View Full Version : Oh the times, they are a changing....

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

09/05/2007, 10:29 AM
Kids don't play the simple old games any more...like 'knock-a-dolly' where someone in a gang gets nominated to go up and knock on someones door that they don't like and run away. Hilarious when the 'victim' opens the door, looking around for who's there.

We had something similar called Belfast. You ring the bell and run fast.

kingdom hoop
09/05/2007, 10:47 AM
I've been calling it knock-a-dally for years! Why didn't anyone tell me I was wrong?!

Have you not noticed? People like to laugh at your expense:p

09/05/2007, 11:20 AM
We had something similar called Belfast. You ring the bell and run fast.

Better version of that is when you are walking up the street and you start walking a little faster than those behind you, then you knock on the door, leg it and by the time they have copped and gone to move its too late. priceless.

Great example of that story was we made about 20 yards on the lads walking behind us ( they were lazy and walked slow ), we started to run, they copped on and hid behind a wall, then the fella came out and the boys stuck their heads out to see where he was and if he had come out. Spots the lads behind the wall and chases after them, catches them up and they go "it wasn't us". Garda station was right across from them and yer man goes right lads come with me!!! Priceless. still laughing at that thinking about it now. To be honest if i thought i could get ( catcht them out ) the lads i would do it right now!!!!

another good one is hiding behind walls stickin up fingers or roaring at drivers/throwing snowballs through the windows ( not breaking them )!!! great fun till you get caught :(

09/05/2007, 11:40 AM
We used to hang around near a particular set of traffic lights (Hassetts Cross for anyone who knows Limerick) and keep pushing the button for the green man. The lights only let one or two cars through at a time. Priceless....getting roared out of it by irate motorists... brilliant....although I now am one of those motorists.....

09/05/2007, 12:15 PM
Rounders was another one you don't see any more. We used to play it with a hurley and a tennis ball....

Rounders is an official gaelic game. Along with handball and the other 2 more prominent games. Think it still gets played in the community games and the like. We played it with a tennis racket...

09/05/2007, 12:18 PM
thats cos ye were crap dodge ;) Bloody jackeens :D

we only let the wimin use tennis rackets

09/05/2007, 1:17 PM
Anyone remember a cartoon called 'Secret Squirrel', or another one that had a dog who played a guitar...can't remember the name of that one though...

09/05/2007, 1:20 PM
Or El Kabong, Hong Kong Phooey or Quick Draw McGraw?

Pure class

09/05/2007, 2:27 PM
another one that had a dog who played a guitar...can't remember the name of that one though...

Bonzo The Dog?

09/05/2007, 3:34 PM
was this a limerick only cartoon?

09/05/2007, 3:55 PM
thats cos ye were crap dodge ;) Bloody jackeens :D

we only let the wimin use tennis rackets

We used a tennis racket coz foreign objects like Hurleys werent available in Monaghan! :D

Oh and what ever happened to "shifting", havent done that in years.

09/05/2007, 4:14 PM
Oh and what ever happened to "shifting", havent done that in years.
Meeting or scoring now.

Erstwhile Bóz
09/05/2007, 4:48 PM
I've been calling it knock-a-dally for years! Why didn't anyone tell me I was wrong?!
Nick-nacks, surely? :confused:

MojoPin
09/05/2007, 4:51 PM
"shifting", havent done that in years.

poor monaghan farmer...... up mons :D :D :D

09/05/2007, 5:26 PM
Oh and what ever happened to "shifting", havent done that in years.Try this (http://www.match.com/).

09/05/2007, 7:23 PM
Thanks Sligoman.....which one is u??

Oh and Mojo, this female is not a farmer!

10/05/2007, 7:43 AM
Nick-nacks, surely? :confused:

That's what I thought, Knick-Knacking/Knick-Knocking

Meanwhile, in other news ...

Cassette tapes to be wiped out
The traditional cassette tape is to become a thing of the past, with
leading retailers confirming they are to be wiped from the shelves.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/?jp=MHAUSNSNKFSN&rss=rss1

10/05/2007, 10:57 AM
Bad news about the old cassette tapes... I have some really excelent bootleg recordings of U2, Dylan and Stones concerts on cassette. Is there any where you can get them converted to cd like you can with video tapes to dvd?

10/05/2007, 11:06 AM
Do you have a stereo with a USB port?

10/05/2007, 11:20 AM
yes........??

10/05/2007, 2:52 PM
it was a joke. there is no such thing.

however you can transfer to it via a line out ( speaker )from your cassette player and a line in ( microphone ) to your pc. Get good recording software though.

10/05/2007, 3:03 PM
it was a joke. there is no such thing.

Thats funny because there is one sitting in my Kitchen.

endabob1
10/05/2007, 3:23 PM
Anyone remember a cartoon called 'Secret Squirrel', or another one that had a dog who played a guitar...can't remember the name of that one though...

Huckleberry Hound

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/3/31/Huck.jpeg

Wolfie
10/05/2007, 3:34 PM
Anyone know if "Panini" football stickers and sticker albums still exist?

I spent most of my pocket money trying to acquire the full set of Mexico 86.

There were was also the horse trading of swapping the stickers you had doubles of.

10/05/2007, 3:50 PM
Thanks Sligoman.....which one is u??Why, you interested? Maybe we'll get ye in the cup, could meet then;) :p

10/05/2007, 4:06 PM
well it must be some retro thing then, you are telling me USB was out when cassette players were out? USB is around since around early 96 ( january or february i think ), so I cant possibly see how!!! send me on the link though where USB was round in the 80's and Ill beleive ye :)

10/05/2007, 4:09 PM
well it must be some retro thing then, you are telling me USB was out when cassette players were out? USB is around since around early 96 ( january or february i think ), so I cant possibly see how!!! send me on the link though where USB was round in the 80's and Ill beleive ye :)

Very many large banks and corporations are still keeping their archival computer records on tape. Big money being made at the moment by people switching this data over to HDD storage such as EMC's Symmetrix products.

MojoPin
10/05/2007, 4:18 PM
Oh and Mojo, this female is not a farmer!all apologies assumptions can be dangerous ha
Bad news about the old cassette tapes... I have some really excelent bootleg recordings of U2, Dylan and Stones concerts on cassette. Is there any where you can get them converted to cd like you can with video tapes to dvd?you can buy a little machine that has a tape deck one side and a usb on the other... it converts cassttes into mp3 at near cd quality... then its the simple task of burning a cd from ur computer.. cant remember the name of them for the life of me but they defo exist used them last summer in the states.

10/05/2007, 4:47 PM
Very many large banks and corporations are still keeping their archival computer records on tape. Big money being made at the moment by people switching this data over to HDD storage such as EMC's Symmetrix products.

Ya i know MBNAAAAA had used tapes and a few other retail banks, no IBs or the like though. Still though they werent standard features of a cassette player.

here is one example of doing it:
http://www.foxpop.co.uk/elisa/general/technics.htm

machine that ye were on about:
http://www.thinkgeek.com/electronics/audio/7a8d/

NOTE: The ultimate in retro for your PC - An audio cassette drive

http://www.firebox.com/product/1700?src_t=cat&src_id=techtoys

its a lot more expensive in england.

10/05/2007, 5:02 PM

They still put Cassette players in Stereos you know, or at least Sony did in 2004 when I bought this one. (In fact it also has a minidisc player!)

10/05/2007, 10:21 PM
Anyone know if "Panini" football stickers and sticker albums still exist?
Yep (http://www.paninionline.com/collectibles/institutional/bt/uk/).

Have Euro 88 and Italia 90 completed.

10/05/2007, 10:25 PM
Yep (http://www.paninionline.com/collectibles/institutional/bt/uk/).

Have Euro 88 and Italia 90 completed.

I have Mexico 86 completed.

Wolfie
11/05/2007, 8:44 AM
I have Mexico 86 completed.

I finally managed to complete Mexico 86 and Euro 88. I remember being so proud that Ireland finally appeared in a sticker album for Euro 88. :) :ball:

I seem to remember "World Cup 90" was a more elaborate affair. There was the ad with Brian Clough in typical no-nonsense style stating:

"Right. The big one starts here. With World Cup 90". :D

You'd to build up the different sections of the album every fortnight. They must have made a killing!!

Cloughie, in the ad, also added with cryptic syntax: "Players pics collect".

11/05/2007, 8:45 AM
Yeah World Cup 90 was a different animal altogether. It was pretty good, still have it at home.

11/05/2007, 10:01 AM
Anyone remember the coins from Italia 90? I remember thinking they were great at the time .Cant remember much about them now , I think there was one for each country ? and it was brought out by some petrol company

11/05/2007, 10:19 AM
Yeah my dad used to get them with petrol and give them to me.

Erstwhile Bóz
11/05/2007, 11:30 AM
Did you stick them in some kind of holes cut out of a shiny cardboard thing? Vaguely remember getting them.

11/05/2007, 11:50 AM
here they are :)

http://www.footybits.co.uk/index.php?cPath=124_184&osCsid=d37bc1cb9fe143a96b0c43b8dc28c1d9

11/05/2007, 1:07 PM
Did you stick them in some kind of holes cut out of a shiny cardboard thing? Vaguely remember getting them.

Yeah thems the ones!

11/05/2007, 1:20 PM
Anyone remember the coins from Italia 90? I remember thinking they were great at the time .Cant remember much about them now , I think there was one for each country ? and it was brought out by some petrol company
I had those too. Think I had about 6 Swedens!

11/05/2007, 1:36 PM
Yeah my dad used to get them with petrol and give them to me.

Twas Esso Stations boys,many moons ago.They were the business:cool:

Erstwhile Bóz
11/05/2007, 8:24 PM
Speaking of petrol stations, Bottler's "Free a Nipper" campaign has to get a mention, those little puppets with a mad squeaky thing inside them.

11/05/2007, 10:04 PM
shelbourne fc.. where are they now?

have a vague recollection..

12/05/2007, 10:48 PM
Zig and Zag gone....Tiger, Shoot and Roy of the Rovers??? Whizzer & Chips, Dandy....McGyver...wheres he gone? The only time you hear of him now is when Patty & Selma are drooling over him...

12/05/2007, 10:49 PM
Ireland winning the Eurovision.

12/05/2007, 11:05 PM
the eurovision song CONTEST.

Erstwhile Bóz
13/05/2007, 12:44 AM
Countess.

Constance.

carrickharp
14/05/2007, 7:26 AM
McGyver...wheres he gone?
Managing the Donegal GAA team.

14/05/2007, 8:13 AM
probably a tougher nut to crack than any of those major crimes he used to solve.....

14/05/2007, 8:15 AM
Sherbet....used to love it, but used to always nearly choke to death on it....used to come in a papery tube with a licquorice stick with it....haven't seen it in yonks