View Full Version : foot.ie on sunderland forum

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

kingdom hoop
10/05/2007, 11:50 PM
Stag parties in Sunderland? Voted one of the worst cities in Britain and the biggest city in Europe with out a cinema. I´d imagine the craic is great.

You'd want to go to the cinema for your stag?? Please don't invite me!

More seriously, Newcastle is a very popular destination for such escapades so with all the brouhaha over Sunderland it's not surprising a group of lads would go to the Stadium of Light to catch a bit of footie before the trip to the cinema, then back to the hotel for tea and crumpets and exalting the groom's pre-marriage chastity.

11/05/2007, 1:13 AM

More seriously, Newcastle is a very popular destination for such escapades so with all the brouhaha over Sunderland it's not surprising a group of lads would go to the Stadium of Light to catch a bit of footie before the trip to the cinema, then back to the hotel for tea and crumpets and exalting the groom's pre-marriage chastity.

Sunderland is a kip.

So if they're on a stag in Newcatsle and want to watch a bit of football to keep themselves off the sauce then, erm, why not go to watch the Toon play...? :confused:

Oh I forgot - Newcastle's token Paddy quotient isn't high enough, and they're just not as bright and shiny as their mackem neighbours are at the moment.... :o

Two words for these sort of people. Birth control.

cavan_fan
11/05/2007, 7:56 AM
Oh I forgot - Newcastle's token Paddy quotient isn't high enough, and they're just not as bright and shiny as their mackem neighbours are at the moment.... :o

Yes why would people want to go and see their countrymen play. I hear there are lots of Spaniards going to see Livepool matches despite the fact they could got to see Everton, I suggest we nuke Spain. Christ some people really need a sense of perspective.

kingdom hoop
11/05/2007, 8:50 AM
Sunderland is a kip.

So if they're on a stag in Newcatsle and want to watch a bit of football to keep themselves off the sauce then, erm, why not go to watch the Toon play...? :confused:

Two words for the above sort of people. Annoyingly righteous.

youngirish
11/05/2007, 9:11 AM
I've no problem with Irish people watching Sunderland to see how the Irish players are doing. Indeed I've been known to do the same at Reading a few times but following Keane around like flies on sh*te is embarrassing. What does he have to do with our beloved boys in green anymore? Nothing.

As for flying English flags in the main streets of Dublin? West Brit ar*es.

11/05/2007, 10:13 AM
Two words for the above sort of people. Annoyingly righteous.

Woo-hooo ! Just because you support English football yourself Kingdom ! :p

Sunderland is a kip, the nightlife is sh!t, and anyone on a stag in Newcastle has a bigger and better team/stadium on their doorstep. So they're clearly daft to then trundle off to a different club down the road, and it's clearly all about that club's current 'shinyness' to the magpies of European football that the Irish are. Hence why any normal, rational person would describe those people as a bit daft.

zinedineontour
11/05/2007, 10:22 AM
Stag parties in Sunderland? Voted one of the worst cities in Britain and the biggest city in Europe with out a cinema. I´d imagine the craic is great.

Actually quite a decent city so it is and great night out ... most of the stags stay up in the kip up the road but dont know where you got your cinema information from anyway not that ive been but there is a multiplex in sunderland ..

zinedineontour
11/05/2007, 10:24 AM

Sunderland is a kip, the nightlife is sh!t, and anyone on a stag in Newcastle has a bigger and better team/stadium on their doorstep. So they're clearly daft to then trundle off to a different club down the road, and it's clearly all about that club's current 'shinyness' to the magpies of European football that the Irish are. Hence why any normal, rational person would describe those people as a bit daft.

Far from a kip and has great nightlife better than up the road which when ive been out in newcastle seems to be full of scallys fighting between themself. Great night out in sunderland but obviously you havent been . They trundle down the road to Sunderland because its better crack and the locals are decent people unlike the folk up the road who are up their own arse.

kingdom hoop
11/05/2007, 10:33 AM

My oh my. So, any normal, rational person will go to watch the bigger and better team in a bigger and better stadium? I thought you despised that sort of reasoning Steve?

11/05/2007, 10:56 AM
Far from a kip and has great nightlife better than up the road which when ive been out in newcastle seems to be full of scallys fighting between themself. Great night out in sunderland but obviously you havent been . They trundle down the road to Sunderland because its better crack and the locals are decent people unlike the folk up the road who are up their own arse.

I love these generalisations. People in Newcastle are are up their own arse and Sunderland people are fantastic. I have not been to either but I would say its probabl like the rest of the world where each as a similar perecentage of ass holes and sound people.

11/05/2007, 11:25 AM
I've no problem with Irish people watching Sunderland to see how the Irish players are doing. Indeed I've been known to do the same at Reading a few times but following Keane around like flies on sh*te is embarrassing. What does he have to do with our beloved boys in green anymore? Nothing.
He's one of the most famous living men to come from this country. When Paul le Guen joined Rangers a lot of people in France kept track of Rangers and their results would also be on the news bulletins. Now multiply that interest by 100 for Roy Keane in this country. :)

11/05/2007, 11:27 AM
Of course the interest is understandable, but for me the 11 goals scored by young Irish players in The Championship on Sunday was at least worth a sentence in the papers.

I'd be inclined to guess that it's actually a record number of goals scored by the Irish in England on any given day.

11/05/2007, 11:44 AM
Yes why would people want to go and see their countrymen play.
Which they do every week in Ireland...:rolleyes:

11/05/2007, 12:07 PM
To be fair the fact that Charlie Chawke owns the bar and a stake in Sunderland is a good explanation. Not justification mind.

As far as I am concerned Charlie Chawke doesn't have a leg to stand on.

(Tasteless joke I know. Apologies).

cavan_fan
11/05/2007, 12:25 PM
Which they do every week in Ireland...:rolleyes:

Yes why watch the Olympics when you can watch the Irish Athletics championships.

Soper
11/05/2007, 12:30 PM
Yes why watch the Olympics when you can watch the Irish Athletics championships.

That's a silly post isn't it.

11/05/2007, 12:33 PM
Very stranged and flawed analogy there :confused:

11/05/2007, 2:42 PM
Very stranged and flawed analogy there :confused:

I think he might have meant: why watch the Irish Athletics Championships when you could watch the US Athletics Championships instead or something like that:confused: Not sure where the Olympics comes into it - why would they hold the Irish championships at the same time:confused:

lionelhutz
11/05/2007, 2:51 PM
I agree totally with cavan fan. Its pathetic that people get worked up about a flag hanging from a pub - so buttons. Each to their own. If ye don't like the fcukin flag, dont go to the pub.

If i owned a bar in Dublin and also had a stake in Liverpool or whoever, id have no hesitations about trying to advertise that team....which is exactly what chawke seems to be doing. Lads, if a stupid flag is all ye have to worry about in life, ye're doin well

11/05/2007, 3:11 PM
I think he might have meant: why watch the Irish Athletics Championships when you could watch the US Athletics Championships instead or something like that:confused: Not sure where the Olympics comes into it - why would they hold the Irish championships at the same time:confused:
I understand what cavan_fan means. I enjoyed seeing Robbie Keane come off the bench last night and take control of the game, on a pitch with players of all nationalities, just because he's Irish. I can only imagine how I'd feel if a team full of Irish, with Roy Keane as manager, was dominating the premiership. :D To me it would be the equivalent of an Irish team playing in the Champions league. I've very little affection with the League of Ireland, just the country of Ireland.

11/05/2007, 3:23 PM
Which is a perfectly reasonable stance to take.

Erstwhile Bóz
13/05/2007, 1:58 AM
I've very little affection with the League of Ireland, just the country of Ireland.
What country of Ireland? Tell me how the "country of Ireland" is represented on the international soccer scene and how you support it and how it's great and how, provingyourselfasanIrishman, it beats going to Irish matches. Go on, big bHoy.

13/05/2007, 3:57 PM
What country of Ireland? Tell me how the "country of Ireland" is represented on the international soccer scene and how you support it and how it's great and how, provingyourselfasanIrishman, it beats going to Irish matches. Go on, big bHoy.
It's in my heart, not my head, therefore I can't explain it. ;)

14/05/2007, 10:18 AM
great response EB. great response.

14/05/2007, 10:28 AM
I can only imagine how I'd feel if a team full of Irish, with Roy Keane as manager, was dominating the premiership. :D To me it would be the equivalent of an Irish team playing in the Champions league.

For crying out loud...

14/05/2007, 12:56 PM
I understand what cavan_fan means. I enjoyed seeing Robbie Keane come off the bench last night and take control of the game, on a pitch with players of all nationalities, just because he's Irish. I can only imagine how I'd feel if a team full of Irish, with Roy Keane as manager, was dominating the premiership. :D To me it would be the equivalent of an Irish team playing in the Champions league. I've very little affection with the League of Ireland, just the country of Ireland.
For me in that Spurs game, I only turned up the volume when Robbie came on as a sub. That's about the be all and the end all of my connection to the club that he plays for.
Some valid arguments have been made pointing out the contradictions in the logic of choosing to support Sunderland.
Well wishing, even to the excitable extent:), for Irish players in the Sunderland set up is a world away from the type of fans that swallow the hype and become supporters of a certain kind out of which Zinedine would hope some will stay when the sands shift.
As long as I can remember the English league has been a major focus for Irish football fans. No big deal but with one of the many exceptions being where it's part of an inferiority complex.

Torn-Ado
14/05/2007, 1:03 PM

The sarcasm in this place never fails to make me smile.

My point was that if the place hasn't even got a cinema, how good can it be.

My info on this piece of useless information comes from a book published two years ago stating the top 50 worst cities in Britain. Sunderland came third and not that it matters, Luton came first

kingdom hoop
14/05/2007, 1:25 PM

Glad to be of service:)

I haven't a clue about football so adding a touch of sarcasm is all I'm good for. (Though that's more of a tongue in cheek remark):p

Sligo Hornet
14/05/2007, 1:44 PM

My point was that if the place hasn't even got a cinema, how good can it be.

My info on this piece of useless information comes from a book published two years ago stating the top 50 worst cities in Britain. Sunderland came third and not that it matters, Luton came first

On the contrary........from where I'm based, it matters greatly!!;)

Torn-Ado
14/05/2007, 1:46 PM
On the contrary........from where I'm based, it matters greatly!!;)

Scumford or Tw*tford as they say in Luton.

14/05/2007, 4:51 PM
For crying out loud...
People around the world talking about a team full of Irish players dominating the premiership, or Serie A or La Liga wouldn't make you feel very proud? Not that we're ever going to see that obviously...

red bellied
14/05/2007, 5:03 PM
Luton isnt a city anyway, its a dump alright. Seen three seperate fights within 100 yards, a few years back on a Saturday night, all going on at the same time. Big Irish population, more of descent now than anything.

14/05/2007, 11:36 PM
People around the world talking about a team full of Irish players dominating the premiership, or Serie A or La Liga wouldn't make you feel very proud? Not that we're ever going to see that obviously...

For crying out loud...........

14/05/2007, 11:49 PM
Ah the Eircom League destroys all your patriotism. :D

14/05/2007, 11:57 PM
Ah the Eircom League destroys all your patriotism. :D

Never really had any to begin with so in fairness I should toddle off away from that side of the debate tbh

Can't get my head around how anyone could feel so strongly about something so tenuous as an "irish" link in a club (which isn't even irish) but then rally isn't my debate so carry on :)

15/05/2007, 12:09 AM
Never really had any to begin with
Ah well then it's like explaining love to someone that's never felt it. :) Just imagine the Irish players all used to play for Limerick and you might have some idea. ;)

I'm not one of the people that have jumped on the Sunderland bandwagon btw so I can't really answer your 2nd point. I'm guessing it's because Roy Keane is manager though, simple as that.

lionelhutz
15/05/2007, 8:44 AM
Ah well then it's like explaining love to someone that's never felt it. :) Just imagine the Irish players all used to play for Limerick and you might have some idea. ;)

I'm not one of the people that have jumped on the Sunderland bandwagon btw so I can't really answer your 2nd point. I'm guessing it's because Roy Keane is manager though, simple as that.

I know its a bit off topic but im just wondering who was the last Limerick born player to represent Ireland?? And before ye mention Steve Finnan, he was born in England, his parents are from Limerick

15/05/2007, 8:58 AM
I know its a bit off topic but im just wondering who was the last Limerick born player to represent Ireland?? And before ye mention Steve Finnan, he was born in England, his parents are from Limerick
No, he was born in Limerick, his parents emigrated when he was about 7. His cousins used to live up the road from me at home.

lionelhutz
15/05/2007, 10:38 AM
No, he was born in Limerick, his parents emigrated when he was about 7. His cousins used to live up the road from me at home.

Oh right, cheers for that. I heard sumwhere his parents emigrated from the boro before he was born, must have been a mistake

15/05/2007, 10:52 AM
Joe Waters of Grimsby played for us a bit in early 80s. Wasn't he a Limerick man?

15/05/2007, 12:50 PM
Al Finucane. Played for Limerick and Ireland. Not sure if he was a Limerick man though.

15/05/2007, 12:52 PM
Brian O'Callaghan at Cork City is from Limerick and played for Ireland at underage level

15/05/2007, 3:27 PM
Al Finucane. Played for Limerick and Ireland. Not sure if he was a Limerick man though.

Kevin Fitzpatrick :confused:

(Pure guess caused by my youth)