View Full Version : Oh the times, they are a changing....

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

04/05/2007, 8:40 AM
And seeing Cadet mentioned there has put that
bloody song from the Cadet Cola advert in my head :mad:

I think it went something like this (at least this is whats in my head) ...

Cadet Cola, Cadet Cola, Cadet Cola, Cadet Cola, Cadeeeeeeet
Lemonade Cadet Red Lemonade

and had marching bottles of cola/lemonade

04/05/2007, 10:24 AM
Rubble Bubble?
Golfball chewing gum for a penny. Those chewing gum with the superman "tatoo" where you applied them by licking your arm and sticking it on.
Those big yellow banana flavour chewy refresher sweets.
Bringing your empty glass bottles back to the shop and getting money for it.

04/05/2007, 10:39 AM
I think it went something like this (at least this is whats in my head) ...

Cadet Cola, Cadet Cola, Cadet Cola, Cadet Cola, Cadeeeeeeet
Lemonade Cadet Red Lemonade

and had marching bottles of cola/lemonade

And the stupid one marching behind the rest of the bottles-Cadet lemon soda with lime:D

04/05/2007, 10:42 AM
Does anyone rem the stuff that was kinda like sherbet that you put on your tongue and it crackled? Cant seem to get that anymore but Smarties used to have an exploding smarties bar with it (cant get them anymore either much to my dismay!) and Crunchie have an icecream with it in but cant get it on its own.

Think it was called space dust or something.

04/05/2007, 10:43 AM
Yeah vaguely remember that.

MojoPin
04/05/2007, 10:49 AM
"3 and in" and "World Cup".

whats 3 and in? world cup wat a game

MojoPin
04/05/2007, 10:51 AM
the irish currency.... gone but not forgotten

04/05/2007, 10:58 AM
Think it was called space dust or something.

Correct.

Actually, just seen that Star Bars have now been replaced
by Moro Peanut!

04/05/2007, 11:02 AM
world cup wat a game

Was that like Wembley?

Headers and Volleys anyone?

kingdom hoop
04/05/2007, 11:33 AM

Definitely. Just tell me where and when. Have skill, will travel:)

04/05/2007, 11:34 AM
do any of the women remember when Cif used to be Jif?! :D

ill show ye mine, you show me yours, anyone remember that game ;) :D

something tells me that might not have changed though.....

MojoPin
04/05/2007, 11:37 AM
our cobh world cup was simple as pie..
jumpers for goal posts one keeper and as many players as the field would allow..

a series of rounds took place depending on numbers. one or two goals to progress in the first round and so one.. if the keeper didnt want to stay in goal the first player through the first round would go in goal for until the next round or until the original keeper got through early in the same round he would then return to goals. one of the players who gets knocked out in the first round has to go in goals for the round and this carries on for the game..

think thats all the rules we used go by....

oh and if u hit the ball into the o connors back garden u had to get it even it spike the dangerous dog was in there..... no exceptions

04/05/2007, 11:42 AM
jumpers for goal posts one keeper and as many players as the field would allow..

a series of rounds took place depending on numbers. one or two goals to progress in the first round and so one.. if the keeper didnt want to stay in goal the first player through the first round would go in goal for until the next round or until the original keeper got through early in the same round he would then return to goals. one of the players who gets knocked out in the first round has to go in goals for the round and this carries on for the game..

Thats what we called Wembley. Great game alright.

04/05/2007, 11:44 AM
are ye all playing against eachother though MojoPin or is it headers and volleys? We used to play world cup but it was slightly different.....

Did people have arguments over hand-ball and whether you could chest or knee it? with a couple of lads i knew, it used to change depending on whether or not they commited the offence!!!! :8

04/05/2007, 12:22 PM
whats 3 and in? We called it '3 goals in'. Same really. You'd need at least 4 playing..jumpers for goalposts. One keeper, nominated at the start. Keeper would start by throwing it in, and the outfield players would compete til one of them scored 3 goals. Then he went in goals until someone else scored 3 and so on etc...great game. Led to a few good rows too....:p

MojoPin
04/05/2007, 12:51 PM
ya ya same format for ever one ha any one wanna game? we used decide who went in goals by kiick the ball closest to a empty can or bottle from 20 yards furthest away went in......

paul o shea we all played against each pother... its not nods and volleys its like a match but youve no team mates... survival of the fittest

04/05/2007, 1:04 PM
genius... i wish we'd thought of that. we just had one keeper who either played the entire thing on goal or had/got to sit the game out after the first round and the loser went in sticks

Wolfie
04/05/2007, 1:06 PM

oh and if u hit the ball into the o connors back garden u had to get it even it spike the dangerous dog was in there..... no exceptions

We'd a similar version with a few differences.

All the players took to the field etc etc.

The main difference from the Cobh version is that when you were knocked out - you stayed out.

As the rounds progressed - a row of shame formed at the green wall.

This resulted in a prestigious final between the remaining two with a ready made (and slightly bored) crowd.

04/05/2007, 1:09 PM
genius... i wish we'd thought of that. we just had one keeper who either played the entire thing on goal or had/got to sit the game out after the first round and the loser went in sticksWe played it that the keeper for round 1 got a bye into round 2 and the first round loser went in nets from then on. Subsequent losers were just knocked out.

MojoPin
04/05/2007, 1:15 PM
genius... i wish we'd thought of that. we just had one keeper who either played the entire thing on goal or had/got to sit the game out after the first round and the loser went in sticks

city bois ya cant learn um can ya? hop on the ttrain down to cobh there and well show ya... but ur in first. newcomers always go in goals.......... always

04/05/2007, 1:21 PM
Ah, Wembley. When I was playing it, the preference was for teams of two, allowing for something very slightly less than chaos, and, dare one say it, tactics. Of course, tactics simply meant ensuring that you have the best dribbler on your side!

04/05/2007, 1:27 PM
the key to world cup, was stayin on/near the goal line, so the others would tire out messing around and more importantly you could just way for the rebounds. that was the smart way of playing.

does anyone remember the "invisible" line, where if you were too close to the keeper - to counteract the above scenario happening the whole time - your goal was disallowed so as to prevent "goal hanging". Or was that just a west of ireland thingie? That line was basically the keepers discretion when one thinks about it, or else the most vocal/soarest loser/bully in the group!

noby
04/05/2007, 1:34 PM
Similair to the height of the 'crossbar'.
Depended on the height of the keeper.

04/05/2007, 1:36 PM

Also, Big toe (the ball)= No goal.

04/05/2007, 1:36 PM
the key to world cup, was stayin on/near the goal line, so the others would tire out messing around and more importantly you could just way for the rebounds. that was the smart way of playing.

We had a word for people like you - LODGER! :D

MojoPin
04/05/2007, 1:39 PM
we called them stoickcovs in memory or yer man who played for barcs scored 400 goals all in the 6 yard box...... no stoickin allowed

04/05/2007, 1:42 PM

Yes very true.
BP, we call it he is just a "goal-hanger"

Did people not call it "toe-boggin" , i was class at that, best actually. bout the only thing i was good at though unfortunately. that and clapping really loud :D

04/05/2007, 1:58 PM
We called it "being on the suck"

Cant remember why

Wolfie
04/05/2007, 2:02 PM
We had a word for people like you - LODGER! :D

We called them a "Hatcher" or a "Bleedin Hatcher" if the individual continually "hatched". :D
We called it "being on the suck"

Cant remember whyDid you know Justin Fashanu?

04/05/2007, 3:14 PM

I just let everybody else go through until there is me and someone else left (almost always the worst player) so I use hardly any energy to get through which helps for the later rounds.

Wolfie
04/05/2007, 3:29 PM
Anybody currently part of a team at Astro Park?

04/05/2007, 3:30 PM
Anybody currently part of a team at Astro Park?
I was for a while there. Loved the way nature of the games are end to end, generally.

Wolfie
04/05/2007, 3:40 PM
I was for a while there. Loved the way nature of the games are end to end, generally.

Yeah - really enjoying getting back playing (that's a fairly loose use of the term!!). Hadn't played any sort of organised footie in about 6 years.

The games are usually fairly close run - the standard aint bad - and, in the least, its a "bit of a run out" as the man says.

Started back last August and tended to be completely knackered after 10 minutes for about 2 months!!

04/05/2007, 3:41 PM
Yeah - really enjoying getting back playing. Hadn't played any sort of organised footie in about 6 years.
Same here, although I had a much shorter break from playing. Going to start playing 11 a-side again when the new season starts- can't wait!:ball: :)

nui-harp
04/05/2007, 3:41 PM
Did anyone play "on the volley"? 3 or 4 players, 1 in nets. the keeper started on 12 points and the rest on 10.....the keeper got 2 points taken away for a header being scored past them or 1 for a volley and the person in nets switched if the ball was caught without bouncing or got put wide.

04/05/2007, 3:43 PM
Did anyone play "on the volley"? 3 or 4 players, 1 in nets. the keeper started on 12 points and the rest on 10.....the keeper got 2 points taken away for a header being scored past them or 1 for a volley and the person in nets switched if the ball was caught without bouncing or got put wide.
Yeah always play that. We include a bonus point for a 'family' where every outfielder touches the ball before a goal being scored.

Wolfie
04/05/2007, 3:44 PM

Cruel as teenagers can be - "on the volley" used to be a fairly unenviable scenario for the unfortunate keeper to be in. :D

Extra points if you decapitate the keeper!!!!

04/05/2007, 3:48 PM
Forgot a few rules that are different. One is that we don't allow blasts as then whoever is stuck in goal ends up on zero very quickly. Also when someone reaches zero you have to score a kick and a head to finish the game. Also you can only score a header inside the box.

Wolfie
04/05/2007, 3:57 PM
Forgot a few rules that are different. One is that we don't allow blasts as then whoever is stuck in goal ends up on zero very quickly. Also when someone reaches zero you have to score a kick and a head to finish the game. Also you can only score a header inside the box.

That all makes good sense.

The real grudge matches involved matches against the kids from the neighbouring estates :mad:

I can remember one match was 32 all and the tension was unbearable - who would win this Titanic battle? :D

We'd played for 3 hours and you had to win by 2. There was a fitting end to the stalemate when someone hit a shot, hit an opposing player in the balls and burst the football. Game over. :D

Roadend
04/05/2007, 4:09 PM

That's like the opposite of 21. One in goals and the rest can only score with a header or volley. Headrer could be socred from anywhere and volleys from outside the "agreed" line. Three points for a goal and three points for a save where the ball didn't touch the ground. Differing areas had different rules such as keeper gets to 12 he's outfiled for the next game. With each subsequent 3 points showever gave them away would be in for the next game till one side reached 21. Other areas didn't have the 123 point and you're out rule. 3 games in a row was the most you'd be in for.

04/05/2007, 4:13 PM
Anyone ever play '10 and 4'? Usually only two outfielders, but presumably it's been done with more. It's the same rules as heads and volleys except the keeper has to make 4 catches to win and the outfielders have to score 10 goals to win.

05/05/2007, 12:09 PM
What about a game of Kirbs/Curbs? Used to always play that out on the street. Bonus points for hitting it over a car:D.

05/05/2007, 1:14 PM
What about a game of Kirbs/Curbs? Used to always play that out on the street. Bonus points for hitting it over a car:D.
Right there with ya buddy.
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=677706&postcount=43

05/05/2007, 1:24 PM
Right there with ya buddy.
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=677706&postcount=43Sorry, thread so long I must have missed that post. Class game isn't it? Must play it again soon. I challenge you to a game SI:D.

05/05/2007, 1:26 PM
Another variant was 60 Seconds. Basically heads and volleys ("no blemmers") with the additional constraint that a stated number of goals (increasing in increments of one with each round) had to be scored in the space of sixty seconds; if the outfielders failed, the last player to touch the ball before the minute expired would replace the now liberated goalkeeper. Timekeeping was left to the keeper, who counted down aloud. Given the levels of numeracy in my area, this was often the most taxing element of the game for some players.

05/05/2007, 2:02 PM
Sorry, thread so long I must have missed that post. Class game isn't it? Must play it again soon. I challenge you to a game SI:D.
LOL...You're on.

07/05/2007, 10:49 PM
Perhaps we could start a Foot.ie league........;)

08/05/2007, 10:39 AM
Did anyone play "on the volley"?

ya thats what we called it, and whoever went in goals first got an extra 1 point i.e. 10 and everyone else got 9.

09/05/2007, 9:39 AM
Kids don't play the simple old games any more...like 'knock-a-dolly' where someone in a gang gets nominated to go up and knock on someones door that they don't like and run away. Hilarious when the 'victim' opens the door, looking around for who's there.

Rounders was another one you don't see any more. We used to play it with a hurley and a tennis ball....

Queenie I O....Anyone remember that?

09/05/2007, 10:13 AM
Kids don't play the simple old games any more...like 'knock-a-dolly' where someone in a gang gets nominated to go up and knock on someones door that they don't like and run away. Hilarious when the 'victim' opens the door, looking around for who's there.

I've been calling it knock-a-dally for years! Why didn't anyone tell me I was wrong?! What I loved about it though was when the chosen kid knocked on the neighbour's door and turned around just in time to see us locking him in to the garden. It would be easy to open in normal circumstances, but given the blind panic that overcomes you when you realise you might get caught it suddenly becomes something like a Crypton Factor test

Rounders was another one you don't see any more. We used to play it with a hurley and a tennis ball....

We used to play that in school the whole time, great great game, damn cricket seems to have overtaken it over here