GWA if ya wanted more players rolling all ya had to do was ask like
plenty more tackles up me sleeve
Originally posted by James
jeeze GWA if ya wanted more players rolling all ya had to do was ask like
plenty more tackles up me sleeve
BA DUM..........................chi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!
:rolleyes: :)
Originally posted by GWA
Em, maybe if we could get a few more for next time
Yeah, even if each team had one extra player it would enable us all to take a few minutes much needed rest.
Lads, one of ye was disputing the fact that fitness was the telling factor. Well from what I've heard most of the non-mods play on some sort of regular basis, none of us do. Work it out.:)
shedite
24/02/2003, 4:47 PM
I know the subs idea sounds great but would anyone have fancied waiting around in the rain waiting to go back on? I prefer tiredness to the flu any day.
Defo in for a rematch though
Are we having the same people showing up, or do we have a few drop outs?
I think the jinx of the red jerseys definitely affected the Mods confidence as you only have to look at citys perfromances any time they wear it as weel :eek:
Obviously my ringer did not work out so well so think i'll refrain from trying that again.
Sorry i didn't make the Gateway for afters mainly due to my own stupidity - looks like good time had by all from those pics...
I wouldn't be able to make any March date (not that my skills be missed) but could maybe a 2003 season opening weekend date or something...
mods
1 colm
2 james
3 eanna
4 GWA
5 ?????
non mods
1 ruairi
2 sej
3 soccfc
4 shedite
5 ?????
25/02/2003, 1:46 PM
Originally posted by Ref
mods
1 colm
2 james
3 eanna
4 GWA
5 ?????
non mods
1 ruairi
2 sej
3 soccfc
4 shedite
5 ?????
Are ye havin' another game ???
we are. march 8th. leisureworld, bishopstown, 6:30pm.
d'ya wanna play?
Lads, one of ye was disputing the fact that fitness was the telling factor. Well from what I've heard most of the non-mods play on some sort of regular basis, none of us do. Work it out.:)
Fitness-smitness it was the silky skills that dazzled the mods:)
Naw honestly I think it all down to the jerseys, now ye see why Gunther could do nothing all season, the away jersey is just jinxed.
Bring on the rematch!!!
We'll have to have a foot.ie select to take on the likes of UCD and Longford when they come down.
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
We'll have to have a foot.ie select to take on the likes of UCD and Longford when they come down.
getting a bit carried away........................
but maybe we could arrange that.
:cool:
Originally posted by SCOTTY II
if ye need a space on the non-mods! I'd say they will by the looks of it, Scotty.
Badweather Fan
26/02/2003, 2:49 PM
For the record, i'd volunteer my services if it wasn't for work comitments (All day Wednesday-Saturday).
It'd be wonderful to meet you friendly cyber-people
thats a pity fairweather fan
i'm sure the non-mods would welcome a distinguished bear-wrestler such as yourself tackling the likes of Eanna and GWA
come to think of it a few of the mods might be happy enough with that outcome too :D
book me in for the replay as long as its not monday or wednesday night.
mods
1 colm
2 james
3 eanna
4 GWA
5 Pablo
non mods
1 ruairi
2 sej
3 soccfc
4 shedite
5 scotty 2
ok with everyone?
26/02/2003, 11:57 PM
What about F.IE.SC?
hold your horses there ref
pablo.. a mod he certainly is NOT
hold your horses there ref
pablo.. a mod he certainly is NOT
your just being an upper class snob now James :)
can not a working class lad like me rise through the ranks and eat at the table of the ruling classes?
someone like you pablo
NO
I put Pablo on the mods team so we would have 5 v 5.
Teams stay as I picked them.
End of argument.
(anyway, the transfer window is shut)
:cool:
27/02/2003, 12:42 PM
someone like you pablo
NO
whats that supposed to mean?
Originally posted by Ref
I put Pablo on the mods team so we would have 5 v 5.
Teams stay as I picked them. Yeah but, in fairness, if we could get a fifth mod to play (and I dont know if we can or not) it would be even better.
Yeah but, in fairness, if we could get a fifth mod to play (and I dont know if we can or not) it would be even better.
Have to agree with Colm, sure with a non-mod on the mods team there might be a high number of ogs
ok i'll bow to the extreme pressure.
pablo is either the sixth player on the non mods team or a sub.
what say ye?
Originally posted by Ref
pablo is either the sixth player on the non mods team or a sub.
what say ye? Fine by me.
me a sub? i think not! if i'm not good enough sure i wont bother
*huff*
pablo, we'll have six-a-side if the 'mods' can get a sixth player.
any suggestions?
the newly appointed and upgraded badweather fan
knew there was a reason he was promoted to coach
well badweather fan?
d'ya wanna play in our game?
the newly appointed and upgraded badweather fan
knew there was a reason he was promoted to coach
I smell a ringer, it would be nice to have 6-a-side I suppose fitness would be less of a factor, maybe you could play with the Mods Ref, sure there were hardly any fouls in the last game except for James pulling me down viciously in the box.
Where is Ruairí he's been very quite ever since he ran away with the Cup!!
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
I smell a ringer,
ok badweather fan is actually ollie cahill
we've lured him back to cork with the promise of being a moderator on foot.ie
personally speaking for the pain i still have in my legs i think 6 a side wud be best and ref they was so few fouls in the match shure why dont u play if ya wanto if we're left with 6 v 5 otherwise
27/02/2003, 5:28 PM
I smell a ringer
Heh. Nah, he asked me the other day if he could mod the U21 forum, so I gave him the benefit of the doubt and set it up. (He started whinging about it, I didn't have the energy to deal with it.) He's on probation. :)
ref they was so few fouls in the match shure why dont u play if ya wanto if we're left with 6 v 5 otherwise Sure, then you'd get away with murder!
not hard to figure out who you'd like to murder! ;) :D
anyone objecting to me getting away with murder
i've seen how to do it from richard in coranation st
my nerves wont crack half as easily though :D
If ye want me on the mods team I'll play.
Originally posted by Ref
If ye want me on the mods team I'll play.
Will ya still keep count of the score???;) :)